American Fork, UT 
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 410ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very good course, a little hidden

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 33  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: - Great variety for a wooded course, some mostly wide open holes plus some great technical holes
- A little elevation, which is great
- It's in Utah, so the scenery is nice
- Not crowded at all (I was alone on the course) unlike Creekside, which was jam packed
Cons: - Some teepads are just dirt, which sucks
- The actual teepads are some kind of slate blocks, and they're small, so that's kind of a bummer
- There was a lot of construction going on when I was there, so it was hard to find the first tee
- Navigation wasn't awful, but it was a little tricky, especially since they move the baskets around. My map didn't always match the actual layout
Other Thoughts: I liked Creekside more, but this was a very good course. I would enjoy playing here more.

 Challenging course with tight lanes

5+    7/9/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: braditz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety of holes; course is maintained about as well as could be expected; good quality baskets; many of the holes have alternate basket locations and the baskets get moved around regularly to change things up a bit
Cons: No signs at tee pads; a couple of holes don't have finished tee pads; difficult to navigate the course alone if it is your first time there; huge piles of concrete/asphalt (from city dumping) around the first few holes tend to tear up discs; rusty scrap metal and barbed wire spread throughout much of the course; there is a small BMX park that a few holes play through
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course overall! Very challenging for new and experienced players alike. There are huge piles of concrete and asphalt that come into play for the first few holes, and it seems like these piles are constantly growing - this might not be viewed as a con for those who like challenging obstacles, but they are pretty rough on discs.

The biggest challenge of this course is the trees. Oh my god, the trees. The majority of the course is played through a pretty dense patch of forest, so most of the holes have pretty tight lanes. Beginners may be frustrated when they hit tree after tree on most every hole. On the other hand, it does force you to improve your accuracy if you play here often.

One more thing to look out for is the BMX park in the middle of the course. I'm not really into BMX, but honestly it looks like a pretty fun little course so I can't blame bikers for wanting to ride here - it just sucks that it is right in the middle of a disc golf course. Holes 9, 11, and 12 play through the BMX area so just be on the lookout for kids. Also, there is a jogging/biking path that you have to throw across on holes 13, 14, and 16 but it is pretty easy to see people coming on that.

Come play! If it is your first time, you may want to ask someone who is already there if you can tag along, since the layout is pretty hard to follow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

post apocalyptic gem

1    6/2/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a narrow wooded crescent on a hillside overlooking the park.

My high rating of 3.5 is solely on the virtue of the hole design, which mostly consists of long tightly wooded fairways with interesting elevation and good variety. Kudos to whoever identified this sliver of woods for a dg course. My one criticism of the hole design is that most of the shots are straight for the majority of the fairway with a late dogleg either right or left rather than having some holes with mid or early curves in the fairway. Nonetheless, very fun, long holes.

The cement tile tees work great, and someone did a great job installing them.

Cons: No signs, but there are metal numbers nailed to some of the tees, and the baskets have number stickers.

confusing navigation--sadly, I didn't have a chance to print off the map from this site before playing. Great map, get it before you play, you will get lost.

Lots of junk, piles of broken concrete, twisted rusty metal and dust make this course look like the set of a mad max movie. Still fun. Lots of character.
Other Thoughts: I didn't recognize the baskets. They look homemade, but are very well made with double chains.

As far as I know, this is the only course in Utah with so many wooded corridor type fairways, which is my favorite type of disc golf. I felt like I was home in tennessee. Lots of potential for here with a bit of a makeover.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks can be decieving

1    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Busdriverfred
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked the trails that were there. Pretty challenging with all of the wooded area and wood on the ground with the tall grass makes it hard to find your disc.
Cons: Fairway 6 is HARD! There are several places where you really have to climb and unless you have a good arm (which I don't and am out of shape) you will have be out of breath.
Other Thoughts: Definitely dress for the occasion. Don't wear sandals. This was a great challenging course that looks like crap for the first two holes but is absolutely beautiful once you get into the woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical and Fun

2-4    3/25/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: FAM1LY GUY
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course that plays back in the trees of a nearby sport park. Some really fun holes that play up and down with some elevation changes. Technical at times as you navigate through trees while offering up a good power throw.
Cons: This course really needs a sign with a course map. Also some improvement to signage for each hole with better tee pads would be nice. Hole 1 currently tees off from next to a large sand pile. The city is using some of this area for dumping dirt and old asphalt/concrete. Watch out for the mountain bikers that have built some of their jumps and ramps throughout some of the course as you play through the trees.
Other Thoughts: Playing with someone else who has played here before is a must. Otherwise you can waste time trying to figure out where the holes are.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    5/2/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is very secluded. It's a difficult course hidden in many trees. It is hard to find your way around if you don't go with a local the first time. After that, and you know your way around it's a very fun course. And this course is FUN! I love the difficulty. I'm not the best Disc Golfer, but I love a challenge.
-It is not crowded at all! Which is great. If you have ever been to creekside in Salt Lake, you know it can be frustrating to get around with the mass amounts of people every single day from sunrise to sunset. Art Dye is not crowded at all. It has quickly become one of my favorite courses.
-You can also play this course on fairly windy days. It is so wooded, the trees block most of the wind. If you are itching to go, and it's a bit windy... Try this course.
Cons: -It is not marked well at all. Good luck if your heading out there for your first time and don't have a local to follow or play with.
-All dirt pads. Needs concrete badly.
-Garbage everywhere, they really really need to clean it up. However, it doesn't effect the game, therefore it is still a great place to play!
-Never a different hole location. It would be nice to have them moved around a few times a month to try new hole locations.
Other Thoughts: Go try it, you may be surprised how fun it is! It is one of my favorite courses now. I have heard rumors of them cleaning it up, and really making it a great "updated" course. We can only hope! Cause the potential is there, and it is fun!
It would really take a lot for me to give a 5 stars. So please understand that 3.5 is heavy for me. I really like this course.
Have fun!

QUICK UPDATE: Played the course today and the holes were moved! Which is awesome. They have added new hole locations and they are great. Also, they cleaned up the park and it looks much better and is still being cleaned up and will just get better. And there are some kids that are gradually putting in launch pads. They are great, and hope they can get enough donations to do more. Or all. Enjoy Arte Dye. I do.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Technical Course

5+    1/30/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: jakeandthewizard
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees rare for Utah
-Great use of elevation
-Some cool unique holes ie hole 6. Uphill, tight gap, basket on top of old concrete foundation for a water silo or something
-More variety than any other Utah course I've played
-Tee signs are now up on all 18
Cons: -Construction obstructing first 2 holes as well as 12
-No teepads
-Can get very muddy
-BMX bikers on the course although they are pretty good about moving
-Needs some TLC
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is great. IF you go in knowing what to expect. The tee signs that are now up are semi-helpful but take a map. Even better, follow a local. If you can figure out this course it is soo much fun. It really is the only course I've played in Utah that has that East Coast feel to it. It doesn't have quite enough trees/water to really compare but it's probably the closest thing you'll find in Utah which I love because I started playing back East. It is very technical, has some very unique and fun holes, and I recommend it. Just know what you're getting into. This courses best feature in my opinion is it's use of elevation. It has some awesome holes but be careful! Tracking down a disc that misses the fairway on a couple of these can be a chore! It adds to the fun in my opinion. Very risk/reward.

PS- Don't try to play this course in sandals. You will regret it. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rare forested course in Utah
Great baskets
Good variety on hole length
Not crowded
Cons: Random barbed wire hazards (get your tetanus shot before coming)
Nearly impossible to navigate without a local
Teepads suck, when you can find them
Other Thoughts: After reading other reviews, I decided I wouldn't go try this course unless I could play with someone who has done it before. I figured, what better way to do it than show up on mini-tourney doubles night (Thursdays.) I showed up 20 minutes early and there wasn't a soul on the course. It turned out that they had just relocated the Utah Valley mini-tourneys from Centennial Park (which is shutting down) to Art Dye, and only 5 people showed up. But that was plenty of people to guide me around the course, which was my real goal. As an extra bonus, I got a tour of the course from one of the designers (Thanks Pete) and we won some cash, which I promptly dropped at In-N-Out on the way home.

I also learned that the city never reimbursed some of the locals who put out the cash for the baskets, so before complaining too much about the lack of signs, realize those baskets were paid for by the locals, not the city.

At any rate, there is a lot of variety on the course from a couple of open bombs (although they either pass through a tunnel out of the woods or have to enter the woods at the end of the throw) to some shorter, but very tight holes with heavy schule on both sides. There is even a fair amount of water on the course, although little of it deep enough to actually lose a disc. Mostly, it is just nice to be able to play an East-Coast-style wooded course right here in Utah.

The number one thing this course needs is signs, both teepad signs and also directional signs on the tees to the next hole.

The number two thing is teepads. Mats would be fine. Concrete is always nice. But even just better leveled, cleared, and signed dirt tees would be fine.

If nicely outfitted with tees and signs and with a few additional tee placements, this would be a better course than both Creekside in Salt Lake (especially without the crowds) and Riverpark up in Ogden.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Art Dye

2-4    10/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Justin H
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play. It provides a wide veriety of shots and distances, with elevation changes. It is set in a quiet area with very little traffic. The thick tree cover creates a unique atmosphere.
Cons: No tee pads, just dirt. I didn't see any drinking fountains close to the course.
Other Thoughts: check tudg.org for a course map

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.