Easley, SC 
Foothills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 246ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Rook Review

1    3/13/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: CaroTex
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the most challenging course I have played yet. There were plenty playing out here today, but I never felt crowded or rushed here, really good game flow. The paths are in great shape and every tee has a map of the fairway.
Cons: Still hard to find a few holes without a map for the first timer (me).
Other Thoughts: The course is in great shape and I can't wait to play there again soon!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/18/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place was mostly pretty cool and challenging, without being so difficult that I couldn't enjoy it. Some courses pride themselves on making the course almost unplayable for novice or even intermediate players, but not here. As one who doesn't have a great arm keeping discs in narrow fairways, these were even and fair. There was a also a lot of 'dive bomb' shots where you cranked it hard down hill which is always fun.

And the variety of holes was decent.
Cons: As everyone said...Signs, Signs, Signs! I almost quit playing due to getting so freakin' aggravated trying to find the next hole! The first 4 will drive you nuts.
Other Thoughts: This could be a truly great hole with consistent tee pads and signage. I'll definitely play this one some more, but for the new player, it will definitely be a challenge to find your way around

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: dg_hack
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of long/short, tight/open fairways, up/down hills. Benches at most tees. Beautiful walk through the woods and great use of a lot space. Many holes make you think about how you will throw to reach the basket even on the open fairways rather than simply spotting the basket and throwing towards it and being able to play from wherever it lands. Distance is needed to make par on a couple of the holes but shot placement is key on all of the holes. Many of the baskets are on hillsides so you must be careful about your approach to ensure you disc does not roll farther away from the basket than you threw from originally. There is a lot of up and down hills but all of the stairs I used were in at least good repair.
Cons: Many of the signs at the tees are vandalized / broken / faded / missing which sometimes makes it hard to know where you are throwing to. This is especially a problem on longer holes or those with a dogleg making the basket hard or impossible to see from the tee. Also, between holes where it is not immediately apparent where the next hole is a little help by way of a sign would be nice. If it is your first time playing this course and you are not going with someone who has played before chances are you will need a map to find some of the tees.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of walking up and down some pretty steep hills so make sure you are in shape before you play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up, down and side to side

1    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many holes that make you say WOAH the first time you play...shear beauty and a lot of "how the ... can I get up that?"
A ton of up and down...this course has more "top of the world" shots than I have ever seen at one time.
Lots of baskets placed in precarious places that force you to play wise or watch your disc roll into the next time zone.
Large mix of hole lengths.
Stairs on most of the rough ups and downs.
Cons: As stated before, a lot of the signs and poles are in poor shape, it would be nice to have concrete tees on all holes but the natural and rubber ones aren't horrible.
Some of the fairways were in pretty dire need of a mowing.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course that could be one of the best. A little bit of work and effort is all that is needed. The variety is there, the terrain is frankly almost evil and perfect for a sadistic round of disc.

New signs, some maintenance and this is a 4.5.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing? Easley!

1    11/1/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Really Pretty Holes. Gorgeous FAIRways with great shape, perfect gaps, grass, woods, creeks, swamps, elevation, mountain views...
- Protected Holes. The fairways and gaps are more than FAIR… but, miss them and you'll pay with a bogey; and, with thick vegetation or OB creeks, swamps, and roads protecting several baskets, this course is fun.
- Taken Care Of (mostly). Most of the holes on this course have great concrete tee-pads with wonderful traction. Steps built into the hillsides were well done. Retaining walled pin locations look awesome. A few benches, trashcans, and a big DG kiosk in the parking lot. Kudos to whoever is doing such a good job.
Cons:
- Signage. Lots of the signage was missing and/or damaged beyond the point of use. And, on several holes it would have been nice to know that there was a creek next to the basket, or a swampy area, or OB in general.
- Tee-Pads. There were a few non-concrete pads and one that was washed out (hole 3).
- Busted Stuff. Several of the signs and numbered posts were busted up.
Other Thoughts:
- $2000 Away. This course is Bad Ass and with approximately $2000 could be exceptional. Foothills would benefit tremendously from a minor makeover: new signs and a few more concrete tee-pads is all it needs.
- Destination Golf. There are several really GREAT courses in this area: Va-Du-Mar, Century Park, and Foothills… Timmons is cool too. If you're on a road trip and want to hit a lot of cool stuff, the greater Greenville SC area is a great option.
- Print out the linked map. Navigation was pretty easy... but we needed the map twice. And, finding the tee's under the gazeebo/snack shack (#2 & 18) would have been tough if we didn't know they were there.
- My Score: -6

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Foothills DGC is fun and challenging

1    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park that is well maintained, lots of parking, course finishes and ends near a parking area. This is a large park and the course is really spread out with lots of changes in scenery; at times it does not seem like you are even in the same park you started in. All but a few tee boxes are concrete and nice and long (one or two on the back nine are dirt with rubber pads). Benches and trash cans at most tee pads. Mostly in the woods with good fairways and hardly any underbrush where you can lose a disc. Some serious elevation changes with many uphill/downhill shots; almost all of these holes have well-maintained (and much appreciated) timber stairs to get up/down. Some of the basket areas have timber retaining walls, so someone has made a serious capital investment in this course. A few wide open shots that will let you test your long drives. Creek and swamp in play on many holes.
Cons: If you are not in good shape, this course could be a bear to navigate all 18 holes. There is a lot of walking distance-wise and a lot of hikes up and down steep inclines, although many have steps. I liked the good workout but this could limit some players or cause them to bail before finishing. Some of the steps were unusable making for some risky descents to the basket. Because the course is so spread out (a plus), it can be difficult to navigate. My group had a course map printed out from this website (a must!) and we still had a few issues finding some tee boxes. All of the tee pads have sign posts, but most had been vandalized and the hole maps damaged or removed. Landing in the swampy area means a 100% chance of a disc loss. There are a few holes I would like to see my more experienced friends play because to me it seems like a 50/50 proposition for losing a disc even to a pro.
Other Thoughts: A great place to spend a couple of hours throwing a round of disc golf. I have only been playing for about three months and this course was technically challenging for me, but in a way that motivated, not discouraged. This was a good test and makes me want to come back after improving my game to see if I am better up to the challenge. I would enjoy playing this course any time I was in the area. It is about 90 minutes from my Atlanta home and will be included in future disc golf weekend outings.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course

5+    6/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers nice cement tee pads on all but two holes and has tee signs that show the layout of the normal course layout.

It is a great mix of holes with several long, wide open holes and a few short tight holes mixed in.

This course has a great variety of shots including but not limited to uphill, down hill and across the side of hills.

It's a course that will challenge ever aspect of your game.
Cons: The course has multiple pin placements and it isn't always clear which placement the basket is in and that can be frustrating if you end up shooting for one pins placement only to learn that the basket is in the other placement.

The course is used for several other sports and Disc Golf isn't given the proper respect from the park and rec department.
Other Thoughts: A nice variety of holes and challenges. The course has a random draw doubles league in the summer month on Wednesday nights and those begin at 6pm.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Monster

1    9/6/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Monster of a course! Requires much skill and power. Finesse is a key here.
Cons: Elevation changes are nice in some areas but you walk up a 90 degree angle from basket to teepad on alot of holes. I say this is a CON unless you just need the workout. The 800ft hole is a beast and really a killer of confidence for the average player. They would benefit by putting a shorter basket near the far corner of the long field. This would allow for some super long ace chances for the above average player and a few birdie/par chances for the below to average player. Leave the long tee for the pros and make a shorter tee for the regular arms. Lots of risky disc losing areas on this course. Keep your eyes out on your tee shot.
Other Thoughts: Long tiring course. I enjoyed it but it will hurt your ego if you are not accurate and long off the tee.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Really not that great

1    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Requires multiple types of shots to play and the ability to hit lines. It does have one longer hole that plays as a real par 4.
Cons: This course really is just another typical disc golf course with the addition of some poorly thought out usage of elevation. Most of the wooded holes are cookie cutter and offer nothing distinctive from anywhere else and most of the "gravity" holes were poorly designed and really wasted. The third hole is a complete joke along with the 90 degree turn hole (I think 14?). It is such a shame seeing baskets discarded on such holes as these.
Other Thoughts: This one is not really worth a revisit but then again most courses aren't. As usual it could have been so much better.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Hills, tress and swamps

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with plenty of parking. Benches and trash cans everywhere. Good mix of holes. Short tight shots, and long bombs. Makes use of the hills on many holes. No obvious advatantage to being backhand or forehand player. Need to use many different shots to play well. Several chances for ace runs and birdies.
Cons: Navigation. A little challenging to find the next tee in a few spots. Many of the signs at the tees have been vandalized or damaged. One hole (13, I think) is down a hill on the edge of the swamp. It may get real messy after heavy rains of in a wet time of the year. A few of the tees are natural and not concrete. Short natural tee on hill shot. Be careful.
Other Thoughts: Real nice course. I would definitely play again if I am in the area. If they can keep pepole from destroying the signs it would really help. A few new tee pads and some help finding the hext tee and this course is a gem.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.