St. Peter, MN
St. Peter Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
tight fairways

5+    5/16/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 54  Reviewed: 24
This review was updated on 4/12/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great use of the woods. a few ace runs. power drivers should be in good shape here. a lot of the holes are 300-400 ft. the baskets are discatchers. a lot of hyzer/anny drives. not much people playing it so you never really have to wait. much better than land of memories.

majority of the holes have long tees and short tees. garbage is at a minimum along the course. most holes have signs showing where and how far the hole is.
Cons: beginners might find this somewhat difficult because of the skilled shot placements needed such as tight narrow drives or big hyzer shots and hyzer bombs.

tee pads are dirt. and some poles are knocked down so you kind of have to guess where to tee off from, but just about everyone has the simular idea of where it should be.

trails over lap the disc golf course so there is people running or walking their dogs that get in the way. deer also will randomly appear on some holes.

no elevation change.
Other Thoughts: much better than mankato's field that is land of memories. better upkeep/maintenance and they would have a solid course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging

1    5/13/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: Tlrmessner
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, with a lot of character. Some great scenic views, and usually only a few groups out. Starts and finishes right up by the parking lot. 2 or 3 great "signature" type holes.
Cons: The flood, period. This course has a ton of potential, but was flooded several years ago and has been abandoned. Tees come in grass(good) dirt (manageable) and sand(terrible), and most posts are missing or laying down. Very difficult to map out for the first time, so bring a local if possible. Lots of sand so you leave feeling pretty gritty.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a great hidden gem of a course, if you play it early. By mid summer when the undergrowth comes in and the grass gets tall (the city doesn't seem to mow it) it can be downright frustrating. Not a great course for beginners at anytime, but if you are looking for a challenge you'll find it. The first 2 holes are a crisp wake up demanding your attention to leave with pars. Then on to a string of holes that have the opportunity for birdies, but still require long accurate drives to do so. Lucky to pick up a few before getting to the back nine, which lengthen a bit and again command your attention for pars. Through in a few short ones, and back to 350 plus to finish the round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Scenic

1    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scenic
-Full 18
Cons: -Bad Signage
-Wicked Rough (and alot of rough)
Other Thoughts: Great place to let the dog run around, thats about all the nice things I can say about this course. I got lost a few times, wound up playing 1-6, then took a shortcut to 15 by mistake and didn't know it till I was at the basket

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs ALOT of work

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course holds tons of potential. If it was kept well this course would be great. The first few holes were very nice. I saw the first hole which is about 300 gentle curve to the left with a split fairway. I thought i was in for a well designed course.

The original design of the course is great. Tough long holes that need your A game, but when good shots still require 10+ min of searching the pro's to this course come to an abrupt end.

elevation and use of trees is very good
Cons: It appears that the river flooded since the last time this course had a review written on it. Basically the course is in awful shape. the first 2 holes had grass that appeared to have been mowed a week or 2 ago. After this the grass and brush continued to get worse and worse. On hole 8 the grass and other growth was over 4 feet tall and off the "fairway" is a disaster zone. the gravel tee boxes are washed out and I was lucky not to lose any discs....not to say i didnt spend alot of time searching for them.

Many holes are blind shots and look outs are required to have any hope of finding your disc.
Other Thoughts: If the course was maintained this course holds the potential to be a 4 out of 5 kind of course but since the farther along I got the worse shape the course was in it receives an abysmal rating of 1

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dont stray from the fairways!!!

1    7/18/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice easy to find posts and very nice signs with hole layout on each hole.

2) Dual gravel pads (althought they could use some levelling and upkeep)

3) Easy routing on most holes except when the holes cross the recreation trail that weaves through the course.

4) Nice large parking lot and port o potty at the beginning of the course.

5) A few holes shove up next to the river although it never should come into play unless you have a bad bounce off a tree that was supposed to be out of the way (I Came within 20' of going over the river bank down 50' to the river)

6) Bring all your shots because you will need to work your discs around corners risking punishing shule. If you get in some of it your only way out is back to the fairway or a tamahawk.
Cons: 1) Tee pads could use some levelling and a handful of them have all sorts of stuff growing into the gravel.

2) 20-30' fairways and then you are in deep shtuff on the sides. There are some wicked plants and I am sure poison ivy and thistle so be careful. Very punishing shule and can eat up discs!

3)Not beginner friendly because of distance combined with the deep shtuff. A wide open course of this distance would be beginner friendly but because it forces throws beginners will struggle mightily.

4) Sign on #14 shows two fairways (yet only one is mowed. DO NOT THROW LEFT OF SCRUBBRUSH UNLESS YOU HAVE A CANNON AND KNOW WHERE THE BASKET IS!

5) The look of these holes is a little boring. There are a few good holes but the rest although average seem about the same.
Other Thoughts: This is a similar course to a handful of courses I have played. They mow down a fairway through some densely shuled lowland. This isn't prairie style because discs are easily lost 5 feet off the fairway where prairie grass courses are more forgiving. Also there is scrub brush and mature trees in the shule forcing you to follow fairway lines. It is an average course because of maintenance needs. But it is a bove average for forcing your shot making skills.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Late doglegs

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays near a river and all fairways are sandy with thin vegetation on them. Even though it would seem hard to find discs off any fairway because the vegetation is thicker there it actually wasn't for me. However I did use a spotter on a few holes.

This course has 18 holes and uses Innova Discatcher baskets. I found the flow to be reasonable with the use the park sees helping quite a bit in finding the next hole. The signage was of good quality, showing both distance from each teepad (most have 2) and the basic layout of the hole.

Most holes were not aceable even with the most amazing shot possible due to late doglegs. Now this really doesn't bother me, but I mention it so readers will know what to expect. It seemed to me that course management would be the trick. Many fairways seemed to have landing areas for initial drives and occasionally for chips. The trees off the fairways are mostly of the new growth variety, 20 -30 feet tall.

I would call it an advanced intermediate course that will play well for all except for beginners. If you can't control the hyzer this isn't your course.
Cons: Teeboxes are sand. I would often look next to the box to see if I could find firmer footing. I did have trouble finding a hole once (going from 14-15). Hole 2 was kind of ridiculous. 480 feet with a hard dogleg right after about 330 feet and then a hard dogleg left 60 feet later.
Other Thoughts: Has a parking lot near hole 1. Hole 18 finishes near it as well. There is a biffy in the parking lot. I'm pretty sure hole 17 isn't 380 feet. Probably closer to 480.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Alright

1    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 holes, nice placement of pins. Dual tees for every hole. Nice course map. Adequate parking. Hazzards of river and dangerous rough. Signs on every hole showing distance and hole location. Local college has club that plays in the warm season. Easy to find, right off major road.
Cons: Keep your disc out of the ridiculous rough and small trees, fairways are usually pretty small and hard to get out of. Very flat. Gravel tees are uneven and slippery. Many chances to lose discs on almost every hole. I like blind shots but playing from the back tees and you have every single one is a blind shot. Hard to navigate unless you have played before. Hole location shown on map isnt always the best, sometimes hard to see since they are all blind approaches. Most holes seem to be straight then a left dogleg (i throw RHFH), more variety of doglegs needed.
Other Thoughts: No baskets in winter, just metal poles. Interesting course, nice use of public land that may be flooded by MN river which borders course. I will play again when in the area but I dont think I will make any special trips to go there. I played in winter, while there wasnt alot of snow it still might be a different experience in the summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.