Kiawah Island, SC 
Night Heron Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Championship Level (Ball) Golf

1    3/10/2015   3/10/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Who would have thought you could play a round of disc golf at the site of a ball golf major championship!

9 well maintained discatcher baskets. They even have the Kiawah logo on them - pretty cool!

Very beginner friendly layout. All short holes that are mostly open. Baskets are strategically placed so a few trees come into play to keep it from being simply a pitch-and-putt. 6 and 8 come to mind. 6 is a pretty shot with the basket tucked behind a palm tree, while 8 is a really fun tunnel shot under some old oaks.

The grounds are manicured. This park gets a level of groundskeeping that is on another level and rarely seen in the world of disc golf.

Other reviewers say you can rent discs on site. I didn't go in the Night Heron center, but it is always nice to be able to rent discs to new players.
Cons: Only 9 holes.

Natural tee pads are a bit uneven, especially on the holes that tee off from in the wooded areas. There isn't much need for runups because of the short length of the holes, but the tees definitely leave some room for improvement.

All of the holes are very short and there is overall little challenge to the course.

Holes 2 and 3 are a bit close to the housing, that could be problematic for beginners.

This is very much a multipurpose park so there are definitely chances for interference. One has to keep an eye out for non discgolfers.

Though every hole has a sign, they are a bit small and finding the first hole was tough as it is somewhat hidden from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure if this course is open to the public or not. Many parts of the island are whereas others aren't. Based upon previous reviewers, I am assuming it is open.

This is a very nice stopover or distraction if you are on vacation at Kiawah. It goes to prove there is more to the island than the Ocean Course, the Sanctuary, and the spa.

Keep in mind this is a leisurely resort course. It is not meant to be a championship level course. The ball golf courses, however, most certainly are!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Vacation Course to Get Your Fix

5+    7/26/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're vacationing on Kiawah Island, and you're a disc golf player, you'll get your fix here. The baskets are in excellent condition and the course is kept very nice as Kiawah spends a lot of time making things look pretty. A lot of time . . . There is also a nice variety of hole types. Some are wide open, others are in the trees. Some turn to the right, others to the left. This is also a great place to learn and Night Heron Park will even let you borrow some disc for free (well a $20 deposit, but you'll get that back when you return them).
Cons: The main problem: the holes are short. Most can easily be birdied by a decent player. Also, there are times when the park is busy and you'll need to play thru archers, soccer players and/or people riding bikes thru the middle of the park (why? I have no idea). Also, a lot people there have no idea that disc golf even exists and may just stand right in front of a basket while watching their kids play on the swings completely oblivious to the fact that you are wanting to throw a disc right where they are standing. Usually once you throw your disc near them they catch on . . .
There was a temporary basket at hole #5, but it was in fairly decent condition.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed playing this course, even though it is short. The nice thing about it though is that I got my wife to play with me almost every day we were on vacation. That was great! She even enjoyed it! Who would have guessed?! The course is completely flat so walking it is not strenuous at all. Most of holes are within the trees so the key at this course is to keep the disc low. If you're disc is thrown up, it's going to hit the tree limbs. I enjoyed hole #5 because you finally have an open field to launch one! Even though there are a fair number of gators on Kiawah Island's regular golf courses, I have yet to see one on the disc golf course. Just watch out for those bikers! They are completely oblivious! If you're on vacation at Kiawah Island and you like disc golf, get your fix here. Play thru a couple of times or more if you'd like!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good for Beginners

5+    7/8/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly wide open course served as a great introduction to disc golf for me. I say wide open but there are still tree canopies on a few holes.

Innova DisCatchers had custom Kiawah Island logo on them and were new and nicely kept up.

Beautiful course, plays around a fairly open field but has some trees that come into play now and then.

Baskets stood out nicely. It was obvious where the next tee and basket were.

Ponds nearby but not threatening play much, and the same goes for the road. I'm calling this a "pro" because beginners won't have to worry about these things.

Easy to walk. Other things to do in the park. Nearby restrooms. Reasonable design of holes - go both directions and you could ostensibly play rollers, forehands, and other types of shots.
Cons: Tees were just dirt with posts to each side. Adequate, but maybe not great in the rain.

You have to go around the playground on the ninth hole in particular.
Other Thoughts: I imagine better players will have fun with ace races from the tees or making lots of birdies.

Lots of other things to do at the park. You can play the course twice, chill for awhile and do other things, and play nine more at the end of the day.

Guests can rent discs for free, otherwise I think it's a $20 deposit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One Great Place!

5+    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Innova DISCatchers in excellent condition with their own custom logo.

*All tee's are natural, but with very easy to navigate post.

*Very beauitful scenery, the best looking course that I have seen in the Lowcountry.

*Great course layout offering a decent challenge for beginners to intermediate players.

*Ace race chances for the more advanced players

*Park amenties feauture a pro shop, restrooms, volleyball, basketball, soccer and a waterpark and playground.

*Very small chance of losing a disc , there are no water hazzards and the course has great upkeep.
Cons: *Hole lengths can be too easy for better players, featuring some holes around the 170 mark.

*The playground is very close to a few baskets, which could cause problems on a busy day.

*Very little buffer zone between holes, hole 1 and hole 2 cross each other. The rest of the tees are about 10 to 20 feet behind the previous basket. On longer holes this might not be a problem, however with the distances here being short, it does cause backup on busy days.
Other Thoughts: When entering Kiawah Island, you will have to go into the main gate, just tell them the name of the park your going to, otherwise you will have to explain "what disc golf is" to a security guard and upset the car behind you!

There is no fee to play unless you rent disc from the pro-shop, if so, than it is a $20 deposit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.