Glenns Ferry, ID 
Three Island Crossing Share
Uploaded By: zackparlin Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 331ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Drive By Course On I-84!

1    7/25/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
Pros: Three Islands State Park sits right on the Snake River. The course here is just a little more fun and challenging than your typical little state park course. It plays through the picnic (mostly flat), cabin (on a slight hillside near the lake) and back to the bathroom/picnic areas (some elevation to contend with). When park guests are present, this could present a problem but somehow I doubt whether this little out-of-the-way state park is ever filled to capacity.
The tee pads are gravel enclosed by four timber beams and are actually pretty smooth. There are simple little fiberglass tee signs and the baskets are fine.
The holes are probably a little longer than most state park courses a few over 300' and one 475' Par 4. Scattered trees and distance are the challenges here.
I really liked # 5. It's 228' straight through a natural fairway to a basket just up a small hill. Pretty little hole with an interesting basket placement.
And # 9, when no-one is present, was a fun throw. 277' to a basket kinda hidden behind a picnic shelter with two routes are available.

Cons: $5 to enter the park.
Out of the way location.
Gnats were out in swarms.
Had to dodge the sprinklers.
Luckily no campers/picnickers were present.
Gravel tee pads.
Other Thoughts: The course has a nice variety of holes so it doesn't get boring. I could see someone playing this course on a regular basis. Another 9 baskets would be great but I don't quite see where they would fit in. There didn't seem to be much unused space available.

Home cookin

5+    11/24/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 29  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2014
Pros: Nice park with decent lawn and large trees.
Very uncrowded, I rarely see other golfers.
Nice scenery along the Snake River.
Enough trees to require moderate accuracy.
Now an 18 holes course. Most of the new holes are in a wild unmaintained part of the park. This gives a feel of 2 courses in one.
Easy navigation between holes.
Good signs and a course map posted in the parking lot.
Several "Birdie/Ace" holes, so you can throw down a low score if you're on target.
Cons: Heavy brush and thorny trees on holes 6-13. Spotting recommended on this section.
Gravel tees (I hate gravel, so I usually tee on the grass to the side).
Mostly short holes, so pros and long drivers won't be challenged.
Bugs can get bad in summer.
Alternate pins would add a lot to this course.
Other Thoughts: This course now has 18 holes. One hole has been added to the maintained grassy area and eight holes have been added in the wild, unmaintained section of the park. There are several birdie/ace opportunities on both sections. The new "wild" holes have some thick brush and Russian Olive trees beside the often narrow fairways. I recommend a spotter on this "Crazy Eight" section. Poor shots will punish you with bogeys and double bogeys. It's quite tough to shoot par or under on these holes. The groomed park section has some good opportunities to make up strokes lost in the bushes. Definitely make plans to play here if you're in the area.

Idaho deserves better

2-4    11/14/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 118  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 34.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * course exists
* nice baskets
* view of the river is cool
Cons: * driving over picnic tables
* driving over BBQ units
* driving towards cabins
Other Thoughts: The state park had no other land available and had to squeeze a course in where conflicts with other users seems a certainty? This sort of course is bad for the sport because the conflicts make us look like troublesome punks who throw discs at people and buildings. Idaho could be home to some awesome courses. This is not one of them and I think this state park could have a very nice course if they took the time to acknowledge disc golfers as a park user group worthy of recreational facilities designed with safety and user experience in mind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Unique!

2-4    5/26/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Casually_Dismissive
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. The park is an island of green surrounded by desert scrub land. It runs right next to the Snake River and is very well maintained. Some interesting shots towards the end and a couple of elevation changes. Some distance variations on the holes.
Cons: The first 5 holes are pretty standard throws required.
6th hole or so you have to throw through some brush and towards the cabins. I was kind of hesitant to walk through that area as there are a lot of snakes in the Idaho deserts as well as some other nasty critters.
Other Thoughts: I played through this course twice as I usually do on the 9 hole ones just to get a feel for it. It was pretty challenging for what it was and the unique appeal of its location made it far more enjoyable than I normally would have expected. I really like this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New to Idaho!

1    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: zackparlin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course has it all for the beginner to intermediate player. Not to technical, easy to navigate! Course flows well, has some hazards, but you probably won't loose a disc. Grass is well maintained during the summer, and there are campgrounds with water, sewer and power hook-ups within the park.
Cons: Some holes may be inaccessible when people are barbecuing or having a picnic. Bugs tend to get bad July through September, so bring your bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Beginners watch out for hole 5, and take the long way around when there is water in the catch basin. Don't overthrow hole 7, the snake river will steal your disc.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.