Vidor, TX 
Copperhead DGC Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Claiborne West (formerly Copperhead)

1    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: texas_is_best
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very clean park. Challenging in many ways. Good walk in the park. I like the Innova Baskets. No disc will go thru them
Cons: MOSQUITOES....Very confusing layout with no maps or direction.
Other Thoughts: I will probably play it again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is literally right off of I-10 making it a perfect pit stop that can be played very quickly. The park itself is kept up well with a full time crew working on the park every morning.

This course definitely benefits the newer player as most of the holes are <250'. However, even with the short distance the holes are not just wide open. There are dog legs, tight tunnels and a shot over the water which adds a great deal of difficulty to the course.

The course lengthens up in the back few holes and a could of the front holes including 15 and 2 which scoring a three would be impressive om either.

The baskets are in good shape and each tee post is marked with hole number.
Because this course is in a park with camping there are bathrooms, and water located near the course. Parking is also a non issue and the first basket is right across the street from the parking lot
Cons: A 2.5 on DGCR is "decent/typical" and this course is a very typical course. There is little shot variety on the middle holes even with obstacles. Hole 6, which is the snake hole, I felt was gimmicky and needs more luck than skill.

Navigation is a bit of an issue on a few holes. After 5 you need to walk backwards a good distance to get to the next hole and then 13/14 needs another good walk. There are no clear signs on where the next hole location is.

The middle holes also felt crowded as most felt like they were throwing on top of each other. The course just has a weird layout.
Other Thoughts: This course is not going to wow you. It is a great course with the area given and with it's good location it can be played easily and quickly. If you are struggling to shoot under par than this is the course to go to.

Be sure to bring a map and bug repellent. Mosquito could be bad after a rain and bring a map will make the course navigation much more smooth.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 NIce relaxing course

5+    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: jslang30
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course for players of all skill levels. Has a goog mix of long and short holes. Has some straight longs and short technical holes. Course has holes to challenge every skill level. Course is in a state park so its maintained well.
Cons: No concrete tee boxes only dirt ones. Hole 13 has a few roots on tee pad so be careful. Long walk between 2&3 and 14&15. When it rains course gets muddy and ditchs get full around Hole 11.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is now at the park entrance. Park closes gate at 6 so park outside gate if not going to finish in time. Pictures on here have the wrong hole info as the course has been redone. I will try to update pictures soon.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Two Courses in One

1    4/28/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Copperhead is two courses in one. The front nine is a short technical and wooded venture while the back and adds the majority amount of the course's overall length. The park itself is well maintained and the typical park amenities abound. The front nine was admittedly more fun for me, as all holes are birdie throws and most are begging to be aced.

The terrain is flat, the design works well interlaced through the trees, and there is a considerable amount of foliage to work through on many of the holes. I was particularly impressed with the tucked in placement of #12 and the risk versus reward it offered it you hit any rough. Although there are a few navigation issues, the majority of the course flows well, and is adequately marked if there are changes, i.e. the transitions in the middle of the back nine.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #12
Cons: With the back nine as an add-on, the course could use much better tee signage. It's also strange to me that no one marks the number on the easy to spot DisCatcher baskets. Some holes (back nine issues)even have the distances written on the posts without the hole number written to confirm which hole you are on. It's these little and easily fixable things that bring this course down most.

Casual players and first timers will benefit most from Copperhead, but many competitive players will bore quickly from the ace run layout of the front nine. Hole #16 is the only real long hole on the course that would provide a challenge to the advanced player. It would have made more sense to redesign the front nine to add a bit of challenge when the back nine was created, but alas pre-planning and modernizing didn't seem like a concern in the final design.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #18
Other Thoughts: Although not as strong as Klein Park in nearby Beaumont, I felt Copperhead provided an enjoyable and casual substitute. I'm not driving out of my way to play here, but I would certainly make the stop if I was passing it on the highway. It's a good place for the family to relax and take in a round on a course that doesn't look to receive much foot traffic. If the signage was improved, I would be happy to call this a home course.

Note that this course is called Copperhead for a reason. To echo previous reviews, I almost stepped on a Copperhead on hole #8, so just be vigilant of your surroundings. Closest nice hospital is in Beaumont twenty minutes away, so it could really ruin your round and your day. Besides that - if a short ace run course intermixed with some good foliage and a few long holes thrown in is your thing - then you'll be happy to catch a round out here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Orienteering 101 Badge Needed

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This, now 18 hole course, has water, tunnel shots, woods, wide open holes and lots of big trees. This course was once a 9 hole ace run beginner course and it now has some bigger holes to fill it out. The picture hole for me on this course was a Tunnel Shot #11. This hole has about a 240 foot long and 6 feet wide ridge, with a 4 foot sloped down ledge on either side full of tall trees that opens up to a tree surrounded basket. It was really fun. The back nine has some older trees that made some of the holes a fun challenge. I should say that at the time of this review, the dirt tee pads were not in bad shape. This place does have a restroom and good parking.
Cons: Most of the short holes were really just ok. The short holes are more for the beginner player except for 6. On 6, watch out for snakes if you don't make it over the creek. I did not see any gators, but when looking in the creeks as I was walking along on both the front and back, there were a few snakes, so be careful. BUT, the real issue here is the flow of the holes and the fact the you need a degree in orientation on your first visit. Even if there was a map, with only a yellow stakes (barley having numbers on them) marking dirt tee pads, and a few double backing trips to the next hole, you need help.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here was just ok with me. I did not get too excited except for the tunnel hole and I did like the 10th hole with scattered old trees all over. Keep in mind, this is the only course within 10 miles of here, so it is not a bad option if you are not wanting to travel. I find this to be a slightly above average place to play. Had the holes been mixed up more and the flow was better, it might be more fun to play here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pit Stop!

1    11/29/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My review will be divided into the 1st and 2nd nine. It is my understanding that the 2nd 9 have just recently been added so there is a different feel to the back than the front has.

Huge map at hole 1 gives you a great sense of direction for the first 9 holes. I couldn't find a map for the 2nd nine but its not that big of a deal.

---------------------------------------------------
Front 9 / General:

Parking was plenty and hole 1 was easy to find thanks to the great sign. The grass was well kept and from the tees, arrows pointing towards which basket with distances for most helped out tremendously.

The front 9 is much like a warm up course and most holes are under 200' but one pushes 400'.

Has wooded and open shots and plenty of risk/reward shots. Off the top of my head 6 is an excellent example as there is a ravine before and after the green. I think this is probably the coolest hole on the front 9.

Use of backhand and forehand on multiple holes made the front far more interesting and even though they were shorter holes, still kept me happy.

---------------------------------------------------
Back 9:

The back 9 is significantly longer than the front and are mostly more wooded shots.

Again mix of back and front hand shots mixed it up a bit.

I think hole length averaged 250' but one was 450' and had a nice ravine following the fairway all the way to the basket on the left hand side.

Besides the long 450 footer, there is a tunnel shot that is about 150' long to get out of the tunnel and about 8' wide. That is by far the hardest hole on the back 9 and easily the signature hole of the whole course.

Hole 18 bring you right back to where you started so there's not a long trek back to the car.
---------------------------------------------------
Other:
Seems like a great place to bring the whole family. Playgrounds (yes plural), picnic areas, restrooms, baseball fields. Not sure if camping is allowed but I wouldn't see why not. Very close to the interstate and makes a great pitstop.
Cons: I had very few complaints about this course but the main one was there was no direction arrow to the next tee. Particularly, 11 you have to go across the road and then 12 you have to go back across the road again.

Hard to find 13 tee. I was looking for the yellow post but couldn't find it for a few minutes. (Thats the tunnel shot from before I was talking about).

Hole 12 and 14 throw with the road on your right. Not a huge deal but could get dangerous on a busy day.


---------------------------------------------------
Mosquitoes. I know theres nothing they could do about that but still worth noting.

Restrooms are DIRTY! They do their function well but I would recommend stopping at the gas station at exit 869 before and/or after playing this course. Very friendly people there and super clean facilities.

This is a multi-use park so watch out for joggers, children etc.

Apparently there are snakes and gators there but I didn't see any. Even so, I kept watching my feet while I walked. The leery might want some boots and pants are a must if you drives are as errant as mine.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great place to play to kill some time on a road trip and stretch your legs. I was on my way from Houston to Chattanooga and it is about 100 miles from Houston.

When you exit 869 off of I-10, head west on the north side of the interstate like the previous reviewer said. When you get to Claiborne Park on the right, turn in and go until you see the DG course sign on the right. Tee 1 is right there.

I accidentally missed the park because I didn't know where to turn and had to go the long way around the highway that took 10 more minutes.




*Tree love!*

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 awesome short coarse

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Duramax86
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good for beginners. Or for those who do not have a strong throwing arm. Play area close by so there is fun for the whole family! Recommend it for anyone traveling on I10 that needs a travel break to stretch your legs!. Just get of at exit 869 and follow the road on the north side that runs west beside the I10. Well kepted up park.
Cons: Could be marked better. Had a time figuring out the layout the first time. Watch fer snakes!
Other Thoughts: I really loved this coarse since I dont have the strongest throwing arm. It was quiet the day I was there. Will be playing it more since Im only 5 miles from the coarse!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jewel in the Forest

2-4    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun in a SE Texas forest setting.Very nice public park with great parking, Lots of restrooms, and plenty of shade. 18 hole course that will challenge your variety of shots. #1 is a hyzer and short, but well-protected by pine trees. #2 is an annie at a right angle, also short, but I'd like to see an ace on this one. #3 is a straight shot through a narrow corridor, also well-protected. #4 is a miniature #5 at Cameron in Waco. Has a hole on top of a barren hill. Both remind me of Mt. Suribachi. #5 is straight, but protected. Then we get to the signature #6. Has a deep ditch around the front three sides. It was dry today, but the ditch on the west had a foot of water in it, and it is nasty. The hole is on the front about 3 feet from the edge. #7 is the only hole you can unwind on, pretty much straight and open. #8 is short and tight. All fades on this course are in deep underbrush. #9 is an easy finish, very open if you don't fade. The course was fun for my beginner wife also. She had some trouble, but made some pars too. Good players will have lots of birdie chances, but if you go in the woods you can bogey easily. New 9 has a mix of thread-your way-through-the-trees and a couple of open fairways. The signature has to be the tunnel #9 hole where you are driving a path about 8 feet wide to the hole. Nice job by the Golden Triangle DG Club.
Cons: I don't see many cons.Just know this is a short, technical course,not for a big arm outing. Watch for vehicles oncoming on the drive for #8 - close to the road.
Other Thoughts: For a course map and pictures of the holes, go to www.gtdiscgolf.com , then Message Board, then Claiborne West, then Copperhead Map.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    5/10/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: lohrtom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent course for beginners. Took me about an hour to play making it a nice place to get out and stretch the legs if you are on a long drive along I-10 since it is in a park just off of the interstate.
Cons: I had some difficulty comprehending the lay out even after studying the map at the begining of the course.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 ate my disc. If you want it it is in about a foot of water just before the culvert entrance just short of the basket. Too grubby for me to fetch.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

11/21/2007   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little 9-hole course located in a beautiful park. Great course for beginners and pros alike. Nice trees and open holes.
Cons: #6 basket is on a peninsula, and its very easy to loose a disc on that hole. Make sure you have a floater because its surrounded by water on 3 sides. Not a real long course.
Other Thoughts: Great course to hit if you are in the area or coming or going to Beaumont or Louisiana. The park is right off of I-10 and the course in just inside the park to the left. Great course for the kids or people just learning the game.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.