Disc Golf Store
Maple City, MI 
Myles Kimmerly Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #10 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love it

5+    9/5/2013   4/5/2014
Review By: low country kp
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hilly course, even if you don't throw well its an awesome hike. Many different kinds of shots and holes, with hills, trees, turns, and bends incorporated. A very nice challenging course well designed. First three holes and last two keep it from being all woods as they are out in the open which I love. Start and finish out of the woods to keep it as a mix of wooded and open. Several great little spots to stop and rest or just hang out throughout the course. Awesome place to run around and let the dawgs loose. After hole 18, you can throw all of your discs right out onto the soccer field if no one is playing.
Cons: Some tee pads are rough. Watch your step! Just a little bit of sand on the rubber pads and your ACL is torn or ankle broken. Ha. But seriously they can be very slippery. I can think of at least one tee pad that is far too short.
Other Thoughts: Love this course regardless of how many holes are tough and seem to turn to the right. Always interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intimate, scenic, rhythmic. Is it okay to call a course "elegant"? Well, Myles is elegant.

1    7/14/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Heavily wooded, but with defined fairways
+ Every hole has multiple lines to choose from, some with very tempting risk vs. reward
+ Intimate and scenic setting off the beaten path
+ Constantly changing elevation keeps it interesting, even on relatively short holes
+ Old growth, tree canopy, and branch archways
+ Mowed walking path on the open holes
+ Decent tee signs with "Next Tee" directions (pay attention)
+ Good benches, even when they were stumps
+ The course just has astounding flow and rhythm
Cons: - Hole #5 is short and super curved and just seemed out of place
- No directional signs, but not a big problem once you hit #6, but pay attention to the tee signs which tell you the direction
- A lot of bees in the park, but not once you get passed hole 3
Other Thoughts: Out of all the up north courses I played with three other intermediate-level throwers in mid-July 90 degree weather, we had the most fun here. None of us knew what to expect as we drove from Traverse City through what seemed like the middle of nowhere. While we drove up and down big rolling hills passing farms, vineyards, and old forests we felt like we were intentionally getting lost. We had to follow our GPS to "Miles" Kimmerly, not Myles, so be forewarned. We descended on the huge field with soccer, baseball, etc. and realized we had the course to ourselves. Didn't see a soul. It was very intimate and extremely fun.

Once you play the first three hilly holes, each with dense woods to your right side, you start to crave going into the forest. Hole #4 was classic and satisfying - right through the woods, and then you walk out into a clearing. In the open for two more holes and then we again felt like we descended into the realm of undisturbed Michigan disc golf awesomeness with ten amazing wooded holes. It is really easy to get into your own disc golf rhythm here. I think some players will say that makes this course easy and rate it lower, but I think it really speaks to the course designers intentions and was deliberate. The fairways are denser with tougher lines to hit than Hickory. The hills are a lot less demanding than Hickory or Carly's, but since the elevation keeps constantly changing so does the variables you have to consider when choosing the line you want to hit. Risk vs reward shot choice keeps the course interesting. The course's rhythm just resonated with me. All four of us were always excited to get to the next tee to see what we were up against. In the end, I felt like Myles was celebrating our round in his forest with two open holes - #17's tough uphill shot and a huge par 4 on #18, both with the woods on your left side, contrasting nicely against the first three holes (with the woods on the right).

As part of "up north Michigan disc golf", like I said before, Myles was the funnest mix. Myles didn't push us to the extreme like Carly (5/5), but he didn't underwhelm me like Hickory (4/5). It is well-designed, balanced and exciting. Just straight up good disc golf. The blend of elevation, woods, and left/right pin placement reminded me of some of the great courses in Michigan (Bluegill, Flip, Red Hawk). This is one course I can't wait to play in the fall. It will be gorgeous. On its own, Myles might only be considered a 4.0 course, especially to advanced/pro players, but when I consider the location, how intimate and scenic the setting is, how it compares to the other courses in the area, the course rhythm, and how much fun we had, I confidently rate it 4.5/5, and the three others I played with agree.

Thanks for reading!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 N. Michigan Wooded Gem

5+    8/18/2011   2/19/2012
Review By: GatorGolfer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Secluded 18 hole course in the woods of beautiful Leelanau county. Begins and ends in the open, with plenty of tight wooded holes in between that require accurate and technical shots. Elevation is a factor on nearly every hole, adding to this course's beauty and difficulty.
Cons: Not the longest course; bombs with the driver are only required on a few of the holes with most of the wooded holes requiring a mid-range. The mats can get slippery when they are sandy.
Other Thoughts: "Maple City" (as my friends and I call it) is our go-to course to escape the occasional crowds at Hickory Hills during the summer. Although it doesn't quite have the "fun factor" that Hickory has, this course makes up for it in beauty, seclusion, and technical difficulty.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best?

5+    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Myles-Kimmerly is well marked and better maintained then most courses, but the true draw here is the well laid out romp through this hilly forest.

Holes use the changes in elevation very well, and offer a well mixed variety of holes going up and down hill, also with a mix of dog legs to the left and right. It is every that Hickory Hills would be if the land was completely dedicated to the course rather than also being occupied by a ski area.
Cons: The holes in the open do tend to have deep thick grass to deal with in the summer. There are one or two walk between holes that might cause someone who has never played the course a little confusion.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite course in the area. The walk is not as much of a hike as Hickory, but be ready for a hike none the less.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where was this when I was younger?

5+    5/17/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Wiichtoski
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is fairly difficult and a bit of experience would come in handy before taking this course on. It is very wooded and hilly and offers a good challenge to players looking for it. Contains both long and short distanced holes where both power and accuracy will be needed. If you need a little practice try Lake Ann Baptist Camp's course.
Cons: Could be easy to lose a disc in the dense leaves and brush.
Other Thoughts: Play it, it'll be worth it.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.