Nacogdoches, TX 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: XxInnovaxX Hole #16
3 / 364ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: 4th Rock
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a happy medium between the easier and laid back Pecan Park and the much more challenging Lake Nac course. This golf course provides plenty of challenges from blind tee boxed, moderate elevation changes,with a healthy bit of tree cover to work around. The front half is relatively open, while a few holes get into some areas with a more densely tree covered area. The back half is more wooded, yet openings are there to provide good routes to all baskets.

Every hole save hole 7 and 13 can be birdied.
Cons: Teepads are earthen clay, and can get slick after a rain event.

Due to the topology and lay of the land, holes 10, 11, 12 13, 15, and 16 can be pretty bogged down with surface water, creating swampy conditions on some fairways. Don't come and play in your good shoes.

Course navigation can be tricky. Hole #8 seems to have a short teebox across the creek right by Lenwood Dr. , as well as a long teebox situated up high in the middle of the park by a pavilion.

Signage is good in places, however some signs are missing which can make getting around a bit troublesome until you familiarize yourself with the park.

Disccatcher baskets would be a nice improvement, but like concrete tee pads, they are a luxury that often can't be afforded.
Other Thoughts: Great intermediate course to have in a town that already has 3 other courses, all with their own unique level of play. If it were closer to the University it would probably get much more traffic.

Also, I would avoid being at this park alone at the late evening hours, as it can a bit sketchy at times. Know where you are and know your surroundings at all times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits in a very beautiful park. It utilizes the elevation that is present to it's peak, the majority of the holes played up hill, down hill.

There is a good variety of holes from ace runs to big shots through trees. No hole is the same.

The course was empty the two hours I was out there minus the walker. It seems as if this is a common thing and other courses in the Nac get more traffic then this one does.

The natural tee pads were not too rutted, this probably has to do with the lack of people.

The course is clean and it is apparent that the people that do play here care for their course tremendously.
Cons: A first timer playing by themselves may have a hard time finding the next tee. There are no signs that I noticed to show where the next tee is. Hole #1 is also very hard to find once entering the park.

This would not be a place where I would want to hang out after dark. Even in the daylight there were a few shady individuals walking around as the park is near a very run down neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: I played this on a road trip and was lucky enough to play with a local who knew his way around very well. I would highly recommend finding someone to play with to make your experience here a lot better.

Bring water, there is a lot of uphill walking at this course and in the Texas heat the sun will get you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Come for the lake course, but play this when you're here

5+    7/21/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes make for a fun round and work well with the course layout ... for the most part. The signage that's there is helpful. There's a good balance of wooded areas and open space. More than a few opportunities to open up on your drive.
Easy access to park facilities - picnic tables, pavilions, restrooms, etc.
Cons: Mainly the layout. Hole 3, 7, 8 and 18 are all great holes to drive on, but navigating them is a pain. I'd like to see a small bridge across the creek on 3 and at least some stairs cut into the sides of the gulley on 18's new layout. Getting down into it is super sketchy and walking around it sucks.
Throwing over 500 feet downhill on 7 and then walking right back up the hill to throw back down on 8 doesn't make sense to me. I would get rid of hole 1 and put in a hole that let's you throw back up the hill between 7 and 8.
Sundays seem to be soccer days, so play another course. People have a tendency to park on the #4 teepad, as it's not clearly marked. There's also a new set of soccer goals that have been put up crossing the #9 fairway.
Not every hole has a sign and bench, and if you've never played the course, the teepad for 18 is by the middle pavilion - because there's nothing else telling you to go that way.
I'm cool with dirt teepads, but some people prefer concrete.
Other Thoughts: Other than my issues with the layout I love this course. It's easy to get on and off. If you left something in the car or need to to grab another water from the cooler, the car isn't that far of a walk from most holes. Not near the elevation changes the lake course has, but if you want something less flat that Pecan but don't want to drive to the lake, this is perfect. Nacogdoches really does have an awesome trio of courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Again

1    12/19/2009   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the elevation changes.
Clean park
Flow was good
Love the first three holes.
Cons: When I played was somewhat hard to navigate course and lost my way a few times. Back can get soggy after a good rain.
More benches would help.
Other Thoughts: If I had my choice between pioneer and pecan I would select pioneer. Now I am just waiting to go visit Lake Nacogdoches as I understand it is a very good course. Other than the navigational issues I liked this course. Back in the day when I was a college student, I recall walking around this park but no disc golf at the time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/5/2010   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes 1, 2 and 3 are a lot of fun because there are some drastic elevation changes.
Cons: last time I was there I got word that they were changing the course around. I hope so because we could not find which tee box went to which hole and most the holes just throw back and forth. No real imagination when designing the course. Pioneer Park is a bit better but the course over by the lake it the place to be.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Nac, go to the lake course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly marked course

1    5/24/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: princesabin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of neat things to see, some great holes like Hole 3.
Cons: Never could find Hole 4. Several holes you had to guess where the tee was, completely littered with trash, glass, etc.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to try Pecan Park next. Maybe Morley Field in San Diego has spoiled me with a very well marked course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love it part duex

5+    1/9/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite in the area and I look forward to this place everytime the GPS shows it on its screen. The elevation here is used perfectly and makes not only the tee shots fun but also many of your upshots. The most amazing hole on the course is hole 3 which is a tunnel shot through these two older trees all the way down hill over a street and a creek. Oh and dont throw too far or you will cross over the next fairway and land in or across the main street coming into the park. There are many other holes out here that make you throw a great shot to score well here. The mix of long shots with the technical ones bring the fun factor way up because you will need alot of different shots to get through here. The creek is also used well along with other "boundry" lines making you think about your shot before you let it go. I just cant give it a 4 even though it might deserve one because there are other courses that have already earned that honor.
Cons: Like said before the back part of the course can get very muddy after a rain and stays that ways for a long time. The neighborhood isnt the greatest around but have never had any issues but others have told me stories.( Of course they were out past dark or out there alone. Also the walk from 18 to 1 is FAR!!
Other Thoughts: I laugh at another review when the guy listed a con because his buddy took a 7 because his putt rolled off, "Isnt that what makes this game fun and frustrating at the same time?" If they all went in it wouldnt be this fun. Like I said in my other review, if you get a chance to play the tourney here, "go play it", great times and if you have anything to complain about it wont be about these two courses I promise you that.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/23/2007   8/23/2009
Review By: tylaj04
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome layout makes for some unique and difficult shots. Lots of change in elevation. Great scenery in a nice park, but not too crowded. Challenging, but not annoyingly difficult. There's always multiple ways to approach the tee around creeks, hills, and lots of trees.
Cons: Many holes get extremely muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Check out the tank.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pioneer Park

5+    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pioneer Park disc golf course does an excellent job of using the park that it is located in. The park is located in a housing neighborhood and is really barely big enough to fit a good 18 hole course in. Fortunately for DG lovers, the course uses the space excellently to provide a very fun and tricky little course.

Pioneer is set in a hilly part of Nacogdoches and most of the holes on the course take advantage of the elevation changes. Most elevation changes are more on the minor side, but they change the shots that need to be thrown significantly in comparison to a flat hole. This makes the course very interesting and many of the shots unique. The course has a few areas that are out of bounds and some rough, but most of the holes are at least partially wooded. Few pure tunnel shots, but several where you need to pick a route and hit it.

Overall this course makes for a very well rounded disc golf experience. The holes are almost all birdie-able which makes it rewarding when you hit your lines. Most of the holes are unique and combined with nearby Pecan Park, the course is a destination worth the drive.
Cons: There are a few things that you need to consider before playing Pioneer. If it has recently been raining, the back nine can be a swamp. Prepare to get wet and (as everywhere in Texas during the summer) be mauled by mosquitos. The rough is also filled with poison ivy. The course has a few continuity and crossover issues as well. If you don't know where you are going, make sure to consult a map beforehand. You may have to wait on pedestrians, cars, or other disc golfers before you can throw your drives off of some boxes.
Other Thoughts: 4 of the 5 rounds that I have played at Pioneer have been at the Pecan Park Open, a B-tier event that the locals prepare very well for. The course has always been in great shape due to the preparations for the tourney. I will note however that the other time that I went to the course it was also in excellent shape. The Nacogdoches Crushers disc golf club is an outstanding small club that does a great job keeping up the quality of their courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 freakin sweet

1    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course, excellent use of elevation. This course is challenging, with out getting frustrating. This in my top 5 courses. I have trouble with "tunnel" holes that follow a narrow path through trees, this course doesn't have any of them.
Cons: The creek and dry creek beds make a serious challenge. My brother in law scored a 7 on a par 3 because his putts rolled 40 feet down a hill every time he missed. Be ready for some tough shots.
Other Thoughts: Most courses I've played the back nine seems harder. This course it seems the front nine has more of the challenges, and the back nine is some long holes with some nice open shots, good tree placement.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.