Disc Golf Center
Kiawah Island, SC 
Night Heron Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 193ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner Friendly Short 9

2-4    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The park / resort this is in is absolutely beautiful. Immaculately maintained. Tons of other activities on the resort.
- Tees are well marked and navigation is very easy.
- Lots of ace chances.
- Although the course is generally VERY open through the park, a good job was done mixing up the approaches to force those playing for 2s to use a variety of shots and keep it a bit more interesting.
Cons: - Very short
- Natural tees
- A lot of other activities going on that you need to be mindful of. Soccer fields, walkers, bike riders, etc. who aren't necessarily paying attention to the DG course. Just be mindful and it isn't a huge issue, but it was there.
- A few of the next tees are in range of the prior pin. We were following another group for a few holes and I had to wait as I was ace running and a missed ace run could easily reach the next tee on a few.
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses I've played, this is the course I'd take a beginner to over any other. It is beautiful. There is almost no chance of a lost disc (something always on a beginners mind). Even if they miss the line and hit the tree, there is always a way back to the pin (no jail). It is short enough that they will hit some pars, and maybe a bird if they get lucky.

For a more experienced golfer, it isn't much of a challenge. But for a resort park golf course, it is a perfect fit. I had 2 beginners with me who had a great time with their competition (my brothers). There was another group of obvious total beginners (family of 5) who also seemed to have a blast as well. I had a good time and experimented with some creative lines to make it more challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simple but Fun

5+    6/24/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Dettmerb
Played: 145  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a beautiful resort, always well-maintained.
Baskets in great shape with yellow band on top that are easy to see.
Just steps from resort pool and water park.
Easy navigation.
Quick 9 holes, can play in 20-30 minutes.
Cons: Natural tees.
Short holes.
Random pedestrians and bicyclists sharing park.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed having this course on the resort property where we stayed for vacation. It was super convienent, as the park is in the center of the resort, easily accessible if you are at Kiawah. For me, the wife and kids would go swimming at the pool (or waterpark) and I'd go throw a round or two. I'd join them in the pool for a bit, then go back and throw some more. You can easily walk from the pool to the park.
Course is certainly beginner friendly. I bet several people have been visiting Kiawah and seen the course and picked up a disc for the first time. The resort will allow newbies to borrow discs if that is needed.
Just be certain to watch for the pedestrians in the park. Course plays counter-clockwise around the outer edge. Soccer field in center of park. Random bicyclists will obliviousily ride through the fairways (which is odd since they have dozens of miles of bike paths) so keep a heads up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Vacation Course

5+    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Good beginner course to introduce to new disc golfers
*You can rent discs at the nature center
*New DisCatchers with Kiawah Island logo
*Tee signs and baskets are easy to find
*Very nice scenery
*Good ace races for advanced players
*Slim chance of losing a disc
Cons: *It can be too easy for advanced players
*Dirt tee boxes can get wet after a rainy day
*Soccer field and park right next to some holes
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course for a starter and a relatively nice course for a vacation.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Vacation Course to Get Your Fix

5+    7/26/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're vacationing on Kiawah Island, and you're a disc golf player, you'll get your fix here. The baskets are in excellent condition and the course is kept very nice as Kiawah spends a lot of time making things look pretty. A lot of time . . . There is also a nice variety of hole types. Some are wide open, others are in the trees. Some turn to the right, others to the left. This is also a great place to learn and Night Heron Park will even let you borrow some disc for free (well a $20 deposit, but you'll get that back when you return them).
Cons: The main problem: the holes are short. Most can easily be birdied by a decent player. Also, there are times when the park is busy and you'll need to play thru archers, soccer players and/or people riding bikes thru the middle of the park (why? I have no idea). Also, a lot people there have no idea that disc golf even exists and may just stand right in front of a basket while watching their kids play on the swings completely oblivious to the fact that you are wanting to throw a disc right where they are standing. Usually once you throw your disc near them they catch on . . .
There was a temporary basket at hole #5, but it was in fairly decent condition.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed playing this course, even though it is short. The nice thing about it though is that I got my wife to play with me almost every day we were on vacation. That was great! She even enjoyed it! Who would have guessed?! The course is completely flat so walking it is not strenuous at all. Most of holes are within the trees so the key at this course is to keep the disc low. If you're disc is thrown up, it's going to hit the tree limbs. I enjoyed hole #5 because you finally have an open field to launch one! Even though there are a fair number of gators on Kiawah Island's regular golf courses, I have yet to see one on the disc golf course. Just watch out for those bikers! They are completely oblivious! If you're on vacation at Kiawah Island and you like disc golf, get your fix here. Play thru a couple of times or more if you'd like!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good for Beginners

5+    7/8/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly wide open course served as a great introduction to disc golf for me. I say wide open but there are still tree canopies on a few holes.

Innova DisCatchers had custom Kiawah Island logo on them and were new and nicely kept up.

Beautiful course, plays around a fairly open field but has some trees that come into play now and then.

Baskets stood out nicely. It was obvious where the next tee and basket were.

Ponds nearby but not threatening play much, and the same goes for the road. I'm calling this a "pro" because beginners won't have to worry about these things.

Easy to walk. Other things to do in the park. Nearby restrooms. Reasonable design of holes - go both directions and you could ostensibly play rollers, forehands, and other types of shots.
Cons: Tees were just dirt with posts to each side. Adequate, but maybe not great in the rain.

You have to go around the playground on the ninth hole in particular.
Other Thoughts: I imagine better players will have fun with ace races from the tees or making lots of birdies.

Lots of other things to do at the park. You can play the course twice, chill for awhile and do other things, and play nine more at the end of the day.

Guests can rent discs for free, otherwise I think it's a $20 deposit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One Great Place!

5+    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Innova DISCatchers in excellent condition with their own custom logo.

*All tee's are natural, but with very easy to navigate post.

*Very beauitful scenery, the best looking course that I have seen in the Lowcountry.

*Great course layout offering a decent challenge for beginners to intermediate players.

*Ace race chances for the more advanced players

*Park amenties feauture a pro shop, restrooms, volleyball, basketball, soccer and a waterpark and playground.

*Very small chance of losing a disc , there are no water hazzards and the course has great upkeep.
Cons: *Hole lengths can be too easy for better players, featuring some holes around the 170 mark.

*The playground is very close to a few baskets, which could cause problems on a busy day.

*Very little buffer zone between holes, hole 1 and hole 2 cross each other. The rest of the tees are about 10 to 20 feet behind the previous basket. On longer holes this might not be a problem, however with the distances here being short, it does cause backup on busy days.
Other Thoughts: When entering Kiawah Island, you will have to go into the main gate, just tell them the name of the park your going to, otherwise you will have to explain "what disc golf is" to a security guard and upset the car behind you!

There is no fee to play unless you rent disc from the pro-shop, if so, than it is a $20 deposit.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.