Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 287ft.   3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Down hill long tight fairway. Slight break to the left about half way down the fairway.



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 easley SC

5+    1/3/2001   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is where they have the little big league world series was held. So the park itself is awesome! The DGC is pretty good too. Its long and unforgiving. Top players need to check it out.
Cons: only on restroom at the beginning. So when you are at the back of the course you are very far away from everything.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge the best players

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 For those who love throwing downhill....

2-4    7/4/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course takes advantage of a huge slope off the back of some athletic fields, with, as best I recall, 5 major downhill throws. They range from as-far-as-your-disc-will-glide on hole 10, to ace-runs if you can navigate the trees. There's lots more downhill than uphill, owing to a few steep climbs from basket to next tee---all worthwhile, as the downhills throws are always more fun!

70% of the course is tight wooded holes, in almost all conceivable variations of right/left/long/short/downhill/and a little uphill. Lots of precision required, but not one is unfair. (#3 comes close).

Holes #9 is unlike any hole I've ever played. A long sweeping right turn, with the entire fairway grass and incredibly sloped from low on the left to high on the right. It takes a skillful shot to stick on the fairway, and those that don't will likely roll left into the OB parking lot.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing, with most of the course in the woods, where there are a myriad of confusing trails and unexpecting routing. Two tees are just markings on cement sidewalks around a concession area.

Two holes feature a swamp with dense vegetation running the length of the fairway (one on the your right, the other on your left).
Other Thoughts: While most of the course is in deep and often hilly woods, holes 9-11 are completely different, providing a total change-of-pace in the middle of your round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The things i like about this course are:
1. Mix of wooded holes and open holes
2. Quite a few long holes where you can really whip the disc. (10 is my personal favorite, i empty my bag on that one every time)
3. The elevation changes are great
4. There are a good mix of straight shots and dog legs.
5. The park is very well kept
6. Each hole is different so it doenst feel repeatative.
Cons: Things i dont like:
1. Not a good course to play if you just want to play a relaxing game.
2. There are no next tee signs, and if its your first time going, you'll have some difficulties finding the next tees.
3. The swamp is a disc swallower. If your disc goes in the swamp, theres a good chance its not coming out. I often skip number 7 because of its difficulty and the swamp just sitting there waiting to eat my disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is difficult, especially for a beginner, just keep in mind that its just a game and that your out there to have fun. This is my home course, and i feel lucky to have it so close by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Footshills Intriguing

2-4    4/28/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: tmgoff
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foothills DGC rests within a county park, and appears well funded. Benches and trashcans are provided at nearly every tee and the grounds are generally free of trash. The local group responsible for the course has taken studied consideration for the course's layout and, as such, the course plays very well. The vast majority of the 18 are tight par 3s with narrow - yet defined - fairways that approach highly guarded &/or tricky pin placements. Ironically, the signature hole is the 800', Par 5 10th. An elevated tee shoots down into a very well manicured field and then follows a wooded fairway into a dogleg right green. You'll empty your bag on this tee pad a few times, we did.
Cons: 16 of the holes are a delight to shoot. I might recommend that 3 and 14 be considered for reconfiguration. #3 is a blind, uphill, hard dogleg left par 3 ranging about 185 feet. There is no poured tee box, a completely wooded fairway and the hole layout is so ill-defined and blind that its really a throw-away hole. #14 might have seemed so weak because of #12 just before it, which is one of the nicest holes @ Foothills, (#12 is a sweet and reachable par 3 where righties must carry a swamp the entire length of the hole to an exposed green The layout is quite stunning). Anyway, # 14 presents itself as somewhat of a failed compromise. It runs parrallel to #8 and demands the same, tightly focused tee shot up hill and through a narrow gap of timber. However, the hole then turns immediately right, carries the slope of a hillside, to a pin placement 200' down the line. # 14 seems to be a desperate attempt to carve out a Par 4 on a course full of Par 3s. While niether of these two holes are so bad as to diminish the overall play of Foothills DGC, they take the course from an Excellent rating to (3.5) Very Good. Were they reconfigured, or cleaned up somewhat Foothills might be approaching the Phenomenal level.
Also, keep in mind the rating system here is very insightful but also highly arbitrary: if you're a player that doesn't like tight, wooded par 3s with lots of elevation changes, you're gonna hate this course. Its technical and you'll need to have a consistently tight target zone to score well. Foothills demands execution and punishes variance. Thats a good thing.
Other Thoughts: The course is what I call Road Trip worthy, on a regional level. If you live in southern North Carolina, north Georgia or anywhere in the upper piedmont region of South Carolina you're doing yourself a disservice if you don't go and shoot this course.
Finally, if you do day trip out to play it, pack some burgers and dogs in a cooler and grill lunch inbetween rounds. There is a sweet little camp grill back in the woods (where I'm positive only the DG community knows about it) between the 4th & 5th holes. There's even a picnic bench back there too if I remember correctly. While I've only shot 2 of the Greenville area's 18-holers (timmons and Foothills), Foothills is strong; stop reading and go shoot it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

5+    7/4/2005   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A (even the shot holes have enough intrigue to make deuces rewarding)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+ (This course has the most unique holes I have experienced)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Kicked my butt

2-4    4/28/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of lefty/righty shots. Plenty of shade in the woods to take a break from the sun. Most holes have very generously sized concrete tee pads. Hole 10 is just awesome for emptying your bag and trying to get some max D. Overall a nice looking course. Water/swamp in play on many holes. Good use of elevation changes and many holes play strongly up and down in addition to left/right. 90 percent of the holes have benches and there are plenty of trashcans around - the course was quite clean, which is refreshing.

A couple of the holes have really great pin placements with ace runs possible.
Cons: Some tee boxes are dirt or dirt/rubber. Some are quite short preventing a real runup if that's your style. 'Nex-Tee' signs are nonexistent. About six holes have damaged or missing signage. Grass in most fairway areas is getting tall and needs to be cut.

Not really a con, but keep in mind that this is a very hilly course. If you don't (or can't) climb hills very well, I'd suggest you go elsewhere as it requires a lot of climbing to tees and pins.

The pin placement on 10 is weird. Instead of putting it near the nice flat retaining wall, it's deep back in a bunch of scrubby woods. Every person there had to search for it -- then when found, were like WTF is it *here*?

One last thing -- hole 3 is silly. It is 150 foot dogleg left then right par 3 back into the woods and there is really no fairway. Cut a few trees and it'll be way better...oh, and pour a teepad, please!
Other Thoughts: It's a good course. Too good for me actually. Since a few of the signs were missing/damaged we couldn't calculate over/under par and had to just count total strokes instead. The course is tough for a person who doesn't have very good accuracy like myself. It will punish your inaccuracy in every way possible - water, multiple tree hits per hole, etc. so bring your A game. I didn't, and I paid for it with a 69 and a 73. Hole 12 in particular is 'risk/reward' with lots of trees and a swamp on the right side. If you can hit, you can birdie. Me? I triple bogied with a tree shot off the tee and an OB into the swamp. It's not a con -- just know that the course is challenging. My buddy who normally scores well on this sort of course only managed 3 birdies in two full rounds.

We'll be back to play it again, and hopefully my accuracy and putting will be there. I could have been down around 60 if my game had been on.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/23/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: marcusdavis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. Tight faiways on some holes, open on others. Lefties, righties and some with both. A chance to use just about every disc in your bag for this course. Very clean, good tee boxes, catchers in great shape. Benches and trash cans present throughout the course. Course flows well with #18 ending near #1.
Cons: Some signs missing. Need signs pointing to next Tee on some holes.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.