Evansville, IN 
Woodmere DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #11 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   3 / 240ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for all skill levels.

5+    5/14/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: Abram
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: 1) The courses are layed out very well so it's easy to navigate. You don't finish a whole and wonder where you go next. (If you pay attention there is an arrow right below the basket that tells you where to go.
2) Great mixture of open and wooded holes.
3) Concrete pads to throw from are the perfect length for a run.
4) The course is very well taken care of. No trash or down trees/limbs in the way.
5) Plenty of parking.
6) Baskets are in great condition.
Cons: 1) Hole #10 is right next to the parking lot and you need to throw over it to get straight to the hole. Not the best layed out OB in my opinion.

I don't have a lot of cons to list here cause I absolutely love this course.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Evansville area. USI is very beginner friendly but once you have it down there isn't much of a challenge. Mesker is the other course around here and it is NOT beginner friendly and even intermediate players will have quite a bit of trouble. This course is perfect for my skill level which I would consider intermediate.

 

2-4    7/7/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 42  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for the area. Uses natural obsticles well. Great parking and tremendous signage. Seriously wish every course took the time to have this guy do their signs.
Cons: Titan baskets seem to have heavy chains and prevent a lighter putt from going in if not low on the chains. Fairly open for long arms and a low number of anhyzer or lefty shots which has annoyed at least one person in my group every time I've played it.
Other Thoughts: For all of my Cons, I still have to give the course a 4. It is a challenging course and is going to set a fire under the city for disc golf because of its access and locatoin.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent Course Design

1    6/5/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: poochie
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is brand new! A great mix of wooded holes and open holes. The open holes really let you go for the basket. Nice elevation changes, be careful climbing the hills on 4 and 5. Tee pads are extra long giving good run up ability. Teepad 1 has a box for score cards and pencils.
Cons: Park is very busy during the evening hours due to the nearby baseball fields. The hole tips on the signs really are not tips, but more of safety precaution tips while throwing. Be careful on 9 for it one gets away from you it could hit a car in the parking lot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    5/20/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Excellent tee boxes, signs, fairways, baskets
+Easy to follow course incorporates topography and nature well
+Great variety of length and shot type
+Many holes offer a choice of approach shots
+Challenging yet still enjoyable for the beginner
+Easy to find and park
+Beautiful setting with trees and open areas
+ Hole 11 offers a great downhill shot for an Ace!
Cons: - Posted Par: The course is longer (6,022 ft) than local courses Mesker (5,862) or Atkinson (5,928). Not a problem in and of itself, but the posted par (54) is for the experienced power player. With only 1 set of tees (which I don't find to be a problem if adjustments in par are made), a more realistic par for the avg decent player would be around 61 with holes 5, 10, 12, 14 becoming par 4s and holes 7 and 18 becoming par 5s. Hole 18 is a monster at 531 and 7 runs 485. The longest hole at Mesker is 465 and Atkinson is 440.
- "Mandos" (mandatory direction) are confusing, irritating and unneeded, particularly on 4
- As of this date, Hole 16 was unfinished. It will be an elevated basket.
Other Thoughts: Except for the "mandos", there are no cons in this course as far as simply playing the game. The course is beautiful and fun to play. Ignore the "mandos" and you will enjoy this course no matter your skill level. But if you keep score compared to par - take into account the suggestions above.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Interesting

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: natmance
Played: 70  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course makes good use of the elevation changes in the park. I have always thought of the park as being relatively flat, but the design of the course makes it seem hilly and interesting.

There is a good mix of wooded and open shots. There is also a good mix of short and long drives.

The signs are nicely done, and more accurate than most signs that I've seen. This makes the course pretty easy to navigate.

The course is going to need time to develop, but the fact that I enjoyed it the first time I played it says a lot about its potential.
Cons: The park can be very busy on nice days, making it hard to play a complete round without worrying about bystanders. However, I feel the course design does a good job of keeping the general public safe from stray discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.