Tampa, FL 
Picnic Island DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
4 / 340ft.   4 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Beauty, variety, and refreshing.

1    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: manikwest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting of this course is amazing, and is what I have always been looking for in a Florida DGC. Flora is all untamed, and throwing lanes although tight are well defined with good looks for both backhand, and forehand shots. Navigation like others have said is a bit confusing, but the walks between holes were scenic. I imagine this is in part because consideration of 9 more holes is underway. In my opinion 9 more holes would crowd the course, but would vote yes for this idea.
Cons: Gravel around baskets sent several great approaches astray. Pads need to be longer, but them being rubber did not bother me. Navigation could have been better how ever this would have taken away from the use if land, and elevation. Beach goers were everywhere on hole 8, even my controlled flick was uncomfortably close to people that had no clue I was throwing.
Other Thoughts: Thought this course made great use of the land. I played on a Friday around noon. I was the only disc golfer on the course. This is a flickers dream with the exception of 2 holes, which you could flick but not run at the basket. Go play it, and respect it. Perhaps Tampa will continue to out in more courses as a result. Shot -2 first time out from the long pads. Another review stated this course was designed by non-disc golfers, from what I understand this is not the case. By the looks of things this was designed the hardcore player in mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 PICNIC ISLAND

1    6/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: FOR RUBBER PADS THEY ARE VERY NICE. SOME NICE, TECHNICAL LINES AND SOME NICE OPEN ONES. WORTH DRIVING UP TO 30 MINUTES FOR. NICE FACILITIES.
Cons: ONLY 9 HOLES. THERE IS PLENTY OF ROOM TO PUT 9 MORE. SOME OF THE ALTERNATE PADS ARE BARELY ANY DIFFERENT FROM ONE ANOTHER. NEEDS A WATER FOUNTAIN. THERE MAY HAVE BEEN ONE AND WE JUST DIDNT SEE IT.
Other Thoughts: ITS SO GREAT TO SEE ALL OF THESE NEW PARKS OPENING IN THE AREA.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Park

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Alin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with great baskets. The holes are challenging and the layout is great. I really loved the hole that copied the old hole 6 at Tocobaga. While I don't usually care for rubber teepads, these were awesome.
Cons: The long walk between holes. I realize this may be eliminated in phase 2...it's very definitely a con right now. Hole 8 was unplayable today...kids on the beach and the swiss family Robinson right in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely gorgeous park and the course matches park. I'd so like to see phase 2 kick in really fast. Once it does, I see this being a premier course in the area!! I will definitely play it again!! I gave it a rating based on the current 9 holes. Phase 2 will give it a solid 4.5!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Picnic Island- A nice oasis

2-4    4/18/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 278  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The City of Tampa is very excited about their new course. Some invasive species have been dropped, some extra topography has been created and the next phase, (9 more holes) is under consideration)
Good balance and variety were achieved while still utilizing "all natural" fairways. No living trees were cut down in the making of Picnic Island disc golf course.
The restroom near hole #4's parking lot are open every day. The restroom by hole #2, only on weekends. Another is located at the far south end of the park.

The "A" pin positions cater to newer players. "B" positions for advanced level play. "C" pin position primarily for pro-level or showcase play. Some red and blue tees give different looks and angles to the pins.
Cons: There are some longer walks between holes, which will (hopefully) be filled in with the completion of phase 2, the next 9. The course was installed by non-disc golfers. Despite instructions to keep the tees flat, several of the tees have an upward tilt, making powerful drives very difficult. The parks department hopes to level them in the near future. Due to PI being a nature park, concrete pads will not be poured at PI.
Weekend play can be challenging on hole #8 due to beach goers who are not yet familiar with disc golf. With time and some gentle nudging, this will eventually become a non-issue.
Before disc golf, the dog park was the only amenity in the north side of PI. Many of the dog walkers still utilize the area where disc golf is now in play. Please keep an eye out for dog walkers and gently remind them that these discs can hurt. Warning signs are being created by the City of Tampa.
Oh, and the cedar trees are very hungry. Do not feed your discs to the cedar trees!
Other Thoughts: A refreshing change from the typically land-locked courses. Located on a nicely manicured dangling participle jutting into Tampa Bay, Picnic Island dgc features lovely views of the bay and spectacular sunsets. If you're lucky, you may even catch a glimpse of a school of cavorting porpoises just off shore or possibly a cargo ship setting sail for parts unknown.

Custom orange DISCatchers adorn each green in one of 3 pin positions, and your choice of 2 Rubber 'ChamPadz' tee mats to throw from. Custom tee signs also pretty-up each tee area along with some "Think before you throw signs" that were originally intended to remind people to not litter, but also think about their actual disc golf throws.

Despite being right on the water, there is a pleasantly surprising bit of topography to keep things interesting. The light tree coverage and nearby Tampa Bay also provide some stout breezes to keep you cool while you stare down your intimidating 20 foot putts.
I will bring my rating up to 4-4.5 once the tees have been leveled and the next 9 has been properly completed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in South Tampa

2-4    5/12/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great variety of both technical and let 'er rip distance holes. A nice mix of distance and left and right turning holes rewards those who can shape shots well and/or throw both backhand and sidearm. Most of the holes felt well thought-out. It's very scenic with hills (for Florida) and a nice view of Tampa Bay along with a beach. The tees are well placed to take advantage of challenging flora. The baskets are brand new and fantastic and the signs are helpful. Each basket has a sign with an arrow pointing to the next hole.
Cons: The tees are short, rubber, and prone to sliding (for me anyway). Some of the holes were difficult to find, even with the arrows, and seemed needlessly far from the previous basket. Some of the fairways were close together and some of the driving lines were blind. Basket 7 is close to the parking lot and sooner rather than later a car will be hit. Holes 8 and 9 play along the beach and are in well traveled pedestrian areas, too well-traveled in my opinion. We had to wait on both holes near the beach (8 & 9) for park users to clear.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a beautiful course with potential and a great addition to the Tampa Bay disc golf scene. Challenging for most players. With some modifications on holes 7-9 and concrete tees this will be even better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting and Scenic.

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: xcab02
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Layout. Good use of grounds for some interesting holes. Nice blend of open and technical holes.
Cons: Should have made some holes longer as the space was available. Hole #3 could have been longer. Distance between basket and next tee pad are quite long on some holes.
Other Thoughts: They have the space to add some shorter holes to the long spaces between holes. Could also just add a few bonus holes for good measure. Overall nice course that I will play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Florida DG!

1    5/8/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The view is awesome! This is Florida Disc golf...cool breezes, beaches and sunshine. There is a challenge for all levels of skill.
Cons: Difficult navigation between holes at points.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I will be a regular.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Local Course and Love It

5+    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: usafsmith
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course if you are new or even a seasoned player. I was more than impressed with the baskets and the quality of work that went into the design of the course. By far the most scenic course in Tampa and a good start for the City of Tampa to get behind the growing sport of discgolf.
Cons: Maintenance needs to be done around the baskets to clean up the shrubs and large sticks coming out of the ground.
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling to the course recommed you just google map it so you dont get lost.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, this course is scenic. Gorgeous view. The best part of this course is that it WILL challenge your game. It has length, left turns, right turns, elevation...it will make you a better player. Great potential - long pads, short pads X 3 positions on each hole. One hole has potential to be nearly 600 feet. The players out there are friendly and helpful. So glad to see some great signs with helpful information. There is also plenty of shade in the middle of the course. When you get done, enjoy the beach, ocean and a beautiful park! I thought Maximo was beautiful until I saw this place.
Cons: Finding the course is a bit of a challenge (more on that in other thoughts). Navigation on the course is also rough. They have added arrows on the basket and that helps a ton but it takes a little looking around (between 3 & 4) and a few long walks (between 2 & 3). There are a few holes you can't see from the pad (2, 4, 7, 8, 9) so you may want to walk up and see where you are throwing and make sure it is clear. I would add no benches as a negative but it sounds like there are some on the way!
Other Thoughts: This park is a little hard to find. Make sure you make left at the big pipe over the road. When you get to the second lot, make a right and the first tee pad is at the beginning of the parking lot, not by the water. The pad by the water is hole 8. There are non-golfers in the park so be careful!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 PICture Perfect.

1    5/3/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 93  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -One of the more beautiful courses in the area. At least half the holes have views of the bay, and the 8th hole runs right along the beach.
-Great contrast in the difficulty between the red and blue tees. The reds are pretty easy for most players and very beginner friendly. The blues are longer and several holes give different looks at the basket that make for a greater challenge.
-About as good of terrain usage as you can hope for in the Tampa area. There aren't huge elevation differences, but a few humps and bumps, and the 9th hole is far enough uphill to create a blind tee shot.
-Great tee signs.
Cons: -Hole 7 brings the parking lot into play if you overthrow the basket. The tee shot is more or less blind and gusty winds from the bay breeze makes it easy to imagine a shot getting away from someone and hitting a car.
-I imagine it would be easy to lose a disc here (a pet peeve of mine). Several thick pine trees and bushes on the early holes look like they could swallow an errant drive, never to be seen again. Also, the bay runs about 30 feet to the left of the entire 8th fairway, which would be scary for right handed beginners.
Other Thoughts: I played the course when it was still very new, and in fact, I'm not even sure landscaping work was finished. That said, I'll give it a pass on some rocky patches around a couple of the baskets in hopes that this will be improved before the official opening.

I also had yet to see a map online, so I was a bit worried about getting lost, but I found navigation to be pretty easy. Each tee sign has a map of that hole, and each basket had an arrow pointing to the next tee. There were a couple of long walks between holes and a couple points where I wasn't immediately clear where the arrow was pointing, but in each case, my first guess proved correct.

There are 3 pin positions on each hole, and I only saw the A positions, but it looks like there will be some variety once the baskets get moved around.

All in all, I was impressed with the course and my cons were fairly trivial. There was good shot variety and even the shorter holes had their challenges.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.