Keene, TX 
Carver Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JeremyKShort Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 175ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Elias Carver Park DGC

1    3/30/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: xseption
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are easy to find and are in great condition. I liked the way that the holes are positioned such that there is usually a hazard or two to work through. The course is short and you can accomplish a couple of rounds rather quickly.
Cons: The course is very short. There is a small creek running through the course and the creek is easy to grab your discs from. But, the terrain around the creek tends to slope towards the creek and any rolling discs tend to find the creek. You need to watch for pedestrians strolling through the sidewalks that cut through the course. Hole 9 does not circle around to the parking lot nor Hole 1.
Other Thoughts: I gave it a good (3) in the sense that it it a good way to practice your intermediate game. I almost aced two holes so you might enjoy acing a hole or two. I was there in the morning (10 am) on Sunday and there was a fair amount of traffic already.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

home court

5+    7/9/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: laerton420
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: park is well kept,baskets are real nice (just love that yellow chastity belt,arghh)..course is laid out nice,shots are fun if not overly challenging..good practice course,,locals are friendly..water,restrooms and abundant pickanicka tables..
Cons: people.people.people..tho this park is disc friendly the holes are laid out so that every one crosses a trail,or walkway somehow.only 9 holes,tho its cool to play them twice,,
Other Thoughts: this is my home course and its a great practice course,also has a soccer feild which is good for distance driving practice..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Approach With Care

5+    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 80  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Discatcher baskets are one of the biggest pros of the course. Bright yellow rims and deep baskets with double sets of chains are a welcome sight to anyone working on their short game. When you couple this with the manicured grass and large welcoming course sign things are looking good. The tee signs are in place and the advertisements show the community's support.

Restrooms are on site with water fountains and parking is also ample. Trash cans and benches are also in close proximity to most of the holes.

Playability Pros:

The thing that makes this course work is that it really brings the mid-range / approach game into play. Uneven greens, left to right shots, right to left, tight & technical all challenge the intermediate player to make sure they are accurate placing discs. Turning the course into a challenge where players see how close to -9 you can come is a lot of fun. Ace opportunities on all 9 holes thanks to 300' max D and great baskets! Also a good one disc practice course.
Cons: As much as Carver has going for it, it's a shame that there are also a lot of things that make it a complex review. The property was near maximized already with 4 baseball fields, a volleyball court, football field and basketball court; and winding through all this is a heavily used walking loop. This is problematic and even perfectly placed shots can be dangerous.

Also the park is bordered by state property with high fences and designers have already had to move the location of hole 9 to ease tensions due to people scaling fences to retrieve discs.

Course flow due to designers having to work with what they had is also an issue. The course starts at the North end of the park and finishes on the South end. So no matter where you park there's a walk. Thankfully nice sidewalks ease the commute.

Playability Cons:

The courses' constant crisscrossing of the creek is a tad tiresome even with the soon incoming bridge. Also the absence of a hole that allows for a big drive is a downside.
Other Thoughts: This course is an addition to an active college town, with multiple high schools as well as many private and church youth groups, which is relatively unaware of disc golfs existence. The course serves its purpose relatively well as a beginner course.

I have found that parking on the corner of 2280 and Pioneer Dr. is preferable to the main lot due to proximity to hole 1.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

could be worse

1    12/26/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great baskets and signs
-plenty of parking
-natural tees in great condition
-park is clean and well-maintained
-beginner friendly
Cons: -not a good piece of land for disc golf
-walking path and sport fields are a hazard
-holes 1 and 9 are on opposite sides of the park
-hole 1 is separated from the rest of the course
-no convenient places to cross the creek that you have to cross 5 times
Other Thoughts: This is a beginner course in a very small park. It is cool that they have a course in a small town like this but there are not a lot of good things to say about it.

The creek provides an obstacle but is a pain to cross. The holes are otherwise mostly wide open except for a few trees and fences.

This is a great place for locals to get exposed to the sport and for beginners to get a feel for the game but it is not worth anyone going out of the way to play it.

*edit*
This just occurred to me: a way to play the course as 18 with some more interesting holes. Start from the end of the parking lot near holes 3 and 4. Shoot all the way out to basket 9 for your first hole. Then play basket to basket backwards from 9 to 1. Then turn around and play the regular course. You end up with a monster hole 1 to warm up on and another monster in the middle on hole 9. In between are all the short shots. Paths and beyond OB also. Food for thought.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Newbie/practice course

1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *beginner friendly course- alot of short shots to help introduce a new player to the game
*water hazard, even though its not very big or deep, it does introduce the aspect of water holes to new disc golfers
*great place to work on short game as most holes are all same distance
*the few trees it had were put to use
*tee signs- with distance marked
*once you start playing flows well
*not alot of players
*area was well maintained
Cons: *very simple course-advance players will not appreciate it, and probably wont play it
*long walk to first hole from parking lot
*its not by any other courses, and is off beaten track- again it would be a great practice for short game course, if their was something else around,
*plays through park/baseball diamond so would not suggest playing if game is going on
*every shot felt like it was straight on
*natural tee box, got to look for red markers pass tee signs
Other Thoughts: Again, i know ive said this before but its a very short course that would be great for midrange work. I pretty much played the whole course with a whippet, leopard, and my Anode putter. Just wished there was a second course closer to make it worth the drive.
I gave it the 2.5 because i felt like it did its job. Its a course to introduce new players to the game and be easy enought for youngsters to pick up on the sport

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad Park for DG

1    9/15/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 146  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: These 9 holes have great baskets, nice tee signs and well cared for grass. Other than that there isn't a lot of nice things to say, the design did about as good of a job with the hole layout as possible, this just is not the ideal park for a disc golf. The first tee is at the far South end of the park and the 9th basket is at the far North. The creek you traverse on 3 of the holes makes taking a child in a stroller extremely difficult, though you wouldn't need a cart for discs as playing this course with more than a putter and mid would be overkill. A short barbed wire fence on the last 3 holes will cost you a disc on errant shots. The sidewalk can bring pedestrians into play on every hole and the park in general is too small for throwing discs.
Don't go out of your way to play this.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not to bad

1    8/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: Salcidomd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: it si a clear course very few obsticles and all baskets can be clearly seen from the tee
Cons: Very Short shots, not allot of obsticles all the shots are all strait
Other Thoughts: overall was a good course but becarefull on that 7th basket not to throw to far you ll land up in a whoooooole lotta thorns

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Carver Park DGC

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the DISCatcher baskets and the coca cola tee pads are a nice little feature
the holes were short and enjoyable. I liked the risk/ reward factor with throwing over a creek so often.
Cons: the course had no flow to it. I like when a course makes a sort of loop where the first and last hole are close so you can make a loop. hole 1 was on one side of the baseball field while hole 9 ended on the complete other side of the complex. i also wish it was a little bit easier to cross the creek since you do on about 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: The course would of been rated about a 3.5 if there was some sort of basket layout flow i dont like that after the round you have a big walk back to your car and a walk to start your round.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best 9 Hole South of DFW

2-4    5/29/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: Banshee38
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good clean park; Great for rookies, but still challenging for veterans; Brand new baskets; Nicely laid out & easy to follow; Nice signage; Nice field for practice driving;
Cons: Lots of Non Disc Golf Activity and Traffic; Narrow Fairways on the First Two Holes; No Tee Boxes;
Other Thoughts: Awesome quick course! Great for everybody who plays the game. Beware if Baseball games are in progress, might be worthwhile skiping the first two holes if they are!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting 9

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun 9 hole course. Good signs at parking lot and at tees. Great place to improve your short game. Great baskets. Well maintained grounds, only rough is right along the creek. Bathrooms close by. Trash cans all over.
Cons: No tee pads of any kind, just some plastic markers stacked into the ground. Already some tee makers missing and course only opened officially the day before. Bad throws on 7,8 and 9 will see a disc lost over barb wire fence to TXDOT property. Many of the holes are dangerously close to the next tee, if you are playing in front of or behind another group watch out. If baseball or any other activity is going on in the park it will be dangerous to try and play, holes 1 and 2 especially.
Other Thoughts: Finally a course I can walk too! YEAH! Disc golf is growing!

I was scared when I heard they were going to put a course in this park. I didn't think you could fit 3 holes in, let a lone 9. They did a great job squeezing the course into the available area. Is it perfect, no. Is it fun, yes. Really the only way to improve the layout would be more land, and I don't see that happening.

Leave your drivers at home. This is a short course and you won't need them. You will however be challenged on your short game. You will have to learn to throw accurate and control your power to do well here.

Holes 1 and 2 are really narrow. Will be very challenging for beginners. Holes 3 through 8 play back and forth over the creek. Creek and terrain along it added some fun challenges to the holes I didn't anticipate. I don't like hole 9 purely because of the proximity to a barbed wire fence that if you throw over you are out of a disc.

A lot of people will be fishing discs out of the creek. We must of gone into it 2 or 3 times and the group ahead of us was in it a bit too. Right now it is a challenge to cross the creek but I heard they are adding some additional crossings soon.

Due to the creek this isn't really a stroller or cart friendly course until they add the crossings. You can have your dog on leash but don't let your dog go off leash the local dog catcher isn't nice.

Do I like this course, YES! Would I drive a long way to play it, no. If you are in the area (South Fort Worth) it would be a great course to hit. It is the most enjoyable 9 hole course I have played. Experienced players can add challenge by trying to birdie every hole. Could see an ace race type tournament here. Warm up here before you go on to play Amigo or Bicentennial.

Hope to see you on the course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.