Federal Way, WA 
Brooklake DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz   (Taken 5/2012)



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Brooklake DGC

5+    10/18/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: ewmccarthyiv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some holes are confidence boosters as they are shorter while the longer holes allow you to practice some decent longer drives. Some straight shots and some technical. A great mix. Course was overgrown and messy, however a ton of work as been done with more to come on cleaning this course up. Much more playable now and not as big of a worry about losing a disc.
Cons: Some of the overgrown spots make is incredibly difficult to find your disc, especially if you don't have a good spotter. However, this seems to be changing with a huge cleanup of the course. Homemade baskets are what they are and are really not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Great potential with continuation of putting work into making the course more and more playable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It is what it is....

1    4/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 68  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Local opportunity to play. Nice hole variations even though short. The property has potential for a solid 9 hole course. It's a great effort for making something out of nothing.
Cons: Basket quality obviously. Course grooming could use some work.... But it would be a lot of work and I don't see this happening. At this time the accuracy required to stay out of ugly stuff is advanced level....while the course in a whole is beginner distance and shot difficulty.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty rugged

1    10/19/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pitch and putt course with 8-9 holes over 220ft. A handful of holes are possible ace holes (example #1/10 is 100 feet straight), so that is fun. Some of the holes like #2/11 have 90 degree turns from the pad half way to the basket which makes for great practice of bender shots. Beginners and young kids would find the course fun and challenging. Homemade baskets are interesting (kind of cool to look and throw at) but won't hold power throws very well.
Cons: No tee pads, each pad area has a nice sign but the ground is tall wet grass and can be uneven. I found it hard to throw a proper backhand...most the time I took one side step then threw. Hole #3 pad is the worst. Even with signs you still need the map. Download from this site, the map box contained two which were ruined because of the moisture. Map is not accurate but it is okay in a very general way...hole #4/13 is an example. You need to walk in the direction of the map down an old road but the distance is way further then the map indicates. Couldn't find tee pads or signs for #17. Might have just been me.
Other Thoughts: Church property course, pretty rugged as far as upkeep...you were walking thru 12-15 inch high wet grass. But it is great that this church has a playable course for Federal Way area. Not very many courses around that area. Fun course for the churches school kids and attenders. I'm glad I brought a change of socks and shoes...they were really soaked and it hasn't rained in a few days.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brooklake DGC

1    8/31/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Brooklake DGC is an eighteen hole course which uses duel tee pads for nine baskets, allowing for variation off the tee. Located on a church property in Federal Way, this pitch and putt course has a lot to offer those who are new to the sport. Although most holes are less than 225 feet, there are a few longer and more difficult holes to be had. First time players MUST print off a map in order to navigate both the recreational and pro layout. If the course is busy, the pro layout will be near impossible to play considering it has disc golfers throwing over other tee pads/fairways.
Cons:
The homemade baskets are more than adequate considering the course was created for the less experienced. However, the addition of some galvanized baskets would go a long way in improving the overall quality of the course. The current baskets are slowly deteriorating and are not the best when catching long putts and ace runs.

Fairways on the course are extremely overgrown in certain areas, with huge clumps of tall grass and brambles all over, making even the simplest shots difficult to spot. I used a putter on almost every hole so that I could keep track of where I was throwing without having to spend time searching. I like how the fairways make disc golfers throw certain lines due to the shape of the rough, but feel if it were better kept up the enjoyment factor would be MUCH higher. I was just glad to not see every hole dead straight.

Tee signs are primitive; with wooden stakes about two feet up letting players know where the tee pad is…or should be.

Currently, there are no official tee pads but more like patches of dirt next to or near the last basket. Good enough considering the length of the course, but improvements can still be made.
Other Thoughts:
Steve and some of the other local players have put a lot of work in to making something out of nothing. The course is great for those who are not super serious about the sport, and may be ideal for those throwing big lids. There would be less errant shots into the thick foliage and therefore less lost discs. Over time this course could improve its current rating, but the amount of work needed far outweighs what has already been done so far. I wish Steve and the others the best with their venture and hope that people continue to be respectful when on the church property. Although it wasn't the best of courses I still enjoyed myself, as something is ALWAYS better than nothing. Thank you!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course deserves more than one star

2-4    9/1/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: GiggleWorks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a private course that allows the public to come use it, and thats worth a star in itself. The fact that the church allowed this, and they do a fair amount of work on it is awesome. I commend them for sharing their land and course and letting us disc golfers have another place to throw plastic. Small space, but good use of land/features.
Cons: No teepads so footing is a bit tricky. Alhough the course has some VERY short holes, they are made difficult by terrain and therefore still a challenge. I had to play several times before I could par it (I actually consider that a pro, but I know a lot of you guys don't like the shorter courses, I like this one). Weeds...hard ground....blackberries bushes and scotchbroom....this place could use more effort to make it more playable and better looking.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the course and know that it can get three stars if its cleaned up. It has a facebook page and the guy who built the course is super friendly. Give it a try!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better (one bush, bramble and thorn at a time)!

1    6/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course navigates twice around the ballfield at the Brookdale Church property south of Federal Way, WA. You play to each of the nine homemade baskets on each of the nines. The baskets are decent, for homemade. They catch OK even if they just make that dull thump when your disc hit's chains. There really aren't any teepads to speak of. You tee off next to each of the 18 homemade tee signs. Most of them were fairly easy to find with the on-line map I had printed off. The same map was available at the first tee. This is a recreational course. Distances range from the easy 90 foot ACE runs on both # 1 and # 10 to a long of maybe 260 ft.. The course is basically flat which just a little roll in places. There is a seasonal pond which fills with water in the winter and would effect your throws on #'s 7 and 16. There are also a set of signs for the Blue tees which play longer, probably adding 25-50 feet per hole and in some cases greatly adding to the difficulty.
Cons: As of now, there is still much clearing of berry bushes, nettles and the course in general that needs to be done. A next tee sign here and there would help the first timer with navigation. Quite a bit of clearing has been completed since sillybiz wrote his uncharacteristic uncomplementary review. It's a course best played in a group or at least, with a partner.
I played on a Saturday and the gates to the parking lot were closed and locked. I parked down the street and walked in through a back entrance thinking I was maybe sneaking in. Instead I was met by Steve, course designer and church employee, who said he is working on the gate issue and I was welcome to play.
Steve and another gentlemen, were out mowing and trimming as I played. I can't keep up with my yard and these guys are trying to manage this forrest. Steve's working hard. The church is welcoming to the disc community. Please respect them by refraining from drugs and alcohol and packing out your litter. And I gave Steve a DGCR card to get him signed up. Another member in the fold!
Other Thoughts: When the neccessary trimming and pruning is completed, this course will be what it is. That is, a short 18 hole recreational course with homemade baskets and natural teepads. It will be a place for locals to play, for us course baggers to rack up another course, and finally maybe a chance for some to chase those elusive "ACEs." #'s 1 and 10 are just waiting for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

OOOF

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well there is some baskets and tee pads here to play on and nothing too long or challenging so you could practice your game here. You get multiple tee pads so it can change the course a little bit for you. Looks like safari or glow here could be lots of fun! haha!
Cons: The course is so overgrown and many of the holes the 'fairway' is sticker bushes or long grass throwing over a blind hill to a basket you can't see. Not exactly my type of fun but if you like looking for or losing discs you might like it here. The baskets are made with old tires, two by fours and chain and don't really catch well.
Other Thoughts: Just avoid this place if you're looking for disc golf a couple of courses are just down the road from you. You can't play here on Sundays or weekdays before 3:30 which is alright with me because I won't be making my way back here anytime soon.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.