Muscle Shoals, AL 
Gattman Park Share
Uploaded By: Windsor Hole #1 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 316ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice and Easy

1    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: The course meanders through a nice little recreational park, so taking the kids would be perfect. The layout takes advantage of the slight elevation changes in and around the walking trail within the woods. For the most part it is a pretty short course (only a Buzzz needed for most holes) but it does have about 3 holes at or above 300'. The last 3 holes are wide open of spaces to end the 9 holes. Baskets are new and in great shape. Overall, it is a nice little course that is very birdie-able where a driver is still needed in the bag.
Cons: SIGNS: none. none at each tee or directing to each tee. this hurts the course badly.
TEES: no pads, just wooden planks to indicate the tee box and direction. thus, footing is not good due to it being dirt or mud/water if it just rained.
BASKETS: good, but have the hole # written on them with marker (helpful but ugly).
LAYOUT: the first 6 holes are laid out well in that they pretty much follow the walking trail and then 6 ends where 1st hole began. Then, you have to walk a long ways across the parking lot to finish up the round with 7/8/9 holes. This breaks up the flow and then you have to walk all the way back to your car.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun and easy to play, great for beginners to practice. Here are some easy/cheap ways to bump up the overall playing satisfaction for the course:

TEES: spraying painting the wooden planks will help newcomers find the tees easier. use stencil and different colored spray paint to mark each hole's distance to basket.

SIGNS: no need for hole layout signs as every basket is easily visible from tee box. instead, just one sign would be needed between the 1st and 6th holes to point towards you towards the 1st and 7th hole.

BASKETS: buy some stenciled number stickers 1-9 to place on the yellow strip on top of basket (facing each hole's tee box) to indicate each hole's basket. Then, use a brightly colored spray paint and spray the one spoke on the bottom of each basket that points toward the next tee pad (this directs the player where to walk next after finishing the hole).

If these easy additions are made, then it would easily bump this course up to at least a 3/5 rating for me.

My Home Course

5+    2/23/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Windsor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
Pros: Hits close to home because my brother-in-law created this course, a great course to learn how to play on, some short holes and some long holes to mix it up a bit, in a moderatly wooded area so its nice to play and have some fun. restrooms are nearby and a few pavilions on a couple of holes.
Cons: Needs new teeboxes and detailed signs of the hole layout.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course with room to be a lot better. It was just created last summer so I believe, with a little hard work, that this course could be very nice.

Average Course with some problems.

5+    2/12/2013   2/14/2013
Review By: Autoscopy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: - A good course for beginners.
- Plays around a water park, baseball fields and school. You could bring your kids.
- A couple of unique holes.
- Brand new baskets
Cons: - Dirt tee pads which can get very muddy. I've already seen several of my buddies slip and fall. One main reasons we don't go often.
- No signs whatsoever with no mandos. We usually end up debating what's OB on this course on several holes because of the fences and playground.
- No multiple pin locations.
- The first 6 holes are separated from the last 3 holes which is a decent walk and ruins the flow of the game.
- No. 9 plays over a children's playground which makes the thrower feel weary at times. Also it's the school's playground and the children have recess all around the basket location. I've had to skip the last hole several times because of this.
- 1st 6 holes play around a jogging path.
- Some holes feel unchallenging.
- Some pin locations are in bad unimaginative locations.
Other Thoughts: Overall I play this course the least of the 3 in the shoals. I think it would be greatly improved by descriptive signs and much better tee pads. Also some kind of basket relocation on 9. An average course that needs much work and thought.

 Nice little course

2-4    5/21/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: wheelthrill
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I choose good for the following reasons:
9 basket course, just built a few days ago.
Have marked off tee pads.
Good to practice on or for beginners.
Cons: No signs yet.
Number 9 is far from where you park.
Other Thoughts: It's a working process. I think once they get some signs up of where the next basket is, etc., it will be a pretty good 9 basket course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center