American Fork, UT
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #6 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Give it a chance, it will change your game...

5+    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: cleverett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety: tunnel shots, open shots, up hill, down hill, elevated basket, etc.
-Teaches you good golf as the technicality of the course makes you think through your shot and challenges your drive and approach
-Multiple basket placements that will change often to keep the course interesting
-Lots of opportunity to play with others as they have doubles nights and some league play there (check out Wasatch Disc Golf Club)
Cons: -American Fork uses part of this park as a road construction dump, holes 1, 11, 12 constantly change
-No signs, can be confusing to navigate (try to play with a local if it's your first time. Very simple once you play it through)
-There are non disc golfers on a hike and bike trail and bmx track that can be oblivious to the course
-Tee pads are a little small and a few holes are missing them all together, but that is a relatively minor con
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time with this course the first few times that I played it. At first it is tough to navigate and the changing pin placements would throw me off a bit. However, after asking to play with a few groups to get a sense of the course it has quickly become a favorite of mine.

This course will challenge all aspects of your game, from mental, physical, and technique. There is more variety in these few 18 holes than in most courses in UT valley combined. The terrain can be rough so bring sturdy shoes and be ready to hike a bit. I would say that this course is not very beginner friendly as it can be unforgiving with the many trees and hills, but like I said, it will make you be a better, smarter player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course

5+    4/15/2013   1/30/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. It easily the most underrated course I have played. There are very technical shots that will punish almost anyone, but everyone can still have a great time. Very creative layout with lots of diversity. Wooded shots, tunnel shots, open fields, etc. Truly a gem of a course.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty narrow, and not very long. Also, it is very difficult to find your way around the course if it is your first time. I really recommend finding somebody there to play your first round with.
Other Thoughts: I've played Dela, Whistlers, Selah Ranch, Bud Hill, Fountain Hills, Morley Field, and lots of other fantastic courses. This course is right up there with some of the most enjoyable courses I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course with tight lanes

5+    7/9/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: braditz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety of holes; course is maintained about as well as could be expected; good quality baskets; many of the holes have alternate basket locations and the baskets get moved around regularly to change things up a bit
Cons: No signs at tee pads; a couple of holes don't have finished tee pads; difficult to navigate the course alone if it is your first time there; huge piles of concrete/asphalt (from city dumping) around the first few holes tend to tear up discs; rusty scrap metal and barbed wire spread throughout much of the course; there is a small BMX park that a few holes play through
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course overall! Very challenging for new and experienced players alike. There are huge piles of concrete and asphalt that come into play for the first few holes, and it seems like these piles are constantly growing - this might not be viewed as a con for those who like challenging obstacles, but they are pretty rough on discs.

The biggest challenge of this course is the trees. Oh my god, the trees. The majority of the course is played through a pretty dense patch of forest, so most of the holes have pretty tight lanes. Beginners may be frustrated when they hit tree after tree on most every hole. On the other hand, it does force you to improve your accuracy if you play here often.

One more thing to look out for is the BMX park in the middle of the course. I'm not really into BMX, but honestly it looks like a pretty fun little course so I can't blame bikers for wanting to ride here - it just sucks that it is right in the middle of a disc golf course. Holes 9, 11, and 12 play through the BMX area so just be on the lookout for kids. Also, there is a jogging/biking path that you have to throw across on holes 13, 14, and 16 but it is pretty easy to see people coming on that.

Come play! If it is your first time, you may want to ask someone who is already there if you can tag along, since the layout is pretty hard to follow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

post apocalyptic gem

1    6/2/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a narrow wooded crescent on a hillside overlooking the park.

My high rating of 3.5 is solely on the virtue of the hole design, which mostly consists of long tightly wooded fairways with interesting elevation and good variety. Kudos to whoever identified this sliver of woods for a dg course. My one criticism of the hole design is that most of the shots are straight for the majority of the fairway with a late dogleg either right or left rather than having some holes with mid or early curves in the fairway. Nonetheless, very fun, long holes.

The cement tile tees work great, and someone did a great job installing them.

Cons: No signs, but there are metal numbers nailed to some of the tees, and the baskets have number stickers.

confusing navigation--sadly, I didn't have a chance to print off the map from this site before playing. Great map, get it before you play, you will get lost.

Lots of junk, piles of broken concrete, twisted rusty metal and dust make this course look like the set of a mad max movie. Still fun. Lots of character.
Other Thoughts: I didn't recognize the baskets. They look homemade, but are very well made with double chains.

As far as I know, this is the only course in Utah with so many wooded corridor type fairways, which is my favorite type of disc golf. I felt like I was home in tennessee. Lots of potential for here with a bit of a makeover.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks can be decieving

1    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Busdriverfred
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked the trails that were there. Pretty challenging with all of the wooded area and wood on the ground with the tall grass makes it hard to find your disc.
Cons: Fairway 6 is HARD! There are several places where you really have to climb and unless you have a good arm (which I don't and am out of shape) you will have be out of breath.
Other Thoughts: Definitely dress for the occasion. Don't wear sandals. This was a great challenging course that looks like crap for the first two holes but is absolutely beautiful once you get into the woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical and Fun

2-4    3/25/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: FAM1LY GUY
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course that plays back in the trees of a nearby sport park. Some really fun holes that play up and down with some elevation changes. Technical at times as you navigate through trees while offering up a good power throw.
Cons: This course really needs a sign with a course map. Also some improvement to signage for each hole with better tee pads would be nice. Hole 1 currently tees off from next to a large sand pile. The city is using some of this area for dumping dirt and old asphalt/concrete. Watch out for the mountain bikers that have built some of their jumps and ramps throughout some of the course as you play through the trees.
Other Thoughts: Playing with someone else who has played here before is a must. Otherwise you can waste time trying to figure out where the holes are.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but fun

5+    2/23/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: spazatron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is challenging. With all the trees you really have to focus on accuracy as well as power.
Cons: The park is often used to store asphalt for road projects nearby, so the first hole can have an extra obstacle.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course quite a bit. During the summer my coworkers and I play it on a weekly basis.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    9/29/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the edge of a multi-use park; pretty well separated from everything else. Possible interference in a few spots, due to a walking path by a few holes, and some bike jumps that the locals have made in the woods. Hopefully not a major time-waster; the local kids nicely moved out of the way when I was there.
- Majority of the course is set in the wooded area, so there are plenty of gaps and lines ever present. Lots of low ceiling shots, like #5 and #12, the trees are pretty gnarly here and don't offer much vertical clearance. A good mix of fairway shapes as well, #5 and #13 are good RHFH holes, and #7 and #8 are good hyzer holes or maybe RHFH annies. Plenty of dead straight shots as well.
- Other holes are more open, that play around the woods or have larger fairways cut out of the rough. #16 is a longer hyzer that shoots out of a gap, with the basket near the forest on the left. #17 shoots out of the woods into the open, and #18 shoots from the open back into the woods. These holes offer more specific gaps to hit as opposed to lines.
- A few spots with good elevation changes, like the uphill slope on #6, up and over a wall, to an elevated pin. #8 is slightly downhill, and #14 has an elevated teepad that shoots through a gap. Nothing too major, but it helps spice things up.
- Pretty decent mix of hole lengths; there are shorter ones in the woods, and longer ones that play in/out or next to the forest. A few spots where the bigger arms will have a chance to air out one or two drives.
- Teepads are OK where present, baskets are ok, signage is pretty rough. Map is a necessity, though it only goes so far - see cons.
Cons: - Course is currently undergoing some pretty nasty construction, particularly by holes #1, #2, and #12. Missing teepads/baskets, pretty much unplayable. I started on hole #3, which was mislabeled I think, really confusing. Once I got going it wasn't an issue, but the first time through was very tough. Hopefully it will be resolved at some point, but I didn't get the feeling that it was being worked on.
- Layout a little cramped in some spots. Have to backtrack on #4 to get to #5, heads up that teepad. #9-#12 are very close to each other too.
- Some nasty spots, like a swampy area on #4, which also had barbed wire.
Other Thoughts: - This place is definitely in need of some TLC, big time. I started off thinking it could be a nightmare, but once I figured it out, it was actually pretty enjoyable. Forest holes were interesting, and the more open ones were a good complement with more distance and realistic gaps. I am giving it a tentative 3, with the hopes that someday it will be back to its intended layout.
- Advanced players might not find it too enjoyable, but maybe. Really hard to say if anyone would like this course as is; probably best suited for intermediate players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Heavily Wooded Course

2-4    11/2/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers very technical shots on just about every hole. You will need to throw long and narrow gaps, tunnels, left and right turns through highly wooded areas, over mounds and blind shots.

My personal favorite on this course is throwing uphill to a cage that is mounted on a poll on top of a small water basin, (Hole 6 I believe). It's awesome!

There are tee pads on most holes and all the cages are in good condition.

I've met awesome guys each time I've gone who have been more than happy to show me around the course, (it's very difficult to navigate from one hole to the next without a course map or a guide).
Cons: As mentioned, it's difficult to navigate alone for your first time or two. Most of the cages are marked, but it's so heavily wooded that it's hard to see them.

Although I love the challenges this course offers, it does get a little old having so many obstacles all the time. I'm by no means a pro player so tons of my shots got slapped down by limbs and such.

Some of the tee pads are just dirt and the pads they do have seem a bit short.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course overall if you're looking to hone your technical skills. Be ready to hike up and down the hill and beat your discs up a bit.

The instructions on how to get there need to be updated a bit. The road doesn't turn into a dirt road, it leads directly into the parking lot for the park/baseball field. Hole one is located in the gravel pit like area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

5+    5/2/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is very secluded. It's a difficult course hidden in many trees. It is hard to find your way around if you don't go with a local the first time. After that, and you know your way around it's a very fun course. And this course is FUN! I love the difficulty. I'm not the best Disc Golfer, but I love a challenge.
-It is not crowded at all! Which is great. If you have ever been to creekside in Salt Lake, you know it can be frustrating to get around with the mass amounts of people every single day from sunrise to sunset. Art Dye is not crowded at all. It has quickly become one of my favorite courses.
-You can also play this course on fairly windy days. It is so wooded, the trees block most of the wind. If you are itching to go, and it's a bit windy... Try this course.
Cons: -It is not marked well at all. Good luck if your heading out there for your first time and don't have a local to follow or play with.
-All dirt pads. Needs concrete badly.
-Garbage everywhere, they really really need to clean it up. However, it doesn't effect the game, therefore it is still a great place to play!
-Never a different hole location. It would be nice to have them moved around a few times a month to try new hole locations.
Other Thoughts: Go try it, you may be surprised how fun it is! It is one of my favorite courses now. I have heard rumors of them cleaning it up, and really making it a great "updated" course. We can only hope! Cause the potential is there, and it is fun!
It would really take a lot for me to give a 5 stars. So please understand that 3.5 is heavy for me. I really like this course.
Have fun!

QUICK UPDATE: Played the course today and the holes were moved! Which is awesome. They have added new hole locations and they are great. Also, they cleaned up the park and it looks much better and is still being cleaned up and will just get better. And there are some kids that are gradually putting in launch pads. They are great, and hope they can get enough donations to do more. Or all. Enjoy Arte Dye. I do.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.