Disc Golf Store
Maple City, MI 
Myles Kimmerly Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Fairway



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Woodsy

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms, ample parking, fairly easy to navigate (maps at the message board, but hardly needed unless you're not paying attention).
- The woods holes, 2/3 of the holes, are fair and not extremely challenging, but do require a well executed drive to park.
- Hills keep you on your toes.
- Clean, hardly and trash or vandalism compared to some courses.
Cons: - Rubber tees are tiny on some holes, uneven.
- Some blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Wanted to go 3.5 due to small, uneven rubber tees but let's go 4.0.
NO Sprint coverage at all.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heh heh, you said "undulating"

1    7/25/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is outstanding; a real treat to play. The course plays in mostly woods, with the first three and last two playing along the outskirts on undulating hills.

Scorecard (with course map!) avilable at the billboard leading up to tee 1. Also some history to the course there, as well as the sponsors that made it happen. Apparently it was built by eagle scouts?! Every hole also has a sign with a map and distance, along with the sponsor (if any). Rubber tees were bolted into the ground and very well maintained. Very low vandalism.

Elevation change on EVERY hole. I'd say half the holes are valley shots, with both tee and pin on either hill. A great downhill bomb on 3 was probably my favourite shot. #6 was also great, throwing over a field and then dipping into the woods before your approach shot is uphill and the pin seems impossible to hit.

The woods are deceiving. It was very cool under the canopy despite my playing through at the end of July. Mosquitos were non-existent, and only a few deerflys buzzed about. It was also very spacious underneath the trees, and this course looked pretty worn in (in a good way).

Fairness of play - The fairways are deceptively open, but an errant throw will cost you a stroke or two. The "rough" really isn't even that rough, but the lines you are forced to hit after a bad throw are wickedly hard (great design!). A lot of pin placements are next to big hills or ravines so rollaways will happen. You really have to concentrate with your approach shots (a spotter helps a lot). Overall a very tough course, but also very rewarding when your disc does what you tell it to :-)
Cons: I was surprised that even with all the elevation to play with, a lot of the holes were very similar. Only one uphill shot to be had, and it was less than 200 ft. in length. I think they missed out on some variety here.

I guess I'll mention the rubber tees since we all would love to have concrete, but I thought they were some of the nicest I've seen. The sandy terrain can make them slippy (sic), but they aren't dangerous by any means.

Maybe some "next tee" signs? Once you're in the forest you are IN IT and there were a few trails that can lead you in the wrong direction. The course map on the scorecard was a big help here, so I recommend grabbing one before playing through.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this course was as good as it was, since it was the only course within a 50 mile radius of the Sleeping Bear Dunes. Take the time to play if you are on vacation up that way...you will not be disappointed!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's been too long...

2-4    9/19/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful blend of holes. Open field fairways and tight woods holes. Some baskets hidden from view, too.

Undulating grounds give each hole some nice elevation changes, even if the basket and tee are level to one another.

Surprisingly intuitive feel to the flow of the course. I never even looked the wrong way to find the next tee.

The trees in the woods sufficently block out the sun, so that there is very little ground growth. Disc retrieval, even on errant shots, is a breeze.

Pristine informative tee signage, including excellent representations of the hole, and some forgiving par values.

The rest of the park is nice, with bathrooms, course map & scorecards, and large fields to practice drives.
Cons:
Awful tee mats. They really clash with the rest of the course, which is well designed, defined and manicured.

It's kind of in the boonies, which is a not exactly a con. It may be a hike to get to, but very little traffic when you do.

Not much else. I would be very content if this was my local course. I guess a little extra distance would be nice (like 6 more holes!!)
Other Thoughts:
I hadn't played this course since the year it opened, and I didn't want to review it without playing it again. Boy, am I glad I did, as this course has aged like a fine wine.

The fairways have been beaten in within the trees, creating a fully defined course. There is still plenty of vegetation around, but there was no way I was mistaking where the course went.

I always think of Hickory Hills when I think of Traverse City. However, since there always are enough players there to fill a large concert hall, making some rounds last forever, the quiet secluded nature of MK makes it a great alternative.

My favorite hole was #15, which threw across the side of the hill. The line was closed for a LHBH throw and open for a RHBH throw, but the hill gave way so a hard RHBH fade would take you way down the hill. Great design.

Two thumbs up for a course with a lot to offer to both n00bs and experienced players alike.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where Is Everybody?

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Journeyed to the north lands today. Oh man, my brethren and sistren, you guys should go up if you haven't. Myles started off with some shots on hilly ground and into dune grass, but quickly tucked us away into a woods and a clearing and again into the woods before spitting us out once more into open air for the conclusion of a thoroughly enjoyable ride. There is just something about being among those trees reaching high for the light. I love the forest. This course asks you politely to try your shot bag out in its glorious spread. This course had me admiring some really sweet looking holes. Trees and elevation fluctuation kept the excitement coming.
Cons: This course goes in a flash if you have some semblance of game. A bit short, but just whip. Empty discarded alcohol containers at every tee pad make me both smile and shake my head simultaneously. Needs some discipline and ambitious care takers or hungry hobos.
Other Thoughts: This place is such a giant sleeper. I am amazed and appalled that nobody was there on such a magnificent day to play but at the same time I am glad that it was our own private paradise. Make the run up north. This trip was the best thing I have done all summer. Myles is the goods. Chill out and love the land.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Caterpillars!

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes playing in and out of the woods. Most holes were a test of control and could be reached with a mid-range or a putter. The fairways are tight, but usually offered multiple lines. There were several holes where the basket sat on a sloping hill where a missed putt had the potential to roll away creating high risk/reward decisions. There are pit toilets on site and there is a course map with scorecards right before hole one. The tee signs are solid and are exactly like those found at Hickory Hills.
Cons: The tee pads were slick rubber and lumpy in spots. They also had blocks for a "fault line" that seemed treacherous yet no one in my group got hurt. There was a lot of garbage on the course. Some people had even stacked some on the baskets. Overall I felt like this course was somewhat neglected.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during a tent caterpillar infestation. I do not know much about these insects, but they were all over and it made the round rather miserable. The insects and their feces dropped from the trees the whole round making that "light rain" sound. We ran into webs even in the fairways. If you get creeped out by bugs DO NOT play when these caterpillars are around. Though I know the caterpillars will be gone at some point, they do affect the overall atmosphere of the course and therefore drop the overall rating.

Despite the caterpillars I really enjoyed my round at this DG course. I can't wait to return here when the caterpillars are gone and the concrete tee pads are installed. With those improvements it could reach a 4/5 and with a little clean up it could be a 5/5 in my book. Not quite a destination course but could be with a few more improvements. If and when I play this course again (hopefully without the caterpillars) I will be sure to update my review.

Also, as someone else mentioned the soccer fields are a solid place to throw some drives. To add to that thought, if you don't mind gravel, throw from the parking lot out over the soccer fields for some sweet down hill driving practice.

5/16/12 - I have returned and the course was not overrun by caterpillars. It was a wonderful experience the second time around without the creepy insects. The majority of the garbage seen throughout the round was now in the waste baskets instead of out in the fiarway, a definite PLUS! Still no concrete tees, and the rubber pads are lumpier. I have updated the overall course rating to reflect these improvements!


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Still wonderful

2-4    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: LangWu99
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some lovely holes and generous pars make this course a wonderful place to get some confidence back.
Clean rubber tees make for good traction.
Not nearly as crowded as Hickory
Pin placement tests different technical aspects of your game
Cons: Definately a hike with some pretty challenging terrian in a few places.
For first time play throughs it is a challenge to find a few of the tees.
A bit of distance between tees as well.
Rain on rubber tees could present a problem
Other Thoughts: This year is the first I have ever experienced such an icredible infestation of tent worms. Right now the conditions make it damn near impossible to trek this course without a long stick infront of you twisting all the webbing from the tent worms. We came acrossed two guys who gave up on playing the rest of the course becuz it was so bad.

This is the first time I've ever seen anything like this. Beware of the bugs this year but don't let them stop you from playing one of the nicest courses in northern Michigan.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice righty course

1    5/5/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Constant terrain change. Plenty-o-hills. Easy to follow course/signs. Variations between tight and cavernous areas within the woods. Several sites in the beginning, in the middle, and at the end in open fields. Not heavily played in Early May (60F late afternoon on a Wed).
Cons: The site definitely needs it's members to change out the trash cans for larger bags, or have them replaced out more frequently.
Other Thoughts: The course is easy to follow, is not confusing at any point. The hills are more or less rolling in nature, not as steep as say Mt Holiday or Hickory Hills. The general tilt towards the right in the tee design gives more work to side arms and tomahawks than forearm shots, but the site is fun to play!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My course I play when Hickory is too busy

5+    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well marked. Good elevation changes. Usually not too busy (I play here when Hickory Hills is too busy). Plenty of holes where you can really let it fly.
Cons: Quite a bit of trash. There are a few trash cans, but could use some more.
Other Thoughts: You won't go wrong playing Myles Kimmerly. It's a bit out of the way, but it's open year round and it's a very fair course. Cedar tavern isn't too far away and they serve a mean reuben. :)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: colombo117
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical, and set in a beautiful surrounding. Very few people play here because of it location. The holes in the forest are awesome, big trees, and elevation changes abound.
Cons: There are alot of trees on this course, but I love it. Some people may not. It really calls for dialed in throws. Its 20 mins out of Traverse City.
Other Thoughts: If this course was closer I would play it everyday. It is very beautiful in the woods.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plenty of challenge and variety!

5+    10/18/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 70  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of elevation changes on almost every hole. Steep rolling terrain can make distances on several holes deceiving. A great mix of lightly wooded , heavily wooded, and clear field holes with plenty of left or right hand and/or blind shots. Holes #1-3 and #17-18 are long enough to allow big arms room to stretch, while other more wooded holes definitely reward accuracy. Several holes have baskets that are elevated or placed in a clearing with a steep back drop, making accurate putts a necessity and over throws a disaster. Beautifully maintained tee mats and baskets, nice tee signage, plenty of trash cans, and well mowed fairways keep the course looking and playing well.
Cons: The constant and sometimes large elevation changes makes for a strenuous outing. A couple of long hikes between holes and almost no "Next Tee" signage makes navigation in the fall challenging. Many blind shots make pre-scouting a necessity on several holes.

Concrete tee pads would elevate this course to a 4.5 rating for me.
Other Thoughts: A well marked and interesting course set in a beautiful park with bathrooms, scorecards, and pencils provided. Plays much like a small Hickory Hills without as many "do it or die" shots. Distance and accuracy highly rewarded on this course. Hiking boots are recommended due to some severe elevation changes and areas of heavy brush in the roughs.

**** Update 4/7/10 ****
The trash cans have gone un-emptied or have completely disappeared and the rubber tee mats have gotten ugly since I first wrote my review. The pads are now wavy, lumpy, slippery, and beginning to come up in many places. The good news, though, is that cement pads have been approved and funded, and installation will begin this summer!!! Yay! This may easily elevate this course to a 4.5.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.