Disc Golf Store
Gautier, MS 
Bulldog Bayou Share
Uploaded By: madmikesmith Hole #13
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: This is an island hole. Any shot NOT inside the sidewalk surrounding the basket is O.B.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good Overall Course

1    9/18/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: justin2213
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Free to play.
Maintained grounds.
Enjoyable scenery (ie. plant life, wildlife, ponds)
Player friendly for all skill levels.
Excellent Innova Discatchers.
Secured parking area watched by campus police.
Cons:
Wide layout that makes for a long walk.
No facilities (ie. restrooms, trash cans, benches, water fountains)
No scorecards or maps posted on-site
Other Thoughts:
Overall, this is a great course. The tee boxes are all marked with distances, and most of the Discatchers have arrows on or near them pointing to the next hole. I would recommend printing out a scorecard and a map (or download it to your smart phone) before you play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I've played worse

1    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play - It was my first time to the area and I didn't feel like paying the $3 for Shepard.

Well maintained grounds, I enjoyed the plant life and local wildlife - a pair of Canadian geese and a couple of box turtles, the latter of which were, shall we say, busy.

Decent variety - some gripper 'n' rippers, some trees, some water. You definitely need to pull out some tricks on the back 9. I pulled out mostly tree-seeking missiles.
Cons: No facilities that I saw.

The only things I saw in way of amenities was a couple of benches near hole 1 before the pond. Other than that there weren't any benches, garbage cans (not a lot of litter that I recall though) or bag holders (which on a day after rain come in handy if you don't like getting your bag muddy).

Signage leaves much to be desired. More on this below.

A water hazard that warns you of alligators makes floating discs kind of a moot point.

Speaking of water, I'm sure the local players know this but after a good rain, like we had the day/night before I played, the back 9 is basically a swamp. Hole 15 was totally surrounded by water (didn't stop me though).
Other Thoughts: Natural tees

While there are some directional signs to "next tees", the only thing at the tees themselves are short white posts which used to have a hole number, distance and basic map on them but these have long since been washed away by the elements. This is a particular con here because the course is split into what could be called 2 or even 3 different playing areas. If you go, PRINT OUT THE MAP. It was absolutely essential, I can't see a first timer being able to navigate the course without that map or help in less than 3 hours. As it was, the map isn't even totally correct anymore. Like stated in other reviews, 1-4 are together, there's a short walk to 5, and then a small trek to 6-8. Tee 7 is not as it is on the map. Now it's next to Tee 8, going the opposite direction, towards Gautier Vancleave Rd. The rest of the course is true to the map until you get to 17, which for some reason goes straight away from the rest of the course and leaves you high and dry having to walk back the way you just came and then to tee 18. At least I think it was tee 18.

Best holes in my opinion (disregarding alligators) are 1-3

I've seen courses with better flow, but it seems to me that you make do with what you got, and what they had was enough total area to make a course, just not all in the same spot, and at the end of the day isn't a decent course better than no course at all?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rather Play Shepard

5+    7/4/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: demamazins
Played: 69  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a college campus the course is relatively moderate in difficulty. Holes 1-4 and 10 - 18 are the most fun. All holes played as a Par 3. Reducing the walk for the course, I would give a higher rating for fluidity.... Hole favorites are 3, 13, 14 & 18.
Cons: Having to walk from Hole 5 to Hole 6 is like walking to another state. Hole 8 to 9 and then back to 10 requires a Golf Cart. Design layout is somewhat fluid but is lacking due to large distances between holes and tee-offs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not horrible

1    8/25/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: twilkinson1020
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bright blue baskets are brand new so they work great. The course is a nice size and takes you through a little bit of everything. The areas that do have woodsy areas, they aren't thick so if your disc goes in it won't be a hard find.
Cons: The first three holes surround a little pond that has a sign that says "Beware of Alligators". While the first pin is set away from the pond a little bit the other two are set almost on the edge. So any bad throws may roll your disc into the pond. Holes 12 -17 are set through a woodsy area that is home to many flying mosquitos and bugs that swarm you. The only other negative is that there's no direction on where the next hole is, w/o the file attached it'll be a bit for you to figure it out. I don't particularly care for some of the holes that are around buildings or decently traveled areas.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't bad but it seems like the college was asked for one so they just put one in, in the best place they could. As long as you bring bug repellent you'll be able to finish the course. Though, if not, holes 12-17 are unbearable to play w/o bug repellent. Holes 10 and 18 weren't up when i played through.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a Start

2-4    7/12/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: bholy08
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Overview:
The course is set on the well-maintained campus of Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College. The 1st tee is set at the rear of the campus. Parking is right next to the 10th tee box, and Hole 1 is across the road on the walking path. The course plays around a small pond, along several lightly used roadways, and incorporates clearly defined fairways. The difficulty level is designed for recreational and intermediate level players. As a campus course in an area new to disc golf the course design will provide a challenge to the intended skill level while offering a rewarding experience at the same time.

Pros:
The course is new and has excellent blue Innova Discatchers. The natural tee boxes are more than adequate, and marked by white posts listing the distances. There are several holes where water and road OB comes into play. The fairways are open for the most part. The front nine is longer with only large trees as obstacles. The back nine are shorter more technical shots with a couple of exceptions, but do not severely punish errant shots. After finishing Hole 9 you will be back at your vehicle so the design is conducive for a quick nine or stop for refreshments. Holes that stand out are #'s 3, 4, and 11.
Cons:
The most glaring issue is some navigation concerns and distance between several baskets. After the 3rd hole, you need to walk along the path back over 1's tee box and continue around the pond and then to the left. From the 5th basket, there is a very long walk to the 6th tee along the road and then across the intersection. From 8 to 9 is another long walk as you cross back over the same intersection and in front of the BSU building. The other negative for me was the lack of diversity and complexity of shots. The front nine are more open with some distance. The back nine are more technical but lack length to punish poor shots. Thankfully, the course is not heavily used or there could be danger risks since 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 all play very close to each other. Personally, I am not a big fan of blind drives on the 1st hole. The basket is set about 300 in an alley cut out of the woods across the pond. Amenities such as benches, and trashcans are not readily available but I do not usually use either anyway so no issue for me. Many of the holes (see below) require the same type shots and are easily reached by an experienced player with simple midrange shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a course that plays well for players developing their skills. It also has a fun factor that higher skill level players will enjoy because of the ace runs, although several shots will be very similarly unchallenging (2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 16, 17). The course is new so I imagine as the local club continues to develop, changes and amenities will be in consideration.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What were they thinking?

1    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 203  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lights on several holes makes it possible to play after dark. Holes 1-3 are very scenic and peaceful. The campus is very clean and the grounds are very well kept. The baskets are new and catch well.
Cons: The course design is just awful. While there is a little variety, most of the holes have a case of the "straights", a rookie course design error where the designer fails to see a better hyzer or anhyzer line instead of the boring straight shot hole after hole. Another huge design error was placing the fairways too close to the ornate lights to prevent errant shots from breaking these lights---several lights are broken and were probably hit by discs. Somehow I doubt the college is going to be pleased as more lights get broken by discs. While holes 1-3 are decent, it's more because of the scenery than anything. There isn't a hole on the course that is memorable for being a challenge except for maybe hole 4 which requires an accurate tee shot to avoid a bogey. I played the course bogey-free on my first pass and it's so boring.


There is not much shade on the course, no benches, the tee boxes are eroding and there are huge walks in between 4-5, 5-6, 8-9, and 9-10 (all of these transitions take at least two minutes to walk). No facilities or water fountains. Mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: There is potential for improvement, as there are woods on the front 9 that could be utilized to make more challenges. I don't understand how holes 6-8 turned out so straight and boring when there is a nice grove of pine trees there able to provide memorable and challenging obstacles for players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Awsome

1    6/2/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: The Cross
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awsome layout, first 3 holes will eat your lunch if you got any butterflies in the belly. Its always a good thing when there is a parking lot between holes 9 and 10 in order to reload on drinks or to rest. I found the course required a nice mix of all kinds of throws even tomahawks or thumbers. And after all the tight technical throws on the back nine it is awsome to just be able to chunk the crap out of a disk to finish the course (hole 18). Oh and i wasnt there at night, but I noticed the back nine would probably be pretty well lit at night due to all the parking light poles. (Night golf anyone)
Cons: Needs some arrows to find holes 5 and 6 as well as 9. I actually like natural tees but some holes definately could use some gravel or something. Alternate tees would be a nice addition as well for a little more challenge, although the course was a lot of fun. Frickin horse flys are definately out there bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Mike Smith and associate did a frickin awsome job. There's not a lot of quality discgolf courses around where I live but Bulldog Bayou just fit that bill. Thanks guys, I look forward to playing more of ya'lls courses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WORK IN PROGRESS

5+    5/18/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: madmikesmith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout, good mix of open and lightly wooded holes. Some holes are shorter with a few long distance holes. There is plenty of parking with good course maintenance.
Cons: Natural tees as of now, with some low spots after rains. Course is not lefty friendly. Tee signs to be updated soon. long walk between holes 4-5.
Other Thoughts: As myself(Mike Smith) and Dale McVeay layed out this course over the weeks we took into consideration the land we had to use. Natural tees are on purpose temporarily as we (SMDGA) and the school are patiently waiting on feedback of the layout. Also, a bulletin board is on its way with course info and a map.. A few fellow disc golfers and myself placed tee markers on the left hand side as SMDGA are working on more permanant tee signs and boxes. Enjoy!!!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I hope the school figures out how to properly fix this course.

5+    5/26/2013   5/17/2012
Review By: Phishy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Some hole layouts are really nice, though intimidating to beginners (due to water). Back nine is what most people play. This area would also be good for kids who are learning the game (short holes and no water hazards).
Cons: Too much walking due to bad layout. Course design gets worse every time I play there. Baskets and tees get moved into spots worse than before (sometimes causing more walking) and some holes have no fairway. You are simply throwing into the trees (or over if you can manage). I skip 5-9 most of the time due to how far they are from the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: This place has the potential to be great. The school needs to get input from an experienced course designer before moving baskets and tees again. Too bad, I had great hopes for this course. I see promises of tee signs and such, but they are still using the temporary posts a group of us put in over a year ago to help with navigation.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    5/10/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Rebels44
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course. I would say its top 5 on the gulf coast. Mike Smith and Dale did a great job designing the course. Very open. It has the best baskets I have ever played.
Cons: 1-3 pretty tough.
Other Thoughts: All around great course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.