Disc Golf Store
American Fork, UT 
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #15 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Very fun

2-4    8/8/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Starburst
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the variety and challenge of this course! This course is played in a grove of trees on the outskirts of the park. There are some open distance shots, curve shots, tunnel, uphill, downhill, and mixtures of them all.
Cons: 1) Be ready to hike. This course is not for those who can't hike up and down and back up hills. You'll also want a course map printout, it can be hard to find the next hole at times.
2) There may also be some BMX bikers or paintball teams sharing the area.
3) WATCH YOUR DISC! It's easy to throw a disc off course and lose it in the brush, so just keep an eye on it (use a bright color disc to help)
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 has a course map, take a picture of it with your phone. Hole 1 might be hard to find your first time, so a printed map is handy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home sweet home

5+    8/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Squirrilah Fish
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly in the shade, and a really fun layout. Once you know your way around. Virtually every shot you could think of is available to you. Long and straight, right and left dog legs, up hill, down hill, pedestal baskets. An absolutely terrific course to hone your skills. The field between the course and parking lot is the perfect field to just let discs rip, and practice drives and other shots. If you want to throw a 1000' roller, you have the room. Granted there is not soccer practice.
Tile tee boxes have now been put in at every hole except for 12, but they are a little narrow and short.
Cons: It's very confusing without a course map, especially between holes 14-18. They do have a course map at the first hole, so snag a picture of that with your phone if anything.
There's often pedestrian traffic, and the occasional BMX bikers. The area was formally known as the table tops, I actually helped build a lot of the jumps, but a few of the holes fairways are the span of the table top, so not very friendly when you have bikers and golfers.
BUGS! Holes 15,16,17 you get eaten alive if your there around dusk.
The course can be really hard on discs. Lots of trees, rocks, and hard ground, but there are also lots of grassy areas.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time saying anything negative about Art Dye, I've spent most of my life in that area, wether baseball, soccer, football, BMX, or paintball. It's a popular area, watch out for pedestrians especially on holes 13, and 14. They need to put up a sign on the walking trail that says "watch out for frisbees" or something. I have hit one older gentleman after a bounce in the shin. Not a good feeling. If your looking for the best course in Utah County I say Art Dye is number one, Jolley's Ranch number 2, although obviously I am a little biased.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Dirt Course

2-4    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: This course had a lot of really good things about it. All in all it has pretty much every kind of throw that makes it fun and challenging. There are some good straight shots with only a few trees, then there are other holes that are littered with trees and you have to swing your disc on some nice curves and throw through some tunnels of trees. There is a hole that you throw uphill on and then there are a few holes that you throw downhill on. Most of the tee areas have nice tile there so you have a good solid throwing area.

The course really is great, it will test your skill shots for sure. And discs are not hard to find if you throw a bad shot.
Cons: Finding the first hole was a little bit difficult. (Look for the big open area just north east of the soccer fields in the dirt and you will find the tee area for hole one). The course to me felt like it was built on what used to be a dumping ground for construction companies. You will find old metal piping and concrete slabs littered all around. It makes for some hazardous areas if you aren't careful. And yes, 17 of the 18 holes are played in the dirt, so be prepared to get a little bit dusty.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun course to play for sure. One of the best things is it is in the shade for most of the course so you beat the heat. It is in a park so you can bring the family and there is something for everyone.

Very good course, a little hidden

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: - Great variety for a wooded course, some mostly wide open holes plus some great technical holes
- A little elevation, which is great
- It's in Utah, so the scenery is nice
- Not crowded at all (I was alone on the course) unlike Creekside, which was jam packed
Cons: - Some teepads are just dirt, which sucks
- The actual teepads are some kind of slate blocks, and they're small, so that's kind of a bummer
- There was a lot of construction going on when I was there, so it was hard to find the first tee
- Navigation wasn't awful, but it was a little tricky, especially since they move the baskets around. My map didn't always match the actual layout
Other Thoughts: I liked Creekside more, but this was a very good course. I would enjoy playing here more.

Give it a chance, it will change your game...

5+    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: cleverett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety: tunnel shots, open shots, up hill, down hill, elevated basket, etc.
-Teaches you good golf as the technicality of the course makes you think through your shot and challenges your drive and approach
-Multiple basket placements that will change often to keep the course interesting
-Lots of opportunity to play with others as they have doubles nights and some league play there (check out Wasatch Disc Golf Club)
Cons: -American Fork uses part of this park as a road construction dump, holes 1, 11, 12 constantly change
-No signs, can be confusing to navigate (try to play with a local if it's your first time. Very simple once you play it through)
-There are non disc golfers on a hike and bike trail and bmx track that can be oblivious to the course
-Tee pads are a little small and a few holes are missing them all together, but that is a relatively minor con
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time with this course the first few times that I played it. At first it is tough to navigate and the changing pin placements would throw me off a bit. However, after asking to play with a few groups to get a sense of the course it has quickly become a favorite of mine.

This course will challenge all aspects of your game, from mental, physical, and technique. There is more variety in these few 18 holes than in most courses in UT valley combined. The terrain can be rough so bring sturdy shoes and be ready to hike a bit. I would say that this course is not very beginner friendly as it can be unforgiving with the many trees and hills, but like I said, it will make you be a better, smarter player.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course

5+    4/15/2013   1/30/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. It easily the most underrated course I have played. There are very technical shots that will punish almost anyone, but everyone can still have a great time. Very creative layout with lots of diversity. Wooded shots, tunnel shots, open fields, etc. Truly a gem of a course.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty narrow, and not very long. Also, it is very difficult to find your way around the course if it is your first time. I really recommend finding somebody there to play your first round with.
Other Thoughts: I've played Dela, Whistlers, Selah Ranch, Bud Hill, Fountain Hills, Morley Field, and lots of other fantastic courses. This course is right up there with some of the most enjoyable courses I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course with tight lanes

5+    7/9/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: braditz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety of holes; course is maintained about as well as could be expected; good quality baskets; many of the holes have alternate basket locations and the baskets get moved around regularly to change things up a bit
Cons: No signs at tee pads; a couple of holes don't have finished tee pads; difficult to navigate the course alone if it is your first time there; huge piles of concrete/asphalt (from city dumping) around the first few holes tend to tear up discs; rusty scrap metal and barbed wire spread throughout much of the course; there is a small BMX park that a few holes play through
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course overall! Very challenging for new and experienced players alike. There are huge piles of concrete and asphalt that come into play for the first few holes, and it seems like these piles are constantly growing - this might not be viewed as a con for those who like challenging obstacles, but they are pretty rough on discs.

The biggest challenge of this course is the trees. Oh my god, the trees. The majority of the course is played through a pretty dense patch of forest, so most of the holes have pretty tight lanes. Beginners may be frustrated when they hit tree after tree on most every hole. On the other hand, it does force you to improve your accuracy if you play here often.

One more thing to look out for is the BMX park in the middle of the course. I'm not really into BMX, but honestly it looks like a pretty fun little course so I can't blame bikers for wanting to ride here - it just sucks that it is right in the middle of a disc golf course. Holes 9, 11, and 12 play through the BMX area so just be on the lookout for kids. Also, there is a jogging/biking path that you have to throw across on holes 13, 14, and 16 but it is pretty easy to see people coming on that.

Come play! If it is your first time, you may want to ask someone who is already there if you can tag along, since the layout is pretty hard to follow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

post apocalyptic gem

1    6/2/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a narrow wooded crescent on a hillside overlooking the park.

My high rating of 3.5 is solely on the virtue of the hole design, which mostly consists of long tightly wooded fairways with interesting elevation and good variety. Kudos to whoever identified this sliver of woods for a dg course. My one criticism of the hole design is that most of the shots are straight for the majority of the fairway with a late dogleg either right or left rather than having some holes with mid or early curves in the fairway. Nonetheless, very fun, long holes.

The cement tile tees work great, and someone did a great job installing them.

Cons: No signs, but there are metal numbers nailed to some of the tees, and the baskets have number stickers.

confusing navigation--sadly, I didn't have a chance to print off the map from this site before playing. Great map, get it before you play, you will get lost.

Lots of junk, piles of broken concrete, twisted rusty metal and dust make this course look like the set of a mad max movie. Still fun. Lots of character.
Other Thoughts: I didn't recognize the baskets. They look homemade, but are very well made with double chains.

As far as I know, this is the only course in Utah with so many wooded corridor type fairways, which is my favorite type of disc golf. I felt like I was home in tennessee. Lots of potential for here with a bit of a makeover.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks can be decieving

1    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Busdriverfred
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked the trails that were there. Pretty challenging with all of the wooded area and wood on the ground with the tall grass makes it hard to find your disc.
Cons: Fairway 6 is HARD! There are several places where you really have to climb and unless you have a good arm (which I don't and am out of shape) you will have be out of breath.
Other Thoughts: Definitely dress for the occasion. Don't wear sandals. This was a great challenging course that looks like crap for the first two holes but is absolutely beautiful once you get into the woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical and Fun

2-4    3/25/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: FAM1LY GUY
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course that plays back in the trees of a nearby sport park. Some really fun holes that play up and down with some elevation changes. Technical at times as you navigate through trees while offering up a good power throw.
Cons: This course really needs a sign with a course map. Also some improvement to signage for each hole with better tee pads would be nice. Hole 1 currently tees off from next to a large sand pile. The city is using some of this area for dumping dirt and old asphalt/concrete. Watch out for the mountain bikers that have built some of their jumps and ramps throughout some of the course as you play through the trees.
Other Thoughts: Playing with someone else who has played here before is a must. Otherwise you can waste time trying to figure out where the holes are.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.