Jonesville, FL 
Jonesville Park Share
Uploaded By: IGotDisc Hole #3 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 257ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Need to Mow

1    7/27/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: bilborph
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice wooded holes and rare (for Florida) rolling hills.
Cons: Some of the holes had knee high grass/weeds from tee to basket. Hard to find discs, and sometimes even the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course a 4 with a good mowing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: GhostmanOn2nd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not much litter on the course.
Cons: A mowing is well over-due. If you miss the fairway you'll likely encounter spider-webs among the foliage. Locating your disc can also be quite difficult.
Other Thoughts: Bring your brightest plastic and hopefully a friend to help you find errant throws that enter the wooded areas.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jonesville

2-4    3/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 79  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great to have a new course close to home & Gainesville. Better dranage to play when Northside is flooded. Nice job of carving the front side out of the woods. Great mix of woods & open bombs. Lots of RHBH anhyzer challenge.
Cons: Rough is thick in summer. Rest room for ladies is a little far from parking by baseball fields.
Other Thoughts: love it. Bald eagle by parking lot patroles the tree line by basket 1. cement tees. I play this frequently as close to home. Can vary from 3.5 when rough to approaching a 4 when mowed. Best played in winter when rough is under control.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Variation of Landscape

1    2/19/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that plays around a huge baseball and tennis complex (seems to be a common theme in Florida). Plays about half in lightly-treed and semi-open areas and the other half plays through a mix of thick woods and on the edge of thick woods.

I was most impressed with how the makers created many unique holes and used pathways and other artificial OB to make the open shots more challenging.

Thanks to the metal "next tee" arrows on the trees and baskets kept navigation fairly simple.

Seems water can come into play during the rainy season, but when it's dry (as when I was there), they have OB markers in those areas. These markers make the course more honest and challenging (though some despise artificial OB). The water areas were only on two holes from what I recall.

Favorite holes:
(Most Scenic) #7 goes along a marsh to the right and through mature trees with the hanging moss that is so unique to the South.

(Best woods hole) #4 - the most challenging of the woods holes (in my estimate), a long tunnel shot with a few trees mixed in the fairway.
Cons: The walking path on the left of #13 & 14 could be a danger to pedestrians for a couple reasons: one is that when the trees are leafy, they may block your view of oncoming peds; and second, the easier shot seems to be a left to right shot that carries over that same path.

Holes 12-14 are a bit too similar to each other (lots of little trees with a left to right carry being the beneficial shot).

Course kinda dead-ends on the 17th hole and it's a bit of a walk to get to the 18th which is a bit of a lackluster finish to an otherwise nice experience.
Other Thoughts: If you want to jump ahead of the crowds, you can park right by #7 and start there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Spice of Life

1    1/24/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's something about a big ol' heaping of variety that always improves my take on a course. Not just a variety of shots, and distances, although those are obviously good too. But variety of scenery. Variety of setting. A course that mixes it up and still feels like one course (NOT having two nines that feel like they don't belong together) is always going to score highly with me. And that is what we have in Jonesville. From the parking lot to the edge of the woods on the first hole.(one of my favorite ways to lead a course, it just has that hole one feel) A few holes carved out of dense forest, then out to an open field. Back across the woods at the mid-way point before a final stretch of field holes. It's an incredible flow built on a great variety.

There's also something about a course that plays to a certain skill level, and those are rarer than you think. So it makes me smile when I play a course like Jonesville and think, "wow, this is textbook intermediate." The woods holes feature clear, defined fairways that are generous enough without being non-technical. Some good lines, here. Not Charlotte-tough, but good lines that should test an intermediate-level player appropriately. The open holes aren't that open. Most are the opposite of the woods holes, where an open space has been built into a fairway by planting trees. (And this course should be fun to watch develop as those trees will grow.) There is challenge there too, and not just from the distance.

For players of that skill level, this is an ideal, play-all-the-time-course. It's just going to hit that sweet spot of fun and challenge. I do think that the variety will keep it interesting for players that don't happen to fall into that ability category. It also help that everything at Jonesville is really well-done. Everything looks good. These fairways are beautiful. The trees are well-placed. Even the paths between holes on the wooded sections are among the best I've seen. It's a well-designed and -constructed course that I highly recommend for all players.
Cons: While I do think that all players will enjoy the course to a degree, it's definitely true that players outside the target skill-level will find less to like. Top players will probably find the least to like, for two reasons. First, they likely have seen tons of courses, and nothing at Jonesville will be novel for them. Second, Their skills will let them exploit the course. Yes there are obstacles on the open sections, but nothing an open player won't be able to go over the top of. Yes, the lines on the wooded holes are technical but an expert will not find them challenging at the distances available. At the same time, a new player may find those woods lines too tough and the rough is fairly rough. They may also be exhausted by the distance on the open holes.
Other Thoughts: It says that the course is still in development, and I believe it must be close to finished at this point. I will say that it looks a lot more finished than it does in the pictures taken six months ago. (Nothing felt as open as some of them look.) There are probably some finishing touches (a few more next tee signs hopefully) to add but it is very much ready to play. I didn't want to add this to a con, (and it would be if the course was advertised as completed) but there are a few transitions that need directional aids. I wasn't bothered by it, because for once the course map was completely accurate and easy to follow, but it is something that needs to happen. (and probably will, the way that everything else has been thought of here.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Continually Improved

5+    9/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: icandisc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Variety of shots
Course makes full use of the land given -- it's amazing 18 interesting holes fit in this space!
Cons: Soccer, tennis and baseball means it can be busy with people, but you won't have to cross paths with anyone while playing
Carpet pads (although personally I like them better)
Lack of signs for next tee? (this one is hard since I know the course)
Other Thoughts: I play this course very often, since before the tee signs were even up. The maintainers show the course a lot of love and have cared for it and developed it out very nicely as time has passed.

The course makes full use of the land, and returns you nicely to the parking lot several times during play so you never have to play all 18, can skip holes, etc.

Front 4 plays in the woods, 5-8 play around them, 9-10-11 are back along and in the edges of the woods. Holes 12 and up are in the open and let you rip (particularly 15, being long and wide open).

Some navigation notes:
First tee is at the very back of the parking lot. Drive all the way in past the tennis center and fields. Tee 1 and a practice tee are on your right. Tee 1 plays into or to the edge of the woods on the right, not the further tee on the left (which is 11). Tee 5 is to the right, walk out of the woods down the path and you'll see the pad on the left. The walk from Hole 9 to Hole 10 is left up the same walking path, with 10 being a short tight hole in the woods. 14 to 15 is a bit of a walk, follow the path past the ball fields. 15 is a monster hole, but you'll see the pad next to the pines on your right. You end up very close to your parking spot after hole number 11, and play very close to it until hole 14. Hole 18 returns you to the lot as well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    6/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: SN00PR0CK
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great flow from hole to hole.

Variety of hole lengths.

Some wide open holes, some holes surrounded by trees on both sides.

Nice, clean public park with tons of parking, and other activities going on.
Cons: While there are signs that guide you from hole to hole, they are rather small and just arrows. Got lost twice during my round but didnt take long to get back on track.

Padded mats are a problem for some people, i dont really care.

Overgrown grass in some areas, and lots of bugs.
Other Thoughts: Went on a midweek early afternoon. Only one other golfer out at the time, and no one walking the paths. Tons of wide open room to just rear back and let 'er rip!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course...worth a trip

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on its way to be one of the best in central Florida. The park is huge and has a ton of facilities and things to do. It has plenty of space for a DG course and they are actually installing 2 additional holes to get it up to 20 for an upcoming tournament.

The flow is amazing for the first 6 holes. They have trees cut and laid down to form a path that takes you from the pin to the next pad. I haven't ever seen anything so helpful on any course I have ever played! This course has everything but water, which is fine with me. It is hard to lose a disc, except in some high vegetation in a couple of spots. The length is excellent and will challenge you, even if you have a canon for an arm. The woodsy holes are nice and technical, with obvious lines and fairways but without rough that will eat your disc.

Locals were really friendly and even helped us find two discs (watch out for the tall grass). These guys really care about their course and are working hard to maintain it. They have added a tunnel shot on 15 that is roughly 200 feet dead straight down a tunnel.

The course takes you back to part of the parking lot on hole 7, which is helpful...it is a ways from where the parking lot meets up with hole 1, though. The online map is really helpful.
Cons: Just a couple of cons. Carpet tees. High shule in a few spots. Really the only hole that I thought had an issue is hole 17 because the hyzer route has you throwing blind across a walking path. I fear that someone is going to come walking or jogging down the path and get nailed. Only a mando would help that but it would take away from that hole.

Navigation was a little rough getting from hole 6 to hole 7. There were some carpet tees out in the field that we thought were hole 7 but then it turned out it was over by the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Great course. No other courses on this side of town and pretty accessible from the interstate. I will definitely be playing this when I am in town. I hope they will add real tee signs, mow a little of the shule and add concrete tees. If they did that, I would give it a solid 4 or 4.5

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jonesville Park

2-4    12/24/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: tonyfrank1750
Played: 64  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to start with location and directions. The park was very easy to find and the course within the park was also very easy to locate all the way at the back.

There is not a course sign yet, but the start is very intuitive. There is also a practice basket if you like to warm up a little.

I played on a weekday so parking was easy, but the course runs around a multipurpose park so parking could be more difficult when all of the baseball, softball, and soccer fields are in use. Not to mention the tennis courts.

The pads are large pieces of carpet, which some people see as a CON. But they were nice and large and staked to the ground very well so footing was not on my mind even though the surrounding ground was wet.

There are tee signs (wooden posts) for all of the holes. They all have hole numbers and distances.

Once you get going the flow is very intuitive. Most baskets are visible from the tees and the trails from one pin to the next tee are very well cleared. If there is doubt, small signs with arrows point you in the right direction.

The 18 holes are a mix of left, right, straight, open, wooded, long, medium, and short. The variety of shots will make you use more than just your simple RHBH. I found myself using discs that simpler courses don't make me reach for.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes still need some clearing.

If you go in the summer, bring some good bug spray.

Some of the holes ran along or across a walking path. I only encountered one pedestrian, but again I was playing on a off day.

Few benches.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing the course! I will certainly make it down again. This course is mostly fair. There are a couple of trees that could stand to be taken out, but for the most part, good shots were rewarded and poor shots were not punished more than they deserved.

Rec players should expect to shoot several over. Advanced players should be anywhere from +3 to -6. And I would expect a pro to shoot better than advanced.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements Coming!

5+    7/1/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: IGotDisc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has left, right, and straight holes to challenge any righty or lefty. No discrimination. Front 11 is a lot more wooded and technical compared to Northside Park. The park is still pretty new and the designers and local club are working hard to improve this course on their free time almost daily.
Cons: I don't feel right filling in this area yet due to this course still being new. All problems I have are being resolved without bringing it up to anyone's attention.
Other Thoughts: Potentially with the baseball and soccer fields out there I can see some night games going on if the stadium lights are on. You could play 11-18 no problem in the dark. I would like to see that in the future for those who have to work long hours.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center