Jonesville, FL 
Jonesville Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #8 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 320ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The Jewel of G'ville

5+    11/2/2016   11/2/2016
Review By: llfour
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained.

Requires a full arsenal of shots: Backhand, Forehand, Overhand, Turnovers, Upshots, Etc...

Several Very Open Holes, Several Completely Wooded Holes, and Several Hybrid Holes.

Short and Long Tee Pads

A and B Pin Positions on all 18 holes.

Benches on every hole.

Metal Box to return lost discs (utilized frequently and the club is great about contacting disc owners).

Nice Shaded Pavillion.
Cons: Carpet Tee Pads (rumor is that these will be concrete at some point in 2017)

The last 4 Holes have very little shade and can be quite hot in the summer months.

No water or restrooms available without going into the Tennis Center.

Other Thoughts: This is the course in Gainesville that will make you a better player. It demands such a variety of shots that you can be rewarded with a bunch of birdies or can be brutally punished with bogeys or worse.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in the Gainesville Area

1    9/23/2016   9/25/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was Pleasantly surprised by this course after reading several of the reviews. It appears a bunch of work has been done over the past few years to continually improve this course.
- The Jonesville Park course offers a good variety of shots; from open to wooded, pockets left and pocket right, sweeping curves, tunnel drives, blind shots, over the top shots, and a bombs away holes. I especially enjoyed the 5 or 6 holes in the beginning that played threw the woods. These holes (2,3,4,9,10) required quite a bit of accuracy to claim the birdie prize.
- Jonesville Park also offers many of the typical course character pampering items, such as; benches at every hole, most tee pads shaded. multiple tee pads for pros and ams, alternate basket locations (A,B), and accurate hole signage in my opinion.
- In addition, I found the course and park to be very well maintained (recently mowed at my visit) and very clean.
Cons: Of the drawbacks, there was really only a few.
- First and foremost I'll mention the tee pads, They're carpet. Having played over 50 courses, this was my first experience on this type of throwing surface (other than putting in my house :) ) I'm not sure if it positively or negatively affected my footing, It did however mess with my mindset on every hole.
- The overgrowth on a few holes was less than to be desired. (hole 9 especially stands out, don't miss the fairway, you'll be lucky to make a 4)
- I could see this course not being a good place to bring beginners. the amount of tight lines will ruin their enjoyment factor. you'd probally want to take them to Barr instead.
- There are a lot of joggers and walkers throughout the park. This was really only a minor inconvenience as most of the holes keep the two entities separated.
Other Thoughts: In all, a great course. I could see this course giving Northside Park a run for its money as the best course in the Gainesville Area. as an advanced player in the 900-940 rating range, I found this course to be challenging and enjoyable at the same time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Offers some challenge :)

5+    7/15/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: Funleavy90
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Extremely clean and well-maintained (mowed weekly)
-Offers both open and wooded shots
-Some varied terrain (nothing too extreme)
-Most holes require some sort of technical shot
-Variation of doglegs and straight holes
-Open field next to #1 Pad to warm-up and practice drives along with a practice putting basket
-Rarely flooded unlike other courses in the area. Drainage works well here.

Cons: -Carpet tee pads
-Lots of trees/woods that consume discs. I suggest bringing a friend to assist with spotting if new to the course or have wild shots.
-Spiders and their extended families in the wooded portions.
Other Thoughts: The new positions are finally in place! :D They offer quite a bit of challenge. Especially on #3. Definitely recommend checking the new positions out!

Spanish moss from trees and ground brush are cleared frequently to mitigate unwanted blocked shots.

Lost Discs are normally returned. A lost and found box is located on Pavilion near the #1 Tee Pad. The Box is controlled/maintained by Chain Hawk Disc Golf Club.

"Straighter is Greater!" on hole 4,10, and 11. You'll see why once you play it ;)

**Special Note: 8/22/2016: #15 Pad has officially moved forward about 15 feet to assist with better safety for players at the 17th basket.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This course is ready for prime time!

5+    7/11/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: allenshorter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained
- Grass is now cut every week
- Great mix of technical wooded shots and a few open longer shots too!
- Locals play free doubles matches late on Tuesdays and Thursdays all summer long.
- If you lose a disc, you are likely to get called back (if you have your number on it and it does not go into private property).
- Very pretty with very little trash.
- Handles rain very well, and rarely any real water hazard in play here.
- Lots of spiders in the woods, but virtually mosquito free.
- Easy to access (8 minutes and 2 turns) from I-75.
Cons: - Lots of sun on a few of the holes on the back nine. Trees are getting bigger now so only a few places.
- If you throw too far off the fairways, you can lose a disc. if it goes over a neighboring fence, you can lose it to private property.
- Some Poison Oak on all many of the wooded holes. Wash your hands and feet well when you leave the course.
- Carpet tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Over the next year all 18 holes will get A and B basket locations, and several will get C locations. Concrete pads, a bulletin board with a disc return box, more trash cans, and better signage are also all in the works. But it plays GREAT now! Most of the older reviews are critical of the grass, but it is mowed every Thursday now. If you lose a disc now, it is because you hooked or shanked it way off the fairway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

1    11/7/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: sasquach
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was a nice challenge for the average player from the long tees. Good use of hills to place baskets for rollaway risks. Multiple basket positions. Navigation was not bad but a course map was usefull a couple of times.
Cons: Carpet tee pads. Zero garbage cans on the course. A pet peeve of mine. None in the picnic area either that I saw. Holes 15 thru 17 are off on their own around the other side of the ball fields.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy this course and will make the hour drive to play it again once in awhile. It could use better tee pads and a really signature hole. The potential is surely there and over time this course will become better.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Gainesville Course

1    10/16/2015   7/29/2014
Review By: bilborph
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 10/20/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mixture of woods, small hills, and open fields.
Fun to play from short tees for a novice.
Well laid out in a multi use park - tennis, jogging, sports fields.
Cons: Hard to find a couple of tees.
At times, grass in the fields is very long.
Other Thoughts: Way different course than Gainesville Northside, but just as fun, and better drainage.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/6/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: GhostmanOn2nd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not much litter on the course.
Cons: A mowing is well over-due. If you miss the fairway you'll likely encounter spider-webs among the foliage. Locating your disc can also be quite difficult.
Other Thoughts: Bring your brightest plastic and hopefully a friend to help you find errant throws that enter the wooded areas.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jonesville

2-4    3/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 134  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2016
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great to have a new course close to Gainesville. Better drainage to play when Northside is flooded. Hole 1 starts with an open shot into a notch in the woods to warm up. There are some nice wooded holes that provide a great challenge for all with the use of long and short carpet pads. Nice job of carving the front side out of the woods. Great mix of woods & open bombs but also nice looking semi wooded holes with pins placed under the large mossy oaks such as 7 & 8. Holes 12-14 play semi open with young trees guarding any direct line to the pin, a fun challenge to ponder. Fun risk reward shots such as 16 which is behind a usually dry pond with marked o.b. Basket #17 is on a tall pole on a hillside slope. The bolted down carpet tees are secure and grip is fine, baskets are in great condition.
Cons: Rough is thick in summer on front 9. Watch for thorns if you are in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I play this frequently as close to moms house and I feel it has a nice variety of shots.

Rating: Can vary from 3 when rough to approaching a 4 when mowed so I settled on a 3.5.

The course and parking is free and there are rest rooms by the baseball field and tennis courts. Ample parking and a practice basket by tee one which is at the end of the paved parking lot past ball fields and tennis courts.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Variation of Landscape

1    2/19/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 24.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that plays around a huge baseball and tennis complex (seems to be a common theme in Florida). Plays about half in lightly-treed and semi-open areas and the other half plays through a mix of thick woods and on the edge of thick woods.

I was most impressed with how the makers created many unique holes and used pathways and other artificial OB to make the open shots more challenging.

Thanks to the metal "next tee" arrows on the trees and baskets kept navigation fairly simple.

Seems water can come into play during the rainy season, but when it's dry (as when I was there), they have OB markers in those areas. These markers make the course more honest and challenging (though some despise artificial OB). The water areas were only on two holes from what I recall.

Favorite holes:
(Most Scenic) #7 goes along a marsh to the right and through mature trees with the hanging moss that is so unique to the South.

(Best woods hole) #4 - the most challenging of the woods holes (in my estimate), a long tunnel shot with a few trees mixed in the fairway.
Cons: The walking path on the left of #13 & 14 could be a danger to pedestrians for a couple reasons: one is that when the trees are leafy, they may block your view of oncoming peds; and second, the easier shot seems to be a left to right shot that carries over that same path.

Holes 12-14 are a bit too similar to each other (lots of little trees with a left to right carry being the beneficial shot).

Course kinda dead-ends on the 17th hole and it's a bit of a walk to get to the 18th which is a bit of a lackluster finish to an otherwise nice experience.
Other Thoughts: If you want to jump ahead of the crowds, you can park right by #7 and start there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Spice of Life

1    1/24/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's something about a big ol' heaping of variety that always improves my take on a course. Not just a variety of shots, and distances, although those are obviously good too. But variety of scenery. Variety of setting. A course that mixes it up and still feels like one course (NOT having two nines that feel like they don't belong together) is always going to score highly with me. And that is what we have in Jonesville. From the parking lot to the edge of the woods on the first hole.(one of my favorite ways to lead a course, it just has that hole one feel) A few holes carved out of dense forest, then out to an open field. Back across the woods at the mid-way point before a final stretch of field holes. It's an incredible flow built on a great variety.

There's also something about a course that plays to a certain skill level, and those are rarer than you think. So it makes me smile when I play a course like Jonesville and think, "wow, this is textbook intermediate." The woods holes feature clear, defined fairways that are generous enough without being non-technical. Some good lines, here. Not Charlotte-tough, but good lines that should test an intermediate-level player appropriately. The open holes aren't that open. Most are the opposite of the woods holes, where an open space has been built into a fairway by planting trees. (And this course should be fun to watch develop as those trees will grow.) There is challenge there too, and not just from the distance.

For players of that skill level, this is an ideal, play-all-the-time-course. It's just going to hit that sweet spot of fun and challenge. I do think that the variety will keep it interesting for players that don't happen to fall into that ability category. It also help that everything at Jonesville is really well-done. Everything looks good. These fairways are beautiful. The trees are well-placed. Even the paths between holes on the wooded sections are among the best I've seen. It's a well-designed and -constructed course that I highly recommend for all players.
Cons: While I do think that all players will enjoy the course to a degree, it's definitely true that players outside the target skill-level will find less to like. Top players will probably find the least to like, for two reasons. First, they likely have seen tons of courses, and nothing at Jonesville will be novel for them. Second, Their skills will let them exploit the course. Yes there are obstacles on the open sections, but nothing an open player won't be able to go over the top of. Yes, the lines on the wooded holes are technical but an expert will not find them challenging at the distances available. At the same time, a new player may find those woods lines too tough and the rough is fairly rough. They may also be exhausted by the distance on the open holes.
Other Thoughts: It says that the course is still in development, and I believe it must be close to finished at this point. I will say that it looks a lot more finished than it does in the pictures taken six months ago. (Nothing felt as open as some of them look.) There are probably some finishing touches (a few more next tee signs hopefully) to add but it is very much ready to play. I didn't want to add this to a con, (and it would be if the course was advertised as completed) but there are a few transitions that need directional aids. I wasn't bothered by it, because for once the course map was completely accurate and easy to follow, but it is something that needs to happen. (and probably will, the way that everything else has been thought of here.)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.