Nacogdoches, TX 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: XxInnovaxX Hole #5
3 / 325ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/22/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits in a very beautiful park. It utilizes the elevation that is present to it's peak, the majority of the holes played up hill, down hill.

There is a good variety of holes from ace runs to big shots through trees. No hole is the same.

The course was empty the two hours I was out there minus the walker. It seems as if this is a common thing and other courses in the Nac get more traffic then this one does.

The natural tee pads were not too rutted, this probably has to do with the lack of people.

The course is clean and it is apparent that the people that do play here care for their course tremendously.
Cons: A first timer playing by themselves may have a hard time finding the next tee. There are no signs that I noticed to show where the next tee is. Hole #1 is also very hard to find once entering the park.

This would not be a place where I would want to hang out after dark. Even in the daylight there were a few shady individuals walking around as the park is near a very run down neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: I played this on a road trip and was lucky enough to play with a local who knew his way around very well. I would highly recommend finding someone to play with to make your experience here a lot better.

Bring water, there is a lot of uphill walking at this course and in the Texas heat the sun will get you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/23/2007   8/23/2009
Review By: tylaj04
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome layout makes for some unique and difficult shots. Lots of change in elevation. Great scenery in a nice park, but not too crowded. Challenging, but not annoyingly difficult. There's always multiple ways to approach the tee around creeks, hills, and lots of trees.
Cons: Many holes get extremely muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Check out the tank.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pioneer Park

5+    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pioneer Park disc golf course does an excellent job of using the park that it is located in. The park is located in a housing neighborhood and is really barely big enough to fit a good 18 hole course in. Fortunately for DG lovers, the course uses the space excellently to provide a very fun and tricky little course.

Pioneer is set in a hilly part of Nacogdoches and most of the holes on the course take advantage of the elevation changes. Most elevation changes are more on the minor side, but they change the shots that need to be thrown significantly in comparison to a flat hole. This makes the course very interesting and many of the shots unique. The course has a few areas that are out of bounds and some rough, but most of the holes are at least partially wooded. Few pure tunnel shots, but several where you need to pick a route and hit it.

Overall this course makes for a very well rounded disc golf experience. The holes are almost all birdie-able which makes it rewarding when you hit your lines. Most of the holes are unique and combined with nearby Pecan Park, the course is a destination worth the drive.
Cons: There are a few things that you need to consider before playing Pioneer. If it has recently been raining, the back nine can be a swamp. Prepare to get wet and (as everywhere in Texas during the summer) be mauled by mosquitos. The rough is also filled with poison ivy. The course has a few continuity and crossover issues as well. If you don't know where you are going, make sure to consult a map beforehand. You may have to wait on pedestrians, cars, or other disc golfers before you can throw your drives off of some boxes.
Other Thoughts: 4 of the 5 rounds that I have played at Pioneer have been at the Pecan Park Open, a B-tier event that the locals prepare very well for. The course has always been in great shape due to the preparations for the tourney. I will note however that the other time that I went to the course it was also in excellent shape. The Nacogdoches Crushers disc golf club is an outstanding small club that does a great job keeping up the quality of their courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 freakin sweet

1    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course, excellent use of elevation. This course is challenging, with out getting frustrating. This in my top 5 courses. I have trouble with "tunnel" holes that follow a narrow path through trees, this course doesn't have any of them.
Cons: The creek and dry creek beds make a serious challenge. My brother in law scored a 7 on a par 3 because his putts rolled 40 feet down a hill every time he missed. Be ready for some tough shots.
Other Thoughts: Most courses I've played the back nine seems harder. This course it seems the front nine has more of the challenges, and the back nine is some long holes with some nice open shots, good tree placement.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.