Shakopee, MN 
Lions Park I Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #17
3 / 304ft.   4 / 517ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice park course

1    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained...fairly easy to navigate.
Cement tee pads and most have two boxes.
Cons: Somewhat of a short course.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginner and average players. Advanced players will find this a good warm up course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lions Park

2-4    3/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tee-pads on most of the holes.
Good mix of open area, trees, water, and other OBs.
Free!
Clean and well maintained.
Some fun holes, throwing over and around water also down a nice sized man-made hill.
Park and pool right by course (pretty much play around).
Cons: Can get crowded.
Layout occasionally crosses fairways, inevitably causing back-ups.
Nearby traffic can get pretty busy.
Windy!
Other Thoughts: I traveled from Wisconsin to play a tournament at Lions Park, made a weekend of it. The course was nice, I enjoyed it all except the wind. It was 25-35 mph winds that weekend, but all the locals said it was normally quite a windy course. I thought the design was fun and challenging, but if it's crowded there are going to be back-ups. All in all, a good course and I'll play it again someday.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This Lion Meowed a little bit.

1    3/10/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice dual concrete teepads (not all have two tees however).

2) Rules sign near #1 basket which also indicated an arrow towards the first tee.

3) Mach baskets in great shape with the number plate facing the tees.

4) Hole, Par, and Distance indicated on the tee signs, but that is all. Not really an issue not having a map because the courses is all out there in front of you. You can see all the baskets and you can easily decipher where you want to throw.

5) There is minor elevation change on a handful of the holes and the coupe de gras . . . #13 bomb off a big sledding hill? That has to be the only reason they have that large hill in the middle of the park, and perhaps they didn't want to haul the soil away when they put in the pool so they just made a big pile and planted grass on it.

6) There are a couple picnic tables located near a few tees that can be used, but nothing consistent at each tee.

7) This course is very clean (no garbage) and nicely maintained turf. There is very little turf damage on this course so it is also visually appealing in that regards.

8) It is refreshing to have a course with some intentional water holes designed into the layout. There is one throw across water, and another throw mostly along water (but you can take a more direct line at the basket if you want to go at the second basket. I cleared the pond by only a few feet from the short, so the long tee forces a more conservative shot unless you can bomb it!

9) Because of this courses southern exposure . . . it is most likely always the first course to dry up in spring. I played right after the thaw and the only bad areas on the course were around 6 and 7 where the construction has occurred.

10) Plenty of pavillion space and bathrooms near the beginning and middle of the course. The pool looks fun and there are tennis courts too.
Cons: 1) The flow is confusing and somewhat disjointed in a couple places. Hole #1 was not evident where it was immediately because I parked over by #12 instead. I walked around and decided to play #13 through 18 (which I figured was the hole along the fence by the pool which was actually #1) in hopes I would find #1 Hole #17 is not obvious other than you have played through the entire corner of the park. Hole #18 is also not obvious because you have a long walk between some trees and the pool fence. There are also some strange walks depending on the tee you are playing.

2) This course is mostly open and I much prefer wooded courses. It isn't a bad design or a bad course by any means, but I just prefer more trees to force you to throw different shots and be more consistent.

3) The course plays across the sidewalk a few times during the round. You can see the walkers and they can see you, but it is something to be aware of. Do not throw if you aren't clear!

4) I don't think I saw a garbage can on the entire course. You would have to go by the pavilion or parking lot to dispose of anything.

5) No mulch was used around the baskets and tees where the traffic is taking a toll on the turf. It would help make the place look so much nicer, and also play better in poor weather conditions.

6) There didn't seem to be enough variety of shot here. There was a high amount of hyzer shots and you have whatever option you want on many holes. I prefer it when some holes force a certain shot and others force the opposite shot rather than giving you an option everytime.

7) #6 was moved because of the construction of the Fire Station and unless the basket gets moved again, the tee does not line up at the basket at all so the throw is awkward.

8) Bathrooms were locked on the weekend . . . probably because the park is normally not busy this time of year but it was beautiful out and I needed to pee. No trees to hide behind either.
Other Thoughts: There isn't much else to say about this course. It is decent but not flashy, no real exciting shots or signature holes to make you feel like you have to come back someday, but it is well maintained and nice and open for beginners so I would guess it sees a bit of play. It is not overly challenging, but there are some tougher shots and some longer holes depending on which tee you play. Will I come back no, but if I lived nearby or wanted to work on my drives I would play there. There just isn't enough interest in the holes out there for me to feel like I am missing something not coming back there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Long, Flat Course To Practice Your Rollers On!

1    7/21/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 657  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions Parks I is a large expanse of mostly flat, mowed grass with scattered small to mid-sized trees. The course starts by this huge man made pool complete with beach and water slide. There are two concrete teepads for each hole. The longs add 200' to some holes greatly adding to challenge here. The baskets are nice Mach III with the red numbers. There are simple little tee signs. Navigation is fairly easy.
# 13 is easily the signature hole on this course. It sticks out as it's the only hole where elevation comes into play. You're teeing off from the top of this man-made little hill. I've seen these little man-made hills in other Minnesota parks? Do they serve a purpose? Why are they here? Anyway, they make great disc golf launching pads. The # 13 hole is just a short (220') touch shot down to a basket guarded by two large evergreen trees on the sides and a smaller deciduous tree of some kind (maple?) in front. Fun hole!
This course was made for rollers. If you don't role, learn, practice, master it and then get it down to a science. A good roller will save you some strokes here.
The holes by the pond also add to the challenge and liven things up a bit.
The park is extremely clean and there were quite a few players playing the day I played.
Cons: I was lucky the day I played. No wind. Some of the longer, open holes are fairly boring and would get pretty repetetive. You need to be careful on #'s 17 and 18 over by the street. This course is big enough and spread out enough, I think it could handle many groups of players without a feeling of being crowded.
Other Thoughts: I don't see this as a beginner's course just because of the length. It's a nice rec course because other than the over length, there isn't much in the way to challenge you. Errant shots are usually not penalized at all. I could see a howling wind playing havoc with anyone's score here. I don't think that would be much fun to out here in this vast open area fighting the wind for 18 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/13/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Sanderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This is an okay course it is very easy to find your way to every hole a lot of small trees have gotten quite large in the last few years adding an extra challenge, and I personally think that a water hazard on a few holes makes the course a little more interesting and fun. The baskets are easy to find on nearly every hole so there shouldn't be to many problems not knowing where you are aiming.
Cons: There are a few problems with this course though, one is it is usually terribly windy because the course is so wide open, a good many of the holes cross with the walking/biking path and three holes are right next to the road.
Other Thoughts: On a nice day with little wind this is a pretty nice course to play there is a good mix of long and short holes for begginers and people who are a little more experienced.

 Easy starter course

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 50  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: Nicely marked concrete tee boxes, arrows on baskets direct to next tees and marked footage at the red tee box, sometimes on the blues
Cons: some confusion starts at tee 8 - basket 16 appears to be on-line with the box, several baskets are situated near each other, some basket markers have been spun out of position
Other Thoughts: Nice girl watching on the holes near the pool/beach!

 Lots of open area

2-4    5/24/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of holes, and a water hazard is always fun.
Cons: The whole course is pretty wide open so you really just sit back and through until it comes time to putt.
Other Thoughts: Signs with par to go along with distance would be nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open But Fun

5+    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
Pros: Its got a good mix of long holes and short holes. The water is a good hazard on two holes. Well kept and has pretty good flow.
Cons: Its very open and can be tough if windy out. It can get pretty buzy some times too. Shakopee could use another course.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and will continue to play it

 Nice Open Course

1    7/20/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 328  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You can throw far on about half of the holes.
-Hole 13 is from top of man-made hill.
-Great beginner course.
-Very clean, well maintained course.
-Nice cement tee pads and nice baskets.
-Neatly mowed fairways
-Located near Man-made swimming lake with water slide. Also has picnic area.
-Easy to find.
-Uses water well to provide one of few challenges.
-Not too busy but you probably wont be the only ones there.
Cons: -Pond can eat your discs on 2 holes.
-Not a lot of shot variety. May get boring after front 9.
-Not many obstacles to work around. A few trees on some holes.
-Other than 13 is very flat.
Other Thoughts: Overall, its a decent course. Needs more variety in the way of trees or some other challenges.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.