Maple City, MI 
Myles Kimmerly Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5, the lie you get when your thumber falls short



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Woodsy

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms, ample parking, fairly easy to navigate (maps at the message board, but hardly needed unless you're not paying attention).
- The woods holes, 2/3 of the holes, are fair and not extremely challenging, but do require a well executed drive to park.
- Hills keep you on your toes.
- Clean, hardly and trash or vandalism compared to some courses.
Cons: - Rubber tees are tiny on some holes, uneven.
- Some blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Wanted to go 3.5 due to small, uneven rubber tees but let's go 4.0.
NO Sprint coverage at all.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Plaid flannel shirt optional

1    5/25/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid course in multi-use county park. Rolling terrain and woods make for an interesting and challenging round.
• Discplay:
+ Very well wooded with a few fairly open holes (at the beginning and end) to provide a some sort of balance between wooded / open holes.
+ Rolling terrain comes into play in one way or another pretty much every hole except for maybe 2 or 3 of them - keeps thing interesting. Several baskets where roll-aways can add strokes… think before you putt or approach.
+ Some holes feel a bit longer than posted because of the woods, the elevation, or both.
+ Most fairways are pretty well defined with many holes forcing a specific line, but some offer a few different routes and you need to make a decision.
+ While most of the fairways are pretty tight, there's enough room to hit all the shots. That said, bad kicks off a tree or a shots that get away from you could leave you with tough recoveries which can pile up strokes.
+ Reasonable (but not great) mix of fairway shapes
+ Some well-guarded and nicely tucked pins.

• Equipment: Baskets in good condition. Tee signs are pretty good too (don't recall if any were missing).
Course and park were nicely groomed and well-maintained. Don't recall seeing much garbage on the course.
• Routing/Nav: Except for getting from 3 to 4, it was pretty easy to follow for the most part. I wouldn't say the map's necessary, but it helped us out a few times. The one crappy part was getting from 3 to 4….
• Aesthetics: Nice enough - starts out on rolling green hills before taking you for a nice stroll up and down through the woods… quite hilly, but not particularly strenuous. I bet this place is bursting with color in the fall (probably also a nightmare finding discs).
• Memorable holes: #18 feels particularly nice after a dozen or so holes worth of playing lumberjack. I also enjoyed throwing an open shot from the elevated tee down to the guarded pin tucked back in the trees on #3.

•Extras:
+ bathrooms on the way to 1st tee
+ scorecard w/map (the online aerial map is much better)
+ Isolation: feels away from it all once you get into the middle holes in the woods
Cons:
•Tees - too short and not in good condition. Fixing these would be the biggest improvement IMO.

• #5 is lousy filler hole - way too easy to card a 3, very difficult to get a 2… results in hardly any scoring separation. Basically requires you to shoot beyond the pin on a hard fade to the right and back toward the tee to run at the basket. Could easily be fixed by moving the pin farther down and tucking it into the woods off the clearing that comprises the fairway.

• Could use a few L & R turns and few less straight
• Walk from 3 to 4 is confusing.

• Chainstars catch great but are very hard to spot in the woods - flags would really help visibility plus tell you what the wind is doing at that end of the fairway.

• The walk from 3 to 4 is longer than it looks on the map (just follow the path leading from 3's basket into the woods until you get to the 4's tee). Somehow, we thought we made a mistake and backtracked a bit.
Other Thoughts: Myles Kimmerly should appeal to those who favor placement over distance, especially if you prefer a little elevation with your tight & technical. It's fairly well designed and nice place for a quiet round.

Wind is likely come into play, affecting shots on holes 1-3 and 17-18.

On the whole, it's better than most "good" courses I've played, hence the 3.5, but not by ton. Better tees and reworking #5 would certainly be improvements, but even with those, I personally didn't find the discplay interesting enough to rate what I'd call excellent. That would require a few more holes where you could appreciate a full flight and a bit more variety in terms of distances and fairway types.

MK's biggest "problem" may be that Hickory Hills and Carly's Playground are so spectacular that it feels kind of plain in comparison, but it's solid enough to stand as a very good course on it's own merrit, and is certainly a nice addition to the area, even if it doesn't have the wow factor the others do.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    9/5/2013   4/5/2014
Review By: low country kp
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hilly course, even if you don't throw well its an awesome hike. Many different kinds of shots and holes, with hills, trees, turns, and bends incorporated. A very nice challenging course well designed. First three holes and last two keep it from being all woods as they are out in the open which I love. Start and finish out of the woods to keep it as a mix of wooded and open. Several great little spots to stop and rest or just hang out throughout the course. Awesome place to run around and let the dawgs loose. After hole 18, you can throw all of your discs right out onto the soccer field if no one is playing.
Cons: Some tee pads are rough. Watch your step! Just a little bit of sand on the rubber pads and your ACL is torn or ankle broken. Ha. But seriously they can be very slippery. I can think of at least one tee pad that is far too short.
Other Thoughts: Love this course regardless of how many holes are tough and seem to turn to the right. Always interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Off by a Myle !

5+    9/29/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 282  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 38.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This property has some fantastic potential unrealized. Some open rolling fields surrounded by undulating hills, filled with a lush forest with very light underbrush, if any.
Maps and scorecards available on walk to 1st tee. Ample parking & pavilions.
On the walks to the next hole, many of the smaller trees had been bent and braided together to form an archway. So, one of the 'coolest' features on the course had zero effect on how the course plays.
Cons: Without question, the biggest issue is the tees. The Fly Pads, combined with the sandy dirt are, more often than not, fairly slippery. However, the primary issue with the tee pads is that there are only 3 or so, on the entire course, that are FLAT. Most are lumpy and slope up, down, sideways, or any combination of the 3, though the tee could be moved 15' and be flat… and still provide a similar, if not the same, shot.

Hole #5's tee pad is only HALF of a pad (several of these) and, if you want a run up, you have to back up into a tree, and cross-step while hopping onto the pad, though there is open & level ground 10' away. Hole #6 is sloped upward so steeply that only Evel Kneivel could love it. Stand sideways on it and you might be mistaken for Captain Morgan. It's kinda hard to play solid golf when your concentration is placed solely on your footing, rather than on where the disc should go. I fell on/off the tee TWICE during one round.

What may be the shortest fairway on the course, has what may be the best tee pad of them all.

The compound word "Fair-Way" is only marginally adhered to. Most flight lines are apparent, but several would be a challenge to hit even with excellent tee pads. Several fairways with little "pimper" trees that block an otherwise excellent flight-line.

I just played my 2nd tourney here and this course was nowhere near tourney ready. It definitely needed TLC (Trim Limbs, Cal) Those branches and large trees that had been cut looked to have been left wherever they landed. One hole had a massive downed tree across the fairway that had possibly 50 sharp branches sticking straight out at all angles, that looked like the front-line defenses at Gettysburg. On the fairways or off, I spent a good portion of my round, moving LARGE dead branches and logs out of my way for an unencumbered stance.

Most fairways are straight or flick-friendly. Maybe 2? hyzers off the tee. Several of the tee signs looked to have distances that were off, and many of the longer holes are "tweeners' that only really "move" the score because someone didn't get good footing of the tee. At least 7 of the holes have a mild to steep drop off behind the basket. I didn't see ANY directional signs, but the paths were fairly well worn.
Other Thoughts: Once again, this is a gorgeous piece of property, but in my not-so-humble opinion, the Myles Kimmerly course falls disappointingly short of its potential, and the biggest challenge of this course (for me) was to my patience.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Intimate, scenic, rhythmic. Is it okay to call a course "elegant"? Well, Myles is elegant.

1    7/14/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Heavily wooded, but with defined fairways
+ Every hole has multiple lines to choose from, some with very tempting risk vs. reward
+ Intimate and scenic setting off the beaten path
+ Constantly changing elevation keeps it interesting, even on relatively short holes
+ Old growth, tree canopy, and branch archways
+ Mowed walking path on the open holes
+ Decent tee signs with "Next Tee" directions (pay attention)
+ Good benches, even when they were stumps
+ The course just has astounding flow and rhythm
Cons: - Hole #5 is short and super curved and just seemed out of place
- No directional signs, but not a big problem once you hit #6, but pay attention to the tee signs which tell you the direction
- A lot of bees in the park, but not once you get passed hole 3
Other Thoughts: Out of all the up north courses I played with three other intermediate-level throwers in mid-July 90 degree weather, we had the most fun here. None of us knew what to expect as we drove from Traverse City through what seemed like the middle of nowhere. While we drove up and down big rolling hills passing farms, vineyards, and old forests we felt like we were intentionally getting lost. We had to follow our GPS to "Miles" Kimmerly, not Myles, so be forewarned. We descended on the huge field with soccer, baseball, etc. and realized we had the course to ourselves. Didn't see a soul. It was very intimate and extremely fun.

Once you play the first three hilly holes, each with dense woods to your right side, you start to crave going into the forest. Hole #4 was classic and satisfying - right through the woods, and then you walk out into a clearing. In the open for two more holes and then we again felt like we descended into the realm of undisturbed Michigan disc golf awesomeness with ten amazing wooded holes. It is really easy to get into your own disc golf rhythm here. I think some players will say that makes this course easy and rate it lower, but I think it really speaks to the course designers intentions and was deliberate. The fairways are denser with tougher lines to hit than Hickory. The hills are a lot less demanding than Hickory or Carly's, but since the elevation keeps constantly changing so does the variables you have to consider when choosing the line you want to hit. Risk vs reward shot choice keeps the course interesting. The course's rhythm just resonated with me. All four of us were always excited to get to the next tee to see what we were up against. In the end, I felt like Myles was celebrating our round in his forest with two open holes - #17's tough uphill shot and a huge par 4 on #18, both with the woods on your left side, contrasting nicely against the first three holes (with the woods on the right).

As part of "up north Michigan disc golf", like I said before, Myles was the funnest mix. Myles didn't push us to the extreme like Carly (5/5), but he didn't underwhelm me like Hickory (4/5). It is well-designed, balanced and exciting. Just straight up good disc golf. The blend of elevation, woods, and left/right pin placement reminded me of some of the great courses in Michigan (Bluegill, Flip, Red Hawk). This is one course I can't wait to play in the fall. It will be gorgeous. On its own, Myles might only be considered a 4.0 course, especially to advanced/pro players, but when I consider the location, how intimate and scenic the setting is, how it compares to the other courses in the area, the course rhythm, and how much fun we had, I confidently rate it 4.5/5, and the three others I played with agree.

Thanks for reading!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 N. Michigan Wooded Gem

5+    8/18/2011   2/19/2012
Review By: GatorGolfer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Secluded 18 hole course in the woods of beautiful Leelanau county. Begins and ends in the open, with plenty of tight wooded holes in between that require accurate and technical shots. Elevation is a factor on nearly every hole, adding to this course's beauty and difficulty.
Cons: Not the longest course; bombs with the driver are only required on a few of the holes with most of the wooded holes requiring a mid-range. The mats can get slippery when they are sandy.
Other Thoughts: "Maple City" (as my friends and I call it) is our go-to course to escape the occasional crowds at Hickory Hills during the summer. Although it doesn't quite have the "fun factor" that Hickory has, this course makes up for it in beauty, seclusion, and technical difficulty.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Heh heh, you said "undulating"

1    7/25/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is outstanding; a real treat to play. The course plays in mostly woods, with the first three and last two playing along the outskirts on undulating hills.

Scorecard (with course map!) avilable at the billboard leading up to tee 1. Also some history to the course there, as well as the sponsors that made it happen. Apparently it was built by eagle scouts?! Every hole also has a sign with a map and distance, along with the sponsor (if any). Rubber tees were bolted into the ground and very well maintained. Very low vandalism.

Elevation change on EVERY hole. I'd say half the holes are valley shots, with both tee and pin on either hill. A great downhill bomb on 3 was probably my favourite shot. #6 was also great, throwing over a field and then dipping into the woods before your approach shot is uphill and the pin seems impossible to hit.

The woods are deceiving. It was very cool under the canopy despite my playing through at the end of July. Mosquitos were non-existent, and only a few deerflys buzzed about. It was also very spacious underneath the trees, and this course looked pretty worn in (in a good way).

Fairness of play - The fairways are deceptively open, but an errant throw will cost you a stroke or two. The "rough" really isn't even that rough, but the lines you are forced to hit after a bad throw are wickedly hard (great design!). A lot of pin placements are next to big hills or ravines so rollaways will happen. You really have to concentrate with your approach shots (a spotter helps a lot). Overall a very tough course, but also very rewarding when your disc does what you tell it to :-)
Cons: I was surprised that even with all the elevation to play with, a lot of the holes were very similar. Only one uphill shot to be had, and it was less than 200 ft. in length. I think they missed out on some variety here.

I guess I'll mention the rubber tees since we all would love to have concrete, but I thought they were some of the nicest I've seen. The sandy terrain can make them slippy (sic), but they aren't dangerous by any means.

Maybe some "next tee" signs? Once you're in the forest you are IN IT and there were a few trails that can lead you in the wrong direction. The course map on the scorecard was a big help here, so I recommend grabbing one before playing through.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this course was as good as it was, since it was the only course within a 50 mile radius of the Sleeping Bear Dunes. Take the time to play if you are on vacation up that way...you will not be disappointed!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Slip n' Slidin' But Still FUN!!!

1    5/28/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Myles Kimmerly has a fine balance of hole type/style, a beautiful location, and solid design. The course begins and ends on (more or less) open rolling hills. A few scattered trees and the edge of the woods come into play in places. The meat of the course runs through a thick stand of forest covering the hills. Many of the wooded holes are short and technical, but a few are longer. Tight fairways mean that getting into trouble is inevitable, and the rough areas in the woods can be downright punishing.
- Above average "balance" of hole styles. Open, wooded, up, down, left, right, long, short...Kimmerly wants to test every shot in your bag.
- Great risk/reward. Punishing areas make players think twice about being aggressive, and several holes have excellent rollaway potential with optimal pin placements.
- Great use of the moderate elevation. Every hole has at least some small wrinkle, although many play up, down, or alongside the more major rolling terrain.
- Other than the tees (see below) all the amenities were decent, although the signage on some holes seemed grossly incorrect, even taking into account the elevation. Bathrooms on site by parking lot.
Cons: - The rubber tee mats are terrible. All were fairly short and non-grippy. Some were uneven or had the back sticking up, presenting a real tripping hazard. With the sandy soil adding to the slipperiness, these tees are fairly dangerous (out of my crew, one person tripped over the lip of a mat that was sticking up while another went down hard after his plant foot slipped out from under him on the sandy pad).
- A few of the shorter wooded holes might get a bit repetitive with repeated play (once one gets the lines "dialed in," so to speak).
Other Thoughts: - Myles Kimmerly's secluded wooded holes are gorgeous.
- My main knock against this course is the tee pads, which is a shame because other than that, Myles Kimmerly has it "going on." As a player with a short run-up and sure footing, I can usually over-look bad tees, but these had even me nervous.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/25/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly park, with both open and heavily wooded areas. Looked like disc golf is well separated from everything else here, though it seemed like a lot could be happening elsewhere.
- The opening and ending holes are in more open areas, which still border the forest and have larger trees as hazards on the fairway. These also have good elevation changes, with some elevated teepads, undulating fairways, and an uphill blind RHBH hyzer. With some serious distance, protected baskets, and sloped greens, these holes are tough.
- Remainder of the course is set in a dense forest, with plenty of rough and interesting lines. Vast majority are straight shots of varying length and difficulty, though there are some obvious hyzers and anhyzers too. Always a mix of trees and sloped areas to add challenge, including some nasty rollaway greens and tough basket placements.
- Good variety in hole length, with some over 300' in the woods as well. A lot of shorter shots as well, but they demand accuracy to make up for it. Nasty rough in spots can make some shorter holes a nightmare.
- Great signage, good baskets, navigation is pretty straightforward.
Cons: - Most of the wooded areas here are very similar, with a lot of dead ahead throws needed. It is not easy by any means, but it can feel a little repetitive after a while. More advanced players may be able to breeze through without much thought.
- Average hole length is around 280', and some very long open holes mean there are some very short wooded holes. With four under 206', and four more under 261', a lot of holes are tough approach shots.
- Teepads are a nuisance, with many being small and others out of shape.
Other Thoughts: - This is an interesting course in that the open holes might present more of a challenge than the wooded holes. More "open" holes like #2, #3, and #17 were the most memorable, as well as some tougher ones in the forest, but a lot of others were very similar. Still, a challenge for a casual player, and maybe even some experts.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 oh look, trees..

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-aesthetic- it's a pretty course, built as an eagle scout project about 6 years ago. in a leelanau county park, this course screams northern michigan woods!

-Navigation-not a probem, flow was easy to follow, the walk from 3 to 4 was a bit annoying.

-Tee pads-rubber mats, which is normally a BIG negative on a sandy course, we played on a slightly rainy day so they were adequate. One complaint on these was the short pads on a couple of short holes, but there was adequate room behind to run up.

-baskets- great condition, not innova!

-STRONG FINISH!!!--holes 15-18 saved my round and really saved the rating on this course. There is nothing worse than playing a course that has an epic middle and a crappy finsh, the finish here did not disappoint!

Cons:
-too many aceable holes-too many holes that were under 200 feet, while these ace runs are fun, the risk/reward makes them a little more fun (#15 comes to mind, almost an ace turned into a 3).

-#5- This is a rediculous hole, the hard hard turnover/anhyzer here on a 200 foot hole is a par 5? crazy.

-not as worn as hickory-even discs on the paths were hard to find at times with all the deadfall.
Other Thoughts: Great course, really, but not a destination course by any stretch. I played the same day I played hickory hills (Before HH) and set me up well to play the epic adventure that is HH...
Go play if you're in TC!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center