Nacogdoches, TX 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: XxInnovaxX Hole #2
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: 4th Rock
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a happy medium between the easier and laid back Pecan Park and the much more challenging Lake Nac course. This golf course provides plenty of challenges from blind tee boxed, moderate elevation changes,with a healthy bit of tree cover to work around. The front half is relatively open, while a few holes get into some areas with a more densely tree covered area. The back half is more wooded, yet openings are there to provide good routes to all baskets.

Every hole save hole 7 and 13 can be birdied.
Cons: Teepads are earthen clay, and can get slick after a rain event.

Due to the topology and lay of the land, holes 10, 11, 12 13, 15, and 16 can be pretty bogged down with surface water, creating swampy conditions on some fairways. Don't come and play in your good shoes.

Course navigation can be tricky. Hole #8 seems to have a short teebox across the creek right by Lenwood Dr. , as well as a long teebox situated up high in the middle of the park by a pavilion.

Signage is good in places, however some signs are missing which can make getting around a bit troublesome until you familiarize yourself with the park.

Disccatcher baskets would be a nice improvement, but like concrete tee pads, they are a luxury that often can't be afforded.
Other Thoughts: Great intermediate course to have in a town that already has 3 other courses, all with their own unique level of play. If it were closer to the University it would probably get much more traffic.

Also, I would avoid being at this park alone at the late evening hours, as it can a bit sketchy at times. Know where you are and know your surroundings at all times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love it part duex

5+    1/9/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite in the area and I look forward to this place everytime the GPS shows it on its screen. The elevation here is used perfectly and makes not only the tee shots fun but also many of your upshots. The most amazing hole on the course is hole 3 which is a tunnel shot through these two older trees all the way down hill over a street and a creek. Oh and dont throw too far or you will cross over the next fairway and land in or across the main street coming into the park. There are many other holes out here that make you throw a great shot to score well here. The mix of long shots with the technical ones bring the fun factor way up because you will need alot of different shots to get through here. The creek is also used well along with other "boundry" lines making you think about your shot before you let it go. I just cant give it a 4 even though it might deserve one because there are other courses that have already earned that honor.
Cons: Like said before the back part of the course can get very muddy after a rain and stays that ways for a long time. The neighborhood isnt the greatest around but have never had any issues but others have told me stories.( Of course they were out past dark or out there alone. Also the walk from 18 to 1 is FAR!!
Other Thoughts: I laugh at another review when the guy listed a con because his buddy took a 7 because his putt rolled off, "Isnt that what makes this game fun and frustrating at the same time?" If they all went in it wouldnt be this fun. Like I said in my other review, if you get a chance to play the tourney here, "go play it", great times and if you have anything to complain about it wont be about these two courses I promise you that.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pioneer

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation!! which is rare in this area.
big park, long drives
several shots over creek
never crowded
best park in the nacogdoches area
Cons: needs better signs, im a local so i know where to go but if its your first time you will definately get confused, partially because the sign pics are way off!!
LONG walks between some holes
walk from 18 to parking lot at 1. bring extra bottle of water, tent, build campfire...yea its that far!!
in the ghetto. not very nice area of town, but have never ran into any trouble, have seen a couple cops stroll through occasionaly.
Other Thoughts: this is probably the best course in the area. it is definitely the hardest, longest, most techinical(creeks).
awesome course to play!!
bring a bottle of water and your hiking boots because this ones a long walk.
IF YOU PLAY WITH MORE THAN ONE PERSON HAVE ONE PERSON PARK AT HOLE 1 AND ONE AT HOLE 18. trust me
***********LOCK your car.**************

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great elevation for the Texas/Louisiana area

1    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation if you like that. My favorite was hole 3, very nice elevation help for short arms like me. A good number of trees but there are multiple ways to play each
shot from the tee. A creek in play on several holes. Well kept by the locals who are very friendly and care about their course a lot. Good variety of length. This course is very challenging, especially for low level players like me. Yet it is still fair and fun to play if you don't get too discouraged or embarrassed. Good baskets, safe park but not a real busy or walker infested park. Another solid course 3 miles away(Pecan Acres).
Cons: Back nine was a little soggy in places. Not enough trash cans. hole 1 and 18 are not even close to each other, but that's parking and not really the course..
Other Thoughts: This course is a real gem. They told me that a 36 hole setup is in the works which when done will make Nacogdoches an o utstanding disc golf destination with 4 high quality courses. I was told that the new courses will be wooded with elevation and possibley water hazards!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.