Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 382ft.   3 / 382ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
As of May 2014, Foothills is going downhill.

2-4    5/17/2014   4/21/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 194  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The name says it all - course has a lot of elevation, presenting some good uphill & downhill holes. The problems seem to be with the other holes.
- Course offers some very good & challenging holes. If you take the six best holes, and make and had a full 18 of that quality, you'd have a 4.0+ level course.
- Wonderful use of elevation, and the hills throughout the course. Six legitimate downhill holes (2, 4, 6, 10, 15 & 18) and 4 legit uphill holes (5, 8, 14 & 16.) Yes, I know other holes have slight elevation changes, but I'm only referring to dramatic, foothill-esque changes.
- For the downhillers, #2, 4 & 18 all are enjoyable while also presenting challenge. Side note that #10 is WAY overrated. Throwing from a small mound to and open soccer field is the course's best hole, really? For the uphillers, #5 & 14 were both quality holes made difficult simply because of the added length. Both place a premium on accurate tee shots, in order to set up aggressive second shots. If you have a solid tee shot, a 3 on both holes is possible. A bad tee shot means you might be scrambling just to make 4.
- Good flow to the holes. You never feel like you're playing the same type of shot, or layout, too often. Good flow from wooded to open holes, from flat to up & down holes throughout the course.
- Good variety of holes. There are plenty of shorter, birdie 2 chances. Plus, there are some longer, multi-shot holes where there's a higher risk/reward factor. Even the two holes that run along the creek (#7 & 12) force you to throw smart or you'll be wet, or in the mud/swamp, as is the case for #12.
- My favorite holes are #5 and #11. Two great holes that offer really challenge and a real chance for solid shot making. I had a tap-in 3 on #5, a well-earned effort after two great shots. I scrambled for a 4 on #11, which still didn't seem all that bad. These are clearly two of the highlights on this course.
Cons: Prior to playing in May 2014, I had last played in spring of 2011. In the three years since, it was clear this course had gotten very little attention. Broken or missing tee pads. Most tee signs were missing. Broken stairs, lots of trash, lack of signage and just a general sense of being ignored. All the $$$ at this park went to the baseball fields, clearly none was left over for the disc golf community.
- And the worst part was the abomination of how they ruined, in my opinion, the course's best hole - #6. As part of the baseball field overhaul, they destroyed the fair for #6, paving a path that leads to nowhere - well, actually the swamp - and moved the basket. What was a fun, downhill, potential ace run, risk/reward hole, was now a hole blocked by trees that had no fun-factor whatsoever.
- Also, in three years' time, how has this course not added a tee pad for #3? Is it that worn dirt patch? If so, the distance is incorrect. If the tee pad is elsewhere, why is there still no signage? Other spots on the course the distances on the map seem wrong. On #11, the distance is listed at 458 feet. There are two tees on this hole, the long seems to be in the 550 - 600 foot range. The short is in the 350 - 400 foot range. Are we just split the difference for our hole length?
- Holes #15 - 17 are a poor way to close this course. All are short and relatively uninspiring. The only saving grace is that #18 is a solid way to end your round.
- Spacing could be improved. There are a lot of holes cramped together in some areas, while there's a ton of room in the back of the course (#9 - 11). Seems there's enough area to add another hole or two there, which could open up, or toughen, a couple of the holes near the front.
- The swamp/mud pit along the right of #12 needs to be cleaned up. That hole has amazing risk/reward potential all over it if it were a clean body of water. But, knowing you're going to land in the mud kills some of the desire to be aggressive. Having had to retrieve a disc from it, I can attest to the unpleasantness of dealing with the mud/swamp. If you want to tempt people, you have to at least make it appealing.
- Very few amenities in the DG-portion of the park. There are restrooms in the pavilion near holes #2 & 18, but there are none on the course, nor any water fountains. At least there are a fair amount of benches, especially on the back 9, when you might need them after all that walking.
Other Thoughts: The course, while thoroughly enjoying, seemed somewhat scattered, like it was trying to appeal to too wide of an audience. There were too many short, easy holes to be considered elite, but there were also too many challenging holes to be considered beginner friendly. IMO, advanced players are going to rack up too many birdies to consider the overall course challenging, and newbies are going to get frustrated with the harder holes.
- You will definitely get a workout just walking the course. Between all the elevation changes, and how spaced out the course is, you're going to be struggling by the end if you're not in shape.
- Simply put, #3 needs to go. It's a simple transition from #2 to #4. Add another hole in between #9 & 10 (a simple uphiller) or shorten #10, and add another hole back where #10's basket is currently located. Anything would be better than that. It would also be nice to see one of #15 - 17 eliminated and another hole added somewhere else.
- Between #3 and #15 - 17, you have such a weak group of holes, especially for a course that is otherwise pretty decent. #8 & 9 leave something to be desired as well, but when others are worse, it's easy to forget about these.
- Back in 2011, I gave this course a 3.5 rating. I've since downgrade my rating to a 3.0 to reflect these negative changes. It was such a letdown playing again three years later. The overall quality of the course was so much worse, and it wasn't helped by the amount of time, attention and money given to other parts of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Rook Review

1    3/13/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: CaroTex
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the most challenging course I have played yet. There were plenty playing out here today, but I never felt crowded or rushed here, really good game flow. The paths are in great shape and every tee has a map of the fairway.
Cons: Still hard to find a few holes without a map for the first timer (me).
Other Thoughts: The course is in great shape and I can't wait to play there again soon!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/18/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place was mostly pretty cool and challenging, without being so difficult that I couldn't enjoy it. Some courses pride themselves on making the course almost unplayable for novice or even intermediate players, but not here. As one who doesn't have a great arm keeping discs in narrow fairways, these were even and fair. There was a also a lot of 'dive bomb' shots where you cranked it hard down hill which is always fun.

And the variety of holes was decent.
Cons: As everyone said...Signs, Signs, Signs! I almost quit playing due to getting so freakin' aggravated trying to find the next hole! The first 4 will drive you nuts.
Other Thoughts: This could be a truly great hole with consistent tee pads and signage. I'll definitely play this one some more, but for the new player, it will definitely be a challenge to find your way around

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: dg_hack
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of long/short, tight/open fairways, up/down hills. Benches at most tees. Beautiful walk through the woods and great use of a lot space. Many holes make you think about how you will throw to reach the basket even on the open fairways rather than simply spotting the basket and throwing towards it and being able to play from wherever it lands. Distance is needed to make par on a couple of the holes but shot placement is key on all of the holes. Many of the baskets are on hillsides so you must be careful about your approach to ensure you disc does not roll farther away from the basket than you threw from originally. There is a lot of up and down hills but all of the stairs I used were in at least good repair.
Cons: Many of the signs at the tees are vandalized / broken / faded / missing which sometimes makes it hard to know where you are throwing to. This is especially a problem on longer holes or those with a dogleg making the basket hard or impossible to see from the tee. Also, between holes where it is not immediately apparent where the next hole is a little help by way of a sign would be nice. If it is your first time playing this course and you are not going with someone who has played before chances are you will need a map to find some of the tees.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of walking up and down some pretty steep hills so make sure you are in shape before you play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up, down and side to side

1    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many holes that make you say WOAH the first time you play...shear beauty and a lot of "how the ... can I get up that?"
A ton of up and down...this course has more "top of the world" shots than I have ever seen at one time.
Lots of baskets placed in precarious places that force you to play wise or watch your disc roll into the next time zone.
Large mix of hole lengths.
Stairs on most of the rough ups and downs.
Cons: As stated before, a lot of the signs and poles are in poor shape, it would be nice to have concrete tees on all holes but the natural and rubber ones aren't horrible.
Some of the fairways were in pretty dire need of a mowing.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course that could be one of the best. A little bit of work and effort is all that is needed. The variety is there, the terrain is frankly almost evil and perfect for a sadistic round of disc.

New signs, some maintenance and this is a 4.5.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing? Easley!

1    11/1/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 329  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Really Pretty Holes. Gorgeous FAIRways with great shape, perfect gaps, grass, woods, creeks, swamps, elevation, mountain views...
- Protected Holes. The fairways and gaps are more than FAIR... but, miss them and you'll pay with a bogey; and, with thick vegetation or OB creeks, swamps, and roads protecting several baskets, this course is fun.
- Taken Care Of (mostly). Most of the holes on this course have great concrete tee-pads with wonderful traction. Steps built into the hillsides were well done. Retaining walled pin locations look awesome. A few benches, trashcans, and a big DG kiosk in the parking lot. Kudos to whoever is doing such a good job.
Cons:
- Signage. Lots of the signage was missing and/or damaged beyond the point of use. And, on several holes it would have been nice to know that there was a creek next to the basket, or a swampy area, or OB in general.
- Tee-Pads. There were a few non-concrete pads and one that was washed out (hole 3).
- Busted Stuff. Several of the signs and numbered posts were busted up.
Other Thoughts:
- $2000 Away. This course is Bad Ass and with approximately $2000 could be exceptional. Foothills would benefit tremendously from a minor makeover: new signs and a few more concrete tee-pads is all it needs.
- Destination Golf. There are several really GREAT courses in this area: Va-Du-Mar, Century Park, and Foothills... Timmons is cool too. If you're on a road trip and want to hit a lot of cool stuff, the greater Greenville SC area is a great option.
- Print out the linked map. Navigation was pretty easy... but we needed the map twice. And, finding the tee's under the gazeebo/snack shack (#2 & 18) would have been tough if we didn't know they were there.
- My Score: -6

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Foothills DGC is fun and challenging

1    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park that is well maintained, lots of parking, course finishes and ends near a parking area. This is a large park and the course is really spread out with lots of changes in scenery; at times it does not seem like you are even in the same park you started in. All but a few tee boxes are concrete and nice and long (one or two on the back nine are dirt with rubber pads). Benches and trash cans at most tee pads. Mostly in the woods with good fairways and hardly any underbrush where you can lose a disc. Some serious elevation changes with many uphill/downhill shots; almost all of these holes have well-maintained (and much appreciated) timber stairs to get up/down. Some of the basket areas have timber retaining walls, so someone has made a serious capital investment in this course. A few wide open shots that will let you test your long drives. Creek and swamp in play on many holes.
Cons: If you are not in good shape, this course could be a bear to navigate all 18 holes. There is a lot of walking distance-wise and a lot of hikes up and down steep inclines, although many have steps. I liked the good workout but this could limit some players or cause them to bail before finishing. Some of the steps were unusable making for some risky descents to the basket. Because the course is so spread out (a plus), it can be difficult to navigate. My group had a course map printed out from this website (a must!) and we still had a few issues finding some tee boxes. All of the tee pads have sign posts, but most had been vandalized and the hole maps damaged or removed. Landing in the swampy area means a 100% chance of a disc loss. There are a few holes I would like to see my more experienced friends play because to me it seems like a 50/50 proposition for losing a disc even to a pro.
Other Thoughts: A great place to spend a couple of hours throwing a round of disc golf. I have only been playing for about three months and this course was technically challenging for me, but in a way that motivated, not discouraged. This was a good test and makes me want to come back after improving my game to see if I am better up to the challenge. I would enjoy playing this course any time I was in the area. It is about 90 minutes from my Atlanta home and will be included in future disc golf weekend outings.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course

5+    6/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers nice cement tee pads on all but two holes and has tee signs that show the layout of the normal course layout.

It is a great mix of holes with several long, wide open holes and a few short tight holes mixed in.

This course has a great variety of shots including but not limited to uphill, down hill and across the side of hills.

It's a course that will challenge ever aspect of your game.
Cons: The course has multiple pin placements and it isn't always clear which placement the basket is in and that can be frustrating if you end up shooting for one pins placement only to learn that the basket is in the other placement.

The course is used for several other sports and Disc Golf isn't given the proper respect from the park and rec department.
Other Thoughts: A nice variety of holes and challenges. The course has a random draw doubles league in the summer month on Wednesday nights and those begin at 6pm.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Monster

1    9/6/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 88  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Monster of a course! Requires much skill and power. Finesse is a key here.
Cons: Elevation changes are nice in some areas but you walk up a 90 degree angle from basket to teepad on alot of holes. I say this is a CON unless you just need the workout. The 800ft hole is a beast and really a killer of confidence for the average player. They would benefit by putting a shorter basket near the far corner of the long field. This would allow for some super long ace chances for the above average player and a few birdie/par chances for the below to average player. Leave the long tee for the pros and make a shorter tee for the regular arms. Lots of risky disc losing areas on this course. Keep your eyes out on your tee shot.
Other Thoughts: Long tiring course. I enjoyed it but it will hurt your ego if you are not accurate and long off the tee.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Really not that great

1    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Requires multiple types of shots to play and the ability to hit lines. It does have one longer hole that plays as a real par 4.
Cons: This course really is just another typical disc golf course with the addition of some poorly thought out usage of elevation. Most of the wooded holes are cookie cutter and offer nothing distinctive from anywhere else and most of the "gravity" holes were poorly designed and really wasted. The third hole is a complete joke along with the 90 degree turn hole (I think 14?). It is such a shame seeing baskets discarded on such holes as these.
Other Thoughts: This one is not really worth a revisit but then again most courses aren't. As usual it could have been so much better.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.