Evansville, IN 
Woodmere DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #4 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   3 / 300ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course with a People Problem

5+    10/8/2014   10/8/2014
Review By: blake13
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: - Concrete teepads
- Descriptive signs
- Elevation changes
- Good variation on distances
- Nice mix of BH/FH lines
- Well-manicured park (for the most part)
- Nice Gateway Titan baskets
- Generally intuitive layout
- Good mix of wooded and open holes
- Practice basket by parking lot
- Nice local players
- Several mandos that change potential strategies
Cons: - No trashcans by teepads - litter spread throughout course
- Pedestrian hazards on several holes (3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15)
- Long walks from 11 to 12 and 15 to 16
- Grass can get extremely tall for 5 and 6 (land managed by a separate entity from the rest of the park)
- Large amount of ignorant people who have no clue what disc golf is (see "Other Thoughts")
- Some erosion/drainage problems after moderate rainfall
- Strange walk from 4 to 5; you have to retrace your steps instead of going through the break in the woods by 4's basket.
Other Thoughts: Woodmere is a fantastic disc golf course. The course itself is about as fun as it gets, and the nice variety of shots required makes it perfect for competitive play as well as practice. Unfortunately, the course is located in an extremely popular park that presents several frustrating problems.

1) Litter. All the trash cans are on the parking lot, so some people feel inclined to leave numerous beer cans behind. Some even go so far to place them in trees.

2) Crazy dog walkers. These people come out of nowhere and conveniently walk in the fairways for pretty much every hole on the course. Hardly any such people know about disc golf, and sometimes they will stand next to a basket for a few minutes before getting the hint and moving.

3) Crazy parking lot people. Any griplock on 9 sends a disc flying in the parking lot. Some people (not disc golfers) occasionally park right along the O.B. line, making their vehicles in a very easy spot to get hit. Also, some drivers are straight-up bums. Today, I was throwing several on 9 for practice. On of my discs skipped onto the parking lot, and a man went out of his way to drive over the disc.

4) Crazy soccer players and fans. 1 out of every 3 rounds at Woodmere will require you to skip 14. Pick-up soccer games are played just to the left of the line, and fans/parents/friends will conveniently sit in the middle of the fairway to watch.

5) Crazy walkers and runners. Like the dog walkers, these people are everywhere and pop up when and where you least expect them. I have waited for 5 minutes at one point on 11 just to have an open lane to throw a hyzer. Also, on occasion, these people will see discs close to the sidewalk, and just decided to pick them up and throw them. Today, a buddy of mine threw a shot that rolled next to the sidewalk. A woman (who obviously had seen it rolling) seemed perfectly find to pick up the disc and throw it 20 feet away and continue to walk.

All in all, Woodmere is a great course that is located in an unfortunate park. Until the massive amounts of people are informed about disc golf, there will be frustrating waits and experiences playing here. The course deserves a 4.0, but I had to go lower because of these factors.

Fun park-like course

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: 1) Gateway Titan Pro 24 look to be a good basket. I have played some others that maybe were older models that I felt like the chains were much narrower than other baskets because of how they were attached. These didn't have the same issue.
2) Nice concrete tees available here. Why is the #1 long tee stamped and painted? I think that would only lead to issues.
3) Signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, a Map including mandos, and sponsors. They have all of the info needed in my book and look very attractive.
4) While the turf was dormant because it is in the transition zone, it seemed to be in pretty good condition. It was pretty full and I imagine in season it is not an issue anywhere.
5) The design of this course used the pockets of woods very well to create some interesting shots and add some challenge. There were all sorts of types of holes created with these different foliage densities and shapes.
6) There are some open holes, some lightly wooded holes, moderately wooded holes, and also some holes with tight sections of trees to force specific shots. I love this type of variety.
7) There are directionals underneath the baskets just like at Mesker. I appreciate it when you don't have to look for the next tee locations.
8) Practice Basket is available by the parking lot.
9) White Pines are one of my favorite trees for disc golf courses. I love how the branches go straight out and how they sound in the wind.
10) This would be a great place to bring a beginner, because it will allow them to see what disc golf is like, how challenges can be presented, along with being able to watch how far an experience player can throw. I would think this course would be attractive to the beginners in the area, especially because there is almost nowhere to lose a disc.
11) There are garbage cans in a few places around the course which is nice to see they are willing to try to keep the course free of waste.
12) Scorecards and pencils by the sign in box. I think they were out of scorecards when I was there, but there is an effort.
Cons: 1) The basket for # 8 was missing. I actually threw straight to the basket on #10 instead.
2) The hole with the basket up on the hill is fun but also dangerous. There really is no good way to the top of the hill with all sorts of concrete blocks, roots, etc etc etc. Nothing is consistent and I prefer consistent and safe to the shocking and unique. It may not be an issue for many people, but then there is that one time someone gets hurt. I don't want that to happen and would like to see a properly installed stairway to the top of the hill.
3) While the turf was mostly healthy on most holes, there were a few locations where mulch could have been used, retaining walls could have been installed to help level and area and protect the turf.
4) I am unsure if the branches on the ground under all of the White Pines were from a recent storm, pruning by the parks department or why none of the branches had been picked up. They stopped one of my great shots from being even better so it was disappointing. There is no reason they couldn't have all been pulled to the side of the fairway, so I am assuming it was from a storm. Still worth mentioning even though the course might normally be in better shape.
5) There were a few low lying areas where water had accumulated. I know it was from a recent snow melt but surface drainage might not be enough on some of these holes. Perhaps some buried draintile would be helpful.
6) This is a relatively flat course with only a few holes with elevation change. I like how elevation adds to the variety so I prefer courses with a little more slope.
7) #9 throws over a parking lot, while it is marked as OB, it does not prevent people from trying to clear the parking lot and vehicles. This is a safety issue (for the vehicles) and something that could have been avoided completely because there is plenty of land available in this park.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to sign the guestbook so that the city knows how frequent the course gets played. I signed it and directed them to my blog page since I feel I am an advocate for travelling for disc golf. It was a fun course and a nice mix to go with Mesker while I passed through town. I enjoyed both courses, although I prefer the extremeness of Mesker, Woodmere was fun too, just in a different way. It is more beginner friendly but it still has its challenging holes. It has a few unique things that you won't get at a typical beginner course so it can really show people what DG is all about.

 Woodmere Disc Golf Course Review

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first positive aspect that you notice about the Woodmere Disc Golf Course is the large parking lot located in the center of the course. It is very convenient if you need to refill a water bottle, pick up an umbrella, etc…

The tee signs are sufficiently large and depict the holes accurately. Also, they point you in the direction of the next hole, which helps a lot at Woodmere.

Another nice feature about the course is the level 12' x 4' teepads. These pads provide plenty of room. Hole 1's teepad is unique because it is an all brick pad that looks outstanding.

The 19 Gateway Titans are top notch baskets. They seem to catch everything that is thrown at them.

A few more positive aspects about Woodmere are the sign-in station, practice basket, and trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Probably the biggest negative aspect about Woodmere is the flow of the course. On multiple tees you are in danger of being hit by a disc from a previous hole. And the walk to 13-14 & 15-16 is a bit out of the way. (Though, this seems unavoidable due to land restrictions)

Currently the course is lacking benches, restrooms, or a water fountain.

Other Thoughts: In my opinion, Woodmere has a HUGE fun factor. There are many birdie opportunities if you can hit your lines and make your putts. Two holes over four hundred feet and one over five hundred. While this course will never be the most difficult, it could be very scenic if hard work is put into it. Hopefully Woodmere can be a two course complex someday.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good addition for Evansvlle

2-4    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Well-kept grounds. As an existing park, the grass is already growing and there is no waiting for the course to blossom into what it can be---this is especially nice for someone who tends to throw a lot of rollers, as you don't have to be concerned with awkward kicks and bounces.
*There are plenty of holes that provide ace runs without being simple, boring holes.
*Good mix of distances without making the course seem too difficult for beginners.
*I love the little pieces of wood hanging off the baskets pointing the direction to the next basket.
*Tee signs are fantastic. (Fair warning, some of the "hole tips" are sarcastic. Don't take them all as ridiculous, they're intended to be comical.
Cons: *Hole 5? Where is it supposed to be? We found the basket but couldn't find the teepad, which I don't believe exists. There is also nothing marking where it should be. Unfortunately, the #4 basket is one of the few ones that doesn't have the block of wood pointing to the next pad. (FYI, I've been told that the teepad is back down the hill from the #4 basket. We went that way but never saw it. If it is down there I would think there could be some problems with playing the hole, as it runs along a little league field.)
Update 6/17/13. Played again, found that teepad---not that it helped me, I screwed it up----tougher hole. You're way down hill so your drive has to have elevation to get into the open, then the hole curls a bit back to the left with the basket tucked in under trees. Go too far and there is a pretty substantial dropoff that could leave you in bad shape.
* Some holes have a bit of a walk from one to another, but that's unavoidable given the other uses of the park.
*There will be some holes that may not be playable when youth soccer games are going on.
*#4 has a great elevation change, but........I have a really bad feeling that it's going to be awful to go up and down the hill, much less try to throw on it, it you're playing in or after a rain.
*I kind of dislike putting this in the cons, but the brand new baskets kind of need to get "broken in" in my opinion, as the chains are heavy and catch well when you hit them, but they seem a bit stiff.
There is also an optical illusion of sorts with them. The basket itself is very deep to avoid bounce-outs and there are three levels of chains. The thing for me was, with the three vertical rings around the pole and additional depth of the basket, it created the illusion that the basket and chains weren't as wide as most other courses (they're exactly the size they should be, it just took me a while to convince myself of that.) That being said, if you hit the bottom of the basket your disc will NOT come out until you get it yourself.
Other Thoughts: #1--Good starting hole because you can get in a bit of trouble but still recover for a par. 280 with a low ceiling and goes to the right at the end of the fairway.

#2--Ace run. 219 with another relatively low ceiling a choice of hyzer or anhyzer route(the right is a bit lower than the left, but also a bit shorter to get there.) I went for the right lane and hoped to skip it in (I throw lefty sidearm and got my deuce.)

#3--345 feet with a wide open fairway. The throw will need to go to the left, with the basket under the edge of the canopy of the treeline.

#4. Interesting hole. It's 300, but it will be hard for most people to get there in one throw. Most will throw about 200-250 and land at the bottom of the hill leading up to the basket. The fairway turns a bit to the right and goes up a hill that's almost steep enough to be categorized as a cliff, with what is probably about a 25 or 30 foot change in elevation.

#5---*See update in cons---tough hole. ??????? Can't really say how it plays because we couldn't find where the pad was supposed to be and ended up playing it totally wrong (but probably made it more difficult than it's supposed to be.)

#6--Pretty open, long slow turn to the right, 306 feet. You could theoretically go OB, as you cross the path, but if you do you should be embarrassed, as it's only about 10 feet or less in front of the pad.

#7--Grip it and rip it. 485 feet, wide open fairway, basket is downhill from the tee. You can run the risk of getting into the trees on your second shot if you get about 20 or 30 feet past the basket.

#8--Right turn, Clyde. The hole is only 275 feet, but you're throwing from a pocket set back in the trees and your disc is basically running parallel to the trees to your right. Get it too far right and you're in the trees, land at the wrong angle and you'll roll waaaaaaay out to the left away from the basket. The basket only sits about 20 or 25 feet from the edge of the trees.

#9---I think this was my favorite hole on the course. It's pretty short (I don't remember the exact length, but it's less than 240 and I think more like 215. It could also present some problems, as one choice of throw goes right over the corner of the parking lot which was empty when we played but won't be if there's a tournament. The throw over the parking lot is a regular hyzer for most people. My friend threw a pretty high hyzer that he let fly into the tree just right of the basket (the basket is up a hill from that's probably 15 feet higher than the parking lot below it, and distance-wise it's not that far past the parking lot.) I came in from the other side left-to-right in hopes of acing it under the canopy This forced me to flirt with a lightpole at the back corner of the parking lot. I didn't get my ace, but we both made our birdies. It's not a hard hole, but it might be one that has a lot to say about who wins and who loses, given the birdie run vs. OB possibilities.

#10--385 foot hole that starts with most narrow gap you'll have to hit. About 15 or 20 feet in front of the teepad you have to split two trees that can't be more than 6 feet apart at the base. The fairway traverses a valley and turns uphill and left---be careful to make that left turn and not get too far or you do have the potential of crossing the OB straight ahead.


#11---Ace run~! Downhill and only about 215. No obstacles to really worry about hitting, but there is an OB walking path that runs along the right side of the fairway and the basket is only about 20 feet or so from it.

#12--405 feet, the first 250 or so is wide open. Fairway then becomes a path into tall trees with a moderately low canopy. There is OB that runs the length of the hole on the left.

#13---This hole is set up as a sweeping left turn that's 330 feet, but there is a teaser route that goes directly at the basket. As the hole before, the path runs along the left side of the fairway for OB.

#14--(No sign, so I'm guessing about 310-330) Pretty much straight down the fairway, but you have to keep it low as there are big trees on either side if you stray or elevate. The hole is set to the left behind a large, spreading tree. This hole has a mando (gotta go right) to keep you away from the youth soccer fields, but I have a feeling there will be tons of parents in lawn chairs that may make this unplayable on some days.

#15--Shortest hole on the course. 205 feet, but the basket is tucked in behind a couple of trees. There is also potentially OB if you blow too far past.

#16---Pretty good walk from the previous basket, and a narrow gap to hit when you get there. Get through the gap about 25 feet in front of the pad and the fairway is wide open from there, but the basket is only about 25 feet or so from a thick line of trees. Basket is slightly elevated up about what amounts to two steps worth of bricks and will force you to hit a putt that is around eye level for most people.

#17--Trees to the left, but fairway is wide open for about the first 300 feet of this 350 foot hole. The basket is behind a tree that is only about 20 feet tall but is probably 30 or 40 feet wide.

#18---Grip it and rip it again. Finish with a hole that's about 530 feet, but listed (just like everything else) as a par 3. The fairway is virtually wide open. If you get all the way to the left there are trees and there are two trees about 20 feet apart on the right side, but otherwise just let it fly. The basket sits along a bit of a ridgeline that runs the same direction as the fairway, but there is only about a two-foot difference in elevation that shouldn't really have any effect on how you play the hole.




3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course

2-4    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: dabell26
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alot of variety with shot selection and distance. Provides some challenging shots that makes you think twice before just letting loose. Basket placement adds to the difficulty giving some holes a high risk approach if your not careful. A couple of holes provide for some nice ace runs.
Cons: The course has some flow issues as both times I've been out there I've met players who had difficulty finding the next teepad. Course can get very crowded as some of the holes are situated right next to baseball fields and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to play and is a great addition to the disc golf scene in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Addition to Evansville Disc Golf

2-4    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new Gateway Titan baskets.
-Twelve foot concrete teepads are level and texture will provide great traction in wet conditions.
-Tee signs might be the best looking signs I have ever seen
-Course makes great use of elevation. Examples of great use and diversity: Hole 5 requires players to tee off and throw up a steep hill through a narrow gap into the open. Hole 7 is a 485' downhill bomb. Hole 11 is a 240' downhill ace run.
-Unique pin positions: A variety of pin locations create tough putting predicaments. The basket on hole 4 is situated on a steep hill, 15' above the fairway. Hole 5's basket is located just inside the woods with a 15' drop down below.
Cons: -Flow: the course has some flow issues that seemingly could have been avoided. After hole 4, it seems logical that you would continue over the hill into the opening to next tee. Instead, you have to backtrack to hole 5's teepad. On the back 9, the walk from hole 13 to 14 requires is approximately 500'. You play two holes, then double back between holes 12 & 13 to get to 16.
-On hole 6, you have to tee off from out of bounds. This isn't that big of a deal, just more of a personal pet peeve.
-A couple mandos seem out of place and possibly confusing. They are there for safety purposes, but should be more well-defined.
-Hole 9's best line requires you to throw over the corner of the course parking lot. This is a potential safety hazard and poses potential liability issues.
-There is a lot of other activity going on in the park. There will be some major conflicts at times with other groups and other activities. Be prepared for some holes to be closed during soccer events, particularly holes 14 & 15.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Woodmere is a fun course that is a much needed addition to Evansville's east side. While it doesn't have the unique character of Mesker or the flow of Atkinson, it is definitely a course to play when you are in the Evansville area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.