Disc Golf Store
Fargo, ND 
Oak Grove Park Share



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Where are the alternate pins?

1    7/15/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2014
Pros: Good signage
Well kept, various garbages and benches spread around
Lots of big trees, so they don't get in the way too much, but provide shade on those hot days
Bridge to Riverfront course
All shots along river keep the water on your left, so if you grip lock a disc, you're probably not losing it
Cons: I could not find any alternate pins. I asked a local he said they set it up one way in the spring, then change it in the late summer/fall.
Towards the end of the course there's 3 baskets within about 100' of each other, can get a little confusing.
While all the other courses in the area have mostly dried out from the flooding, this course still has standing puddles on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a nice average course, nothing too challenging, and most of the holes are on the short side except for 18, would make a good course for beginners, with access to the more challenging Riverfront across the footbridge. It also has a decent amount of benches and covered areas for picnics, even a horseshoe throwing area, but I feel this course would have a lot more potential if they had the standard and alternate pins in place at the same time, that way you could get in 36 holes at the same location and provide some extra challenge.
*UPDATE*
I just played the course again today now that the pin locations have been set to the alternates, and the course is a bit more challenging, several of the baskets are hiding behind trees, so approaches need to hook around them a bit. Personally, I'd say this layout is more fun, but both are good. I would still like to see both in place at once however, and let the players decide which ones they wanna play.

Nice Course

5+    11/1/2012   5/5/2013
Review By: HiFi
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/22/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate Pins
Plenty of Trees
Feels Secluded
Variety of hole difficulties
Cons: Floods in Spring
Very little altitude change
Original pin placements are on short side
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course next to the Red River with alternate pins that usually get moved at the beginning of each month. The course requires a variety of shots due to the scattered oaks and allows different approaches to most holes. Hole 18 on original pins is over 500 feet. Some holes are straightforward but most require planning. 2nd best course in Fargo behind Iwen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/29/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees which can make for some challenging shots
-Concrete tee boxes
-Nice variety of long and short holes
-Beautiful park with numerous mature trees
Cons: -No signage which can make it hard to find the next tee box for someone that hasn't been here before
-Tee boxes seem to be very muddy/slippery and some are elevated which can make for some treacherous drives
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in the F-M area

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classic Fargo Course

5+    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Anon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dual pin placements
- Dual tee boxes (18 concrete / 18 dirt)
- Mature trees
- Nice park near downtown Fargo
Cons: - Can be crowded
- Prone to flooding in spring
- Lots of newbie players unfamiliar with etiquette (ie. groups of 8 that won't let smaller groups play through)
- Normal pin placements lack distance, alternates help to alleviate this a bit
- Concrete tees are a bit small. Wish they would re-pour them.
Other Thoughts: Oak Grove is the classic Fargo disc golf course. Built over 30 years ago. The normal pin placements definitely reflect this as they were designed long before the modern disc technology we have today. 2012 saw the addition of alternate pins and the challenge level definitely rises when they are in play. It appears as though the pins are switched every month or so.

The park is beautiful, lots of mature trees and little to no brush or water to worry about. Definitely a recommended course for anybody who makes a trip to Fargo. Davy/Riverside park in Moorhead is right across a walking bridge and features 13 challenging holes that can be combined with the 18 from Oak Grove to make for a nice, long, round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 About the same as it used to be

2-4    5/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on most holes, half are concrete and half are natural/dirt
-Dual pins that are switched somewhat often
-I like the feel of the park with the big trees, it isn't too challenging or frustrating. Good for teaching new players or for a relaxing round.
-The river is looming but isn't a big threat. Keep it under control and your discs get to go home with you.
-Good variation in length, on the shorter side tho.
-There are signs and it is pretty good. The flow is just fine, never looking for a basket or the next tee. It is pretty close together.
-The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: -The river floods this course most years
-Isn't super long or challenging.
-The alternate dirt tees can be muddy and slippery after rain or flooding
-Probably the busiest course in the FM area as it is my favorite
-I would say that this course is easier than the old one with less trees. Some of them were killed off by the flooding.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on the old layout and on the new layout. While there are different holes, it is still the same park with the same trees and same feel. It is a little more wooded and fun than most courses in the FM area. I think I would recommend this one first. You can also play the 13 holes at Riverfront across the river. There is a bridge between the two. FM has enough courses to make a weekend out of playing them all. None of them are spectacular but none should be too disappointing as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in FM area

5+    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: tampora
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.2 Years
Pros: Baskets alternate between the new and old locations every month or so. With alt dirt tees and cement regular pads, it makes for 4 different course layouts.

River level has been great all year, so the only problems with mud is after a good rain.
Cons: High traffic times in the evening. If you find it packed, just go play across the river instead. The adjacent park is rarely played by most people.

The river has taken a number of the trees in the area. These losses have opened up many flight lines that were blocked previously.
Other Thoughts: Riverfront (Davie's) is conveniently across the bridge. You can play holes 1- 14 in Oak Grove, then throw across the river, by the bridge, to the nearby basket. Continue by playing the fourteen holes in Davie's Park, starting and finishing by the bridge. Then go back across to Oak Grove for the final four holes.

 

2-4    9/26/2010   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out and well signed. Good amount of shot variety and lots of trees. Decently challenging. Right across the bridge from the Riverfront Park course.
Cons: None really, I liked this course nothing really bothered me about it.
Other Thoughts: My favorite in Fargo-Moorhead

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/3/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The baskets were in great shape for the amount of traffic. Sign are always nice to see, and were in fair shape. A nice mix of long and short shots. Right, left and striaght ahead shots, made a nice course layout.
Cons: The dirt Tees were damp, I slipped a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: This is a busy course on a Sunday afternoon. I had a group of loud guys, that kept pushing, so I let them go ahead. Then, I ran into a slow couple, with alot of kissing going on. Keep it off of the course. I will go back to play on a week day.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.