Disc Golf Store
American Fork, UT 
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #2 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Challenging but fun

5+    2/23/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: spazatron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is challenging. With all the trees you really have to focus on accuracy as well as power.
Cons: The park is often used to store asphalt for road projects nearby, so the first hole can have an extra obstacle.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course quite a bit. During the summer my coworkers and I play it on a weekly basis.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    9/29/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the edge of a multi-use park; pretty well separated from everything else. Possible interference in a few spots, due to a walking path by a few holes, and some bike jumps that the locals have made in the woods. Hopefully not a major time-waster; the local kids nicely moved out of the way when I was there.
- Majority of the course is set in the wooded area, so there are plenty of gaps and lines ever present. Lots of low ceiling shots, like #5 and #12, the trees are pretty gnarly here and don't offer much vertical clearance. A good mix of fairway shapes as well, #5 and #13 are good RHFH holes, and #7 and #8 are good hyzer holes or maybe RHFH annies. Plenty of dead straight shots as well.
- Other holes are more open, that play around the woods or have larger fairways cut out of the rough. #16 is a longer hyzer that shoots out of a gap, with the basket near the forest on the left. #17 shoots out of the woods into the open, and #18 shoots from the open back into the woods. These holes offer more specific gaps to hit as opposed to lines.
- A few spots with good elevation changes, like the uphill slope on #6, up and over a wall, to an elevated pin. #8 is slightly downhill, and #14 has an elevated teepad that shoots through a gap. Nothing too major, but it helps spice things up.
- Pretty decent mix of hole lengths; there are shorter ones in the woods, and longer ones that play in/out or next to the forest. A few spots where the bigger arms will have a chance to air out one or two drives.
- Teepads are OK where present, baskets are ok, signage is pretty rough. Map is a necessity, though it only goes so far - see cons.
Cons: - Course is currently undergoing some pretty nasty construction, particularly by holes #1, #2, and #12. Missing teepads/baskets, pretty much unplayable. I started on hole #3, which was mislabeled I think, really confusing. Once I got going it wasn't an issue, but the first time through was very tough. Hopefully it will be resolved at some point, but I didn't get the feeling that it was being worked on.
- Layout a little cramped in some spots. Have to backtrack on #4 to get to #5, heads up that teepad. #9-#12 are very close to each other too.
- Some nasty spots, like a swampy area on #4, which also had barbed wire.
Other Thoughts: - This place is definitely in need of some TLC, big time. I started off thinking it could be a nightmare, but once I figured it out, it was actually pretty enjoyable. Forest holes were interesting, and the more open ones were a good complement with more distance and realistic gaps. I am giving it a tentative 3, with the hopes that someday it will be back to its intended layout.
- Advanced players might not find it too enjoyable, but maybe. Really hard to say if anyone would like this course as is; probably best suited for intermediate players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Heavily Wooded Course

2-4    11/2/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers very technical shots on just about every hole. You will need to throw long and narrow gaps, tunnels, left and right turns through highly wooded areas, over mounds and blind shots.

My personal favorite on this course is throwing uphill to a cage that is mounted on a poll on top of a small water basin, (Hole 6 I believe). It's awesome!

There are tee pads on most holes and all the cages are in good condition.

I've met awesome guys each time I've gone who have been more than happy to show me around the course, (it's very difficult to navigate from one hole to the next without a course map or a guide).
Cons: As mentioned, it's difficult to navigate alone for your first time or two. Most of the cages are marked, but it's so heavily wooded that it's hard to see them.

Although I love the challenges this course offers, it does get a little old having so many obstacles all the time. I'm by no means a pro player so tons of my shots got slapped down by limbs and such.

Some of the tee pads are just dirt and the pads they do have seem a bit short.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course overall if you're looking to hone your technical skills. Be ready to hike up and down the hill and beat your discs up a bit.

The instructions on how to get there need to be updated a bit. The road doesn't turn into a dirt road, it leads directly into the parking lot for the park/baseball field. Hole one is located in the gravel pit like area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    5/2/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is very secluded. It's a difficult course hidden in many trees. It is hard to find your way around if you don't go with a local the first time. After that, and you know your way around it's a very fun course. And this course is FUN! I love the difficulty. I'm not the best Disc Golfer, but I love a challenge.
-It is not crowded at all! Which is great. If you have ever been to creekside in Salt Lake, you know it can be frustrating to get around with the mass amounts of people every single day from sunrise to sunset. Art Dye is not crowded at all. It has quickly become one of my favorite courses.
-You can also play this course on fairly windy days. It is so wooded, the trees block most of the wind. If you are itching to go, and it's a bit windy... Try this course.
Cons: -It is not marked well at all. Good luck if your heading out there for your first time and don't have a local to follow or play with.
-All dirt pads. Needs concrete badly.
-Garbage everywhere, they really really need to clean it up. However, it doesn't effect the game, therefore it is still a great place to play!
-Never a different hole location. It would be nice to have them moved around a few times a month to try new hole locations.
Other Thoughts: Go try it, you may be surprised how fun it is! It is one of my favorite courses now. I have heard rumors of them cleaning it up, and really making it a great "updated" course. We can only hope! Cause the potential is there, and it is fun!
It would really take a lot for me to give a 5 stars. So please understand that 3.5 is heavy for me. I really like this course.
Have fun!

QUICK UPDATE: Played the course today and the holes were moved! Which is awesome. They have added new hole locations and they are great. Also, they cleaned up the park and it looks much better and is still being cleaned up and will just get better. And there are some kids that are gradually putting in launch pads. They are great, and hope they can get enough donations to do more. Or all. Enjoy Arte Dye. I do.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Technical Course

5+    1/30/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: jakeandthewizard
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees rare for Utah
-Great use of elevation
-Some cool unique holes ie hole 6. Uphill, tight gap, basket on top of old concrete foundation for a water silo or something
-More variety than any other Utah course I've played
-Tee signs are now up on all 18
Cons: -Construction obstructing first 2 holes as well as 12
-No teepads
-Can get very muddy
-BMX bikers on the course although they are pretty good about moving
-Needs some TLC
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is great. IF you go in knowing what to expect. The tee signs that are now up are semi-helpful but take a map. Even better, follow a local. If you can figure out this course it is soo much fun. It really is the only course I've played in Utah that has that East Coast feel to it. It doesn't have quite enough trees/water to really compare but it's probably the closest thing you'll find in Utah which I love because I started playing back East. It is very technical, has some very unique and fun holes, and I recommend it. Just know what you're getting into. This courses best feature in my opinion is it's use of elevation. It has some awesome holes but be careful! Tracking down a disc that misses the fairway on a couple of these can be a chore! It adds to the fun in my opinion. Very risk/reward.

PS- Don't try to play this course in sandals. You will regret it. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rare forested course in Utah
Great baskets
Good variety on hole length
Not crowded
Cons: Random barbed wire hazards (get your tetanus shot before coming)
Nearly impossible to navigate without a local
Teepads suck, when you can find them
Other Thoughts: After reading other reviews, I decided I wouldn't go try this course unless I could play with someone who has done it before. I figured, what better way to do it than show up on mini-tourney doubles night (Thursdays.) I showed up 20 minutes early and there wasn't a soul on the course. It turned out that they had just relocated the Utah Valley mini-tourneys from Centennial Park (which is shutting down) to Art Dye, and only 5 people showed up. But that was plenty of people to guide me around the course, which was my real goal. As an extra bonus, I got a tour of the course from one of the designers (Thanks Pete) and we won some cash, which I promptly dropped at In-N-Out on the way home.

I also learned that the city never reimbursed some of the locals who put out the cash for the baskets, so before complaining too much about the lack of signs, realize those baskets were paid for by the locals, not the city.

At any rate, there is a lot of variety on the course from a couple of open bombs (although they either pass through a tunnel out of the woods or have to enter the woods at the end of the throw) to some shorter, but very tight holes with heavy schule on both sides. There is even a fair amount of water on the course, although little of it deep enough to actually lose a disc. Mostly, it is just nice to be able to play an East-Coast-style wooded course right here in Utah.

The number one thing this course needs is signs, both teepad signs and also directional signs on the tees to the next hole.

The number two thing is teepads. Mats would be fine. Concrete is always nice. But even just better leveled, cleared, and signed dirt tees would be fine.

If nicely outfitted with tees and signs and with a few additional tee placements, this would be a better course than both Creekside in Salt Lake (especially without the crowds) and Riverpark up in Ogden.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course

5+    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mryanwelch
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/27/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course, tons of potential with great baskets. Perfect for a good challenge, quick walk to the first tee from the parking lot
Cons: a little tough to navigate if you don't play it often, so be sure to hit it up with someone who knows.
Other Thoughts: could be a pretty good eagle project i'm thinkin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No Signs, No Bueno

5+    7/4/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JayP
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its got baskets. The course is a tight wooded course that requires some skill to play.
Cons: There is no signage and the course is very difficult to navigate.

The course is full of trash but thats the citys fault as they use it as a dumping ground. I wish the city would help out so the course could add tee pads and signs.
Other Thoughts: I am updating my review as I finally was able to play this course with a local. Playing this course you almost forget your in Utah. You play thru a lot of tight wooded areas that make this course challenging. The course is a lot of fun but if you have never played it make sure you go with someone who has as you will never figure it out. I would mark it better then a 3 if it had pads and signs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golfin in a forest

5+    3/13/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: one of my favorite cources to play u have to have a big arm and be accurate on all of the holes and very tight terrain
Cons: no teepads u can slip griplock and all those annoying things if u havent played hear u have to go with someone it would be nearly impossible to find ur way there without any1 who hasnt played the course
Other Thoughts: there alot of cources nearby so u can plan a whole day and hit up spanish fork rock canyon uvu art dye and dry creek
there is an open felid u can practice your driving ability on
I aced hole 15 in the old position to the left with a crystal z buzzz on 2/28/10 for my 12th ace

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Art Dye

5+    6/17/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, offers a variety of shots, 18 holes, not very crowded, wind hardly plays a factor (as you are in a wooded area most of the course
Cons: Very wooded, so discs can be hard to find, there is a section where bikers have built jumps and they tend to get in the way (but are usually respectful about moving), some holes can be unplayable with water running through the hole
Other Thoughts: This is a great course overall. A lot of reviews say it needs to be cleaned up, but I don't completely agree with that. The course can be very confusing to navigate, but once you know the course (follow a local), it is very easy to get through. I like the course because it offers so many different types of shots and really challenges you to find new ways to throw your disc. Overall a great course, once you know where you're going.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.