American Fork, UT
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #2 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun Technical Course

5+    1/30/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: jakeandthewizard
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees rare for Utah
-Great use of elevation
-Some cool unique holes ie hole 6. Uphill, tight gap, basket on top of old concrete foundation for a water silo or something
-More variety than any other Utah course I've played
-Tee signs are now up on all 18
Cons: -Construction obstructing first 2 holes as well as 12
-No teepads
-Can get very muddy
-BMX bikers on the course although they are pretty good about moving
-Needs some TLC
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is great. IF you go in knowing what to expect. The tee signs that are now up are semi-helpful but take a map. Even better, follow a local. If you can figure out this course it is soo much fun. It really is the only course I've played in Utah that has that East Coast feel to it. It doesn't have quite enough trees/water to really compare but it's probably the closest thing you'll find in Utah which I love because I started playing back East. It is very technical, has some very unique and fun holes, and I recommend it. Just know what you're getting into. This courses best feature in my opinion is it's use of elevation. It has some awesome holes but be careful! Tracking down a disc that misses the fairway on a couple of these can be a chore! It adds to the fun in my opinion. Very risk/reward.

PS- Don't try to play this course in sandals. You will regret it. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rare forested course in Utah
Great baskets
Good variety on hole length
Not crowded
Cons: Random barbed wire hazards (get your tetanus shot before coming)
Nearly impossible to navigate without a local
Teepads suck, when you can find them
Other Thoughts: After reading other reviews, I decided I wouldn't go try this course unless I could play with someone who has done it before. I figured, what better way to do it than show up on mini-tourney doubles night (Thursdays.) I showed up 20 minutes early and there wasn't a soul on the course. It turned out that they had just relocated the Utah Valley mini-tourneys from Centennial Park (which is shutting down) to Art Dye, and only 5 people showed up. But that was plenty of people to guide me around the course, which was my real goal. As an extra bonus, I got a tour of the course from one of the designers (Thanks Pete) and we won some cash, which I promptly dropped at In-N-Out on the way home.

I also learned that the city never reimbursed some of the locals who put out the cash for the baskets, so before complaining too much about the lack of signs, realize those baskets were paid for by the locals, not the city.

At any rate, there is a lot of variety on the course from a couple of open bombs (although they either pass through a tunnel out of the woods or have to enter the woods at the end of the throw) to some shorter, but very tight holes with heavy schule on both sides. There is even a fair amount of water on the course, although little of it deep enough to actually lose a disc. Mostly, it is just nice to be able to play an East-Coast-style wooded course right here in Utah.

The number one thing this course needs is signs, both teepad signs and also directional signs on the tees to the next hole.

The number two thing is teepads. Mats would be fine. Concrete is always nice. But even just better leveled, cleared, and signed dirt tees would be fine.

If nicely outfitted with tees and signs and with a few additional tee placements, this would be a better course than both Creekside in Salt Lake (especially without the crowds) and Riverpark up in Ogden.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course

5+    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mryanwelch
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/27/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course, tons of potential with great baskets. Perfect for a good challenge, quick walk to the first tee from the parking lot
Cons: a little tough to navigate if you don't play it often, so be sure to hit it up with someone who knows.
Other Thoughts: could be a pretty good eagle project i'm thinkin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No Signs, No Bueno

5+    7/4/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JayP
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its got baskets. The course is a tight wooded course that requires some skill to play.
Cons: There is no signage and the course is very difficult to navigate.

The course is full of trash but thats the citys fault as they use it as a dumping ground. I wish the city would help out so the course could add tee pads and signs.
Other Thoughts: I am updating my review as I finally was able to play this course with a local. Playing this course you almost forget your in Utah. You play thru a lot of tight wooded areas that make this course challenging. The course is a lot of fun but if you have never played it make sure you go with someone who has as you will never figure it out. I would mark it better then a 3 if it had pads and signs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golfin in a forest

5+    3/13/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: one of my favorite cources to play u have to have a big arm and be accurate on all of the holes and very tight terrain
Cons: no teepads u can slip griplock and all those annoying things if u havent played hear u have to go with someone it would be nearly impossible to find ur way there without any1 who hasnt played the course
Other Thoughts: there alot of cources nearby so u can plan a whole day and hit up spanish fork rock canyon uvu art dye and dry creek
there is an open felid u can practice your driving ability on
I aced hole 15 in the old position to the left with a crystal z buzzz on 2/28/10 for my 12th ace

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Art Dye

5+    6/17/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, offers a variety of shots, 18 holes, not very crowded, wind hardly plays a factor (as you are in a wooded area most of the course
Cons: Very wooded, so discs can be hard to find, there is a section where bikers have built jumps and they tend to get in the way (but are usually respectful about moving), some holes can be unplayable with water running through the hole
Other Thoughts: This is a great course overall. A lot of reviews say it needs to be cleaned up, but I don't completely agree with that. The course can be very confusing to navigate, but once you know the course (follow a local), it is very easy to get through. I like the course because it offers so many different types of shots and really challenges you to find new ways to throw your disc. Overall a great course, once you know where you're going.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/27/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: greenish
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like others have said, this course has a lot of potential if it were cleaned-up and marked better. Holes 4-12 are located in the trees and there are some cool paths through the upper holes on the side of a big hill. Hole 6 is on the top of an old concrete water tank next to what may have been a water silo (or some type of runoff capture container). The variety of terrain makes it an interesting place to play. It feels like 2 or 3 different courses put together.
Cons: I played solo and no one stepped on the course while I was there, so I can't imagine how it would work logistically if there were other players and BMX riders on the course at the same time. There is a pretty long BMX course that runs through the holes up against the hill in the woods. It's hard enough to find out where the next hole is because of poor signage, but with other players on holes that criss-cross and overlap each other and BMX bikers thrown into the mix - I think it would be a nightmare.

The trash on some holes is unbelievable. I kept imagining some of the nooks-and-crannies in the hillside (where tons and tons of broken slabs of concrete make little caves) would be a homeless person / druggie paradise. Some places look like people have tried to camp or live there and have set-up little lean-to's and structures in the woods. It's definitely a place you could imagine teenagers skipping school and hiding-out. Really trashy in places.

If you lose a disk down the gully on hole 7, for instance, you're taking your life into your hands retrieving it! I hooked one off the edge and regretted going after it. This is where the broken slabs of concrete are as well as broken bottles, rusty pipes, pieces of metal and rebar and all kinds of trash dump items are located. Crazy amount of trash on this course.

There are a few holes with real disc loss potential - thick grasses and thorn patches, etc. I would bring along some discs you don't mind losing.
Other Thoughts: Sad that the course has so much potential, but will probably never be cleaned-up, repaired or marked properly. It took me WAY too long to figure out the layout - even with the help of my iPhone and an online map. I may play the course again now that I know what to expect. There's nothing like it in Utah County, so it's worth playing just to experience it. The course has some good hikes up steep hills in parts, so bring your hiking shoes.

Just lower your expectations before you head to the course and you'll probably have a great time!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course needs help

5+    12/23/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: themontage
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course and has lots of play options that allows you to use a full bag of shots. Lots of accuracy shots.
Cons: There is a lot of garbage that is left there by the city and could be cleaned up if there were some help from both the city and the club. No tee pictures, just fence posts that go to hole 12, then you have to be a local to know how the rest of the course navigates ( also harder due to the construction that has left many of the last couple of holes #13-18 in some dismay.) No concrete tee pads, just dirt and the pole that houses the general area from which to throw from. The back 9 are shorter and have be altered due to the input of a path, they have also dumped where the tee for hole 18 is and now have to throw 20 ft behind where previous tee was. Some times some of the holes do get backed up with water that create more hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that could have the potential to be one of the best courses in utah. I know that it is hard for me when I go there to see all the trash and wonder what the city is doing using it as a dump ground. There isnt too much traffic from other people, mainly the occasional lost kid from the soccer games families, bikers, and paint ballers. They are usually pretty cool about letting you play through, just keep an eye out for them and city dumpers. This course, amidst all of the obstacles, will make you a better player and is truly a challenge. There are some big arm shots that require accuracy and the rest are mostly accuracy shots. Most of the holes are 300-350 feet, a few under 300 and a few long 400+ par 3's. A great course with lots of potential.
*They have leveled the dirt where tee 12 was, but have moved more concrete by hole 1 fairway*

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gof in a Garbage Dump

1    7/1/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has the potential to be a very unique place to play, with varied terrain and lots of tree cover that makes for challenging shots.
Cons: There is garbage everywhere one looks in addition to all the down and dead tree branches. The tee pads are non-existent (no flagging or anything) and the course layout is impossible to figure out.
Other Thoughts: It's a real shame that neither the city or the local golfers have stepped up and taken ownership of what could potentially be a great course by cleaning the joint up. I was frustrated by the fourth hole. I wouldn't waste the gas money on this place.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worse the 2nd time around

2-4    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: rat106
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, great area for a course.
Cons: There are no tee pads. It is still nearly impossible to navigate even with a map.If you don't have extra time to walk around the course aimlessly before you start to play I would definately pass this one by and head to Provo or Spanish Fork.
Other Thoughts: I thought I would try it out a second time since my first attempt was miserable, but the second time was even worse. It looks like no attempts have been made to improve the course, and without a local to show you around, it is near impossible, unless you have 4 hours to burn.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.