Muscle Shoals, AL 
Gattman Park Share
Uploaded By: willsfc Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Needs tees and basket numbers badly

1    6/18/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 232  Exp: 18.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All I can say is there are baskets in a wooded area that could be ok for disc golf.
Cons: Way too many big ones. First, I could only find 6 holes (apparently the other 3 are on the other side of the park somewhere, I never saw them, and after wondering around for a long time, I just gave up.) No map, no signs, no instructions as to where to go. Dividing a course up into 2 completely separate areas is to me not the same course.

Second, the tees are a major issue. Tee 1- was just a pile of gravel. Tee 2- was a rectangular pile of gravel that did resemble a tee area, the best one here. Tee 3- was a messy pile of gravel in a framed area. And then it got terrible as I never found any more tees. (The wooden frames referenced in other reviews and pics were either missing or hard to spot.) There are no signs or markers of any kind designating tee areas. I wondered around the woods looking and looking for something like a tee area. I eventually made up my own tees throwing to...

Third, NO NUMBERS ON BASKETS. Seriously, I didn't even know you could buy a set of 9 Discatchers without hole numbers on them! On holes 3-6, who knows which basket to throw to and from where with nothing being numbered- you can see multiple baskets in the woods at once but no clue as to which is which. How hard is it to put a number on the basket with a sharpie or electrical tape?

Also, there was a walking trail that played down 1's fairway and then around/through holes 2-5, always a safety issue. And much of the course is almost playing in people's backyards- I felt kind of like I was intruding.
Other Thoughts: The only thing keeping this from being the worst course I have ever played was that it was at least not covered in waist-high thick weeds. I would be horrified to have somebody decide to try out disc golf for the first time and try to play here. Unless you just wanted to safari it- "Hey, look, there is a basket. Let's try to get there from that spot over here... " Then repeat to another.

But if you want to play, hole one is next to the walking trail in woods across from the swing set (I did not see tennis courts like it says on the DGCR page, it was possibly was transformed into a waterpad for kids.)

This review is for holes 1-6, as I never found 7-9. Though I can't imagine the last 3 holes being any better.

My recommendation- avoid this course at all costs until some signs and hole numbers are put in. And if not, then put the baskets somewhere else. The land could produce a decent little course, but it needs some work that still has not been done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Easy

1    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 71  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course meanders through a nice little recreational park, so taking the kids would be perfect. The layout takes advantage of the slight elevation changes in and around the walking trail within the woods. For the most part it is a pretty short course (only a Buzzz needed for most holes) but it does have about 3 holes at or above 300'. The last 3 holes are wide open of spaces to end the 9 holes. Baskets are new and in great shape. Overall, it is a nice little course that is very birdie-able where a driver is still needed in the bag.
Cons: SIGNS: none. none at each tee or directing to each tee. this hurts the course badly.
TEES: no pads, just wooden planks to indicate the tee box and direction. thus, footing is not good due to it being dirt or mud/water if it just rained.
BASKETS: good, but have the hole # written on them with marker (helpful but ugly).
LAYOUT: the first 6 holes are laid out well in that they pretty much follow the walking trail and then 6 ends where 1st hole began. Then, you have to walk a long ways across the parking lot to finish up the round with 7/8/9 holes. This breaks up the flow and then you have to walk all the way back to your car.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun and easy to play, great for beginners to practice. Here are some easy/cheap ways to bump up the overall playing satisfaction for the course:

TEES: spraying painting the wooden planks will help newcomers find the tees easier. use stencil and different colored spray paint to mark each hole's distance to basket.

SIGNS: no need for hole layout signs as every basket is easily visible from tee box. instead, just one sign would be needed between the 1st and 6th holes to point towards you towards the 1st and 7th hole.

BASKETS: buy some stenciled number stickers 1-9 to place on the yellow strip on top of basket (facing each hole's tee box) to indicate each hole's basket. Then, use a brightly colored spray paint and spray the one spoke on the bottom of each basket that points toward the next tee pad (this directs the player where to walk next after finishing the hole).

If these easy additions are made, then it would easily bump this course up to at least a 3/5 rating for me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    2/23/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Windsor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hits close to home because my brother-in-law created this course, a great course to learn how to play on, some short holes and some long holes to mix it up a bit, in a moderatly wooded area so its nice to play and have some fun. restrooms are nearby and a few pavilions on a couple of holes.
Cons: Needs new teeboxes and detailed signs of the hole layout.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course with room to be a lot better. It was just created last summer so I believe, with a little hard work, that this course could be very nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course with some problems.

5+    2/12/2013   2/14/2013
Review By: Autoscopy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good course for beginners.
- Plays around a water park, baseball fields and school. You could bring your kids.
- A couple of unique holes.
- Brand new baskets
Cons: - Dirt tee pads which can get very muddy. I've already seen several of my buddies slip and fall. One main reasons we don't go often.
- No signs whatsoever with no mandos. We usually end up debating what's OB on this course on several holes because of the fences and playground.
- No multiple pin locations.
- The first 6 holes are separated from the last 3 holes which is a decent walk and ruins the flow of the game.
- No. 9 plays over a children's playground which makes the thrower feel weary at times. Also it's the school's playground and the children have recess all around the basket location. I've had to skip the last hole several times because of this.
- 1st 6 holes play around a jogging path.
- Some holes feel unchallenging.
- Some pin locations are in bad unimaginative locations.
Other Thoughts: Overall I play this course the least of the 3 in the shoals. I think it would be greatly improved by descriptive signs and much better tee pads. Also some kind of basket relocation on 9. An average course that needs much work and thought.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

2-4    5/21/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: wheelthrill
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I choose good for the following reasons:
9 basket course, just built a few days ago.
Have marked off tee pads.
Good to practice on or for beginners.
Cons: No signs yet.
Number 9 is far from where you park.
Other Thoughts: It's a working process. I think once they get some signs up of where the next basket is, etc., it will be a pretty good 9 basket course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.