Fayetteville, NC 
Mazarick Park - West Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #2 (Taken 11/2013)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Top Notch 9/18

1    11/22/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Work is still being done, and it seems the developers are willing to make changes, as the first three holes that ran by the tennis courts have already been removed, which was wise. It needs some wearing in but the there are already some good holes here and some holes that look like they will be good. None of the tees are poured cement yet so lots of issues should be able to be worked out. I do like the temporary tees and signs quite a bit. For a non-permanent structure, the tees look very nice and are usable and the signs (just paper but bolted into the wooden part of the tee with a plastic cover) very accurately describe the hole.

The first few holes are really good. 1 plays across the park road(and it wouldn't make too much difference in the hole to pop that tee over to the other side, just makes it a bit shorter) to a climbing dogleg and a basket at the crest of a knoll. 2 plays from the top of that knoll through a very wooded area. The first few holes use fairly tight, wood-lined fairways that remind me of a Triangle area course.

The last few holes, (13-16)which are a bit rougher, have more of a Charlotte feel. The lines are a little wider, but less forgiving as the brush that lines them is quite thick. They sport quite a bit more distance and should be a challenge for most players. Between the two sections, there are at least nine good solid disc golf holes here.
Cons: Between the two sections is a run of bad-idea holes. While 9 is a plinko hole that could be improved with some pruning, 8, 11 and 12 should be scrapped. They all play along a walking path. They don't play across it. The path is the fairway. While these areas may be labeled as OB, there is no way that the disc can get to the target without lying over it. It's unrealistic to think that declaring it OB makes it safer. The stretch of in bounds fairway on twelve is a two-foot wide strip between woods and path.

So while there it is playable as a seventeen-hole course right now, that includes two holes from the neighboring course and the mentioned bad holes. That leaves nine. Played like that, it could be a really good nine-hole course. There already is an eighteen hole course at Mazarick, so maybe nine is enough here. And since there is a point where you can jump from course to course, it might ideal to renumber everything and combine them into a better 27-hole course than either are alone.
Other Thoughts: I actually found it quite easy to navigate the holes even in the rough state, and it would only get easier with more wear. I wouldn't go back right away, but I'd like to see what this eventually becomes, and I think it could end up as a course well-worth playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get some signs up now

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: a challenging course that was fun to play for the holes I could find.
Cons: Spent lots of time trying to find where the start was and the rest of the tee boxes. I could not find 13-16 tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Get some signs put up now. Until they do, people are going to get frustrated with this course.

Great Visit

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: mr.radon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, they use the terrain well. Several holes have required "mando" tree shots to make it a bit harder.
This is a good par 3 course to work on the short game with some tuff medium length tree shots.
Most holes have tags noting the direction to the next hole.
Coming from WA I love treey courses. This one will force you to pull off accurate shots for any hope at birdies.
Cons: The baskets are old rusty and make you work on getting a putt or ace shot to fall in. My first putt on hole #1 would have dropped right in but fell to the ground. I took the boggie and hammered the rest home on target.
Tee's are a little hard to find. Look for the "two" rock markers and scuff marks.
Other Thoughts: Visiting from WA. The course could use tee markers. I had no trouble finding the next tee. Wish I knew the distance to the hole, the old calibrated eye ball worked well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent start

2-4    5/3/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 204  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the layout from a throwing sense. It is not too demanding and can be forgiving to beginers as well as challenging for verterans.

There are a variety of shots required and some very good terrain and elevation change on the course.

"next tee" signs are already in place and make it easy to navigate.

the Tee to #10 Is right next to Mazerick east #15 so you can play a 36 hole loop if you choose.
Cons: Ok since this one is brand new obviously some of these can be fixed in time. Others are going to linger imo

Currently No benches, trashcans or teesigns(fixable with time)

The course is still very rough in places and needs beating down which will happen over time. The rough can be extremely tough at times.

They are currently using the olllllldddddddddd rusty disccatchers that were on the original 18 hole course that used to be on the east side. So the old short course is no longer there and the baskets look bad and dont catch well. Im assuming they will be replaced one day.

Some of the course is kinda swampy especially in the latter portion where a few holes go down a lane with manhole covers. Also has the smell that is prevelant on some of the east course on bad days

A few holes require a long throw around a blind corner of a walking trail which could be a safety issue in the future.

Also a few come kinda close to a playground and picnic shelter(they arn't extremly close but I saw someone almost throw into them.)
Other Thoughts: This course is a baby and will become better with time. It is really nice to have 36 holes at one park.

Much like mazerick east I really enjoy the course as far as the throwing aspect of the design goes and I have fun playing the course and throwing the shots. However I feel that due to the soggy fairways and nastyness and the dangers to the other park users that I could not give this course higher than a 3 in the long run.

Mazerick is definatly the best in Fayetnam but they are not destination courses

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.