Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #15 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 158ft.   3 / 158ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ready for next year

5+    4/12/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcphenom
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety.
- Long distances vs. short technicality
- Open air vs. tight woods
- Up vs. Down

Great use of the property.

Little to no interference with the many ball fields in the park, though a home run ball could interfere with your head on a few holes (the Big League World Series is played there each year).
Cons: Many of the signs are destroyed or completely gone.

Missing tees due to field house fence.

#10 is out of play during most of soccer season.

Skewed a bit toward LHBH (I am a lefty)
Other Thoughts: If you have a hard time with accurate drives, stay away from Foothills. The swamp holes will drive you insane.

I think there are several places where an added short tee would be nice (5,7,10,14) and some where a long tee would be great (3,9,11).

I usually play this course once a year and I look forward to it every time.

My favorite shots are #2 (straight shot down the hill from the field house), #5 (straight shot up the hill to the basket on the slope), #6 (slight left back down to the edge of the swamp), #10 (long bomb over the soccer field and down the right turn fairway), and #16 (left hook across the bridge and up the hill).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course but fun!

1    12/10/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: Angus2053
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Use of terrain, challenging basket location, many benches at tees. Epic hole on number 10!
Cons: Flow of holes and course information.
Other Thoughts: The tight fairways make you throw a good shot and a good use of shot and long holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easley is Easily Sweet

1    8/29/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Well maintained park, fairways were well mowed, steps have been added to hillsides, stumps from cut trees have been painted to make them more visible
*Baskets are all discatchers and in good condition
*Variety! I love the variety this course offers. There is a good mix of long/short holes, uphill/downhill holes, open/wooded holes. It seemed as though there were more holes favoring righties, but not a substantial amount.
*The facility the course is located at is very nice, there is a nice pavilion near the start of the course with a coke machine, porta-potty, and a nice playground.
*Benches and trashcans available at nearly all tee stations
*Nice kiosk located at the parking lot, there was a slot for scorecards, but it was empty. Other information regarding discgolf at nearby courses was also displayed
*Concrete (not all pads) pads were large and level
Cons: *Signs-many were missing, down, broken, not to be found. Also, some had the hole information on it including hole number, distance, and a hole layout (laminated paper), but most did not.
*Navigation can be tricky, especially with the missing signs. A solution? Print off a map or what I did was take a picture of the course map at the kiosk board with my camera and refer to it to navigate throughout the round.
*Teepads were mixed, some concrete, some dirt, others rubber mats. I believe the teepads for holes 2 and 18 were origianally on the concrete next to the pavilion, but that has been fenced off so you'll have to tee of from the gravel.
Other Thoughts: The thing that I liked most about this course is the variety. I loved the elevation changes. There are quite a few downhill holes, 2, 4, 6, 10, 15, and 18. 6 was the most dramatic, 10 was a blast just launching a disc into an open field from the elevated tee pad, and a short steep ace run at 15. Uphill holes added to the challenge, specifically number 5 comes to mind being a longer hole with the basket on a steep slope. Holes 9 and 14 used a side hill to throw in the mix, 9 had a retaining wall at the bottom of the hilll of the basket to keep discs from rolling to far. The wooded holes were tight to test your aim, but not overly tight by any means. You will be rewarded if you can throw straight and stay on the fairway, otherwise you might have trouble taking a 4.
These things really make me feel like this course deserves a 4 rating, with a few changes, it could definitely be a 4.5 in my opinion: tee signs need to be repaired with hole number and distance as well as a map of the hole. It'd be nice if all pads were concrete, and a few navigation signs wouldn't hurt.
I really enjoyed this course and will play again when I'm back in the area. There are many other nice courses in the Greenville area, but I'd say this one is EASELY the best:)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Rook Review

1    3/13/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: CaroTex
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the most challenging course I have played yet. There were plenty playing out here today, but I never felt crowded or rushed here, really good game flow. The paths are in great shape and every tee has a map of the fairway.
Cons: Still hard to find a few holes without a map for the first timer (me).
Other Thoughts: The course is in great shape and I can't wait to play there again soon!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: dg_hack
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of long/short, tight/open fairways, up/down hills. Benches at most tees. Beautiful walk through the woods and great use of a lot space. Many holes make you think about how you will throw to reach the basket even on the open fairways rather than simply spotting the basket and throwing towards it and being able to play from wherever it lands. Distance is needed to make par on a couple of the holes but shot placement is key on all of the holes. Many of the baskets are on hillsides so you must be careful about your approach to ensure you disc does not roll farther away from the basket than you threw from originally. There is a lot of up and down hills but all of the stairs I used were in at least good repair.
Cons: Many of the signs at the tees are vandalized / broken / faded / missing which sometimes makes it hard to know where you are throwing to. This is especially a problem on longer holes or those with a dogleg making the basket hard or impossible to see from the tee. Also, between holes where it is not immediately apparent where the next hole is a little help by way of a sign would be nice. If it is your first time playing this course and you are not going with someone who has played before chances are you will need a map to find some of the tees.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of walking up and down some pretty steep hills so make sure you are in shape before you play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing? Easley!

1    11/1/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Really Pretty Holes. Gorgeous FAIRways with great shape, perfect gaps, grass, woods, creeks, swamps, elevation, mountain views...
- Protected Holes. The fairways and gaps are more than FAIR… but, miss them and you'll pay with a bogey; and, with thick vegetation or OB creeks, swamps, and roads protecting several baskets, this course is fun.
- Taken Care Of (mostly). Most of the holes on this course have great concrete tee-pads with wonderful traction. Steps built into the hillsides were well done. Retaining walled pin locations look awesome. A few benches, trashcans, and a big DG kiosk in the parking lot. Kudos to whoever is doing such a good job.
Cons:
- Signage. Lots of the signage was missing and/or damaged beyond the point of use. And, on several holes it would have been nice to know that there was a creek next to the basket, or a swampy area, or OB in general.
- Tee-Pads. There were a few non-concrete pads and one that was washed out (hole 3).
- Busted Stuff. Several of the signs and numbered posts were busted up.
Other Thoughts:
- $2000 Away. This course is Bad Ass and with approximately $2000 could be exceptional. Foothills would benefit tremendously from a minor makeover: new signs and a few more concrete tee-pads is all it needs.
- Destination Golf. There are several really GREAT courses in this area: Va-Du-Mar, Century Park, and Foothills… Timmons is cool too. If you're on a road trip and want to hit a lot of cool stuff, the greater Greenville SC area is a great option.
- Print out the linked map. Navigation was pretty easy... but we needed the map twice. And, finding the tee's under the gazeebo/snack shack (#2 & 18) would have been tough if we didn't know they were there.
- My Score: -6

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 easley SC

5+    1/3/2001   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is where they have the little big league world series was held. So the park itself is awesome! The DGC is pretty good too. Its long and unforgiving. Top players need to check it out.
Cons: only on restroom at the beginning. So when you are at the back of the course you are very far away from everything.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge the best players

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/23/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: marcusdavis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. Tight faiways on some holes, open on others. Lefties, righties and some with both. A chance to use just about every disc in your bag for this course. Very clean, good tee boxes, catchers in great shape. Benches and trash cans present throughout the course. Course flows well with #18 ending near #1.
Cons: Some signs missing. Need signs pointing to next Tee on some holes.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.