Grafton, WI 
Lime-Kiln Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great 9er, Could Use Some Updates

1    9/4/2016   9/6/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a very nice multi-use park with some interesting features, such as the eponymous lime kilns.

- Great variety and challenge for a 9-hole course.

- Fantastic elevation change on many holes.
Cons: - Course equipment (baskets, pads, tee signs) could use updating.

- Navigation can be difficult, course flow is not great.

- A number of areas of potential conflict with other park users.
Other Thoughts: Lime-Kiln Park is home to some of the best disc golf I've seen on a 9-hole course. There is good variety throughout, the holes are challenging without being overly so, and the elevation in play holes 5-7 is among the best seen on any course in the Midwest. The park is well maintained and very pleasant to play through; you will come across the giant lime kilns, a retired 19th century steel bridge, and the Milwaukee River.

However, beyond the actual golf, the course lacks in several areas. With one or two exceptions the concrete tee pads are quite short, and don't really allow for a run up. The baskets are serviceable but aging, and I experience a couple of chain-outs during my round. The basket number plates have also fallen victim to fading and graffiti, which is a shame because there are a few instances where you may not know which basket to throw to at first. The tee signs are rudimentary, and the geometric description of the hole layout is almost more confusing than helpful in many cases. Multiple pin positions are shown, but the active position is not indicated, and I had to walk up the fairway to determine the basket location on several holes.

Navigation and course flow is also an issue. It took me a while to find Holes 3 and 6, as you have to walk past Hole 9, and walk back down 5's fairway to get to them. Next tee signs would be really helpful for first time players. The elevation use here is great, but you will get a work out walking up and down it, as you need to scale the hill to determine the location of baskets 5 and 6 before walking back down to throw.

There are also a few locations where you could have conflict with other park users. Hole 2's fairway is in what seems to be a higher traffic area, the hyzer route around the pine tree on Hole 4 has you throwing next to or over a road and towards a parking lot, and overthrown drives on the massively downhill Hole 7 could easily find the road.

Despite these issues, this was a really fun course to play, and I will definitely be going back. Cedarburg is a lovely town to visit, and Lime-Kiln Park is just down the road. Many of the issues I mentioned can be addressed fairly easily, and I hope they are in time. Updating the pads, signs, and baskets would go a long way to improving the feel of the course. I've played a lot of Chicago area 9-hole courses, and Lime-Kiln blow the vast majority of them out of the water. Definitely check this out if you are in the area, it's worth your time, and won't take much of it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

close to the freeway

1    8/24/2016   8/24/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 65  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Fun park
variety of shots
good elevation
blind shots
pretty park
Cons: kinda hard to find and navigate but just go once and you can figure it out
couple shots a little confusing
small tee pads
other park goers oblivious to DG
Other Thoughts: above average park
the elevation makes it cool
i like that it is close to the freeway

Best 9 hole course around

2-4    7/16/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: knivile1
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great scenery
-Quiet park without much non-DG traffic on the course
-Concrete teepads (though most could be longer)
-Great use of available elevation
-Multiple pin positions (yesterday was the first time I'd actually seen any of them moved)

Partially wooded course that offers a decent mix of shot types. Nothing extremely long here and most players that have experience can probably get away with just a handful of discs (putter, midrange, fairway driver)
Cons: -Hole #6 plays straight uphill and can really suck if your disc doesn't hit and stick in the side of the hill and comes rolling back at you.
-Hole numbers could be re-painted on the baskets. Someone could easily mistake hole #8's basket for hole #3's short placement with the way the sign is currently laid out
-Signs on the teepads could be updated and cleaned up but this is by no means a deal-breaker
Other Thoughts: Best 9 hole course I've played. Most baskets are "visible" from the teepad. Though with the elevation changes and use of trees they are sometimes hidden and you have to pick out a landmark to remember where the basket is before teeing off. The park itself is very well maintained and there is not much non-DG traffic on the course. I've always had a fun round here that offers just enough challenge to keep coming back which is not usually the case when I've played other 9 hole courses in the past.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played (way back in 1999). I liked it then, and I still like it. It was my "home" course up until 2005 when I went off to college, and I still play it when I'm back in town.

Having played other courses in WI (and now in other states, too), though, really reminds me of Lime Kiln's limitations. It's only 9 holes; it's not particularly "technical" (accuracy isn't rewarded enough). But it's convenient and fun, if you live in Ozaukee County. If you don't, there's no reason to make the trip; play one of the other more interesting courses in the area, i.e., Tendick, Dretzka, Brown Deer Park, instead

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic 9!

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good amount of elevation change for a 9 hole.
Great variety of shots.
Extremely pretty course that plays right next to a river.
Usually not to busy.
Cons: Not many cons.
It has nice signs, and good pads. I guess a con would be that the pads are a little short, but they don't need to be long as the course isn't very long.
Other Thoughts: My favorite 9 hole around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-Holer I've Played, But...

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Setting. This course plays through a gorgeous, well-kept park with some great views of the river, historic structures (the namesake kilns near the finishing hole), small crystal-clear creeks, and even a small waterfall. There is plenty of elevation here, which is used quite well (however, there are also some cons regarding the same).
2. Variety. There is some elevation change on pretty much every hole, some risky greens, lots of chances to air out a big drive, blind holes (more in the cons) and only a few chances to pick up an easy deuce. Hole #7 was probably my favorite, a fun steep downhill shot through a generous yet wooded corridor.
3. The concrete tee pads were all in great shape.
4. Most of the baskets were in good condition and caught well, with the exception of #8, which looked rusty and as if someone had tampered with the chain arrangement.
5. The river/rapids could come into play on #1, and there are some other little creeks that could be played as OB hazards, although none of them were significantly flowing even after some heavy rains the night before I played.
Cons: 1. Navigation can be a bit confusing in spots without a map or locals. I played in the morning on a weekday, so I had no groups to follow and didn't see any maps posted. I stepped on #9's tee pad after playing #2, then glanced at the sign and realized I was on the wrong tee, so had to do some more searching.
2. Tee signs, while all intact, are very minimally helpful. There apparently are multiple pin locations, but no indicator on the signs as far as which one is in play; this results in a LOT of walking up the fairway to find the basket, since over half of the holes are blind AND uphill.
3. The blind uphill shots, while all unique in their own regard, get redundant. With all the awesome terrain available here, I see no reason why there should be 5 holes of this type (2, 3, 5, 6, and 9) on a 9-hole course.
4. The basket for #8 is in close proximity to #3's tee pad. I'm not sure if this becomes an issue on the park's busier days since I had the whole course to myself, but a big drive coming out of the woods on #8 could pose a potential hazard to players on #3.
5. The overall flow didn't seem well thought out. It's as if the course was designed as 9 separate 1-hole courses and then the numbering was decided; this probably wasn't the case, and I'm not griping about the walks between holes...it just seemed kind of goofy, and a redesign wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course, but I wouldn't recommend it for beginners since the hole lengths and uphill shots will only serve to frustrate (kids, too). It's nice to see a 9-holer that provides this much challenge and decent distances, and traveling disc golfers should definitely try to make a stop here...just make sure to bring a map and ignore the tee signs. With a playground and so much scenery available, those of us with small children and/or significant others who aren't disc golfers will still have plenty to enjoy. This was a surprising stop on my 3-course mini-trip, although since I had it wish listed for a while and had been tracking reviews I already knew I would be pretty pleased. That said, I'd like to see just a wee bit more variety as far as how the terrain is utilized, should a redesign ever become a possibility.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A little something for everyone

5+    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: InJonGnito
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > Requires a variety of shots to score well (long, short, uphill, downhill, doglegs left and right).
> Good mix of narrow wooded and open fairways.
> Often multiple ways to play each hole with risk/reward opportunities.
> 9th hole shots over the lime pile and down the narrow chute between the kilns and the river is impressive.
> Scenic, generally quiet park that is usually not too busy (multiple places to park too, if you want to start/end your round on particular holes).
> Restrooms, picnic area, playground, dog park, horseshoe pits and sand volleyball courts make for a nice place for an outing with friends or family.
Cons: > Although concrete, the tee pads are short (although there aren't many long holes that require longer run-ups).
> While the signs make good tee markers, the hole diagrams are often misleading or wrong.
> Consult a map (posted at first tee) to make sure you know where the holes are.
> Some tee shots are blind, and without knowing the basket placement beforehand, you could throw a good shot that turns out to be way off-course.
> Limited holes that allow you to launch your tee shot full-out (i.e., most holes are short enough to only require a mid-range disc).
> Only 9 holes (did not affect my rating, but should be noted nonetheless).
Other Thoughts: While I wish it were an 18-hole course, I don't feel that you can fault a place for not having enough room to fit a full 18. However, despite its high quality, because it is a short course, it's not one that I would consider to be a "destination" course. Play it when you have only a short amount of time but still want a challenge to hone your skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9er

1    7/5/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty and hilly park with very cool old lime kilns and a river adding to the scenery here. Most of the holes have some kind of elevation change to keep it interesting and add some challenge, including a few tough uphill holes and a fun downhill ace run shooting straight down a sled hill with thick rough waiting to catch an errant shot. There are a few holes that play down defined fairways like this, and the rest play through scattered mature trees with grassy open fairways.

There is nice variety of length here, with everything from ace run holes to a longer drive where you'll pull out a driver. It also makes you hit a variety of lines to be successful, and plays pretty balanced for righty or lefty players. There are multiple pin positions that change up the shots and difficulty, and it seems like they are changed reasonably often adding some nice variety. There are concrete tees that are in decent shape, and basic hole signs for every tee.
Cons: There is no marking to show what pin placement is in use, and there are enough blind holes that it makes for quite a bit of extra walking to know where to throw. There are also a couple of transitions to the next hole where some signage would help alleviate some navigation issues. There are some holes that play very close to roads and picnic areas that could be safety issues if players aren't careful. I would have enjoyed more of the holes bringing the woods into play, though I'm not sure if there's much more room to do that here.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun little 9 hole course that's worth a stop if you're in the area. It's reasonably beginner friendly though there are some tighter holes with thick rough. More experienced players will find some nice challenges here, and some great elevation shots including a scenic uphill shot to finish past an old lime pile up to the kilns.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple basket placements
Good length variation
holes under 200' and over 400'
Cons: Blind holes
Shots towards road/ other park structures
popular picnic/ hangout park
Other Thoughts: There's only room for 9 holes
Baskets are moved frequently
Lots of short steep hills in front of tee on otherwise flat shots, akward

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grafton

5+    4/10/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Flying_Stross
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Tee pads
-Nice scenery
-Good friendly players
-Challenging
-Diversity
This course is right by my hometown which is not bad if you want to throw a quick round. The basket are really up to date which means chains will catch your disc a little bit easier. Not a long walk from hole to next tee pad. You really only need about 3 disc to play this course since it is short holes and 9 holes. I recommend for beginners to play here because it is an easy course and will help out your game.
Cons:
-Only 9 holes
-Waiting game
-Short holes
-No big rip drives
-Water hazards
Course needs to make 18 it will bring more people and more of an exciting game to the course. Since they are building a skate park now at the course now there is going to be more of the worry of people picking up your disc since the course is very compact. The people are some what friendly. The big issue of the course is very short I finished one round in less than 30 mins
Other Thoughts:
Hole 1-Short hole about 190ft, a river is just past the basket, couple of trees blocking your way of the hole
Hole 2-Average hole about 240ft, a little hill right at the tee pad, river to your left, tall tree close to the hole and it goes from long field to a slanted down hill
Hole 3-Short hole about 160ft, Many trees most trees at any hole, basket is in a little pack of trees, easy 3
Hole 4-Average hole 270ft, tee pad is right by a hill, to trees in the middle with a pack of trees to your right, the basket veers to your right
Hole 5-Average hole 215ft, up hill hole, trees surrounding the hole, you go up the first hill than there is another hill which where the basket is at
Hole 6-Average hole 200ft, just an up hill hole nothing in its way
Hole 7-Average hole 200ft, Down hill hole, narrow fairway, packs of trees from left to right, basket slightly to your right
Hole 8- Short hole 175ft, Dog leg to your right, short and narrow fairway, trees surrounding the tee pad, hole to your right
Hole 9- Longest hole 285ft, gravel hill right in front of you, trees to the left, 3 little tower buildings to your right, fairway gets narrow once you approach the basket

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.