Beatrice, NE 
Chautauqua Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 469ft.   4 / 621ft.   4 / 573ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not just a stroll in the park.

5+    5/18/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is amazing for technical throws. Multiple tees per hole each bring a interesting drive angle towards the basket. #2 has a small pond you can throw over, which comes back into play on #10. #3 has tall pine trees that force a tight dogright. #5 is my favorite as the basket is situated on the slope of a tall hill. Very challenging but you fill rewarded when sinking a birdie. #7 can be quite scenic next to the basket as a rock formation has a waterfall when weather permits.
Cons: The back nine. Other than #10, each hole is long, open and has no elevation changes. Several large trees (One has a sign next to it saying its the tallest of its species in Nebraska.) can provide obstacles. If you like to throw long drives, this is a fair opportunity. As long as the wind is calm, otherwise watch out for discs heading towards the river!
Other Thoughts: This was my very first course to play on. A big thanks to my brother and the local players for introducing me to the sport. The local league is full of great players and they give great advice. Overall, this is a excellent course. Better signage would bring the course near perfection, including markers on the basket poles pointing towards next tee. Last thought, although it may be a huge undertaking. What if it were possible to dig a small pond on the back nine? The field in the park is largely open. Some bushes and park benches would create obstacles. If the City Parks and Recreation could get onboard for park improvement and beautification, this could help the course in a big way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Night and Day

2-4    7/2/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.6 Years
Pros: The front nine. Shorter, more technical holes, but don't be turned away if you just like to bomb. These first 9 holes are a blast! These weave in and out of trees and have some elevation changes as well. #3 and #7 (when basket is elevated) are very unique holes.

This is also a very nice, unique, and well-maintained park.
Cons: The back nine on hot summer days. Most of the year this would be a haven for long bombs, but in the summer it is wide open and loooong. So, only a con a couple months a year.
Other Thoughts: A must play if you are in or around the area!

 So many options...

2-4    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts off with a couple fun holes. Hole 1 throws to a basket tucked behind a pedestrian bridge with a creek behind. Lots of routes to the hole, and lots of ways it could go wrong. Hole 2 throws beside or over a scenic pond (depending on which tee you use). Hole 3 is one of the coolest holes: rows of trees protect the short position, so a birdie requires a precise shot, or a very good turnover shot around the trees. I didn't get to see the long position in use, but this requires an accurate second shot down another narrow hallway of trees. Tough to explain, but I'd love to see this hole in a tournament.

The whole front 9 has some scenic holes, playing in an out of sunken valleys. Hole 7 has some natural rock walls that make a very nice border to an interesting hole.

Every hole on the course has three tees, which is something I rarely see. The A tees have a lot of birdie opportunities and some ace runs. The B tees are a bit tougher/longer, but the C tees (which I didn't get to play but did inspect) force some very difficult lines.

There are multiple pin positions on many (all?) holes. Tee signs were missing from most holes, though, so I'm not sure what all of the positions look like.

Navigation wasn't too bad. I didn't use the map much, and the various tee pads were visible and were usually in places that made sense.
Cons: Unfortunately, the back 9 is not nearly as interesting as the front 9. Hole 10 is a nice right-to-left fairway with a wide part of the creek punishing errant shots or skips (this is one of the only places you could lose a disc). But holes 11-15 are kind of boring, long, open shots with trees coming into play only occasionally. I think the designers of the course did what they could with these holes, but I wonder if the wooded area near hole 10 could have been used for some more inspiring holes. The final 3 holes are better but not on par with the front 9.

Hole 18 finishes pretty far from Hole 1, and it's a hike back to your car.

Tee signs are missing from most holes. The few that had signs had distances that didn't seem quite right.

The tee pads are the narrowest I've seen, maybe only 30 inches wide, and no more than 8 feet long. It made doing an X-step awkward if you weren't throwing directly in the direction the tee pad was pointing.

I never found the B position for Hole 18.
Other Thoughts: This park has a lot of stuff. I bet on a summer evening it's a busy place (baseball fields, trails, horseshoe pits, tennis courts, playgrounds, and even a random military tank), but it was quiet on the early March day I was there.

There is definitely some touching up the course could use, but make no mistake: this is a fun course. I'd be happy to have a home course like this. It's worth a trip down here if you're within an hour or two.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: JimmyJazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was such a joy! I made the trip from Omaha, and it was definitely worth it. The front nine is a really varied collection. Depending on which of the 3(!) tee-pads per hole you throw from, you'll be throwing under a bridge, over a pond, right by a beautiful waterfall,and through a veritable peg-board of trees. It all meanders through a gorgeous, well-kept park. Some good downhill throws here, so get your gliders ready (I used my groove to great effect) There are ducks. The back nine is mostly long, flat, and uncluttered. There are a few holes along the outskirts of the forested area that will require some amount of precision to avoid ending up in the brush. The majority of them, however, will not present you with many obstacles.
Cons: Personally, I don't mind a few wide open holes, but I know some players will find the back nine dull. Signs and trash cans could be more readily available. Finding your way from one hole to the next can be problematic (we fortunately had some players familiar with the course point us in the right direction a few times).
Other Thoughts: The cons amount to very minor quibbles, and shouldn't prevent anyone from playing this awesome course (probably the best for hours in any direction). Scenery is comfortingly peaceful and quaint, and the locals seem to enjoy spectating while you throw-how fun is that? Highly recommended.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout... This is a very fun course, especially the front 9. The front weaves through an area with some great elevation change and water on a few holes. Big, mature trees are all over adding to the challenge. The holes aren't very long, but are pretty technical. I usually throw BH, FH, Rollers and sometimes thumbers while playing here. The back 9 is much more wide open and longer. There is plenty of space to bomb some drives.

Infrastructure... Three cement tees per hole - beginner, intermediate and pro - is very nice. The pads are pretty small compared to other courses, but doable. The baskets are in OK shape, this park occasionally floods and some baskets are rusty. Some tee signs are present, others aren't. This is mainly a pro because there are 3 tees/hole.

Challenge/fun... This course is a blast to play. You'll throw a wide variety of shots and have to shape lines to avoid the trees, water and manage the elevation. While the elevation isn't extreme, it is enough to make you think about your approach to the hole. A couple small ponds and a small creek run through the front 9 while a large river borders a couple holes on the back 9. Holes 1,2,3, and 7 are especially memorable. Hole one is a long shot over a large open valley and creek, hole two's intermediate and pro tees force you to throw over a scenic pond, hole three is a long tree-lined (righty) anhyzer/forehand shot, and hole 7 is bordered by a creek and road, with the basket placed in front of a gorgeous artificial waterfall. The tees allow everyone to have fun, no matter your ability.

Park Atmosphere... Chautaugua is a very nice, large, clean park. Besides some playground equipment and a large tabernacle, this park is pretty empty of man-made structures. Everything is kept up really nice, and the park is really pretty year-round. There is a road that winds through the park and a walking path, and an RV park that is usually fairly full in the middle. None of these interfere with the golfing, and the park is very quiet and peaceful. For the most part no graffiti or vandalism is present.
Cons: Navigation... while I think the course layout is good, the navigation is tricky if you haven't played here before. Since many of the tee signs aren't present you'll need to hunt for the alternate tee pads. The front 9 is pretty easy to navigate, but the back is kind of tough to find your way around. Get ready to walk because the design uses the whole park... and its a big park. There is a huge hike from 18's basket back to 1's tee, might take 10 minutes or more.

City Support... for some reason the city parks dept. has never liked the course, even though its one of the best in the state. They have purposely planted large bushes directly in front of tee pads, ran over pads with heavy equipment and cracked them, and "accidentally" cut down trees so they would fall on baskets. Even with a great course this small town hasn't really caught on to disc golf, other than a small group of hard-core golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very fun course, definitely worth the drive to check out. With the wide variety of shots, obstacles, and tee's, you're sure to have a good time. It's just a shame there isn't more local support and tournaments held here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Varying configurations in a picturesque park

5+    4/21/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic and shady park with big trees in a small town. Rarely crowded. A great deal of varying configurations available as there are three tees and three pins on every hole. Makes good use of the space and elevation that it has for the most part. Hole #1 with its footbridge obstacle is kind of unique (provided no one is on the bridge). Hole #7 may be Nebraska's prettiest.
Cons: Signage (what little is left) only lists hole distances from the A tees. C tees are hard to find on some holes. Back nine is uninspiring and can have some issues with flooding when the Big Blue gets high. Non-DG'ers unaware of the course sometimes put themselves or park their vehicles in the way. Safety issues involving Hole 10 coming too close to the RV park and Hole 11's teeboxes. Some of the added teeboxes are kind of redundant and don't really add anything.
Other Thoughts: This course really doesn't get the respect that it deserves. A fledgling DG community is growing in Beatrice, but its been a struggle getting the game to catch on here. Word is that the parks and rec department have not been terribly supportive of the course since it was installed. Some older residents aren't either and its not uncommon to see tee pads with bird seed or bread scattered on them. You could reasonably look at this park and not realize there's a course in it if you weren't looking for one. Despite that, this is the best course within a three hour drive in about any direction. Expect a reasonably challenging course in an otherwise well taken care of park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Millions of leaves.

1    3/14/2007   6/14/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The multiple tee boxes are the main defining feature of this course in my opinion. They provide many different looks and cater to multiple levels of players. The course is in a clean a well maintained park with the normal park facilities. There are water hazards and many large mature trees. Watch out for the odd bowl for drainage and a small water fall. Number three was my favorite because it runs up hill along a tight row of trees. There is good parking, and the first tee is easy to find because of the large tabernacle. Decent signs with all the distances on them. For Nebraska standards, some good elevation changes. I had the course all to myself. When I finished, I played the front nine a second time, because I thought the front was pretty fun.
Cons: The front and back nine are disjointed. I had trouble finding the back nine. In March the bathrooms were locked up. The back nine plays more like a regular wide open flat park course. As far as park courses go, this courses stacks up well. Some missing signs. I could have used a map to this park when I played. It almost feels like the back nine was added in later, or it was an after thought.
Other Thoughts: I've put off writing about this course so many times. Mostly because, for being great, its very plain and ordinary, that what you get with park courses. Yet, it surprised me. I bagged this course early on and it was one of the first courses to surpass my expectations. It was a very warm March day, and all the snow had just melted exposing millions of leaves, a disc could get lost easy. I played with my young daughter and she really enjoyed it, I ended up taking my time because I was with the little one, so I ended up just soaking it all in with a smile. I look forward to being in the southeast corner of Nebraska again someday so I can play this one more time.

I recommend this course for any and all skill levels because of the three paved tee boxes per hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Did I mention....LONG!

1    10/1/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course does have a small beautiful waterfall on it. Most of the holes are straight away. Some had trees, creeks, or some kind of obstacles to deal with. This course was in great shape. The cement tee pads on all three of the tee locations were really nice. The park was very clean, well maintained, with bathrooms and trashcans.
Cons: This course is almost too long. Some of the baskets were getting a bit rusty & tough to find. Most of the signs were missing, put they did put a pole in the ground with the number on it to replace it, but only on the red tees. The other te pads have a number sprayed on to the. You need a map to play this course. It is so long between some of the holes it is silly. #18 will make you like a mile to get back to #1 and your vehicle. #10 can have a camper parked just far enough down below you; you will have to be careful.
Other Thoughts: This course is a long course; did I mention that? It was just so long, it got to the point, where I felt like I was taking a walk and not playing the game anymore. This really isn't a bad course. The fun factor lost its edge after about hole 9. I still really enjoyed the Zen moment looking at the waterfall and realizing after 10 minutes, I still can't find that basket for #7. (hint: when looking at the waterfall, look to your far right, above the rocks, near the corner where road comes around.) They really need maps!!!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.