Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Easley down the mountain.

1    1/16/2017   1/16/2017
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 86  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I love the Foothills course in Easley. It's one of the courses where if you are looking for holes that are just simply fun, this is the place. This is not a "Championship Course" or an "Amazingly thought out design." But the fun is definitely maximized.

-Family friendly park, also close to a few grocery stores and gas stations.

-Speaking of fun, the first few holes all standard par threes, but utilize great elevation changes. #1 is very tight and has a few trees straight in the fairway and the basket is up on a ledge. Holes #2 & #3 are both gradually downhill. #2 was a more of a fun, slightly wooded hole that gives many different opportunities to throw a disc 270'. #3 had more of a decrease. It reminded me of #16 at Ashe County. Just very tight and a long way downhill (maybe 40'). The hole even had some of the similar attributes of #16 at Ashe. There were mature rhododendron bushes along the fairway and past the basket. The elevation amps up with hole #4 (steep uphill when the long pin position is in play), and hole #5, a STEEP downhill ace run over the road and onto a green marked with OB stakes. However, the greatest hole in my opinion is hole 9. It is the toughest hole on the course because it's an 800' par 4. But the tee shot is one of the funnest ones I've ever played. It's a top of the world shot over the football field and plays as a dogleg right into the woods.

-Course utilizes a TON of variety. Good mix between open and wooded. There are elevation changes that go up to maybe 60 ft., the range between the hole distances is 650', so there are holes that are below 200' and one that is 800'.

-While I don't always support the idea of artificial OB's on a course, I think the ones used here are utilized quite brillantly. You could go OB on #5 if you go outside the stakes on the green. I'm not sure if it is an island green or not. #12 is also a cool hole that plays over a shallow swamp that is marked by stakes. I also thought the use of mandos was fair. There were two pointing to the right.

-There is a course kiosk, course isn't that easy to navigate so the kiosk makes up for that.

-Love how there is Heaven and Hell. There are some really tough holes out here. Most of the tough holes are hard to get frustrated on, but some are difficult because of the fairways and the tightness. Such as #11, and #16. #11 is hole you will hate if you are a beginner. It's a par 4, 570' long and wooded. I love the hole because I can birdie it, but players at my rating will still mess up on it. #16 is a frightening ace run that plays as a hyzer around a mando tree. Definitely one of the hardest short holes I have played. But there are also some very easy holes such as #15. #15 is 158' and straight downhill drop shot. Most holes here can redeem you, or leave you. That's pretty much how the whole course is.

-Plenty of benches and trash cans.
Cons: -Course has a few holes that didn't go near my level of enjoyment. #7 is one of those holes that is just irritating. It's the shortest hole on the course at 150' but you have to throw through a very small gap that is bound to kick you right into such under brush. If you kick right, you'll most likely end up taking a bogey because the thorns are so bad that they leave you with no actual window. Just a lame hole. Seems like they wanted to make this hole fun by the standards of the player that just likes to have fun. #8 is dangerous to the parking lot, and it's also a disc eater. The sloping hill is so steep that if you are a backhand thrower, you'll likely be looking in the bushes (others call it the retaining wall) to the left of the sloping fairway, or throwing beside the bushes with a stroke penalty because you rolled OB. Annoying golf to me is lame, while others may find it fun, those particular players would certainly think holes such as hole 9 are much funner than holes #7 and #8.

-The tee signs on holes #15, #16, and #18 are missing.

-Holes that play along the road don't bother me, but because of the road, there may be pedestrians.

-There is a shed on the bottom of #9's hill. It had a shattered window, and I did hit the shed, so I think I shattered the window, so if you do the same thing I did, you might lie IN the shed. That would really suck.

-Some fairways are very close to each other, and are a bit of a hindrance. After you are done with #6, the first tee-pad you'll see is #14, and holes #2 and #18 are very close to each other that #18 could be an alt. pin position for #2 and #2 could be an alt. pin for #18.
Other Thoughts: -I liked this course. It's definitely special because it is not far from the mountains so it has the elevation you'd expect at a mountain course. It has more elevation than Richmond Hill up an Asheville so that really says something about it being fun. None of the holes here except maybe #9 and #11 are what you'd expect to see on a temp. course or a top level course but they are still mostly fun.

-Other info: Hole 4 was in the short pin. when I played here. It's a decent hole from the short but I really wish it was in the long pin. That hole looks extremely fun because of the approach shot up the giant hill.

-Park is huge, at the entrance, go left not straight.

-While the hole distances may be very reachable, this course is tricky. Even would be around a 925 rating. I shot -2.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Upon Further Review

5+    6/27/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: Streetcar
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good variety of holes. Great place to work on control and technical game.
2. Elevation changes, wide open spaces and tight holes along trails makes this an interesting course.
3. Concrete tee pads. Nicely sized.
4. Course has had some work done recently to prepare for an upcoming tournament.
5. Got rid of that ridiculous hole 3 and replaced it with a new hole 10 that is much better.
6. Little green arrows on most baskets pointing to next tee.
7. Trails to next tee are mostly marked, with some exceptions.
8. Finally moved the two tee pads away from the bathroom facility sidewalk and replaced them with dedicated concrete tee pads.
Cons: 1. All tee signs are missing.
2. Player seeing the course for the first time will most likely get lost.
3. The transition from hole 6 to 7 (new hole numbers with old 3 now gone) is confusing without the tee markers.
4. New hole 10 needs a tee pad.
5. Steps on the steep ball field slopes are deteriorating so watch the exposed rebar when you use these steps.
6. Does not look like the City is committed to the overall care of this course. The steps are a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: I played this course a few times when I was learning to play. I found it difficult and unenjoyable. I could barely navigate the slopes and didn't have a game to support playing this course. Upon further review, three years later, a few pounds lighter and armed with better skill sets, I played the course again and found it enjoyable, yet still challenging and interesting. It is course that has some length to it and trouble is still easy to find. But the hole mix is good. The new hole 10 is a worthy improvement. The course is a fair test of skill offering opportunities to emphasize control shotmaking over open long throws. You will need to think about your shots and getting off the tee reasonably well is a must. Wish the City was more committed to this course. It will not take much in funds to provide new tee markers and maintain signs pointing the way to the next hole. Navigation from hole to hole is now the biggest issue at this course. An updated map posted to this site and perhaps the City's website would be nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

1    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: pask2155
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots, big open, big tight, short technical. Just all around a great course. You will use all you different discs in your bag.
Cons: Only con is it's a big confusing navigating from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: Don't know why people rated this 3.5 stars or less. It has open tight holes. Big long holes and shorter technical holes. Elevation changes like crazy!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lost

1    7/2/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: gatorfan8807
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good course, with wonderfully different holes at every turn. Makes you think long and hard about which throws to make. Once you know where you're going the course if fun.
Cons: The course is very swampy, with a local who lost his disc and we spent close to an hour looking for it. The course map at the begining did not help, after the first several holes me and my buddy got lost, luckly we ran into a local who knew his way around. If we didn't run into him we would have play maybe 5 holes and left. No markers at many of the tee pad, some holes had no tee pad! This course is great if you know where you're going but if you don't it is a waste of time. If you go pray you run into a local.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ready for next year

5+    4/12/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcphenom
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety.
- Long distances vs. short technicality
- Open air vs. tight woods
- Up vs. Down

Great use of the property.

Little to no interference with the many ball fields in the park, though a home run ball could interfere with your head on a few holes (the Big League World Series is played there each year).
Cons: Many of the signs are destroyed or completely gone.

Missing tees due to field house fence.

#10 is out of play during most of soccer season.

Skewed a bit toward LHBH (I am a lefty)
Other Thoughts: If you have a hard time with accurate drives, stay away from Foothills. The swamp holes will drive you insane.

I think there are several places where an added short tee would be nice (5,7,10,14) and some where a long tee would be great (3,9,11).

I usually play this course once a year and I look forward to it every time.

My favorite shots are #2 (straight shot down the hill from the field house), #5 (straight shot up the hill to the basket on the slope), #6 (slight left back down to the edge of the swamp), #10 (long bomb over the soccer field and down the right turn fairway), and #16 (left hook across the bridge and up the hill).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easley

1    4/17/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole types. Located in a good recreational park and easy to get to. Really good use of elevation changes. Baskets do good job of holding disc. A few holes really challenge you to throw so disc does not land on edge or you could get a long roll away from the basket. Hole 10 is up high on a hill throwing down 800' across a field. What an opportunity to unwind your best distance effort. The potential for an absolutely great course is enormous.
Cons: Signs are just terrible and pads are mostly in poor shape. You need a map to find area of some holes. A couple of holes have lost their pads to other park activity. Not a single good hole info like most courses have.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 could use just a new pad since the old one is gone. This could be a real tough place to play for a day or so after a heavy rain. On Hole 9 throw flat to stay on hill. Leave 9 basket and go straight up hill to fence and then walk around to your left to 10 pad. After basket on 6 turn around and go back to path on left.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/22/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the better courses in SC. Great mix of technical/tight wooded holes, open shots with tons of elevation changes on almost every hole. And a freakin BOMBER hole 10 that we almost thought was missing until we walked over and saw how far away it was. Great use of terrain throughout the entire course, seriously one of the best courses I've played that incorporates elevation as well as this course.
Cons: A lot of the tee signs are broken or missing altogether. It's a shame because you can tell that a lot of work has gone into this course and it sucks that some freakin idiots will destroy stuff just because they can. I think maybe two of the holes have tee areas that are fenced off now, and a lot of the rubber tee pads are started to get weathered.
Other Thoughts: Obviously signage is an issue, but I can't blame them for it because it was there and the effort was clearly made. I thought it was a good challenge and I can't wait to go back and play next time I'm in town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course but fun!

1    12/10/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: Angus2053
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Use of terrain, challenging basket location, many benches at tees. Epic hole on number 10!
Cons: Flow of holes and course information.
Other Thoughts: The tight fairways make you throw a good shot and a good use of shot and long holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course worth the drive!

5+    10/15/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 96  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Green grass & clean park setting. Great mix of shots. OK I say this a lot but this course really has it all! Short & long. Tightly wooded & wide open. Wooded to open. Open to wooded. OB's, Mandos, water in play. Up & downhill throws including a true "Top of the World" shot. Practice basket, bathrooms & covered picnic areas with ample paved parking. Benches on most holes. Descriptive tee signs.
Cons: Some of the Tee signs are damaged/vandalized or missing. Some navigation issues if you dont have a course map. The tee pads for hole #2 & #18 have been completely fenced off because of new development at the baseball diamonds. I dont know the situation but it would've been nice if somebody from the D.G. club could've colaborated with the builder to have these tee pad areas left open.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play. I think it would entertain Pro & intermediate players. I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is fair if you play the right shot. If you stray offline, you may pay a heavy price.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easley is Easily Sweet

1    8/29/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 143  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Well maintained park, fairways were well mowed, steps have been added to hillsides, stumps from cut trees have been painted to make them more visible
*Baskets are all discatchers and in good condition
*Variety! I love the variety this course offers. There is a good mix of long/short holes, uphill/downhill holes, open/wooded holes. It seemed as though there were more holes favoring righties, but not a substantial amount.
*The facility the course is located at is very nice, there is a nice pavilion near the start of the course with a coke machine, porta-potty, and a nice playground.
*Benches and trashcans available at nearly all tee stations
*Nice kiosk located at the parking lot, there was a slot for scorecards, but it was empty. Other information regarding discgolf at nearby courses was also displayed
*Concrete (not all pads) pads were large and level
Cons: *Signs-many were missing, down, broken, not to be found. Also, some had the hole information on it including hole number, distance, and a hole layout (laminated paper), but most did not.
*Navigation can be tricky, especially with the missing signs. A solution? Print off a map or what I did was take a picture of the course map at the kiosk board with my camera and refer to it to navigate throughout the round.
*Teepads were mixed, some concrete, some dirt, others rubber mats. I believe the teepads for holes 2 and 18 were origianally on the concrete next to the pavilion, but that has been fenced off so you'll have to tee of from the gravel.
Other Thoughts: The thing that I liked most about this course is the variety. I loved the elevation changes. There are quite a few downhill holes, 2, 4, 6, 10, 15, and 18. 6 was the most dramatic, 10 was a blast just launching a disc into an open field from the elevated tee pad, and a short steep ace run at 15. Uphill holes added to the challenge, specifically number 5 comes to mind being a longer hole with the basket on a steep slope. Holes 9 and 14 used a side hill to throw in the mix, 9 had a retaining wall at the bottom of the hilll of the basket to keep discs from rolling to far. The wooded holes were tight to test your aim, but not overly tight by any means. You will be rewarded if you can throw straight and stay on the fairway, otherwise you might have trouble taking a 4.
These things really make me feel like this course deserves a 4 rating, with a few changes, it could definitely be a 4.5 in my opinion: tee signs need to be repaired with hole number and distance as well as a map of the hole. It'd be nice if all pads were concrete, and a few navigation signs wouldn't hurt.
I really enjoyed this course and will play again when I'm back in the area. There are many other nice courses in the Greenville area, but I'd say this one is EASELY the best:)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.