Disc Golf Store
Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 243ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Easley

1    4/17/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole types. Located in a good recreational park and easy to get to. Really good use of elevation changes. Baskets do good job of holding disc. A few holes really challenge you to throw so disc does not land on edge or you could get a long roll away from the basket. Hole 10 is up high on a hill throwing down 800' across a field. What an opportunity to unwind your best distance effort. The potential for an absolutely great course is enormous.
Cons: Signs are just terrible and pads are mostly in poor shape. You need a map to find area of some holes. A couple of holes have lost their pads to other park activity. Not a single good hole info like most courses have.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 could use just a new pad since the old one is gone. This could be a real tough place to play for a day or so after a heavy rain. On Hole 9 throw flat to stay on hill. Leave 9 basket and go straight up hill to fence and then walk around to your left to 10 pad. After basket on 6 turn around and go back to path on left.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

As of May 2014, Foothills is going downhill.

2-4    5/17/2014   4/21/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The name says it all - course has a lot of elevation, presenting some good uphill & downhill holes. The problems seem to be with the other holes.
- Course offers some very good & challenging holes. If you take the six best holes, and make and had a full 18 of that quality, you'd have a 4.0+ level course.
- Wonderful use of elevation, and the hills throughout the course. Six legitimate downhill holes (2, 4, 6, 10, 15 & 18) and 4 legit uphill holes (5, 8, 14 & 16.) Yes, I know other holes have slight elevation changes, but I'm only referring to dramatic, foothill-esque changes.
- For the downhillers, #2, 4 & 18 all are enjoyable while also presenting challenge. Side note that #10 is WAY overrated. Throwing from a small mound to and open soccer field is the course's best hole, really? For the uphillers, #5 & 14 were both quality holes made difficult simply because of the added length. Both place a premium on accurate tee shots, in order to set up aggressive second shots. If you have a solid tee shot, a 3 on both holes is possible. A bad tee shot means you might be scrambling just to make 4.
- Good flow to the holes. You never feel like you're playing the same type of shot, or layout, too often. Good flow from wooded to open holes, from flat to up & down holes throughout the course.
- Good variety of holes. There are plenty of shorter, birdie 2 chances. Plus, there are some longer, multi-shot holes where there's a higher risk/reward factor. Even the two holes that run along the creek (#7 & 12) force you to throw smart or you'll be wet, or in the mud/swamp, as is the case for #12.
- My favorite holes are #5 and #11. Two great holes that offer really challenge and a real chance for solid shot making. I had a tap-in 3 on #5, a well-earned effort after two great shots. I scrambled for a 4 on #11, which still didn't seem all that bad. These are clearly two of the highlights on this course.
Cons: Prior to playing in May 2014, I had last played in spring of 2011. In the three years since, it was clear this course had gotten very little attention. Broken or missing tee pads. Most tee signs were missing. Broken stairs, lots of trash, lack of signage and just a general sense of being ignored. All the $$$ at this park went to the baseball fields, clearly none was left over for the disc golf community.
- And the worst part was the abomination of how they ruined, in my opinion, the course's best hole - #6. As part of the baseball field overhaul, they destroyed the fair for #6, paving a path that leads to nowhere - well, actually the swamp - and moved the basket. What was a fun, downhill, potential ace run, risk/reward hole, was now a hole blocked by trees that had no fun-factor whatsoever.
- Also, in three years' time, how has this course not added a tee pad for #3? Is it that worn dirt patch? If so, the distance is incorrect. If the tee pad is elsewhere, why is there still no signage? Other spots on the course the distances on the map seem wrong. On #11, the distance is listed at 458 feet. There are two tees on this hole, the long seems to be in the 550 - 600 foot range. The short is in the 350 - 400 foot range. Are we just split the difference for our hole length?
- Holes #15 - 17 are a poor way to close this course. All are short and relatively uninspiring. The only saving grace is that #18 is a solid way to end your round.
- Spacing could be improved. There are a lot of holes cramped together in some areas, while there's a ton of room in the back of the course (#9 - 11). Seems there's enough area to add another hole or two there, which could open up, or toughen, a couple of the holes near the front.
- The swamp/mud pit along the right of #12 needs to be cleaned up. That hole has amazing risk/reward potential all over it if it were a clean body of water. But, knowing you're going to land in the mud kills some of the desire to be aggressive. Having had to retrieve a disc from it, I can attest to the unpleasantness of dealing with the mud/swamp. If you want to tempt people, you have to at least make it appealing.
- Very few amenities in the DG-portion of the park. There are restrooms in the pavilion near holes #2 & 18, but there are none on the course, nor any water fountains. At least there are a fair amount of benches, especially on the back 9, when you might need them after all that walking.
Other Thoughts: The course, while thoroughly enjoying, seemed somewhat scattered, like it was trying to appeal to too wide of an audience. There were too many short, easy holes to be considered elite, but there were also too many challenging holes to be considered beginner friendly. IMO, advanced players are going to rack up too many birdies to consider the overall course challenging, and newbies are going to get frustrated with the harder holes.
- You will definitely get a workout just walking the course. Between all the elevation changes, and how spaced out the course is, you're going to be struggling by the end if you're not in shape.
- Simply put, #3 needs to go. It's a simple transition from #2 to #4. Add another hole in between #9 & 10 (a simple uphiller) or shorten #10, and add another hole back where #10's basket is currently located. Anything would be better than that. It would also be nice to see one of #15 - 17 eliminated and another hole added somewhere else.
- Between #3 and #15 - 17, you have such a weak group of holes, especially for a course that is otherwise pretty decent. #8 & 9 leave something to be desired as well, but when others are worse, it's easy to forget about these.
- Back in 2011, I gave this course a 3.5 rating. I've since downgrade my rating to a 3.0 to reflect these negative changes. It was such a letdown playing again three years later. The overall quality of the course was so much worse, and it wasn't helped by the amount of time, attention and money given to other parts of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/18/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 44  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place was mostly pretty cool and challenging, without being so difficult that I couldn't enjoy it. Some courses pride themselves on making the course almost unplayable for novice or even intermediate players, but not here. As one who doesn't have a great arm keeping discs in narrow fairways, these were even and fair. There was a also a lot of 'dive bomb' shots where you cranked it hard down hill which is always fun.

And the variety of holes was decent.
Cons: As everyone said...Signs, Signs, Signs! I almost quit playing due to getting so freakin' aggravated trying to find the next hole! The first 4 will drive you nuts.
Other Thoughts: This could be a truly great hole with consistent tee pads and signage. I'll definitely play this one some more, but for the new player, it will definitely be a challenge to find your way around

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Foothills DGC is fun and challenging

1    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park that is well maintained, lots of parking, course finishes and ends near a parking area. This is a large park and the course is really spread out with lots of changes in scenery; at times it does not seem like you are even in the same park you started in. All but a few tee boxes are concrete and nice and long (one or two on the back nine are dirt with rubber pads). Benches and trash cans at most tee pads. Mostly in the woods with good fairways and hardly any underbrush where you can lose a disc. Some serious elevation changes with many uphill/downhill shots; almost all of these holes have well-maintained (and much appreciated) timber stairs to get up/down. Some of the basket areas have timber retaining walls, so someone has made a serious capital investment in this course. A few wide open shots that will let you test your long drives. Creek and swamp in play on many holes.
Cons: If you are not in good shape, this course could be a bear to navigate all 18 holes. There is a lot of walking distance-wise and a lot of hikes up and down steep inclines, although many have steps. I liked the good workout but this could limit some players or cause them to bail before finishing. Some of the steps were unusable making for some risky descents to the basket. Because the course is so spread out (a plus), it can be difficult to navigate. My group had a course map printed out from this website (a must!) and we still had a few issues finding some tee boxes. All of the tee pads have sign posts, but most had been vandalized and the hole maps damaged or removed. Landing in the swampy area means a 100% chance of a disc loss. There are a few holes I would like to see my more experienced friends play because to me it seems like a 50/50 proposition for losing a disc even to a pro.
Other Thoughts: A great place to spend a couple of hours throwing a round of disc golf. I have only been playing for about three months and this course was technically challenging for me, but in a way that motivated, not discouraged. This was a good test and makes me want to come back after improving my game to see if I am better up to the challenge. I would enjoy playing this course any time I was in the area. It is about 90 minutes from my Atlanta home and will be included in future disc golf weekend outings.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center