Shakopee, MN 
Lions Park I Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #8
3 / 374ft.   4 / 549ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    8/13/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Sanderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This is an okay course it is very easy to find your way to every hole a lot of small trees have gotten quite large in the last few years adding an extra challenge, and I personally think that a water hazard on a few holes makes the course a little more interesting and fun. The baskets are easy to find on nearly every hole so there shouldn't be to many problems not knowing where you are aiming.
Cons: There are a few problems with this course though, one is it is usually terribly windy because the course is so wide open, a good many of the holes cross with the walking/biking path and three holes are right next to the road.
Other Thoughts: On a nice day with little wind this is a pretty nice course to play there is a good mix of long and short holes for begginers and people who are a little more experienced.

 Easy starter course

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 50  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: Nicely marked concrete tee boxes, arrows on baskets direct to next tees and marked footage at the red tee box, sometimes on the blues
Cons: some confusion starts at tee 8 - basket 16 appears to be on-line with the box, several baskets are situated near each other, some basket markers have been spun out of position
Other Thoughts: Nice girl watching on the holes near the pool/beach!

 Fun course for beginners

5+    6/8/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: sporkage
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Full 18 holes with multiple tee boxes
- Nice mix of long and short holes
- Not a ton of trash
- Water hazards and well placed trees
- Sneaky mix of elevation. Nothing to major in terms of hills but there's enough to knock your shots up or down about 5%
- Usually not too busy
- Concrete tee boxes and distance markers
Cons: - Hole 2 plays through the parking lot. Watch for cars and try to avoid tearing up a disc on the pavement.
- A little too open for some holes. Wind is big.
- When it's busy on the weekends, there's a lot of people using the trails through the park.
- Holes 17 and 18 butt up against a city street. Watch for cars.
- Some baskets and long tee boxes not obvious
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I play it the most. I just started playing disc golf recently and I feel this course allows me to work on my game, but seems like it's a decent enough challenge for others I've played with with more experience. Overall its a solid course and worth the drive.

**There are currently a couple changes going on at the park. The pin for hole 6 has been moved closer to the tee and there is a construction trailer near the hole. All the trees surrounding hole 2 have been cut down. Not sure what the big plan is, but there's definitely some sort of change coming.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of open area

2-4    5/24/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of holes, and a water hazard is always fun.
Cons: The whole course is pretty wide open so you really just sit back and through until it comes time to putt.
Other Thoughts: Signs with par to go along with distance would be nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 95  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: Nice teeboxes and baskets. 18 hole layout. Nice mix of short and long. One small water hazard that comes into play on 2 holes.
Cons: No difficulty really. No tight holes, most of the trees are very young, course is wide open so wind is an issue.
Other Thoughts: really just nothing special as far as courses go. I've played worse, but I've played much better. Multi-use park and a few of the early holes go across a path that was being heavily used when we played. I would not make any special effort to play again.

 Lions Park

5+    4/19/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: njp002001
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2010
Pros: 1) Good mix of short and long holes
2) Concrete boxes
3) Many challenging holes
4) Clean for the most part
5) Pretty good bigger course
Cons: 1) Little too open. Can get windy
2) Pretty flat. Only hole 13 is hilly
3) Gets busy on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for a to start out on. Only major down side is if its windy it gets very frustrating.
Also can be a little dangerous for other people. Hole one is by the pool very close to fence. Hole two is over the parking lot. Hole 9, 17, and 18 are along the road.

 Lions I

1    9/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: reverand_redbeard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good beginer course, maybe in a number of years when the trees grow up this will be awesome...
Cons: not really challenging, just straight drives some far, some close, some have a few trees you might hit, but there were numerous times were i felt the course was "unsafe" like hole number 1 runs along the pool fence, it would be easy for a beginner to put it over the fence and hit a little kid, #2 the long tee is across a parking lot, the short tee is under a power line.... a few holes border the road that runs past it...
Other Thoughts: when this course matures it might get better and more challenging

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course too play on nice day!!!

5+    8/4/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Da Kweez
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions park is overall a fairly decent course. Lots of open fairways and many holes with obstacles as well. Also has a good mix of holes with a few water hazards as well as shots down hill. Lions park also has a few holes over 500 feet.
Cons: Not a fun course too play when windy out..very hard too par...If you get to the course earlier in the afternoon you shouldn't have too worry about big crowds but later in the afternoon can become very busy...also be careful on the water holes..everyday i drive by and see people looking for their discs
Other Thoughts: If the course has any signature holes it would be hole 13 at the tope of the hill..nice down hill shot in between two tall trees..watch your disc in the trees as well!!!! Overall lions park is a great course too play on a nice day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open But Fun

5+    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
Pros: Its got a good mix of long holes and short holes. The water is a good hazard on two holes. Well kept and has pretty good flow.
Cons: Its very open and can be tough if windy out. It can get pretty buzy some times too. Shakopee could use another course.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and will continue to play it

 

1    3/16/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are multiple tees on most holes, which is always a plus. There is a good amount of length on a few holes, with some shorter holes.
There are some trees for obstacles, but not many. A pond comes into play on 2 holes which is a much greater obstacle.
Not too much elevation change, there's one hole on top of a funny looking hill, but other than that it's pretty flat.
All in all a mostly open course that's good for beginners but is difficult for more advanced players if it is windy.
Cons: Not a whole lot of variety. Every hole is almost entirely open with very little to make you choose your path. A few pine trees are the worst of the hazards.
It was super windy, at least when I was there. I guess this could be viewed as a con or as a pro depending on if you wanted the challenge or not.
Some of the tees are a little tricky to find, especially a few of the long tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.