American Fork, UT 
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #5 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 332ft.   3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Home sweet home

5+    8/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Squirrilah Fish
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Mostly in the shade, and a really fun layout. Once you know your way around. Virtually every shot you could think of is available to you. Long and straight, right and left dog legs, up hill, down hill, pedestal baskets. An absolutely terrific course to hone your skills. The field between the course and parking lot is the perfect field to just let discs rip, and practice drives and other shots. If you want to throw a 1000' roller, you have the room. Granted there is not soccer practice.
Tile tee boxes have now been put in at every hole except for 12, but they are a little narrow and short.
Cons: It's very confusing without a course map, especially between holes 14-18. They do have a course map at the first hole, so snag a picture of that with your phone if anything.
There's often pedestrian traffic, and the occasional BMX bikers. The area was formally known as the table tops, I actually helped build a lot of the jumps, but a few of the holes fairways are the span of the table top, so not very friendly when you have bikers and golfers.
BUGS! Holes 15,16,17 you get eaten alive if your there around dusk.
The course can be really hard on discs. Lots of trees, rocks, and hard ground, but there are also lots of grassy areas.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time saying anything negative about Art Dye, I've spent most of my life in that area, wether baseball, soccer, football, BMX, or paintball. It's a popular area, watch out for pedestrians especially on holes 13, and 14. They need to put up a sign on the walking trail that says "watch out for frisbees" or something. I have hit one older gentleman after a bounce in the shin. Not a good feeling. If your looking for the best course in Utah County I say Art Dye is number one, Jolley's Ranch number 2, although obviously I am a little biased.

Give it a chance, it will change your game...

5+    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: cleverett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety: tunnel shots, open shots, up hill, down hill, elevated basket, etc.
-Teaches you good golf as the technicality of the course makes you think through your shot and challenges your drive and approach
-Multiple basket placements that will change often to keep the course interesting
-Lots of opportunity to play with others as they have doubles nights and some league play there (check out Wasatch Disc Golf Club)
Cons: -American Fork uses part of this park as a road construction dump, holes 1, 11, 12 constantly change
-No signs, can be confusing to navigate (try to play with a local if it's your first time. Very simple once you play it through)
-There are non disc golfers on a hike and bike trail and bmx track that can be oblivious to the course
-Tee pads are a little small and a few holes are missing them all together, but that is a relatively minor con
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time with this course the first few times that I played it. At first it is tough to navigate and the changing pin placements would throw me off a bit. However, after asking to play with a few groups to get a sense of the course it has quickly become a favorite of mine.

This course will challenge all aspects of your game, from mental, physical, and technique. There is more variety in these few 18 holes than in most courses in UT valley combined. The terrain can be rough so bring sturdy shoes and be ready to hike a bit. I would say that this course is not very beginner friendly as it can be unforgiving with the many trees and hills, but like I said, it will make you be a better, smarter player.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course

5+    4/15/2013   1/30/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. It easily the most underrated course I have played. There are very technical shots that will punish almost anyone, but everyone can still have a great time. Very creative layout with lots of diversity. Wooded shots, tunnel shots, open fields, etc. Truly a gem of a course.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty narrow, and not very long. Also, it is very difficult to find your way around the course if it is your first time. I really recommend finding somebody there to play your first round with.
Other Thoughts: I've played Dela, Whistlers, Selah Ranch, Bud Hill, Fountain Hills, Morley Field, and lots of other fantastic courses. This course is right up there with some of the most enjoyable courses I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but fun

5+    2/23/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: spazatron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is challenging. With all the trees you really have to focus on accuracy as well as power.
Cons: The park is often used to store asphalt for road projects nearby, so the first hole can have an extra obstacle.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course quite a bit. During the summer my coworkers and I play it on a weekly basis.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No Signs, No Bueno

5+    7/4/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JayP
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its got baskets. The course is a tight wooded course that requires some skill to play.
Cons: There is no signage and the course is very difficult to navigate.

The course is full of trash but thats the citys fault as they use it as a dumping ground. I wish the city would help out so the course could add tee pads and signs.
Other Thoughts: I am updating my review as I finally was able to play this course with a local. Playing this course you almost forget your in Utah. You play thru a lot of tight wooded areas that make this course challenging. The course is a lot of fun but if you have never played it make sure you go with someone who has as you will never figure it out. I would mark it better then a 3 if it had pads and signs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golfin in a forest

5+    3/13/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: one of my favorite cources to play u have to have a big arm and be accurate on all of the holes and very tight terrain
Cons: no teepads u can slip griplock and all those annoying things if u havent played hear u have to go with someone it would be nearly impossible to find ur way there without any1 who hasnt played the course
Other Thoughts: there alot of cources nearby so u can plan a whole day and hit up spanish fork rock canyon uvu art dye and dry creek
there is an open felid u can practice your driving ability on
I aced hole 15 in the old position to the left with a crystal z buzzz on 2/28/10 for my 12th ace

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Art Dye

5+    6/17/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, offers a variety of shots, 18 holes, not very crowded, wind hardly plays a factor (as you are in a wooded area most of the course
Cons: Very wooded, so discs can be hard to find, there is a section where bikers have built jumps and they tend to get in the way (but are usually respectful about moving), some holes can be unplayable with water running through the hole
Other Thoughts: This is a great course overall. A lot of reviews say it needs to be cleaned up, but I don't completely agree with that. The course can be very confusing to navigate, but once you know the course (follow a local), it is very easy to get through. I like the course because it offers so many different types of shots and really challenges you to find new ways to throw your disc. Overall a great course, once you know where you're going.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't be a Newbie

1    5/25/2007   6/25/2007
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course rewards the accurate as well as those with big arms. Much more challenging that other courses in the state. Creative use of terrain in regards to elevation and variety of useful shots. Since much of it is played in the woods wind is not as large of a factor. The baskets are all in good condition.
Cons: Can be confusing if one doesn't know their way around. Definitely could be marked better. May be difficult for new players. The city uses the area as a dumping ground so sometimes there are random piles of roadwork debris.
Other Thoughts: They definitely taken time recently to redesign the course in recent years with different pin placements and teepads. Love it!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.