Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 395ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket (from the south)



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Great course

1    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: pask2155
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots, big open, big tight, short technical. Just all around a great course. You will use all you different discs in your bag.
Cons: Only con is it's a big confusing navigating from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: Don't know why people rated this 3.5 stars or less. It has open tight holes. Big long holes and shorter technical holes. Elevation changes like crazy!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lost

1    7/2/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: gatorfan8807
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good course, with wonderfully different holes at every turn. Makes you think long and hard about which throws to make. Once you know where you're going the course if fun.
Cons: The course is very swampy, with a local who lost his disc and we spent close to an hour looking for it. The course map at the begining did not help, after the first several holes me and my buddy got lost, luckly we ran into a local who knew his way around. If we didn't run into him we would have play maybe 5 holes and left. No markers at many of the tee pad, some holes had no tee pad! This course is great if you know where you're going but if you don't it is a waste of time. If you go pray you run into a local.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ready for next year

5+    4/12/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcphenom
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety.
- Long distances vs. short technicality
- Open air vs. tight woods
- Up vs. Down

Great use of the property.

Little to no interference with the many ball fields in the park, though a home run ball could interfere with your head on a few holes (the Big League World Series is played there each year).
Cons: Many of the signs are destroyed or completely gone.

Missing tees due to field house fence.

#10 is out of play during most of soccer season.

Skewed a bit toward LHBH (I am a lefty)
Other Thoughts: If you have a hard time with accurate drives, stay away from Foothills. The swamp holes will drive you insane.

I think there are several places where an added short tee would be nice (5,7,10,14) and some where a long tee would be great (3,9,11).

I usually play this course once a year and I look forward to it every time.

My favorite shots are #2 (straight shot down the hill from the field house), #5 (straight shot up the hill to the basket on the slope), #6 (slight left back down to the edge of the swamp), #10 (long bomb over the soccer field and down the right turn fairway), and #16 (left hook across the bridge and up the hill).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easley

1    4/17/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole types. Located in a good recreational park and easy to get to. Really good use of elevation changes. Baskets do good job of holding disc. A few holes really challenge you to throw so disc does not land on edge or you could get a long roll away from the basket. Hole 10 is up high on a hill throwing down 800' across a field. What an opportunity to unwind your best distance effort. The potential for an absolutely great course is enormous.
Cons: Signs are just terrible and pads are mostly in poor shape. You need a map to find area of some holes. A couple of holes have lost their pads to other park activity. Not a single good hole info like most courses have.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 could use just a new pad since the old one is gone. This could be a real tough place to play for a day or so after a heavy rain. On Hole 9 throw flat to stay on hill. Leave 9 basket and go straight up hill to fence and then walk around to your left to 10 pad. After basket on 6 turn around and go back to path on left.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/22/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the better courses in SC. Great mix of technical/tight wooded holes, open shots with tons of elevation changes on almost every hole. And a freakin BOMBER hole 10 that we almost thought was missing until we walked over and saw how far away it was. Great use of terrain throughout the entire course, seriously one of the best courses I've played that incorporates elevation as well as this course.
Cons: A lot of the tee signs are broken or missing altogether. It's a shame because you can tell that a lot of work has gone into this course and it sucks that some freakin idiots will destroy stuff just because they can. I think maybe two of the holes have tee areas that are fenced off now, and a lot of the rubber tee pads are started to get weathered.
Other Thoughts: Obviously signage is an issue, but I can't blame them for it because it was there and the effort was clearly made. I thought it was a good challenge and I can't wait to go back and play next time I'm in town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course but fun!

1    12/10/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: Angus2053
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Use of terrain, challenging basket location, many benches at tees. Epic hole on number 10!
Cons: Flow of holes and course information.
Other Thoughts: The tight fairways make you throw a good shot and a good use of shot and long holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course worth the drive!

5+    10/15/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 86  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Green grass & clean park setting. Great mix of shots. OK I say this a lot but this course really has it all! Short & long. Tightly wooded & wide open. Wooded to open. Open to wooded. OB's, Mandos, water in play. Up & downhill throws including a true "Top of the World" shot. Practice basket, bathrooms & covered picnic areas with ample paved parking. Benches on most holes. Descriptive tee signs.
Cons: Some of the Tee signs are damaged/vandalized or missing. Some navigation issues if you dont have a course map. The tee pads for hole #2 & #18 have been completely fenced off because of new development at the baseball diamonds. I dont know the situation but it would've been nice if somebody from the D.G. club could've colaborated with the builder to have these tee pad areas left open.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play. I think it would entertain Pro & intermediate players. I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is fair if you play the right shot. If you stray offline, you may pay a heavy price.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easley is Easily Sweet

1    8/29/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Well maintained park, fairways were well mowed, steps have been added to hillsides, stumps from cut trees have been painted to make them more visible
*Baskets are all discatchers and in good condition
*Variety! I love the variety this course offers. There is a good mix of long/short holes, uphill/downhill holes, open/wooded holes. It seemed as though there were more holes favoring righties, but not a substantial amount.
*The facility the course is located at is very nice, there is a nice pavilion near the start of the course with a coke machine, porta-potty, and a nice playground.
*Benches and trashcans available at nearly all tee stations
*Nice kiosk located at the parking lot, there was a slot for scorecards, but it was empty. Other information regarding discgolf at nearby courses was also displayed
*Concrete (not all pads) pads were large and level
Cons: *Signs-many were missing, down, broken, not to be found. Also, some had the hole information on it including hole number, distance, and a hole layout (laminated paper), but most did not.
*Navigation can be tricky, especially with the missing signs. A solution? Print off a map or what I did was take a picture of the course map at the kiosk board with my camera and refer to it to navigate throughout the round.
*Teepads were mixed, some concrete, some dirt, others rubber mats. I believe the teepads for holes 2 and 18 were origianally on the concrete next to the pavilion, but that has been fenced off so you'll have to tee of from the gravel.
Other Thoughts: The thing that I liked most about this course is the variety. I loved the elevation changes. There are quite a few downhill holes, 2, 4, 6, 10, 15, and 18. 6 was the most dramatic, 10 was a blast just launching a disc into an open field from the elevated tee pad, and a short steep ace run at 15. Uphill holes added to the challenge, specifically number 5 comes to mind being a longer hole with the basket on a steep slope. Holes 9 and 14 used a side hill to throw in the mix, 9 had a retaining wall at the bottom of the hilll of the basket to keep discs from rolling to far. The wooded holes were tight to test your aim, but not overly tight by any means. You will be rewarded if you can throw straight and stay on the fairway, otherwise you might have trouble taking a 4.
These things really make me feel like this course deserves a 4 rating, with a few changes, it could definitely be a 4.5 in my opinion: tee signs need to be repaired with hole number and distance as well as a map of the hole. It'd be nice if all pads were concrete, and a few navigation signs wouldn't hurt.
I really enjoyed this course and will play again when I'm back in the area. There are many other nice courses in the Greenville area, but I'd say this one is EASELY the best:)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/15/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: jtedsto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - A moderately difficult course with a lot of elevation and tee shot variety. I've never seen a course with more creative use of elevation and slope. Number 6 is an absolutely fantastic downhill tee shot.
- A beginner will consider this a con - one bad shot could lead to another. This course will force you to be wise and stay on the fairway rather than going for a longer, harder shot, because, if not, sometimes your only shot is to throw 20 feet back onto the fairway.
Cons: - Number 3 is missing a tee pad and there are problems with the tee signs - some are partially or fully destroyed and it's hard to find your way around without a map. We spent an extra half hour searching for the holes (so bring a map!) as the holes are organized in an odd way.
- There is a swamp. I went in to get my friend's disc (for I was wearing Chaco's and he, shoes) and found out that it is quicksand. Don't throw your disc in there and don't step in the swamp to get it - use a stick.
- We could not play the long hole across the field because kids were practicing soccer on it. This was really annoying because I was looking forward to that tee shot all day.
Other Thoughts: NOT FOR BEGINNERS
You will lose discs (in the quicksand swamp) and be frustrated at the harder holes. And the difficulty in finding holes and getting to some of them will make you madder if you are already annoyed at the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

As of May 2014, Foothills is going downhill.

2-4    5/17/2014   4/21/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The name says it all - course has a lot of elevation, presenting some good uphill & downhill holes. The problems seem to be with the other holes.
- Course offers some very good & challenging holes. If you take the six best holes, and make and had a full 18 of that quality, you'd have a 4.0+ level course.
- Wonderful use of elevation, and the hills throughout the course. Six legitimate downhill holes (2, 4, 6, 10, 15 & 18) and 4 legit uphill holes (5, 8, 14 & 16.) Yes, I know other holes have slight elevation changes, but I'm only referring to dramatic, foothill-esque changes.
- For the downhillers, #2, 4 & 18 all are enjoyable while also presenting challenge. Side note that #10 is WAY overrated. Throwing from a small mound to and open soccer field is the course's best hole, really? For the uphillers, #5 & 14 were both quality holes made difficult simply because of the added length. Both place a premium on accurate tee shots, in order to set up aggressive second shots. If you have a solid tee shot, a 3 on both holes is possible. A bad tee shot means you might be scrambling just to make 4.
- Good flow to the holes. You never feel like you're playing the same type of shot, or layout, too often. Good flow from wooded to open holes, from flat to up & down holes throughout the course.
- Good variety of holes. There are plenty of shorter, birdie 2 chances. Plus, there are some longer, multi-shot holes where there's a higher risk/reward factor. Even the two holes that run along the creek (#7 & 12) force you to throw smart or you'll be wet, or in the mud/swamp, as is the case for #12.
- My favorite holes are #5 and #11. Two great holes that offer really challenge and a real chance for solid shot making. I had a tap-in 3 on #5, a well-earned effort after two great shots. I scrambled for a 4 on #11, which still didn't seem all that bad. These are clearly two of the highlights on this course.
Cons: Prior to playing in May 2014, I had last played in spring of 2011. In the three years since, it was clear this course had gotten very little attention. Broken or missing tee pads. Most tee signs were missing. Broken stairs, lots of trash, lack of signage and just a general sense of being ignored. All the $$$ at this park went to the baseball fields, clearly none was left over for the disc golf community.
- And the worst part was the abomination of how they ruined, in my opinion, the course's best hole - #6. As part of the baseball field overhaul, they destroyed the fair for #6, paving a path that leads to nowhere - well, actually the swamp - and moved the basket. What was a fun, downhill, potential ace run, risk/reward hole, was now a hole blocked by trees that had no fun-factor whatsoever.
- Also, in three years' time, how has this course not added a tee pad for #3? Is it that worn dirt patch? If so, the distance is incorrect. If the tee pad is elsewhere, why is there still no signage? Other spots on the course the distances on the map seem wrong. On #11, the distance is listed at 458 feet. There are two tees on this hole, the long seems to be in the 550 - 600 foot range. The short is in the 350 - 400 foot range. Are we just split the difference for our hole length?
- Holes #15 - 17 are a poor way to close this course. All are short and relatively uninspiring. The only saving grace is that #18 is a solid way to end your round.
- Spacing could be improved. There are a lot of holes cramped together in some areas, while there's a ton of room in the back of the course (#9 - 11). Seems there's enough area to add another hole or two there, which could open up, or toughen, a couple of the holes near the front.
- The swamp/mud pit along the right of #12 needs to be cleaned up. That hole has amazing risk/reward potential all over it if it were a clean body of water. But, knowing you're going to land in the mud kills some of the desire to be aggressive. Having had to retrieve a disc from it, I can attest to the unpleasantness of dealing with the mud/swamp. If you want to tempt people, you have to at least make it appealing.
- Very few amenities in the DG-portion of the park. There are restrooms in the pavilion near holes #2 & 18, but there are none on the course, nor any water fountains. At least there are a fair amount of benches, especially on the back 9, when you might need them after all that walking.
Other Thoughts: The course, while thoroughly enjoying, seemed somewhat scattered, like it was trying to appeal to too wide of an audience. There were too many short, easy holes to be considered elite, but there were also too many challenging holes to be considered beginner friendly. IMO, advanced players are going to rack up too many birdies to consider the overall course challenging, and newbies are going to get frustrated with the harder holes.
- You will definitely get a workout just walking the course. Between all the elevation changes, and how spaced out the course is, you're going to be struggling by the end if you're not in shape.
- Simply put, #3 needs to go. It's a simple transition from #2 to #4. Add another hole in between #9 & 10 (a simple uphiller) or shorten #10, and add another hole back where #10's basket is currently located. Anything would be better than that. It would also be nice to see one of #15 - 17 eliminated and another hole added somewhere else.
- Between #3 and #15 - 17, you have such a weak group of holes, especially for a course that is otherwise pretty decent. #8 & 9 leave something to be desired as well, but when others are worse, it's easy to forget about these.
- Back in 2011, I gave this course a 3.5 rating. I've since downgrade my rating to a 3.0 to reflect these negative changes. It was such a letdown playing again three years later. The overall quality of the course was so much worse, and it wasn't helped by the amount of time, attention and money given to other parts of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.