Layout Extinct

Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4
4 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 HUDSON HAS ITS PLACE

5+    6/7/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: Great course for beginners. My son (now 17) and I played here back in 2008 for the first time. It has all the holes to practice your techniques. Backhand, sidearm, tomahawk, grenade, skips, long distance. It's all here. You can be throwing hyzer anhyzer, over trees, through trees uphill, through trees down a hill, and a 500+ foot launch and thats just the front 9.
Cons: Watch out for kids and cars. Hole 10 and 17. And if the grade school has cross country racing in the Fall you may want to play the front 9 twice instead.
Other Thoughts: Nice park. Watch for joggers and walkers on the back 9 especially hole 14. Sidearm up the hill and you run the risk of hitting someone. Check before you throw that the "coast is clear".

 Take the family out to the Park

2-4    9/15/2010   4/8/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking. There's the reservoir and canoeing and a playground for the kids.
- There is a nice disc golf sign directing you to the front and back nine
- The map is very accurate
- Tee signs could be more accurate but can assist you your first time out. I would suggest that you go find the basket before you tee off due to some of the signs inaccuracies.
- Baskets are old, a little rusty, but in okay condition and they are also labeled
- The course has a decent flow. It is more of two 9 hole circles that have a parking lot in the middle. But hole #18 does end at hole #1 at the parking lot which is nice.
- Decent mixture of shots, however, there are only a few right turns needed. There are some nice technical holes playing to blind baskets.
- The scenery and landscape is very pleasing and the reservoir makes for a fantastic walk with the family
- The pines on the back 9 provide a nice obstacle to avoid with baskets tucked in with them
- Bathrooms by the parking area
- There are trashcans and the park is clean
- No vandalism
- General upkeep of the park is very nice
- While the distance is short, 5618' for 18 holes, there are a few long holes where you can really rip it along with a few ace race holes. The elevation adds to this with some long sweeping hills and bends. A few holes have narrow pathways through rows of trees that will test your accuracy.
- Reservoir makes for a great water hazard on hole #14. On the map it looks like you have plenty of room but if you fade too much and catch a bit of wind it is very easy to lose your disc.
- This is a fantastic course for beginners
Cons: - The tees are concrete and very tiny. More often than not you may want to just throw next to the tees which unfortunately can be very muddy with standing mud puddles. Also keep in mind that some of the time the tees are facing the wrong way. The tee pads greatly affect the overall rating of this course!
- Hole #9 and #18 aim towards the parking lot and can be dangerous. #17 is also dangerous as it travels right by the playground. Always keep in mind where roads, walking paths, parking areas, playground and water are no matter where you're at.
- Hole #9's basket is right next to #1's tee which is next to the parking lot. Be extra careful.
- I found the back 9 to have issues draining moisture in the wetter seasons. Plan for some standing water and lots of mud.
- Lots of traffic on the walking paths. Lots of children so be very careful.
- Benches would be a nice addition at a few holes.
- Heavy traffic from geese that leave an enormous amount of evidence of their presence behind
Other Thoughts: - Old course and it does show. Established in 1986. The front nine feel somewhat tight and confined. When you finally get to Hole #8 and can really rip your disc it's like finally taking a big breath after holding it a while. Then back 9 really open up so you can stretch your arm a bit.
- This course does have a lot of things that can be improved upon but most people really enjoy this course and always walk away with a smile. It's just a nice public park close to the highway, easy to get to.
- The most challenging hole for me ties with #14 and #18. Both holes would be very easy to play safely, however, I want to be as close to the pin as possible on the first throw which can be dangerous for both. #14, you absolutely have to make sure the walking path is clear before you throw up on top of the hill and at the same time stay away from the water. #18 can be very difficult because of the parking lot being just left and shallow of the basket. An overthrow here could fade into parked vehicles. I suggest not parking in that area.
- My favorite hole is probably #4. You have a few different paths to take. If you have a good overhand that may be your best bet. I'm sure that most people take a RHBH anny approach around the trees. Very fun hole. One note about this hole is to ensure you are playing to the correct basket as there is another basket visible that may confuse you.
- This is not a challenging course. Recreation level players can come here and have an excellent chance for some aces and can rack up their birdie counts. A decent recreation level player can also Par this course which is always a confidence booster.
- Bring the kids, play on the playground, have a picnic and make a day of it. But this is not a destination course. Have some fun here though if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Great Course

5+    10/16/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: jhilvers19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes for all types of players.
Good combo of short and long holes.
Well kept grounds.
Beautiful landscape.
Cons: Goose poop everywhere.
Can get crowded at times.
Playground can come into play on holes 10, 17, 18 which can be distracting, trying not to thump some little kid running onto the course.
Tee boxes are junk, normally just stand to the side and tee off.
Other Thoughts: My home course, and the course I learned to play on, I love it. It can be challenging but is overall a great course to play. The only real downside is the crappy tee boxes. Overall it's a great course to play, can power through a round in less than a hour, I usually play at least once a week.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson in the Fall

2-4    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As with several other reviews, Hudson Springs offers a nice mix of technical and long bomb holes. There's often two or three viable paths to the basket, which caters to many types of throws. Elevation changes are used objectively, adding to the technicality of holes such as #2, #4, #6, and #14. This is especially true at #2 and #6 where they are blind drives downhill to the basket. Great fun on those holes if you can stick your drive. The fairways are well maintained allowing many drives to get that extra skip off the grass.
Cons: The tee signs often offer very little help other than the distance and par. The flight paths are often horribly inaccurate. The placement of the tee signs often doesn't make a lot of sense either. The tee pads are awfully tiny, leaving the thrower no choice but to throw to the immediate right or left of the pad, thus avoiding the trip hazard that is the tee pad itself. It's a high traffic area, and a few of the holes come within close proximity of roads, walking paths (#16 drives directly across walking path), and a playground, forcing the thrower to either wait for pedestrian traffic to pass, or be extremely cautious and/or conservative with throws. A couple of holes come within close proximity of other holes as well (#1 and #9, #10 and #17). So if the course is busy, keep your head up, as there's bound to be discs flying about overhead.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course a lot. The par ratings on the holes may need to be adjusted slightly, as I've never scored over par on this course, and I'm just not that good! Since the tee signs are already in need of an overhaul, it would be nice to see new par ratings put in, as well as multiple tees? Thoroughly recommend this course though!

P.S.....As of 11/12/10, there's quite a bit of work being done on the course...Several of the "cons" listed in my review and several other reviews on Hudson have been or are in the process of being addressed, as well as plans for expansion. Some tees have already been moved to accommodate these problem areas. Glad to see there's a proactive approach to the maintenance and improvement of this great Cleveland course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I should have started Here!!

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My 11, 14 and 54 year old boys thoroughly enjoyed our day here. Mom is also getting better and I am catching there competitive spirit. Easier course than Roscoe or Lincoln Park. Our combined review is nice and easy open fairways. On holes 10 and 18 the playground is somewhat in place if you hook or slice, but not a big deal. The first nine is short but requires some skill. The second nine was more enjoyable for me as it was longer and getting my walk in is half of the attraction for me. All together, walked about 2.5 miles. Playing by the lake made for good scenery and increased the enjoyment factor. Course was well marked. Good restroom facilities. Make a day of it, and go canoeing or bring a picnic along.
Cons: I agree with another review that the tee boxes were too short and clearly installed by someone who has never played disc golf before.
Other Thoughts: This is a good location to drag your non-disc golfer companion along, like grandma an out of shape relative. They could walk easily along the lake while you are golfing, or sit on the many benches and enjoy the scenery, or even found the chess game table and bring a set with them. Kids could kill an hour or two hear, and parents can read a book and be cozy with a picnic basket and some beverages. Or older siblings can go with Mom to play golf while toddlers and Dad swing on swings at playground.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Why do you all like this place?

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has baskets to throw Discs into
Once you realize this place kinda sucks the are a number of other more fun activities to do on site.
Well Maintained
Good for beginners
Some of the Lake holes have nice views
Cons: Crowded (not sure why)
Tee Pads, small cement squares. They don't point in the direction of the hole and they are worthless if you have any run up at all in your throw.
Rusty Old low Quality Disc Catchers
They didn't have the greatest land to work with but they didn't use too well either
No Challenge
No Fun Factor
All the holes all bunched together
Very Repetitious, you feel like your playing the same hole over and over
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure why people rate this course so high, as I was looking through the reviews I even saw that it got some 4's. The first thing I noticed when I pulled up was how crowded it was. I figured that was a good sign but I was disappointed when i played it.

We'll start with the Tees. They were 3ft x 3ft square of concrete. There is no room on them for anything other than a flatfoot release. I thought they just got in the way and I stepped off to the side and just threw from the grass.

I didn't care much for the catchers either they were old and Rusty. A lot of the Holes were too close together. More than once I almost got hit by a disc that was intended for a neighboring hole. I also thought the holes were all pretty similar, not one hole struck me as unique

On the other hand it was busy so people must like it. Some of the Lake holes were cool and there were more hot girls there then any other course I've been to (Frisbee-yatches as my friends and I affectionately call them) It's also well taken care of and there are plenty of other fun things to do on site as well.

Unfortunately the Frisbee-yatches weren't enough to sway my opinion.Why anyone would choose to play this course when Roscoe Ewing is less than 20 miles away is beyond me I would recommend this course for someone who is just learning but I would not recommend it for someone with a higher skill level or someone who is trying to improve their game. I would most definitely not recommend it for a road trip.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good course with its own flaws

5+    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good place to play a relaxing 18.
Very picturesque.
Excellent mix of long open shots and technical holes.
Moderate elevation changes to keep it interesting.
Well maintained park.
Someone put some serious thought into this course, and it shows!
Cons: Embarrassingly short tee pads, almost to the point of being dangerous.
Tees way too close to some of the holes, especially given the real estate available.
Wildly inaccurate tee maps. Perhaps the hole placement has changed since installation?
Other Thoughts: Hudson is a very enjoyable course and ranks up in my top two or three in the Cleveland area. This is the first course I've been to that has just the perfect mix of bombers and technical. By mix I mean it isn't nine techs followed by nine bombs, though close. Rather, there is a break every few holes and the style changes. Kept things fresh and interesting. The park, and course are well maintained, and some of the holes resembled fairways and greens in ball golf. There is plenty of challenge for the beginning disc golfer here. Tee pads need to be longer, and the signage can be wildly inaccurate at times. That said, I highly recommend this course is you're in the Cleveland / Akron area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too Close For Comfort

2-4    6/30/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 9-hole loops. Excellent blend of technical (primarily front nine) and open bombing (mostly back nine). Pretty park with options for non-golfers.
Cons:
The too-small concrete tees are a hazard - tripping if you run onto them, twisting an ankle if you fall off of them. The huge worn-out areas indicate that most players simply avoid them. "Tee X too close to Basket Y" is something that applies to about half the holes. Both the tee signs and baskets are serviceable, but showing their age. Some might find the highway noise distracting. Other park users to avoid, mostly on back nine.
Other Thoughts:
Courses plays on the gently rolling land of a pretty public park that backs up to I80. Beginner/intermediate appropriate, while advanced players should have plenty of birdie opportunities. Minor elevation changes on most every hole. The front nine is on the technical side, with plenty of small trees, mini-forest, and elevation changes to force shot-shaping, although only #8, open until the end, has much length to it. The back nine is longer, quite open (as long as you don't go too far left on the early holes), and can bring other park users into play. Most tee shots are straight- or left-oriented, sparse amount of rights needed.

Note: Pad #9 needs to be rotated 45-degrees to the right, and #14 about 30-degrees. Most visible basket isn't always yours - #10 is a left-turner - the basket straight ahead #17; #11 is a also left-turner - that is basket-16 way in the distance. For #14, it does NOT cross the walking path and lake on other side - keep hill on the left and small woods to the right.

Favourite holes: #4, slight downhill, basket underneath/guarded by a few large hardwoods. Do you opt for a low-and-tight right-turner around the lines of orchard trees in front of you, or do you go up-n-over with a left-turning pseudo-pike shot? Number-7 is initially flat, then up a steep bank, small forest on both sides, then a right-then-left jog. Without the right turn, you'll end up with a line of trees between you and the basket, but with too much of a right-turn and no fade, you'll end up short with some trees/bushes between you and the basket. My Sidewinder flew just perfectly for me on this hole.

Very convenient for a traveller to play - close to the interstate, food/petrol options nearby, easy to navigate, low chance of disc loss, good variety, quick to play, pleasant surroundings - certainly worth a visit if passing by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/28/2009   7/8/2010
Review By: spilknight
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It plays like 2 9's -- one technical and the other big and open. The tee for 1 and 10 are next to each other and each nine plays in a loop. If the course is busy you can start in either direction. Great use of the elevation on 11 and 15. The tunnel shots back to back on 5 and 6 are also very fun with the additional challenge of blind basket placements.
Cons: Be prepared to wait on the back nine as it crosses the walking path and also plays deviously close to a playground.
Other Thoughts: It's a multi-use park and Disc Golf is not one of the favored uses, but it's free and well manicured. It is great for first time players so be prepared for a ton of first time players. You'll not have to look long to find a gaggle of one disc toting rooks. I agree not a destination, but it's great to have as a local course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Running

5+    12/10/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -overall fun to play
-great mix of wooded and open holes
-nice tunnel shots through pine trees (#5,#6).
-easy navigation
-nice scenery and wildlife.
-easy to find discs as wooded areas as they have many paths from previous disc seekers.
-good facilities
-nice place to take the family as walking path and playground/volleyball court gives opportunity for other activities as you get down to bussiness.
-course loops nicely and finishes where it starts, here u have the ability to play just 9 or all 18.
-GREAT beginners course (have them play the signed parrs and they will feel good about their play)
Cons: -may get muddy at times
-rough patches by teepads which are already wayyy 2 short
-busy park with many activities going on (walking path, ultimate frisbee and soccer/rugby practice may come into play on some holes)
-loud highway next to park.
-very minimal changes in elevation
-lots of non-serious disc golfers who will throw when you are still on a hole
-many overlaping fairways (safty issue)
-no pro tees
-baskets are old with broken chains, rust and sometimes a significant lean
-signs are old, distances are off, pars are easy
-tees are horrible (did i say that already?)
-no practice basket
Other Thoughts: front nine is very technical and short warming your arm up for the wide open back 9. course favors RHBH players. no water hazards.

VERY WINDY.

i recommend this course to all players, but this is not a destination course, yet. plans to improve the course are underway. contact Summit DGA for more information.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.