Layout Extinct

Tampa, FL 
Picnic Island DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #5 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good Course

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: KMG365
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful and well maintained course on Tampa Bay.

Nice variety in holes.

Excellent signage.
Cons: A bit of walk between some of the holes, but if a 100' walk is a problem then you should probably not be playing disc golf.

Lots of vegetation (sabal palm)! Spent a lot of time looking for discs. It's a park first, and a disc golf course second so I doubt the issue will be addressed.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. We spoke to someone who told us there has been talk of expanding to eighteen holes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 When will Picnic Blossum?

2-4    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: frankd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Scenery, solitude, adjacent fenced in on the bay *with* beach dog park.
Cons: World Champion Disc Golf Design must be populated by folks under 30 chugging energy drinks all day. Hiking half the distance yet again from one hole to the next tee seemed unnecessary, but the scrub shrubbery is ludicrous.
...and all they have to do is clear the brush and the course would leap, in my opinion, from a "1.0" to a "4.0".
Other Thoughts: Yesterday I made a third attempt at playing Picnic Island. Never got further, and played the first 7 of the nine holes.
The beautiful scenery somewhat offsets the over walking design (very bothersome), but when you add that the shrubbery needs to be cleared altogether (trees are fine, but unless your aim is impeccable, you're loosing discs).
If I'm spending more time looking than throwing I don't see the point.
I'm rootin' for ya - I can just imagine how great it'll be to play someday - Just Clear the Scrub!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice scenery but expected more

1    8/23/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 209  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 20.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked the rubber tee pads. The scenery was pretty good. Baskets are flawless and have multiple pins and arrows to guide players to the next tee. Couple of nice par 4s from the pro tees (3&4). Lots of wildlife including pelicans, herons, raccoons and fish.
Cons: This is probably the first time that I encountered a course that doesn't jive with its score here at DGCReview. I was staying at a hotel by the Tampa airport and I usually don't bother with 9-basket courses if I have a choice but this one was rated so high and it was pretty close to the hotel so I figured it would be worth the effort. Well, I'm still trying to figure out the allure of this place. Yes, the views are nice and there's a decent variety of holes with varying lengths and difficulty but I really wasn't as impressed as the previous reviewers of this course were. I was pretty bored.
Other Thoughts: Navigation was pretty easy, and the am & pro tee pads are close enough together to play them both on one pass. I didn't like the long walks in between 2 & 3, 6 & 7 and 9 & 1. Hole 3 was my favorite, a great par 4 from the pro tee that requires an accurate drive through or over two thick trees and then a lengthy upshot around a lot of trees and rough for the 3.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun and tricky course

2-4    9/28/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: Cueball
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean and well signed course. Baskets are highly visible and in great condition. One of the best well kept course I have seen so far and the signage is superior though I had trouble finding #4 but thanks to another member of this site he explained where it was. Thank you.

Cons: Some of the baskets have been moved but they forgot to change the position tags on the signs.

On weekends hole 8 can get a little crowded by some beach goers.
Other Thoughts: Holes 7,8,9 have the best scenery of all. 8 runs along the beach so you will be swimming if it fades to much to the left.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

   sweet DG hideaway

1    5/21/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: timmic
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: signage is exemplary. easily navigated and flows nicely. well kept course, groomed and clean, surprising considering I drove thru some pretty seedy looking areas to get here!
some terrific views of the bay too! great variety of shots here,a challenging course.
Cons: rough area to drive thru to get here.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here,a fun nine hole course with short and long tees and a nice variety of shots

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No April Fools Joke

1    4/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: 1978
Played: 226  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course on 4/1 and it is no fools joke. I really enjoyed the layout and disc golf here. There is a little bit of elevation. Signage is wonderful. There are up to 3 basket locations per hole, all depicted accurately on metal signs. A set of metal letters is locked to each sign with the current pin position visible. This is a creative and professional way to indicate what layout you are playing. Some past reviews mark down for navigation. Currently there are metal arrows on the bottom of each basket that direct you to the next tee. Baskets are pristine. Typical FL grass is cut short and provides for excellent traction. The rough must have been cleared out because we didn't notice many hazard areas where you wouldnt be able to retreive your discs. I appreciated the use of elevation. It can be difficult in Florida but there was some here. Wind off Tampa bay probably always is in play, so you will have to plan ahead. Many of the shots you have to plan ahead for because of the rough but I did find myself using everything from putters to drivers even though I typically disc down. The views of the bay and Tampa on holes 1 and 6-9 are awesome. After you come off 4 there is a dog beach park. So if you have a pet, you can run it through the crystal clear water, wash him off with the provided hose and move along. Nice fun break, so bring a ball with you if you also bring a pet. There are also a couple drinking fountains there. All along there are great photo opportunities under palm trees that give you a great Tampa back drop. Shot shape varies and there are a number of places where you are forced between a gap or to a landing zone (from the blues) in order to score well.
Long and short tees were appropriately spaced. You could play the course twice 1 long 1 short and feel like you played a full unique 18 holes.
Cons: Cons are minor:
9 hole course. The beauty and layout leave you wanting more.
Wind. Id bet the course is always windy.
Open - this course is pretty much open. There are areas with trees but plenty of room to manuver or lanes, there isn't much canopy so big overhand players have a real advantage on some of the holes.
Tee pads were rubber and framed in nicely but a number of them weren't level or were level for too short of a distance. I think #3 was tilted uphill, maybe #1 as well.
There were a few layout issues. #1 and #7 can interfere with each other, both in the RBH Hyzer lane of each other. It was wide open but over a crest of a hill so it could be a little dangerous.
9 finished kind of in the middle of the course, so you had to walk back down 7 to leave.
Hole 9 is a pretty 270' uphill shot to a raised basket. There is 1 problem though, you cannot see the basket, it is about 1' short of what it should be. The hole would be really cool if you could just see the tip of the band. 1 foot higher and view off the tee would be twice as neat. (this is nitpicking)
Other Thoughts: I DID "swing" by this course on my way past Tampa. It is a little out of the way but well worth it. It is not long, and pretty easy to navigate quickly. I think you could easily play it in under an hr with 15 minutes both ways in detour time from 75. So you are looking to invest 1.5 hrs and it is well worth it, so swing by and sling some discs. Bring your dog!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    3/6/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: easy to navigate, good tee pads, good use of the terrain, two tees and three basket locations
Cons: only 9 holes, it is a little difficult to find
Other Thoughts: the wind can really pick up some speed over the bay, i would not recommend playing this course on a windy day unless your really up for a challenge (and not affraid to lose a disk)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Picnic Island

1    1/29/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting, teepads, signage, design, location
Cons: Only nine holes
Other Thoughts: Picnic Island disc golf course is simply the finest nine-hole course I have ever played. Set in a somewhat remote and very well cared for park right on the eastern shore of Tampa Bay, this course exemplifies the best of central Florida disc golf in nine varied holes. The setting, the course design, and the amenities are all top notch; the only problem is the course is not long enough, but even then I urge caution. Nine excellent holes with two sets of tees and multiple pin positions is better than 18 pretty good holes. So if nine more holes are coming, I hope they are in a separate section of the park.

Picnic Island is in Tampa proper, but is well off the beaten track, way down at the end of the road in the industrial, port section of the city. Entering the park is entering a nicer world, though, and the parking lot for the course, with its view across the bay and easy access to the beach, is an appropriate entry way for the course to come. The amenities for the course are immediately apparent; two tees, not concrete but with firm rubber mats and nicely level. The signage could not be better, and includes hole number, easy to read maps, a system for showing which of the three placements the basket is currently in, and an accurate distance reading for all basket placements. Each hole features blue and red tees. The course plays long and interesting from the blues. It's still interesting from the reds, but much closer to the typical par 3 outing.

The holes themselves are varied and interesting. All require some degree of shot shaping, and from the blue tees most are on the long end of par 3 or in two cases well into par 4 territory. Trees and salt bush factor into most holes, and mistakes will be punished if you end up in the scrub. Rough has a different definition on many Florida courses. "Moderately Hilly" is not an accurate description by any national standard, but there are some minor undulations to work around, which is not typical for this region. Overall this course is a case where there may be room for 18 holes, but the approach was to put in nine excellent holes instead. Good call.

Overall, I rate this course Excellent, and well worth a road trip or putting near the top of your Tampa region itinerary. Yes it's a nine-holer, but that is the only negative I'll give it, and going around twice will still be time well spent. The setting, the amenities, a true signature hole, and the overall course design are all exemplary.

Favorite hole - #8 - Plays right along the beach, with OOB on the left being Tampa Bay. View extends clear across to downtown St. Pete on a good day. This hole almost makes up for #18 at Tocabaga being removed. Almost.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Variety by the Shore

1    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, this is wonderful course. The fairways are well manicured and clear. The rough is a true penalty, and the scenery is first class.
The course has a wonderful variety of long and short holes...Along with extremely tight, and wide open tee shots. Hole one is a nice uphill, dogleg right. 2 to 4 are long 480 to 520 from the blues. both offer moderate room, but the rough will suck up any wayward drive. Hole five is TIGHT. Your disc can be snagged from below and above....Hole six opens up a bit, and 7 to 9 give you an opportunity to score. Seven is wide open, over a ridge to a down hill basket. 8 goes right along the beach in what is just a perfect fairway and hole location. 9 is short, uphill and offers a real birdie or ace chance...I really found myself considering my shots, and especially in the middle holes, deciding what was the best place to miss....
Cons: I hate to call rough a con, but the stuff next to3, 5 and six was brutal. Even a disc one or two feet off the fairway, that clearly fell straight down, was nearly impossible to find. Basically, there is underbrush, trees, bushes, palms, tonsss of undergrowth, and I guess the lesson for me, was learn how to throw a bit straighter. Also, around 4 to 6 there was a bit of an odd transition. Won't be an issue a second time. Would be nice to see a few more holes on such a beautiful piece of property...
Other Thoughts: Each hole has clearly marked alternate pin positions. The signage is A plus, and each hole felt like an individual treat. A couple local park walkers were very polite and friendly, and I can say from experience, that this is a good place to do a little salt water wade fishing (in case you would like to have a nice, full, outdoorsy day)....
This course is going on my favorites list. I really enjoyed the experience.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start....

2-4    11/2/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The setting. Beach, palms, perfectly manicured park, FL - what more could you want!
- Variety of challenging shots. Only played the long tees, but found the layout, the use of the trees and scrub to be awesome. You have to be fairly accurate with your shots or you will end up in the rough. Don't know if I would call the rough a con, but it can draw blood. 3 pin positions per hole allow for a variety of shots in the various layouts. I'm sure if you play this course a lot there may be lines that are easier to hit, but it is not a pitch and putt or grip and rip. You have to consider your shot.
- Brand New! New teepads (rubber mats surrounded by lumber), signs (shows alt pin locations along with which layout is currently in use), baskets, park. Really a beautiful setting.
Cons: - course flow is non-intuitive for first time visitors. Once you figure it out, it's not difficult. The challenging thing is that there are so many paths cutting through the park (I guess they do a monthly "tough mudder type run) and its so new that there is no "beaten path" that you can typically count on to get to the next tee. It would have been great to have the next tee designated on the hole signage.
- I'm spoiled, but it's only 9 holes..... You could play two rounds from both tees and get 18 unique holes. More on this in other thoughts section....
- not convenient to travel routes
- played on a weekday (only had to play over one couple on hole 8...), but could see it being crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: - I rated this a 3 because i think it's a good start, but there is a little more to be desired. Compared to the other two courses I have played in FL, its not quite there yet. I think the biggest thing for me would be to add holes. It seems like there could easily be 3 or more holes squeezed in. That being said, I am a guest, so I know nothing about the history or journey - so if you are a local who put blood, sweat and tears into getting these beautiful holes in - please no offense is meant! The cons on adding holes would be a more cramped feel, which I don't think would be a bad thing. I don't get why 9 ends in the middle of the park, seems like it could have ended a little closer to the parking lot. I noticed the pin positions seemed to be "random". They were not all in A or B. (longs on odd months, shorts on even months, etc). It seems like there may be a possibility for adding more holes per some of the other reviews? My wish list would included an ace run or two. Hole 5 is short, but from the long tees, that's an extremely tough dogleg - first missing the tree guarding the right side of the fairway and then tucking into the alcove where the pin is. 9 May be considered one, but you cannot see the basket... So it's a blind shot. I have read 8 is the signature hole.... My favorite was 4 from the long tees. I would love to see someone rip a meat hook and go up and over the trees on a drive from the tee. I could see this being really challenging if the pin is in the position where it's on the "peninsula" between the evergreen trees and swamp.

Overall, this was a good, challenging, enjoyable course. If it had 18 holes this would be an awesome course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.