Tampa, FL 
Picnic Island DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
fun & sun

2-4    3/17/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: multi use park with beach for swimming, dog park with dog beach. Great rubber tee pads. Nice new orange baskets that stand out against the Florida green. 18 coming soon. long & short tees. restrooms. boat launch, fishing. every throw you have. Nice mix of short technical shots, long shots through trees and even very long hole that dared me to try a roller.
Cons: some holes by beach may have people laying in the sun.
Other Thoughts: one of my dogs favorite. who's ready to throw boy! bring you swim suit & cool off after a round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tampa Bay is the largest water hazard I've ever seen!

1    10/11/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, gorgeous views of Tampa Bay from several holes! Even when you go back into the park, the lay of the land is gorgeous and the local vegetation is used perfectly on this course. Nice job.

There is a good amount of elevation for a course in coastal Florida. I really liked the chance to test out this part of my game as well.

The tee positions made a lot of sense, were well marked, and really helped provide for different difficulty levels, as well as left-right vs right-left throws. Great job.

The rubber tee pads were really nice, I was actually a big fan. Not terribly long, but super grippy and well maintained. Never played on these before.

Again, as with Taylor Park up in Largo, the active pin position was perfectly marked at every hole. Mapping was very helpful and generally never left me wondering much.

For being 9 holes, the course felt very spread out. I didn't feel like the designer tried to shoehorn this course into an area that wasn't made for it. This section of land feels like it was built for DG and is designed like it as well.

Bright orange baskets were very visible and "catchy".

The park was very well maintained, no trash or garbage evident.
Cons: Watch out for the breeze off the bay! It can mess with you, even though it's a relief from the heat as well.

There were no signs pointing you to where you were going -- I pulled off at the first turnoff I saw with baskets, but that's right by 4 and the dog park. It's a pretty long hike over to 1, so keep going down the road.

I was left wandering several times looking for holes, which was frustrating since there was signage up at each basket supposedly pointing you in the right direction. Maybe some help on the signs at the tee pads would be good?

There are a surprising number of lost disc opportunities around here. 5 has brush that can eat up your drive/putts if you don't play it safe. 8 literally plays beside Tampa Bay. And, if you were driving by last Thursday, I was the moron on 2 frantically throwing his bag at the huge evergreen trying to get his putter back. Be careful on your throws! (Yes, I got the putter back)

Not really a fair "con", but you're playing very close to Tampa International Airport, so be prepared for a lot of airplane noise.
Other Thoughts: This course is in south Tampa near the port. From Pinellas County, take the Gandy Bridge over and hang a right on Westshore, which turns into Commerce. Follow the natural flow of the road and you'll get there. Don't worry if you drive by several industrial areas, you're probably on the right track.

You know that feeling where you think about the holes you played days after you played them? I have that about this course. I've replayed 4 and 8 in my head over and over again, savoring the views of Tampa Bay. That's what a good DG course should do.

Fix the navigational issues and I might be inclined to even up this rating -- but, this feels right for the course. You'll be wishing for another 9 holes after you play, provided you brought enough water to deal with the Florida heat. Happy discing by the bay!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: KMG365
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful and well maintained course on Tampa Bay.

Nice variety in holes.

Excellent signage.
Cons: A bit of walk between some of the holes, but if a 100' walk is a problem then you should probably not be playing disc golf.

Lots of vegetation (sabal palm)! Spent a lot of time looking for discs. It's a park first, and a disc golf course second so I doubt the issue will be addressed.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. We spoke to someone who told us there has been talk of expanding to eighteen holes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

No April Fools Joke

1    4/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: 1978
Played: 155  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course on 4/1 and it is no fools joke. I really enjoyed the layout and disc golf here. There is a little bit of elevation. Signage is wonderful. There are up to 3 basket locations per hole, all depicted accurately on metal signs. A set of metal letters is locked to each sign with the current pin position visible. This is a creative and professional way to indicate what layout you are playing. Some past reviews mark down for navigation. Currently there are metal arrows on the bottom of each basket that direct you to the next tee. Baskets are pristine. Typical FL grass is cut short and provides for excellent traction. The rough must have been cleared out because we didn't notice many hazard areas where you wouldnt be able to retreive your discs. I appreciated the use of elevation. It can be difficult in Florida but there was some here. Wind off Tampa bay probably always is in play, so you will have to plan ahead. Many of the shots you have to plan ahead for because of the rough but I did find myself using everything from putters to drivers even though I typically disc down. The views of the bay and Tampa on holes 1 and 6-9 are awesome. After you come off 4 there is a dog beach park. So if you have a pet, you can run it through the crystal clear water, wash him off with the provided hose and move along. Nice fun break, so bring a ball with you if you also bring a pet. There are also a couple drinking fountains there. All along there are great photo opportunities under palm trees that give you a great Tampa back drop. Shot shape varies and there are a number of places where you are forced between a gap or to a landing zone (from the blues) in order to score well.
Long and short tees were appropriately spaced. You could play the course twice 1 long 1 short and feel like you played a full unique 18 holes.
Cons: Cons are minor:
9 hole course. The beauty and layout leave you wanting more.
Wind. Id bet the course is always windy.
Open - this course is pretty much open. There are areas with trees but plenty of room to manuver or lanes, there isn't much canopy so big overhand players have a real advantage on some of the holes.
Tee pads were rubber and framed in nicely but a number of them weren't level or were level for too short of a distance. I think #3 was tilted uphill, maybe #1 as well.
There were a few layout issues. #1 and #7 can interfere with each other, both in the RBH Hyzer lane of each other. It was wide open but over a crest of a hill so it could be a little dangerous.
9 finished kind of in the middle of the course, so you had to walk back down 7 to leave.
Hole 9 is a pretty 270' uphill shot to a raised basket. There is 1 problem though, you cannot see the basket, it is about 1' short of what it should be. The hole would be really cool if you could just see the tip of the band. 1 foot higher and view off the tee would be twice as neat. (this is nitpicking)
Other Thoughts: I DID "swing" by this course on my way past Tampa. It is a little out of the way but well worth it. It is not long, and pretty easy to navigate quickly. I think you could easily play it in under an hr with 15 minutes both ways in detour time from 75. So you are looking to invest 1.5 hrs and it is well worth it, so swing by and sling some discs. Bring your dog!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Course With a View!

1    9/27/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Location. You drive through an industrial area, and end up at this very nice park. Hole 8 plays right along side of Tampa Bay. (Thats one big water hazard!).

+ Well groomed and very clean. Mowed grass fairways with trees and patches of rough for obstacles.

+ Two sets of tees and three pin placements.

+ Tee signs. Some of the nicest sinage that I have ever seen on a DG course. They show you what pin position is currently in use, and where they are at. Also there are several signs scattered around the park warning people that they are entering a DG course, and arrow signs on the baskets to send you in the general direction of the next hole.

+ Restrooms, pavillions, and grills make this a great course for a meet up/tournament.

+ Fairly long and challenging for a nine hole course.

+ Brand new baskets.

+ Big hill. Big by Tampa standards. Comes into play on the last few holes.
Cons: - The rough is brutally dense and filled with burrs. I recommend bringing your bright orange and pink discs for this one, and spotting on some of the holes.

- Navigation. Not to bad, but I need to note a couple of things. The red tee for hole 4. Keep following the road and you will run into it eventually. Tees for hole 7. Follow the arrow and head back toward the parking lot, its by the blue pavillion.

- Rubber tees. I prefer concrete, but these are ok I guess.

Other Thoughts: This is a very cool and fun course. The navigation is a little tricky, print the map, use the arrow signs and your intuition, and you'll be fine.

As stated above, the rough is BRUTAL. I went into it looking for an errant disc, and came out tore up, and covered in burrs! Also there were a few mosquitos about.

I played this course on a thursday afternoon, and had the whole course to myself. It was very quiet and peacefull, except for the occasional airplane flying overhead on thier way to Tampa Int.

Overall this is a well concieved course with great views seldom seen on a DG course. Now go play it!


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty, variety, and refreshing.

1    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: manikwest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting of this course is amazing, and is what I have always been looking for in a Florida DGC. Flora is all untamed, and throwing lanes although tight are well defined with good looks for both backhand, and forehand shots. Navigation like others have said is a bit confusing, but the walks between holes were scenic. I imagine this is in part because consideration of 9 more holes is underway. In my opinion 9 more holes would crowd the course, but would vote yes for this idea.
Cons: Gravel around baskets sent several great approaches astray. Pads need to be longer, but them being rubber did not bother me. Navigation could have been better how ever this would have taken away from the use if land, and elevation. Beach goers were everywhere on hole 8, even my controlled flick was uncomfortably close to people that had no clue I was throwing.
Other Thoughts: Thought this course made great use of the land. I played on a Friday around noon. I was the only disc golfer on the course. This is a flickers dream with the exception of 2 holes, which you could flick but not run at the basket. Go play it, and respect it. Perhaps Tampa will continue to out in more courses as a result. Shot -2 first time out from the long pads. Another review stated this course was designed by non-disc golfers, from what I understand this is not the case. By the looks of things this was designed the hardcore player in mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Park

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with great baskets. The holes are challenging and the layout is great. I really loved the hole that copied the old hole 6 at Tocobaga. While I don't usually care for rubber teepads, these were awesome.
Cons: The long walk between holes. I realize this may be eliminated in phase 2...it's very definitely a con right now. Hole 8 was unplayable today...kids on the beach and the swiss family Robinson right in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely gorgeous park and the course matches park. I'd so like to see phase 2 kick in really fast. Once it does, I see this being a premier course in the area!! I will definitely play it again!! I gave it a rating based on the current 9 holes. Phase 2 will give it a solid 4.5!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Picnic Island- A nice oasis

2-4    4/18/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The City of Tampa is very excited about their new course. Some invasive species have been dropped, some extra topography has been created and the next phase, (9 more holes) is under consideration)
Good balance and variety were achieved while still utilizing "all natural" fairways. No living trees were cut down in the making of Picnic Island disc golf course.
The restroom near hole #4's parking lot are open every day. The restroom by hole #2, only on weekends. Another is located at the far south end of the park.

The "A" pin positions cater to newer players. "B" positions for advanced level play. "C" pin position primarily for pro-level or showcase play. Some red and blue tees give different looks and angles to the pins.
Cons: There are some longer walks between holes, which will (hopefully) be filled in with the completion of phase 2, the next 9. The course was installed by non-disc golfers. Despite instructions to keep the tees flat, several of the tees have an upward tilt, making powerful drives very difficult. The parks department hopes to level them in the near future. Due to PI being a nature park, concrete pads will not be poured at PI.
Weekend play can be challenging on hole #8 due to beach goers who are not yet familiar with disc golf. With time and some gentle nudging, this will eventually become a non-issue.
Before disc golf, the dog park was the only amenity in the north side of PI. Many of the dog walkers still utilize the area where disc golf is now in play. Please keep an eye out for dog walkers and gently remind them that these discs can hurt. Warning signs are being created by the City of Tampa.
Oh, and the cedar trees are very hungry. Do not feed your discs to the cedar trees!
Other Thoughts: A refreshing change from the typically land-locked courses. Located on a nicely manicured dangling participle jutting into Tampa Bay, Picnic Island dgc features lovely views of the bay and spectacular sunsets. If you're lucky, you may even catch a glimpse of a school of cavorting porpoises just off shore or possibly a cargo ship setting sail for parts unknown.

Custom orange DISCatchers adorn each green in one of 3 pin positions, and your choice of 2 Rubber 'ChamPadz' tee mats to throw from. Custom tee signs also pretty-up each tee area along with some "Think before you throw signs" that were originally intended to remind people to not litter, but also think about their actual disc golf throws.

Despite being right on the water, there is a pleasantly surprising bit of topography to keep things interesting. The light tree coverage and nearby Tampa Bay also provide some stout breezes to keep you cool while you stare down your intimidating 20 foot putts.
I will bring my rating up to 4-4.5 once the tees have been leveled and the next 9 has been properly completed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in South Tampa

2-4    5/12/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great variety of both technical and let 'er rip distance holes. A nice mix of distance and left and right turning holes rewards those who can shape shots well and/or throw both backhand and sidearm. Most of the holes felt well thought-out. It's very scenic with hills (for Florida) and a nice view of Tampa Bay along with a beach. The tees are well placed to take advantage of challenging flora. The baskets are brand new and fantastic and the signs are helpful. Each basket has a sign with an arrow pointing to the next hole.
Cons: The tees are short, rubber, and prone to sliding (for me anyway). Some of the holes were difficult to find, even with the arrows, and seemed needlessly far from the previous basket. Some of the fairways were close together and some of the driving lines were blind. Basket 7 is close to the parking lot and sooner rather than later a car will be hit. Holes 8 and 9 play along the beach and are in well traveled pedestrian areas, too well-traveled in my opinion. We had to wait on both holes near the beach (8 & 9) for park users to clear.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a beautiful course with potential and a great addition to the Tampa Bay disc golf scene. Challenging for most players. With some modifications on holes 7-9 and concrete tees this will be even better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting and Scenic.

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: xcab02
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Layout. Good use of grounds for some interesting holes. Nice blend of open and technical holes.
Cons: Should have made some holes longer as the space was available. Hole #3 could have been longer. Distance between basket and next tee pad are quite long on some holes.
Other Thoughts: They have the space to add some shorter holes to the long spaces between holes. Could also just add a few bonus holes for good measure. Overall nice course that I will play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.