Shakopee, MN
Lions Park I Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #13
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole 13



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice park course

1    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained...fairly easy to navigate.
Cement tee pads and most have two boxes.
Cons: Somewhat of a short course.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginner and average players. Advanced players will find this a good warm up course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but nothing special

5+    8/30/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in good condition, with quality tee pads and average baskets. It's a great course to work on your drive, as there are not very many trees to contend with.
Cons: The course is often very busy and it seems to always be busy when I am there, especially since it is located at a quite popular recreational park. There was also construction all summer, so hole 6, I believe, was closed.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty average, but if you can play there on a day with no wind, it can be absolutely torn up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lions Park

2-4    3/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tee-pads on most of the holes.
Good mix of open area, trees, water, and other OBs.
Free!
Clean and well maintained.
Some fun holes, throwing over and around water also down a nice sized man-made hill.
Park and pool right by course (pretty much play around).
Cons: Can get crowded.
Layout occasionally crosses fairways, inevitably causing back-ups.
Nearby traffic can get pretty busy.
Windy!
Other Thoughts: I traveled from Wisconsin to play a tournament at Lions Park, made a weekend of it. The course was nice, I enjoyed it all except the wind. It was 25-35 mph winds that weekend, but all the locals said it was normally quite a windy course. I thought the design was fun and challenging, but if it's crowded there are going to be back-ups. All in all, a good course and I'll play it again someday.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This Lion Meowed a little bit.

1    3/10/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice dual concrete teepads (not all have two tees however).

2) Rules sign near #1 basket which also indicated an arrow towards the first tee.

3) Mach baskets in great shape with the number plate facing the tees.

4) Hole, Par, and Distance indicated on the tee signs, but that is all. Not really an issue not having a map because the courses is all out there in front of you. You can see all the baskets and you can easily decipher where you want to throw.

5) There is minor elevation change on a handful of the holes and the coupe de gras . . . #13 bomb off a big sledding hill? That has to be the only reason they have that large hill in the middle of the park, and perhaps they didn't want to haul the soil away when they put in the pool so they just made a big pile and planted grass on it.

6) There are a couple picnic tables located near a few tees that can be used, but nothing consistent at each tee.

7) This course is very clean (no garbage) and nicely maintained turf. There is very little turf damage on this course so it is also visually appealing in that regards.

8) It is refreshing to have a course with some intentional water holes designed into the layout. There is one throw across water, and another throw mostly along water (but you can take a more direct line at the basket if you want to go at the second basket. I cleared the pond by only a few feet from the short, so the long tee forces a more conservative shot unless you can bomb it!

9) Because of this courses southern exposure . . . it is most likely always the first course to dry up in spring. I played right after the thaw and the only bad areas on the course were around 6 and 7 where the construction has occurred.

10) Plenty of pavillion space and bathrooms near the beginning and middle of the course. The pool looks fun and there are tennis courts too.
Cons: 1) The flow is confusing and somewhat disjointed in a couple places. Hole #1 was not evident where it was immediately because I parked over by #12 instead. I walked around and decided to play #13 through 18 (which I figured was the hole along the fence by the pool which was actually #1) in hopes I would find #1 Hole #17 is not obvious other than you have played through the entire corner of the park. Hole #18 is also not obvious because you have a long walk between some trees and the pool fence. There are also some strange walks depending on the tee you are playing.

2) This course is mostly open and I much prefer wooded courses. It isn't a bad design or a bad course by any means, but I just prefer more trees to force you to throw different shots and be more consistent.

3) The course plays across the sidewalk a few times during the round. You can see the walkers and they can see you, but it is something to be aware of. Do not throw if you aren't clear!

4) I don't think I saw a garbage can on the entire course. You would have to go by the pavilion or parking lot to dispose of anything.

5) No mulch was used around the baskets and tees where the traffic is taking a toll on the turf. It would help make the place look so much nicer, and also play better in poor weather conditions.

6) There didn't seem to be enough variety of shot here. There was a high amount of hyzer shots and you have whatever option you want on many holes. I prefer it when some holes force a certain shot and others force the opposite shot rather than giving you an option everytime.

7) #6 was moved because of the construction of the Fire Station and unless the basket gets moved again, the tee does not line up at the basket at all so the throw is awkward.

8) Bathrooms were locked on the weekend . . . probably because the park is normally not busy this time of year but it was beautiful out and I needed to pee. No trees to hide behind either.
Other Thoughts: There isn't much else to say about this course. It is decent but not flashy, no real exciting shots or signature holes to make you feel like you have to come back someday, but it is well maintained and nice and open for beginners so I would guess it sees a bit of play. It is not overly challenging, but there are some tougher shots and some longer holes depending on which tee you play. Will I come back no, but if I lived nearby or wanted to work on my drives I would play there. There just isn't enough interest in the holes out there for me to feel like I am missing something not coming back there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bland Course

1    7/2/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 23  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a course located in the Lions park right next to a giant man-made pool. The park is kept well. There are multiple tees for a lot of the holes.

There is a little risk/reward on the water hazard holes, adding some fun. There is one hole that starts on top of a man-made hill (with a picnic table to relax if you're tired after the climb), which is a nice short shot. The hole is guarded by two large evergreens (had to get my girlfriend's disk out of one).

There are bathrooms and a drinking fountain near the beginning of the course, and a nice parking lot with shade trees.
Cons: Multiple holes go over paths, and one goes over a road, so watch out for pedestrians and vehicles.

Almost all holes are wide open, making for a pretty bland round of disc golf.

There are very few benches and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Perhaps a good course for beginners because it's so open, but I will not go out of my way to play this course again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Long, Flat Course To Practice Your Rollers On!

1    7/21/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions Parks I is a large expanse of mostly flat, mowed grass with scattered small to mid-sized trees. The course starts by this huge man made pool complete with beach and water slide. There are two concrete teepads for each hole. The longs add 200' to some holes greatly adding to challenge here. The baskets are nice Mach III with the red numbers. There are simple little tee signs. Navigation is fairly easy.
# 13 is easily the signature hole on this course. It sticks out as it's the only hole where elevation comes into play. You're teeing off from the top of this man-made little hill. I've seen these little man-made hills in other Minnesota parks? Do they serve a purpose? Why are they here? Anyway, they make great disc golf launching pads. The # 13 hole is just a short (220') touch shot down to a basket guarded by two large evergreen trees on the sides and a smaller deciduous tree of some kind (maple?) in front. Fun hole!
This course was made for rollers. If you don't role, learn, practice, master it and then get it down to a science. A good roller will save you some strokes here.
The holes by the pond also add to the challenge and liven things up a bit.
The park is extremely clean and there were quite a few players playing the day I played.
Cons: I was lucky the day I played. No wind. Some of the longer, open holes are fairly boring and would get pretty repetetive. You need to be careful on #'s 17 and 18 over by the street. This course is big enough and spread out enough, I think it could handle many groups of players without a feeling of being crowded.
Other Thoughts: I don't see this as a beginner's course just because of the length. It's a nice rec course because other than the over length, there isn't much in the way to challenge you. Errant shots are usually not penalized at all. I could see a howling wind playing havoc with anyone's score here. I don't think that would be much fun to out here in this vast open area fighting the wind for 18 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nicely groomed
hard to lose discs (unless you throw it in the ponds)
bathrooms on site
not a "pay to play"
some elevation changes
hole 12 is unique
mosquitos are much more tollerable here than on wooded courses
Cons: fairly open
can get crowded
alot of the holes seem to play the same with the exception of 1, 7, 12, and 18
Other Thoughts: over all its a good course worthy of a play thru if your in or around the area. its located within a nice park with a fancy man made beach/pool area and basketball/volleyball courts...keep an eye out for the caged heat. a womens penitentiory is close by

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hot!

2-4    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: Attix
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very wide open with a fair variety of shots and some longer holes. Some elevation changes which are fun as long as you dont accidentaly land your disc on the top of hole 13 when not on 13 and have to walk all the way up again. Also this course can get in your head a bit with both the water hazzards and two holes being right next to a fairly busy road...
Cons: My friend and I found it a little hard to find the next tee from the hole before and sometimes found it hard to find where the basket was from the tee. Better signs and direction would be nice out there.
Other Thoughts: Be careful coming to this course on either an extremely windy day OR an extremely hot one.. It is a very wide open course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun afternoon round!

5+    4/6/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: UnitedPuppySlayer
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Open course, hard to lose discs.
-Good place to learn new discs
-Changes in elevation
-Water hazards
Cons: -Often very windy
-Can get crowded
-Dust/dirt around baskets sticks to discs
-Water hazards

Other Thoughts: Good place for new players due to the openness. Great place to learn new discs or just to have some good fun with friends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: Daveman3000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length to many of the holes, was surprised on how many they put in this park. loved the two water holes. one short over a corner and one longer one. the trees really didn't get in the way too much but got in the head a bit.
Cons: Lot of back and forth play with other hole in close proximity. pretty wide open.
Other Thoughts: It was fun for the group that I went with for we play a short course in our area. very clean park and easy to navigate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.