Grafton, WI 
Lime-Kiln Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fantastic 9!

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good amount of elevation change for a 9 hole.
Great variety of shots.
Extremely pretty course that plays right next to a river.
Usually not to busy.
Cons: Not many cons.
It has nice signs, and good pads. I guess a con would be that the pads are a little short, but they don't need to be long as the course isn't very long.
Other Thoughts: My favorite 9 hole around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little something for everyone

5+    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: InJonGnito
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > Requires a variety of shots to score well (long, short, uphill, downhill, doglegs left and right).
> Good mix of narrow wooded and open fairways.
> Often multiple ways to play each hole with risk/reward opportunities.
> 9th hole shots over the lime pile and down the narrow chute between the kilns and the river is impressive.
> Scenic, generally quiet park that is usually not too busy (multiple places to park too, if you want to start/end your round on particular holes).
> Restrooms, picnic area, playground, dog park, horseshoe pits and sand volleyball courts make for a nice place for an outing with friends or family.
Cons: > Although concrete, the tee pads are short (although there aren't many long holes that require longer run-ups).
> While the signs make good tee markers, the hole diagrams are often misleading or wrong.
> Consult a map (posted at first tee) to make sure you know where the holes are.
> Some tee shots are blind, and without knowing the basket placement beforehand, you could throw a good shot that turns out to be way off-course.
> Limited holes that allow you to launch your tee shot full-out (i.e., most holes are short enough to only require a mid-range disc).
> Only 9 holes (did not affect my rating, but should be noted nonetheless).
Other Thoughts: While I wish it were an 18-hole course, I don't feel that you can fault a place for not having enough room to fit a full 18. However, despite its high quality, because it is a short course, it's not one that I would consider to be a "destination" course. Play it when you have only a short amount of time but still want a challenge to hone your skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unique 9 holes

5+    8/3/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, and unique views on this course. Plays in under 45 min. I'm reviewing this again, and bumping it up another 1/2 star for the following reasons:

1. This is a challenging little 9 holes that has a bit of everything:

2. Steep elevation changes.

3. Water can come into play on 1 - 3 different holes, depending upon your accuracy, and a bad roll.
Cons: If you're not from the area, this park can be challenging to find. I would suggest stopping somewhere and asking for directions to Lime Kiln Park. Look for the lower entrance, and the first tee pad will be on the left side of the entrance road, about 100 yards inside the park. You can also park in the upper entrance to the park by the horseshoe pits. Then, the first hole you play will be the downhill #7 hole.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1: Short throw through a lot of tall tree trunks. Two paths to the basket.
Hole 2: Uphill, pretty long, but wide open. Watch out for a bad roll down into the river...
Hole 3: Trees again... busy fairway.
Hole 4: Air it out. Long, with a few trees. Hole is almost blind, as there is a huge mound in front of you.
Hole 5: My nemesis. If you can duece this, you've got a long and accurate uphill drive.
Hole 6: Uphill, and pretty long at that. Usually around the corner to the left.
Hole 7: Back down a steep sledding hill. Keep it low! Pretty open, but the woods will eat your disc if you're not somewhat accurate. If the pin is on the right, good luck you RHBH throwers.
Hole 8: Dog leg right. Anhyzer slightly down hill. Narrow fairway to boot. Misquito-haven as well.
Hole 9: Plays up hill to the antique lime kilns of yesteryear. I remember playing inside these things as a little kid. Hole is long, so a par will be very good finish, here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in a great park

5+    5/25/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Skankin77
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Good signs
-great placements, with multiple placements
-good use of the terrain. Hole one has the River running next to it (don't throw too far!). Uphill holes, and a great downhill hole (once again great use of terrain). Finally, the final hole is right next to the limn kilns. wonderful
Cons: -Could use bigger tee pads, but the current size is just fine.
-Baskets seem low (to the ground), but that isn't really that much of a con, just personal preference.
Other Thoughts: Great course, and especially a nice place. River running next to it, uphill, downhill, and the Lime Kilns. A great place to come spend the day disc golfing, picnicking, or just hanging out.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, fun course

1    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very pretty, playing right along a river. The holes are clearly marked with tees for each. Very nice mix of open and wooded holes, with a great use of trees as obstacles. The course is a bit more challenging than the previous reviewer makes it out to be - it can definitely play tough. Baskets are in good shape, as is the course itself.
Cons: We encountered some issues with people walking aimlessly around the course. Not just on the sidewalks, but in the middle of obvious playing areas. It can get pretty busy, being in the middle of a nice park. I can see how people might have problems finding the first hole, as the park confused me a bit. Some holes are a bit too open and just play a bit long.
Other Thoughts: This was a very neat course in a park with some awesome scenery. The park literally has old lime kilns around the ninth hole, which is very interesting. This is a very pretty and very fun 9-hole course, and it was certainly an enjoyable experience. I definitely recommend this course for all players!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.