Grafton, WI 
Lime-Kiln Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 NICE 9er

2-4    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Tomski420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety: Lime-Kiln works it all, a couple dog legs, few open distance shots, uphill, downhill, alternate baskets.

Challenging (somewhat): Holes #5 and #8 by far the most skill demanding. Hole #1 will steal your disc if your not careful and throw it towards the river (left). Other holes have trees (here and there) which can ruin an otherwise perfect toss.

Course Design: Although most holes can be considered short, the design makes holes interesting. Placing rock hard (actually clay-like) putting greens (especially holes #1 and #3) around the baskets will make what would be a 5ft putt (on a grass landing) turn into a 20ft putt (after the bounce/skip) if you decide to go-for-it and barely miss. Makes you think bout' it.

Signs and Tee Pads: Always nice to see a course with hole measurements/hole-map and concrete tee pads.
Cons: Confusion for Course Newcomers: Thank God a buddy showed me around the course the first time I played it, because it's not very clear where the next hole is sometimes (#3-#4;#5-#6;#8-#9) or where to park or where to start.

Short Holes: Indicative of a Nine Hole.

Par What?: 260 ft. par 4 on hole #1, what's up with that. A lot of par 4's here are not legit for the seasoned veteran; but I guess they make the rookies feel better about themselves,IDK?

Missing Info: Hole #8 is missing a map and par info.
Other Thoughts: My policy is a nine hole is only half a course, so it can only get half a perfect score (no higher than 2.5). That being said this course is a solid 2. Not bad if your a local, but nothing to plan a day trip to play.

This course is a full functioning park, not dedicated to one thing (there is volleyball, fishing, trails, dog-park, etc.) so bring the whole family.

Wish hole #9 linked up to the parking lot better (wherever the hell you park)

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Grafton Disc Golf

2-4    4/9/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Stross
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Good for starters
-Easy Finding Pins
-Good Grass
-Course well put
-Hole #8, Best Hole Kind of a Dog Leg
Cons: -Water Hazards,Lost Champ. Sidewinder Driver
-Lots of people play
-Waiting
-Only 9 Holes
-Lots of Trees
-Hole #7 Down Hill Use a Mid-Range
-Hole #1 Use Mid-Range, River toward your left

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rustic little course!

5+    2/12/2011   3/21/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Great layout in a cool quaint rustic little park. There is a bit of history in that area I am sure. The rushing waters of the Milwaukee River are nice and you can hear them from just about every hole if the park is quiet.

2) Nice baskets and nice concrete tee pads, although slick, its better than mud.

3) Alternate baskets are a plus, and they really change the course dramatically.

4) Lime Kilns in the background on #9 throwing right up over an old pils of lime. Very rustic feeling (yes I know the third time I used that word in this review.

5) Awesome use of the rolling terrain set above the Milwaukee River banks. Dramatic dropoff on #7 is pretty cool.

6) Some tight technical throws and a few wide open rippers. The terrain is what makes this course awesome though, it doesn't need the woods to make it any harder!
Cons: 1) Can't fault the course for being only 9 holes, but because it is so far away also, I will probably only make a trek up there if I also hit Tendick Nature Park in Saukville. If I lived nearby I would play it often!

2) Fairly beginner friendly, except for a couple of the basket options. #5B would be very tough, #5A was already tough enough, although I didn;t see the basket when I teed off.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent little course to play. I made a loop of 5 new courses (for me)starting in Grafton at Lime Kiln, Tendick Nature Park in Saukville, Villa Park in West Bend, then on to Woodlawn in Hartford and Erin go Bragh in Thompson. I would rank this one as #2 out of the 5.

Not much has changed here in 3 years and the course is still a lot of fun to get out to every once in a while. It is far away so i usually only get to it when I am taking a day trip or before a tourney at another course, but I always go to it if I am in the area!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 very nice nine

5+    7/11/2007   3/11/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nearly every hole is interesting....#1 is fairly short; but if you are off left; a steep hill running to the river awaits. #2 has uphill slanted tee (making drive more difficult than level tee); over hill top blind, to downhill pin that is located on very rollaway terrain. #4 uphill tee to blind pin; with the long pin quite long and blocked by nice tree grouping. This also seems to be the area that persons wanting to take pics with their fancy car, or their new bride, will be in the middle of. #5 looks like nothing spectacular in the pics; but this is short pin placement. Long is tough uphill shot, blind, with little window to get there. #7 big downhill hole with river deep; you'll probably throw a putter or mid and try to keep it from going deep. There's wooded trouble left and right too. #8 requires negotiating narrow lane with hard right, high finish to get to pin. #9 tough uphill, over the lime mound. If done well; you still have a narrow upshot behind the lime kilns to the pin. Long pin again tough to get to in three.
I've played more than 100 niners over the years. Lime Kiln is probably in the top 5 or 10 ever. Awesome terrain and views. And finishing at the lime kilns! Can you represent your areas' past any better than this. They could have put in an 18 long ago; but, decided to keep a wonderful nine instead. I actually put a disc in the top of one of those kilns; which is not easy to do. Luckily, in those days, the disc simply came down the chimney and I got it back. Now they have those chimneys blocked off. A tough course to put a big score on. I've played it many times and have never "torn it up."
Cons: Overall length a bit short for modern plastic. Long pins still provide a good challenge (depends which are in).
Tees a bit short by modern standards; and, some players will not like the slanted tees.
There is more uphill walking on this course, than downhill. More holes play uphill as well (I actually think this is a plus for a shorter course; as it adds toughness to holes).
Years ago, a kid ran away with a glow F15, on the big hill shot that goes down towards the water. The F-15's were one piece of Lightning plastic I loved...
Other Thoughts: You get water views. You get hill shots. The park has a quarry look and feel to it. This is the area you're playing around. And then, the big finish up hill to the kilns.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 the max score for a nine holer!

2-4    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of the terrain within this small historic park
-challenging basket placement
-manicured park, very pretty
-good signage with hole placements and feet
-pretty significant elevation change for a city park
-quite a few blind shots that make it challenging
-pin placements using a bit of risk/reward next to creeks and drop offs
Cons: -the big one, only nine holes
-during the summer I imagine there are people all over this park
-no big ripper holes
Other Thoughts: What a great little course set in a beautiful historic "Christmas-Like" Wisconsin small town. This course is almost as if it is on a civil war battlefield with the old lime kilns and the quarry walls that are present. surprised that the city of Grafton allowed a disc golf course on such a historic piece of land. I am glad they did.

Whoever designed this course used the land to it's best use, even doing elevated upshots and an elevated downhill on 6 an 7. Good par 3's.

This would be the perfect place to bring the family for a picnic and play a round of DG as the course does a full circle around the grounds. Do it twice and you have a nice little eighteen in your back pocket. Worth a stop without a doubt.

Highest rating I can give for a nine holer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, fun course

1    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very pretty, playing right along a river. The holes are clearly marked with tees for each. Very nice mix of open and wooded holes, with a great use of trees as obstacles. The course is a bit more challenging than the previous reviewer makes it out to be - it can definitely play tough. Baskets are in good shape, as is the course itself.
Cons: We encountered some issues with people walking aimlessly around the course. Not just on the sidewalks, but in the middle of obvious playing areas. It can get pretty busy, being in the middle of a nice park. I can see how people might have problems finding the first hole, as the park confused me a bit. Some holes are a bit too open and just play a bit long.
Other Thoughts: This was a very neat course in a park with some awesome scenery. The park literally has old lime kilns around the ninth hole, which is very interesting. This is a very pretty and very fun 9-hole course, and it was certainly an enjoyable experience. I definitely recommend this course for all players!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lime Kiln

4/10/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes. # 7 is strait down a huge hill with lots of trees on eater side. This is a pretty short friendly course for people to learn how to play, however with the elevation and the trees it can be a challenge for the better player as well. # 9 is one of my favorite holes around, leading you down the path of the kilns. BEAUTIFUL
Cons: Not much variety, personally I don't really care for courses with only 9 holes. The park can be very busy depending on the time of year.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.