Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7
4 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 HUDSON HAS ITS PLACE

5+    6/7/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: Great course for beginners. My son (now 17) and I played here back in 2008 for the first time. It has all the holes to practice your techniques. Backhand, sidearm, tomahawk, grenade, skips, long distance. It's all here. You can be throwing hyzer anhyzer, over trees, through trees uphill, through trees down a hill, and a 500+ foot launch and thats just the front 9.
Cons: Watch out for kids and cars. Hole 10 and 17. And if the grade school has cross country racing in the Fall you may want to play the front 9 twice instead.
Other Thoughts: Nice park. Watch for joggers and walkers on the back 9 especially hole 14. Sidearm up the hill and you run the risk of hitting someone. Check before you throw that the "coast is clear".

 Take the family out to the Park

2-4    9/15/2010   4/8/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking. There's the reservoir and canoeing and a playground for the kids.
- There is a nice disc golf sign directing you to the front and back nine
- The map is very accurate
- Tee signs could be more accurate but can assist you your first time out. I would suggest that you go find the basket before you tee off due to some of the signs inaccuracies.
- Baskets are old, a little rusty, but in okay condition and they are also labeled
- The course has a decent flow. It is more of two 9 hole circles that have a parking lot in the middle. But hole #18 does end at hole #1 at the parking lot which is nice.
- Decent mixture of shots, however, there are only a few right turns needed. There are some nice technical holes playing to blind baskets.
- The scenery and landscape is very pleasing and the reservoir makes for a fantastic walk with the family
- The pines on the back 9 provide a nice obstacle to avoid with baskets tucked in with them
- Bathrooms by the parking area
- There are trashcans and the park is clean
- No vandalism
- General upkeep of the park is very nice
- While the distance is short, 5618' for 18 holes, there are a few long holes where you can really rip it along with a few ace race holes. The elevation adds to this with some long sweeping hills and bends. A few holes have narrow pathways through rows of trees that will test your accuracy.
- Reservoir makes for a great water hazard on hole #14. On the map it looks like you have plenty of room but if you fade too much and catch a bit of wind it is very easy to lose your disc.
- This is a fantastic course for beginners
Cons: - The tees are concrete and very tiny. More often than not you may want to just throw next to the tees which unfortunately can be very muddy with standing mud puddles. Also keep in mind that some of the time the tees are facing the wrong way. The tee pads greatly affect the overall rating of this course!
- Hole #9 and #18 aim towards the parking lot and can be dangerous. #17 is also dangerous as it travels right by the playground. Always keep in mind where roads, walking paths, parking areas, playground and water are no matter where you're at.
- Hole #9's basket is right next to #1's tee which is next to the parking lot. Be extra careful.
- I found the back 9 to have issues draining moisture in the wetter seasons. Plan for some standing water and lots of mud.
- Lots of traffic on the walking paths. Lots of children so be very careful.
- Benches would be a nice addition at a few holes.
- Heavy traffic from geese that leave an enormous amount of evidence of their presence behind
Other Thoughts: - Old course and it does show. Established in 1986. The front nine feel somewhat tight and confined. When you finally get to Hole #8 and can really rip your disc it's like finally taking a big breath after holding it a while. Then back 9 really open up so you can stretch your arm a bit.
- This course does have a lot of things that can be improved upon but most people really enjoy this course and always walk away with a smile. It's just a nice public park close to the highway, easy to get to.
- The most challenging hole for me ties with #14 and #18. Both holes would be very easy to play safely, however, I want to be as close to the pin as possible on the first throw which can be dangerous for both. #14, you absolutely have to make sure the walking path is clear before you throw up on top of the hill and at the same time stay away from the water. #18 can be very difficult because of the parking lot being just left and shallow of the basket. An overthrow here could fade into parked vehicles. I suggest not parking in that area.
- My favorite hole is probably #4. You have a few different paths to take. If you have a good overhand that may be your best bet. I'm sure that most people take a RHBH anny approach around the trees. Very fun hole. One note about this hole is to ensure you are playing to the correct basket as there is another basket visible that may confuse you.
- This is not a challenging course. Recreation level players can come here and have an excellent chance for some aces and can rack up their birdie counts. A decent recreation level player can also Par this course which is always a confidence booster.
- Bring the kids, play on the playground, have a picnic and make a day of it. But this is not a destination course. Have some fun here though if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good course with its own flaws

5+    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good place to play a relaxing 18.
Very picturesque.
Excellent mix of long open shots and technical holes.
Moderate elevation changes to keep it interesting.
Well maintained park.
Someone put some serious thought into this course, and it shows!
Cons: Embarrassingly short tee pads, almost to the point of being dangerous.
Tees way too close to some of the holes, especially given the real estate available.
Wildly inaccurate tee maps. Perhaps the hole placement has changed since installation?
Other Thoughts: Hudson is a very enjoyable course and ranks up in my top two or three in the Cleveland area. This is the first course I've been to that has just the perfect mix of bombers and technical. By mix I mean it isn't nine techs followed by nine bombs, though close. Rather, there is a break every few holes and the style changes. Kept things fresh and interesting. The park, and course are well maintained, and some of the holes resembled fairways and greens in ball golf. There is plenty of challenge for the beginning disc golfer here. Tee pads need to be longer, and the signage can be wildly inaccurate at times. That said, I highly recommend this course is you're in the Cleveland / Akron area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/28/2009   7/8/2010
Review By: spilknight
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It plays like 2 9's -- one technical and the other big and open. The tee for 1 and 10 are next to each other and each nine plays in a loop. If the course is busy you can start in either direction. Great use of the elevation on 11 and 15. The tunnel shots back to back on 5 and 6 are also very fun with the additional challenge of blind basket placements.
Cons: Be prepared to wait on the back nine as it crosses the walking path and also plays deviously close to a playground.
Other Thoughts: It's a multi-use park and Disc Golf is not one of the favored uses, but it's free and well manicured. It is great for first time players so be prepared for a ton of first time players. You'll not have to look long to find a gaggle of one disc toting rooks. I agree not a destination, but it's great to have as a local course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Running

5+    12/10/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -overall fun to play
-great mix of wooded and open holes
-nice tunnel shots through pine trees (#5,#6).
-easy navigation
-nice scenery and wildlife.
-easy to find discs as wooded areas as they have many paths from previous disc seekers.
-good facilities
-nice place to take the family as walking path and playground/volleyball court gives opportunity for other activities as you get down to bussiness.
-course loops nicely and finishes where it starts, here u have the ability to play just 9 or all 18.
-GREAT beginners course (have them play the signed parrs and they will feel good about their play)
Cons: -may get muddy at times
-rough patches by teepads which are already wayyy 2 short
-busy park with many activities going on (walking path, ultimate frisbee and soccer/rugby practice may come into play on some holes)
-loud highway next to park.
-very minimal changes in elevation
-lots of non-serious disc golfers who will throw when you are still on a hole
-many overlaping fairways (safty issue)
-no pro tees
-baskets are old with broken chains, rust and sometimes a significant lean
-signs are old, distances are off, pars are easy
-tees are horrible (did i say that already?)
-no practice basket
Other Thoughts: front nine is very technical and short warming your arm up for the wide open back 9. course favors RHBH players. no water hazards.

VERY WINDY.

i recommend this course to all players, but this is not a destination course, yet. plans to improve the course are underway. contact Summit DGA for more information.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/13/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very beautiful park. Not the most challenging holes . Most holes are grip rip .
Hole 2 is deceptively short . If you over shoot the hill you'll be in the street or worse .

The lake is not really in play(14 &15) ,unless your trying to hit it.
Cons: Tee pads...there are none! Tee signs are pretty banged up. Been to this park several times and it usally pretty crowded.
Holes 1 & 9 overlap each other.
Other Thoughts: Stay out of the pines entering the back. Sticky sticky Sticky! Disc eater non the less, because looking for discs in pine trees and high grass is not fun.

Good park if planning a big day or cook out.
Park is definitely kid friendly. Offers fishing , nice playground, The best bathrooms for a disc golf course. Boat launch , walking paths, and pavillions.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    4/10/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course with variety. The course uses the woods and open areas nicely. Even the large lake comes into play on a couple of holes.

The park is really pretty. It has nice amenities, including a large playground that is a perfect place to leave the wife and kids while you play. You can play the entire back nine and most of the front without ever being more than a couple of hundred yards from the playground.

The terrain is rolling and offers some interesting shots. The lake snuck up on me the first time it came into play. Be careful on 14! It's worth the long walk up the hill to see where you're headed. Whatever you do, keep it to the right of the flagpole in the distance, or you'll be swimming!!!

This might be a perfect course for a "casual" round. Very laid back atmosphere. Course is easier but not boring. It's a nice walk, but not demanding. You can get around the course in less than 90 minutes if you have to.
Cons: All together now: TEE PADS! They're about 4 ft x 4 ft. Completely worthless. Most of them are about an inch above the ground level so you can't even do a run up and release your disc from the pad without risking injury.

When we went, it had rained recently. Because of that rain, the area around the tee pads was muddy and it made it really difficult to get even 80% on your throw (of course, this is also attributable to the crappy tee pads). This is definitely a course that should be played in good weather.

On 10 and 18, the playground is definitely in play. My tee shot on 10 would've killed someone if it were a nice day. Of course, if it were a nice day I wouldn't have slipped. Of course, if there were decent tee pads, it wouldn't have mattered if it were a nice day or not. Am I beginning to sound like a broken record? Good. The squeaky wheel gets the grease.
Other Thoughts: This isn't going to make anyone's list of 100 greatest courses unless it's a sentimental favorite, but if you live within a couple of hours of the course, it's worth playing at least once. Your family might enjoy the other amenities that the park offers enjoyable enough that it becomes a popular place to go on a regular basis.

If I lived nearby, I'd be here all the time. Nice park!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but not Great

8/2/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The back nine are long(ish) with some interesting challenges, while the front nine offer some birdie opportunities. The lake adds to the aesthetic appeal of the course.
Cons: The front nine may actually be a little too easy for experienced players. Also, we saw lots of people on the course (disc golfers and regular park patrons), which made it seem congested.
Other Thoughts: I don't think there are a lot of course options in the Akron area, so this might be your best bet...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Misunderstood

1    6/21/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: Dave
Played: 110  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2008
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Two types of course. The front nine are technical, but playable. The back nine are mostly long & open. A figure 8 layout brings you back to the car after 9 & 18. Very nice park.
Cons: Tee Pads, Tee Pads, Tee Pads
Other Thoughts: I've heard some players complain that the course is too technical & others complain that it is too open. So, I say pick the 9 you like & play them twice. I want variety, so I play them all. The front nine play fast, so I like to play all & then play the front 9 again. Did I mention the Tee Pads?

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, and a fave.

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 49  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of great scenery, good mix of technical and distance holes. Hilly in spots, but nothing too exerting.

City park, so it's well-maintained. Usually they sell inexpensive generic course-branded discs at the entrace kiosk, but not always in stock.
Cons: The park runs along an interstate, so it kills the setting for some of the holes.

As a multi-use park, there are playgrounds near some of the holes on the back nine (#9 & #17 mainly), and others use some of the open areas on the back nine of course for other activities at times. Usually everyone is respectful of each other though.

Tee pads are concrete and too short. There's a lot of worn-to-the-dirt patches around every tee pad because of this.

Tee signs have maps, but are beat to hell, some more than others.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I may be a bit biased, but overall I prefer to play here over some of the other courses in the area due to the full 18 hole course, and the good mix of skill required. The short drive for me doesn't hurt either though!

There's not much in the way of monster-length holes or anything excpetionally technically challenging, however there is a nice mix of skills needed and the flow of the holes is perfect - no backtracking and the front & back nines form a figure 8 so you always end up back at the parking lot.

There is a fair amount of poison ivy around the park, mostly in the out-of-bounds wooded areas but also all over some of the trees on the front nine. That said, neither me nor any of the regulars I play with have gotten any major ivy rashes from playing out there, even back when we had to dig our poorly-thrown discs out of the woods on holes 11-13 :)

Lately the course has been getting much busier, so you may have a short wait - especially on the days with nicer weather. Since it's on a muti-use park, there's a higher percentage of casual players. Great for the sport and the park, not so much so for tee times.

** after having played many more courses in the past year, I am downgrading my review from 3.5 to 3.0

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.