Tampa, FL 
Picnic Island DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #2 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Only nine, but still EPIC!

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ...Hole #8... 'nuff said.

Seriously though, I was very surprised by Picnic Island. I knew from the course photos that were posted that this wasn't exactly Azalea DGC, but I had no idea this course would play this well.

You have a couple of chances to really grip 'n rip, but most of the course plays somewhat technical.

The Florida foliage is left completely wild and untamed. The grass is five feet tall in some places and the saw palmetto, while not prevalent, is still relevant. Watch your drive!

The course is a great walk as well. There is a bit of elevation change (quite a lot for a Florida course) and the course does give a good hike.

Restrooms are right after Hole #1. This is good because you can go before you throw, or if you're playing 18, they're there in the middle of your round.

The scenery here is great; vistas of Tampa Bay and the St. Pete skyline as you look over the bay. We played on a cloudy day with thunderheads off over Old Tampa Bay; very nice.

Navigation isn't too tough; there are directional signs underneath each basket, and the targets themselves are bright orange on top. New Innova disc catchers, too, so they catch real well.

There's a dog park right next to hole #8's basket; so this is nice too.

Two rubber pads per hole. Never played rubber pads before my first round here, but these were pretty nice. #5's tee was damp and traction wasn't an issue at all.

The tee signs are impeccable. Pin placement markers and THREE pin positions per hole. Very nice touch there.
Cons: Well... it's nine holes. I'm hearing there's a back nine planned, but that's not in the works yet.

Little bit of trash laying around. I can see trash cans chained to the tee signs being a big plus here, but didn't see any.

No seating on the course except picnic shelters. No problem for me, but others may not like this.

Some may find the overgrowth to be a little problematic, but I don't; if you can't handle the hazard, avoid it.

Wind off of Tampa Bay could be a real issue if you don't have a power driver. Make sure you've got your Force or Firebird out here.

No water fountains on course, so don't forget your water bottle. Sunscreen is a must here on sunny days as well as there's almost no shade whatsoever. And we had a little bit of tick trouble; if you're sensitive, bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I think Picnic Island is a Tampa Bay must-play. The scenery is beyond awesome with the sweeping views of the bay and the course will challenge you with plenty of risk vs. reward shots. Play from the front and back tees for a full 18 and you'll enjoy this little course.

Really want a back nine here. I would have trouble not giving this course a 4.5 or maybe even a 5 if we got a back nine.

Some hole notes:

#2 - Don't let that 510' for Position C fool you... this is NOT a grip 'n rip hole! The pro tee offers one of the most intimidating drives I've ever tried to throw. The basket is around a long, sweeping corner, and your alleyway is 15' high, 30' wide, and the whole right side is O.B. Take your par here.

#4 - Couldn't find the long tee for this one. I don't think they forgot the sign here, just not sure where it was. We didn't bother to look for it, though.

#5 - This drive is fun. Your fairway MIGHT be 12' wide and the basket is around a corner tucked into some real thick, tall grass.

#7 - Besides the saw palmetto right in front of you, this hole is WIDE open. Take a run at this basket with a flick or a power hyzer. Careful where you land though, the hill makes for tricky putting.

#8 - Picnic Island's signature hole. Now I know what we're missing not having #18 at Tocobaga anymore. The hole shoots right along Tampa Bay. The setting is beyond epic, and this is what disc golf in Florida is all about. I can only imagine playing this hole at sunset... wow!

#9 - Great hole to finish. Uphill and blind over a about 10' tall hill, but totally wide open, and the basket is surrounded by a mound to catch errant drives. I flicked this hole (and I can't flick) and had an awesome drive.

Again, please give us nine more holes. This would probably be the second best Tampa Bay course if it was a full 18. I loved it and will definitely be back many times.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty, variety, and refreshing.

1    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: manikwest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting of this course is amazing, and is what I have always been looking for in a Florida DGC. Flora is all untamed, and throwing lanes although tight are well defined with good looks for both backhand, and forehand shots. Navigation like others have said is a bit confusing, but the walks between holes were scenic. I imagine this is in part because consideration of 9 more holes is underway. In my opinion 9 more holes would crowd the course, but would vote yes for this idea.
Cons: Gravel around baskets sent several great approaches astray. Pads need to be longer, but them being rubber did not bother me. Navigation could have been better how ever this would have taken away from the use if land, and elevation. Beach goers were everywhere on hole 8, even my controlled flick was uncomfortably close to people that had no clue I was throwing.
Other Thoughts: Thought this course made great use of the land. I played on a Friday around noon. I was the only disc golfer on the course. This is a flickers dream with the exception of 2 holes, which you could flick but not run at the basket. Go play it, and respect it. Perhaps Tampa will continue to out in more courses as a result. Shot -2 first time out from the long pads. Another review stated this course was designed by non-disc golfers, from what I understand this is not the case. By the looks of things this was designed the hardcore player in mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 PICNIC ISLAND

1    6/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: FOR RUBBER PADS THEY ARE VERY NICE. SOME NICE, TECHNICAL LINES AND SOME NICE OPEN ONES. WORTH DRIVING UP TO 30 MINUTES FOR. NICE FACILITIES.
Cons: ONLY 9 HOLES. THERE IS PLENTY OF ROOM TO PUT 9 MORE. SOME OF THE ALTERNATE PADS ARE BARELY ANY DIFFERENT FROM ONE ANOTHER. NEEDS A WATER FOUNTAIN. THERE MAY HAVE BEEN ONE AND WE JUST DIDNT SEE IT.
Other Thoughts: ITS SO GREAT TO SEE ALL OF THESE NEW PARKS OPENING IN THE AREA.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Park

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with great baskets. The holes are challenging and the layout is great. I really loved the hole that copied the old hole 6 at Tocobaga. While I don't usually care for rubber teepads, these were awesome.
Cons: The long walk between holes. I realize this may be eliminated in phase 2...it's very definitely a con right now. Hole 8 was unplayable today...kids on the beach and the swiss family Robinson right in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely gorgeous park and the course matches park. I'd so like to see phase 2 kick in really fast. Once it does, I see this being a premier course in the area!! I will definitely play it again!! I gave it a rating based on the current 9 holes. Phase 2 will give it a solid 4.5!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Picnic Island- A nice oasis

2-4    4/18/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 282  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 38.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The City of Tampa is very excited about their new course. Some invasive species have been dropped, some extra topography has been created and the next phase, (9 more holes) is under consideration)
Good balance and variety were achieved while still utilizing "all natural" fairways. No living trees were cut down in the making of Picnic Island disc golf course.
The restroom near hole #4's parking lot are open every day. The restroom by hole #2, only on weekends. Another is located at the far south end of the park.

The "A" pin positions cater to newer players. "B" positions for advanced level play. "C" pin position primarily for pro-level or showcase play. Some red and blue tees give different looks and angles to the pins.
Cons: There are some longer walks between holes, which will (hopefully) be filled in with the completion of phase 2, the next 9. The course was installed by non-disc golfers. Despite instructions to keep the tees flat, several of the tees have an upward tilt, making powerful drives very difficult. The parks department hopes to level them in the near future. Due to PI being a nature park, concrete pads will not be poured at PI.
Weekend play can be challenging on hole #8 due to beach goers who are not yet familiar with disc golf. With time and some gentle nudging, this will eventually become a non-issue.
Before disc golf, the dog park was the only amenity in the north side of PI. Many of the dog walkers still utilize the area where disc golf is now in play. Please keep an eye out for dog walkers and gently remind them that these discs can hurt. Warning signs are being created by the City of Tampa.
Oh, and the cedar trees are very hungry. Do not feed your discs to the cedar trees!
Other Thoughts: A refreshing change from the typically land-locked courses. Located on a nicely manicured dangling participle jutting into Tampa Bay, Picnic Island dgc features lovely views of the bay and spectacular sunsets. If you're lucky, you may even catch a glimpse of a school of cavorting porpoises just off shore or possibly a cargo ship setting sail for parts unknown.

Custom orange DISCatchers adorn each green in one of 3 pin positions, and your choice of 2 Rubber 'ChamPadz' tee mats to throw from. Custom tee signs also pretty-up each tee area along with some "Think before you throw signs" that were originally intended to remind people to not litter, but also think about their actual disc golf throws.

Despite being right on the water, there is a pleasantly surprising bit of topography to keep things interesting. The light tree coverage and nearby Tampa Bay also provide some stout breezes to keep you cool while you stare down your intimidating 20 foot putts.
I will bring my rating up to 4-4.5 once the tees have been leveled and the next 9 has been properly completed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in South Tampa

2-4    5/12/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great variety of both technical and let 'er rip distance holes. A nice mix of distance and left and right turning holes rewards those who can shape shots well and/or throw both backhand and sidearm. Most of the holes felt well thought-out. It's very scenic with hills (for Florida) and a nice view of Tampa Bay along with a beach. The tees are well placed to take advantage of challenging flora. The baskets are brand new and fantastic and the signs are helpful. Each basket has a sign with an arrow pointing to the next hole.
Cons: The tees are short, rubber, and prone to sliding (for me anyway). Some of the holes were difficult to find, even with the arrows, and seemed needlessly far from the previous basket. Some of the fairways were close together and some of the driving lines were blind. Basket 7 is close to the parking lot and sooner rather than later a car will be hit. Holes 8 and 9 play along the beach and are in well traveled pedestrian areas, too well-traveled in my opinion. We had to wait on both holes near the beach (8 & 9) for park users to clear.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a beautiful course with potential and a great addition to the Tampa Bay disc golf scene. Challenging for most players. With some modifications on holes 7-9 and concrete tees this will be even better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting and Scenic.

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: xcab02
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Layout. Good use of grounds for some interesting holes. Nice blend of open and technical holes.
Cons: Should have made some holes longer as the space was available. Hole #3 could have been longer. Distance between basket and next tee pad are quite long on some holes.
Other Thoughts: They have the space to add some shorter holes to the long spaces between holes. Could also just add a few bonus holes for good measure. Overall nice course that I will play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Florida DG!

1    5/8/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The view is awesome! This is Florida Disc golf...cool breezes, beaches and sunshine. There is a challenge for all levels of skill.
Cons: Difficult navigation between holes at points.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I will be a regular.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Local Course and Love It

5+    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: usafsmith
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course if you are new or even a seasoned player. I was more than impressed with the baskets and the quality of work that went into the design of the course. By far the most scenic course in Tampa and a good start for the City of Tampa to get behind the growing sport of discgolf.
Cons: Maintenance needs to be done around the baskets to clean up the shrubs and large sticks coming out of the ground.
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling to the course recommed you just google map it so you dont get lost.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, this course is scenic. Gorgeous view. The best part of this course is that it WILL challenge your game. It has length, left turns, right turns, elevation...it will make you a better player. Great potential - long pads, short pads X 3 positions on each hole. One hole has potential to be nearly 600 feet. The players out there are friendly and helpful. So glad to see some great signs with helpful information. There is also plenty of shade in the middle of the course. When you get done, enjoy the beach, ocean and a beautiful park! I thought Maximo was beautiful until I saw this place.
Cons: Finding the course is a bit of a challenge (more on that in other thoughts). Navigation on the course is also rough. They have added arrows on the basket and that helps a ton but it takes a little looking around (between 3 & 4) and a few long walks (between 2 & 3). There are a few holes you can't see from the pad (2, 4, 7, 8, 9) so you may want to walk up and see where you are throwing and make sure it is clear. I would add no benches as a negative but it sounds like there are some on the way!
Other Thoughts: This park is a little hard to find. Make sure you make left at the big pipe over the road. When you get to the second lot, make a right and the first tee pad is at the beginning of the parking lot, not by the water. The pad by the water is hole 8. There are non-golfers in the park so be careful!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.