Grafton, WI 
Lime-Kiln Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple basket placements
Good length variation
holes under 200' and over 400'
Cons: Blind holes
Shots towards road/ other park structures
popular picnic/ hangout park
Other Thoughts: There's only room for 9 holes
Baskets are moved frequently
Lots of short steep hills in front of tee on otherwise flat shots, akward

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grafton

5+    4/10/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Flying_Stross
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Tee pads
-Nice scenery
-Good friendly players
-Challenging
-Diversity
This course is right by my hometown which is not bad if you want to throw a quick round. The basket are really up to date which means chains will catch your disc a little bit easier. Not a long walk from hole to next tee pad. You really only need about 3 disc to play this course since it is short holes and 9 holes. I recommend for beginners to play here because it is an easy course and will help out your game.
Cons:
-Only 9 holes
-Waiting game
-Short holes
-No big rip drives
-Water hazards
Course needs to make 18 it will bring more people and more of an exciting game to the course. Since they are building a skate park now at the course now there is going to be more of the worry of people picking up your disc since the course is very compact. The people are some what friendly. The big issue of the course is very short I finished one round in less than 30 mins
Other Thoughts:
Hole 1-Short hole about 190ft, a river is just past the basket, couple of trees blocking your way of the hole
Hole 2-Average hole about 240ft, a little hill right at the tee pad, river to your left, tall tree close to the hole and it goes from long field to a slanted down hill
Hole 3-Short hole about 160ft, Many trees most trees at any hole, basket is in a little pack of trees, easy 3
Hole 4-Average hole 270ft, tee pad is right by a hill, to trees in the middle with a pack of trees to your right, the basket veers to your right
Hole 5-Average hole 215ft, up hill hole, trees surrounding the hole, you go up the first hill than there is another hill which where the basket is at
Hole 6-Average hole 200ft, just an up hill hole nothing in its way
Hole 7-Average hole 200ft, Down hill hole, narrow fairway, packs of trees from left to right, basket slightly to your right
Hole 8- Short hole 175ft, Dog leg to your right, short and narrow fairway, trees surrounding the tee pad, hole to your right
Hole 9- Longest hole 285ft, gravel hill right in front of you, trees to the left, 3 little tower buildings to your right, fairway gets narrow once you approach the basket

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rustic little course!

5+    2/12/2011   3/21/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Great layout in a cool quaint rustic little park. There is a bit of history in that area I am sure. The rushing waters of the Milwaukee River are nice and you can hear them from just about every hole if the park is quiet.

2) Nice baskets and nice concrete tee pads, although slick, its better than mud.

3) Alternate baskets are a plus, and they really change the course dramatically.

4) Lime Kilns in the background on #9 throwing right up over an old pils of lime. Very rustic feeling (yes I know the third time I used that word in this review.

5) Awesome use of the rolling terrain set above the Milwaukee River banks. Dramatic dropoff on #7 is pretty cool.

6) Some tight technical throws and a few wide open rippers. The terrain is what makes this course awesome though, it doesn't need the woods to make it any harder!
Cons: 1) Can't fault the course for being only 9 holes, but because it is so far away also, I will probably only make a trek up there if I also hit Tendick Nature Park in Saukville. If I lived nearby I would play it often!

2) Fairly beginner friendly, except for a couple of the basket options. #5B would be very tough, #5A was already tough enough, although I didn;t see the basket when I teed off.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent little course to play. I made a loop of 5 new courses (for me)starting in Grafton at Lime Kiln, Tendick Nature Park in Saukville, Villa Park in West Bend, then on to Woodlawn in Hartford and Erin go Bragh in Thompson. I would rank this one as #2 out of the 5.

Not much has changed here in 3 years and the course is still a lot of fun to get out to every once in a while. It is far away so i usually only get to it when I am taking a day trip or before a tourney at another course, but I always go to it if I am in the area!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 very nice nine

5+    7/11/2007   3/11/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nearly every hole is interesting....#1 is fairly short; but if you are off left; a steep hill running to the river awaits. #2 has uphill slanted tee (making drive more difficult than level tee); over hill top blind, to downhill pin that is located on very rollaway terrain. #4 uphill tee to blind pin; with the long pin quite long and blocked by nice tree grouping. This also seems to be the area that persons wanting to take pics with their fancy car, or their new bride, will be in the middle of. #5 looks like nothing spectacular in the pics; but this is short pin placement. Long is tough uphill shot, blind, with little window to get there. #7 big downhill hole with river deep; you'll probably throw a putter or mid and try to keep it from going deep. There's wooded trouble left and right too. #8 requires negotiating narrow lane with hard right, high finish to get to pin. #9 tough uphill, over the lime mound. If done well; you still have a narrow upshot behind the lime kilns to the pin. Long pin again tough to get to in three.
I've played more than 100 niners over the years. Lime Kiln is probably in the top 5 or 10 ever. Awesome terrain and views. And finishing at the lime kilns! Can you represent your areas' past any better than this. They could have put in an 18 long ago; but, decided to keep a wonderful nine instead. I actually put a disc in the top of one of those kilns; which is not easy to do. Luckily, in those days, the disc simply came down the chimney and I got it back. Now they have those chimneys blocked off. A tough course to put a big score on. I've played it many times and have never "torn it up."
Cons: Overall length a bit short for modern plastic. Long pins still provide a good challenge (depends which are in).
Tees a bit short by modern standards; and, some players will not like the slanted tees.
There is more uphill walking on this course, than downhill. More holes play uphill as well (I actually think this is a plus for a shorter course; as it adds toughness to holes).
Years ago, a kid ran away with a glow F15, on the big hill shot that goes down towards the water. The F-15's were one piece of Lightning plastic I loved...
Other Thoughts: You get water views. You get hill shots. The park has a quarry look and feel to it. This is the area you're playing around. And then, the big finish up hill to the kilns.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 the max score for a nine holer!

2-4    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of the terrain within this small historic park
-challenging basket placement
-manicured park, very pretty
-good signage with hole placements and feet
-pretty significant elevation change for a city park
-quite a few blind shots that make it challenging
-pin placements using a bit of risk/reward next to creeks and drop offs
Cons: -the big one, only nine holes
-during the summer I imagine there are people all over this park
-no big ripper holes
Other Thoughts: What a great little course set in a beautiful historic "Christmas-Like" Wisconsin small town. This course is almost as if it is on a civil war battlefield with the old lime kilns and the quarry walls that are present. surprised that the city of Grafton allowed a disc golf course on such a historic piece of land. I am glad they did.

Whoever designed this course used the land to it's best use, even doing elevated upshots and an elevated downhill on 6 an 7. Good par 3's.

This would be the perfect place to bring the family for a picnic and play a round of DG as the course does a full circle around the grounds. Do it twice and you have a nice little eighteen in your back pocket. Worth a stop without a doubt.

Highest rating I can give for a nine holer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.