Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 287ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course worth the drive!

5+    10/15/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 80  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Green grass & clean park setting. Great mix of shots. OK I say this a lot but this course really has it all! Short & long. Tightly wooded & wide open. Wooded to open. Open to wooded. OB's, Mandos, water in play. Up & downhill throws including a true "Top of the World" shot. Practice basket, bathrooms & covered picnic areas with ample paved parking. Benches on most holes. Descriptive tee signs.
Cons: Some of the Tee signs are damaged/vandalized or missing. Some navigation issues if you dont have a course map. The tee pads for hole #2 & #18 have been completely fenced off because of new development at the baseball diamonds. I dont know the situation but it would've been nice if somebody from the D.G. club could've colaborated with the builder to have these tee pad areas left open.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play. I think it would entertain Pro & intermediate players. I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is fair if you play the right shot. If you stray offline, you may pay a heavy price.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Up, down and side to side

1    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many holes that make you say WOAH the first time you play...shear beauty and a lot of "how the ... can I get up that?"
A ton of up and down...this course has more "top of the world" shots than I have ever seen at one time.
Lots of baskets placed in precarious places that force you to play wise or watch your disc roll into the next time zone.
Large mix of hole lengths.
Stairs on most of the rough ups and downs.
Cons: As stated before, a lot of the signs and poles are in poor shape, it would be nice to have concrete tees on all holes but the natural and rubber ones aren't horrible.
Some of the fairways were in pretty dire need of a mowing.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course that could be one of the best. A little bit of work and effort is all that is needed. The variety is there, the terrain is frankly almost evil and perfect for a sadistic round of disc.

New signs, some maintenance and this is a 4.5.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Monster

1    9/6/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Monster of a course! Requires much skill and power. Finesse is a key here.
Cons: Elevation changes are nice in some areas but you walk up a 90 degree angle from basket to teepad on alot of holes. I say this is a CON unless you just need the workout. The 800ft hole is a beast and really a killer of confidence for the average player. They would benefit by putting a shorter basket near the far corner of the long field. This would allow for some super long ace chances for the above average player and a few birdie/par chances for the below to average player. Leave the long tee for the pros and make a shorter tee for the regular arms. Lots of risky disc losing areas on this course. Keep your eyes out on your tee shot.
Other Thoughts: Long tiring course. I enjoyed it but it will hurt your ego if you are not accurate and long off the tee.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hills, tress and swamps

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with plenty of parking. Benches and trash cans everywhere. Good mix of holes. Short tight shots, and long bombs. Makes use of the hills on many holes. No obvious advatantage to being backhand or forehand player. Need to use many different shots to play well. Several chances for ace runs and birdies.
Cons: Navigation. A little challenging to find the next tee in a few spots. Many of the signs at the tees have been vandalized or damaged. One hole (13, I think) is down a hill on the edge of the swamp. It may get real messy after heavy rains of in a wet time of the year. A few of the tees are natural and not concrete. Short natural tee on hill shot. Be careful.
Other Thoughts: Real nice course. I would definitely play again if I am in the area. If they can keep pepole from destroying the signs it would really help. A few new tee pads and some help finding the hext tee and this course is a gem.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 For those who love throwing downhill....

2-4    7/4/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course takes advantage of a huge slope off the back of some athletic fields, with, as best I recall, 5 major downhill throws. They range from as-far-as-your-disc-will-glide on hole 10, to ace-runs if you can navigate the trees. There's lots more downhill than uphill, owing to a few steep climbs from basket to next tee---all worthwhile, as the downhills throws are always more fun!

70% of the course is tight wooded holes, in almost all conceivable variations of right/left/long/short/downhill/and a little uphill. Lots of precision required, but not one is unfair. (#3 comes close).

Holes #9 is unlike any hole I've ever played. A long sweeping right turn, with the entire fairway grass and incredibly sloped from low on the left to high on the right. It takes a skillful shot to stick on the fairway, and those that don't will likely roll left into the OB parking lot.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing, with most of the course in the woods, where there are a myriad of confusing trails and unexpecting routing. Two tees are just markings on cement sidewalks around a concession area.

Two holes feature a swamp with dense vegetation running the length of the fairway (one on the your right, the other on your left).
Other Thoughts: While most of the course is in deep and often hilly woods, holes 9-11 are completely different, providing a total change-of-pace in the middle of your round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The things i like about this course are:
1. Mix of wooded holes and open holes
2. Quite a few long holes where you can really whip the disc. (10 is my personal favorite, i empty my bag on that one every time)
3. The elevation changes are great
4. There are a good mix of straight shots and dog legs.
5. The park is very well kept
6. Each hole is different so it doenst feel repeatative.
Cons: Things i dont like:
1. Not a good course to play if you just want to play a relaxing game.
2. There are no next tee signs, and if its your first time going, you'll have some difficulties finding the next tees.
3. The swamp is a disc swallower. If your disc goes in the swamp, theres a good chance its not coming out. I often skip number 7 because of its difficulty and the swamp just sitting there waiting to eat my disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is difficult, especially for a beginner, just keep in mind that its just a game and that your out there to have fun. This is my home course, and i feel lucky to have it so close by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Footshills Intriguing

2-4    4/28/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: tmgoff
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foothills DGC rests within a county park, and appears well funded. Benches and trashcans are provided at nearly every tee and the grounds are generally free of trash. The local group responsible for the course has taken studied consideration for the course's layout and, as such, the course plays very well. The vast majority of the 18 are tight par 3s with narrow - yet defined - fairways that approach highly guarded &/or tricky pin placements. Ironically, the signature hole is the 800', Par 5 10th. An elevated tee shoots down into a very well manicured field and then follows a wooded fairway into a dogleg right green. You'll empty your bag on this tee pad a few times, we did.
Cons: 16 of the holes are a delight to shoot. I might recommend that 3 and 14 be considered for reconfiguration. #3 is a blind, uphill, hard dogleg left par 3 ranging about 185 feet. There is no poured tee box, a completely wooded fairway and the hole layout is so ill-defined and blind that its really a throw-away hole. #14 might have seemed so weak because of #12 just before it, which is one of the nicest holes @ Foothills, (#12 is a sweet and reachable par 3 where righties must carry a swamp the entire length of the hole to an exposed green The layout is quite stunning). Anyway, # 14 presents itself as somewhat of a failed compromise. It runs parrallel to #8 and demands the same, tightly focused tee shot up hill and through a narrow gap of timber. However, the hole then turns immediately right, carries the slope of a hillside, to a pin placement 200' down the line. # 14 seems to be a desperate attempt to carve out a Par 4 on a course full of Par 3s. While niether of these two holes are so bad as to diminish the overall play of Foothills DGC, they take the course from an Excellent rating to (3.5) Very Good. Were they reconfigured, or cleaned up somewhat Foothills might be approaching the Phenomenal level.
Also, keep in mind the rating system here is very insightful but also highly arbitrary: if you're a player that doesn't like tight, wooded par 3s with lots of elevation changes, you're gonna hate this course. Its technical and you'll need to have a consistently tight target zone to score well. Foothills demands execution and punishes variance. Thats a good thing.
Other Thoughts: The course is what I call Road Trip worthy, on a regional level. If you live in southern North Carolina, north Georgia or anywhere in the upper piedmont region of South Carolina you're doing yourself a disservice if you don't go and shoot this course.
Finally, if you do day trip out to play it, pack some burgers and dogs in a cooler and grill lunch inbetween rounds. There is a sweet little camp grill back in the woods (where I'm positive only the DG community knows about it) between the 4th & 5th holes. There's even a picnic bench back there too if I remember correctly. While I've only shot 2 of the Greenville area's 18-holers (timmons and Foothills), Foothills is strong; stop reading and go shoot it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kicked my butt

2-4    4/28/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of lefty/righty shots. Plenty of shade in the woods to take a break from the sun. Most holes have very generously sized concrete tee pads. Hole 10 is just awesome for emptying your bag and trying to get some max D. Overall a nice looking course. Water/swamp in play on many holes. Good use of elevation changes and many holes play strongly up and down in addition to left/right. 90 percent of the holes have benches and there are plenty of trashcans around - the course was quite clean, which is refreshing.

A couple of the holes have really great pin placements with ace runs possible.
Cons: Some tee boxes are dirt or dirt/rubber. Some are quite short preventing a real runup if that's your style. 'Nex-Tee' signs are nonexistent. About six holes have damaged or missing signage. Grass in most fairway areas is getting tall and needs to be cut.

Not really a con, but keep in mind that this is a very hilly course. If you don't (or can't) climb hills very well, I'd suggest you go elsewhere as it requires a lot of climbing to tees and pins.

The pin placement on 10 is weird. Instead of putting it near the nice flat retaining wall, it's deep back in a bunch of scrubby woods. Every person there had to search for it -- then when found, were like WTF is it *here*?

One last thing -- hole 3 is silly. It is 150 foot dogleg left then right par 3 back into the woods and there is really no fairway. Cut a few trees and it'll be way better...oh, and pour a teepad, please!
Other Thoughts: It's a good course. Too good for me actually. Since a few of the signs were missing/damaged we couldn't calculate over/under par and had to just count total strokes instead. The course is tough for a person who doesn't have very good accuracy like myself. It will punish your inaccuracy in every way possible - water, multiple tree hits per hole, etc. so bring your A game. I didn't, and I paid for it with a 69 and a 73. Hole 12 in particular is 'risk/reward' with lots of trees and a swamp on the right side. If you can hit, you can birdie. Me? I triple bogied with a tree shot off the tee and an OB into the swamp. It's not a con -- just know that the course is challenging. My buddy who normally scores well on this sort of course only managed 3 birdies in two full rounds.

We'll be back to play it again, and hopefully my accuracy and putting will be there. I could have been down around 60 if my game had been on.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.