Maple City, MI 
Myles Kimmerly Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5, the lie you get when your thumber falls short



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It's been too long...

2-4    9/19/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful blend of holes. Open field fairways and tight woods holes. Some baskets hidden from view, too.

Undulating grounds give each hole some nice elevation changes, even if the basket and tee are level to one another.

Surprisingly intuitive feel to the flow of the course. I never even looked the wrong way to find the next tee.

The trees in the woods sufficently block out the sun, so that there is very little ground growth. Disc retrieval, even on errant shots, is a breeze.

Pristine informative tee signage, including excellent representations of the hole, and some forgiving par values.

The rest of the park is nice, with bathrooms, course map & scorecards, and large fields to practice drives.
Cons:
Awful tee mats. They really clash with the rest of the course, which is well designed, defined and manicured.

It's kind of in the boonies, which is a not exactly a con. It may be a hike to get to, but very little traffic when you do.

Not much else. I would be very content if this was my local course. I guess a little extra distance would be nice (like 6 more holes!!)
Other Thoughts:
I hadn't played this course since the year it opened, and I didn't want to review it without playing it again. Boy, am I glad I did, as this course has aged like a fine wine.

The fairways have been beaten in within the trees, creating a fully defined course. There is still plenty of vegetation around, but there was no way I was mistaking where the course went.

I always think of Hickory Hills when I think of Traverse City. However, since there always are enough players there to fill a large concert hall, making some rounds last forever, the quiet secluded nature of MK makes it a great alternative.

My favorite hole was #15, which threw across the side of the hill. The line was closed for a LHBH throw and open for a RHBH throw, but the hill gave way so a hard RHBH fade would take you way down the hill. Great design.

Two thumbs up for a course with a lot to offer to both n00bs and experienced players alike.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where Is Everybody?

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Journeyed to the north lands today. Oh man, my brethren and sistren, you guys should go up if you haven't. Myles started off with some shots on hilly ground and into dune grass, but quickly tucked us away into a woods and a clearing and again into the woods before spitting us out once more into open air for the conclusion of a thoroughly enjoyable ride. There is just something about being among those trees reaching high for the light. I love the forest. This course asks you politely to try your shot bag out in its glorious spread. This course had me admiring some really sweet looking holes. Trees and elevation fluctuation kept the excitement coming.
Cons: This course goes in a flash if you have some semblance of game. A bit short, but just whip. Empty discarded alcohol containers at every tee pad make me both smile and shake my head simultaneously. Needs some discipline and ambitious care takers or hungry hobos.
Other Thoughts: This place is such a giant sleeper. I am amazed and appalled that nobody was there on such a magnificent day to play but at the same time I am glad that it was our own private paradise. Make the run up north. This trip was the best thing I have done all summer. Myles is the goods. Chill out and love the land.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Caterpillars!

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes playing in and out of the woods. Most holes were a test of control and could be reached with a mid-range or a putter. The fairways are tight, but usually offered multiple lines. There were several holes where the basket sat on a sloping hill where a missed putt had the potential to roll away creating high risk/reward decisions. There are pit toilets on site and there is a course map with scorecards right before hole one. The tee signs are solid and are exactly like those found at Hickory Hills.
Cons: The tee pads were slick rubber and lumpy in spots. They also had blocks for a "fault line" that seemed treacherous yet no one in my group got hurt. There was a lot of garbage on the course. Some people had even stacked some on the baskets. Overall I felt like this course was somewhat neglected.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during a tent caterpillar infestation. I do not know much about these insects, but they were all over and it made the round rather miserable. The insects and their feces dropped from the trees the whole round making that "light rain" sound. We ran into webs even in the fairways. If you get creeped out by bugs DO NOT play when these caterpillars are around. Though I know the caterpillars will be gone at some point, they do affect the overall atmosphere of the course and therefore drop the overall rating.

Despite the caterpillars I really enjoyed my round at this DG course. I can't wait to return here when the caterpillars are gone and the concrete tee pads are installed. With those improvements it could reach a 4/5 and with a little clean up it could be a 5/5 in my book. Not quite a destination course but could be with a few more improvements. If and when I play this course again (hopefully without the caterpillars) I will be sure to update my review.

Also, as someone else mentioned the soccer fields are a solid place to throw some drives. To add to that thought, if you don't mind gravel, throw from the parking lot out over the soccer fields for some sweet down hill driving practice.

5/16/12 - I have returned and the course was not overrun by caterpillars. It was a wonderful experience the second time around without the creepy insects. The majority of the garbage seen throughout the round was now in the waste baskets instead of out in the fiarway, a definite PLUS! Still no concrete tees, and the rubber pads are lumpier. I have updated the overall course rating to reflect these improvements!


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Still wonderful

2-4    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: LangWu99
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some lovely holes and generous pars make this course a wonderful place to get some confidence back.
Clean rubber tees make for good traction.
Not nearly as crowded as Hickory
Pin placement tests different technical aspects of your game
Cons: Definately a hike with some pretty challenging terrian in a few places.
For first time play throughs it is a challenge to find a few of the tees.
A bit of distance between tees as well.
Rain on rubber tees could present a problem
Other Thoughts: This year is the first I have ever experienced such an icredible infestation of tent worms. Right now the conditions make it damn near impossible to trek this course without a long stick infront of you twisting all the webbing from the tent worms. We came acrossed two guys who gave up on playing the rest of the course becuz it was so bad.

This is the first time I've ever seen anything like this. Beware of the bugs this year but don't let them stop you from playing one of the nicest courses in northern Michigan.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice righty course

1    5/5/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Constant terrain change. Plenty-o-hills. Easy to follow course/signs. Variations between tight and cavernous areas within the woods. Several sites in the beginning, in the middle, and at the end in open fields. Not heavily played in Early May (60F late afternoon on a Wed).
Cons: The site definitely needs it's members to change out the trash cans for larger bags, or have them replaced out more frequently.
Other Thoughts: The course is easy to follow, is not confusing at any point. The hills are more or less rolling in nature, not as steep as say Mt Holiday or Hickory Hills. The general tilt towards the right in the tee design gives more work to side arms and tomahawks than forearm shots, but the site is fun to play!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 North of average in northern Michigan!

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: jamays
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If the whole course were as nicely laid out as 1, 2, 3, 17 and 18 and had cement tee pads, this course would easily be a 4.5! Most of the course has interesting and challenging changes in elevation. The fairways through the woods on 4-16 are generally open enough and are playable with a little accuracy. Pin placement is definitely above average and with a good drive, can still be fun to approach.

There are restrooms at the beginning of the course as well as a course map and score cards. Definite plus.
Cons: The rubber tee mats, while nicer then dirt, are a negative for the course and get very slippery.

Navigation is mostly easy though, could be better marked.

Some fairways are obstructed and moderately difficult to walk through.

There is trash through a lot of the course.
Other Thoughts: There is a soccer field at the end of 18 that is perfect for practicing drives after a round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/15/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some terrific semi-open holes at the beginning and end of the course, with nice views of the surrounding hills (1, 2, 3, 17, 18). These holes are uniquely challenging and fun, with steep, short dune-like hills. Hole 3 is a great shot from an elevated tee through a narrow opening down to a tee in pine woods. Some better-than-average forest holes with elevation changes, such as Holes 6, 8, 11 and 15. Holes 17 and 18 allow power throws, welcome after 10-plus forest holes. Super-straight mid range drives will lower scores in the forest holes, with bigger drives helpful in the open holes.
Cons: As mentioned previously, the rubber tees are slippery (almost injured myself on Hole 6), but are a lot better than grass or dirt tees. A couple of clunker holes with no pathways (Holes 9 and 12). No real stunning holes like Hickory Hills #19 or Beast #1, though #3 and #18 are quite nice.
Other Thoughts: Ever wanted to play disc golf in the 'deer woods'? Holes 7 through 16 offer that experience. Course could rival Hickory Hills by utilizing more of the open park areas, which seem to be present in abundance. Cement tee pads would be very helpful as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My course I play when Hickory is too busy

5+    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well marked. Good elevation changes. Usually not too busy (I play here when Hickory Hills is too busy). Plenty of holes where you can really let it fly.
Cons: Quite a bit of trash. There are a few trash cans, but could use some more.
Other Thoughts: You won't go wrong playing Myles Kimmerly. It's a bit out of the way, but it's open year round and it's a very fair course. Cedar tavern isn't too far away and they serve a mean reuben. :)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 UP down UP down

1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -pretty decent elevation changes
-variety
-great signage (same as Hickory in nearby Traverse City)
-risk/reward basket placements
-technical shots
Cons: -HORRIBLE RUBBER TEE PADS (huge con, explained below)
-TRASH, quite extreme
-middle of no where
Other Thoughts: This a pretty good lengthy course that uses the landscape with all it's valleys and hills to the best of it's abilities. Very natural feel with downed trees and paths that also scream mountain biking. This could be a great course but there are two major flaws that keep it at a 3

1) BAD TEE PADS. Yes, the course does have tee pads but they are a non-texture rubber tee pad that collects northern Michigan sand like crazy. This makes for some of the slipperiest pads I have ever played on. Once you slip that is all that is on your mind for the rest of the round. AND to make it worse some pads have an above ground 4x4 piece of wood as a fault line (you can see these in the photos). Hit my toes on this many times. This is begging for someone to sprain an ankle.

2) TRASH. There are no trash cans anywhere and some of the holes just have huge piles of trash collected next to them. Very disgusting for a course that screams nature.

Playing wise we had a good time here. Definitely not a destination course, BUT paired up with Traverse City's Hickory to the east (just down highway 72) this course makes a for a good day of disc golf.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best?

5+    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Myles-Kimmerly is well marked and better maintained then most courses, but the true draw here is the well laid out romp through this hilly forest.

Holes use the changes in elevation very well, and offer a well mixed variety of holes going up and down hill, also with a mix of dog legs to the left and right. It is every that Hickory Hills would be if the land was completely dedicated to the course rather than also being occupied by a ski area.
Cons: The holes in the open do tend to have deep thick grass to deal with in the summer. There are one or two walk between holes that might cause someone who has never played the course a little confusion.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite course in the area. The walk is not as much of a hike as Hickory, but be ready for a hike none the less.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.