Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #11 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pretty Great Course

5+    10/16/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: jhilvers19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes for all types of players.
Good combo of short and long holes.
Well kept grounds.
Beautiful landscape.
Cons: Goose poop everywhere.
Can get crowded at times.
Playground can come into play on holes 10, 17, 18 which can be distracting, trying not to thump some little kid running onto the course.
Tee boxes are junk, normally just stand to the side and tee off.
Other Thoughts: My home course, and the course I learned to play on, I love it. It can be challenging but is overall a great course to play. The only real downside is the crappy tee boxes. Overall it's a great course to play, can power through a round in less than a hour, I usually play at least once a week.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson in the Fall

2-4    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As with several other reviews, Hudson Springs offers a nice mix of technical and long bomb holes. There's often two or three viable paths to the basket, which caters to many types of throws. Elevation changes are used objectively, adding to the technicality of holes such as #2, #4, #6, and #14. This is especially true at #2 and #6 where they are blind drives downhill to the basket. Great fun on those holes if you can stick your drive. The fairways are well maintained allowing many drives to get that extra skip off the grass.
Cons: The tee signs often offer very little help other than the distance and par. The flight paths are often horribly inaccurate. The placement of the tee signs often doesn't make a lot of sense either. The tee pads are awfully tiny, leaving the thrower no choice but to throw to the immediate right or left of the pad, thus avoiding the trip hazard that is the tee pad itself. It's a high traffic area, and a few of the holes come within close proximity of roads, walking paths (#16 drives directly across walking path), and a playground, forcing the thrower to either wait for pedestrian traffic to pass, or be extremely cautious and/or conservative with throws. A couple of holes come within close proximity of other holes as well (#1 and #9, #10 and #17). So if the course is busy, keep your head up, as there's bound to be discs flying about overhead.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course a lot. The par ratings on the holes may need to be adjusted slightly, as I've never scored over par on this course, and I'm just not that good! Since the tee signs are already in need of an overhaul, it would be nice to see new par ratings put in, as well as multiple tees? Thoroughly recommend this course though!

P.S.....As of 11/12/10, there's quite a bit of work being done on the course...Several of the "cons" listed in my review and several other reviews on Hudson have been or are in the process of being addressed, as well as plans for expansion. Some tees have already been moved to accommodate these problem areas. Glad to see there's a proactive approach to the maintenance and improvement of this great Cleveland course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I should have started Here!!

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My 11, 14 and 54 year old boys thoroughly enjoyed our day here. Mom is also getting better and I am catching there competitive spirit. Easier course than Roscoe or Lincoln Park. Our combined review is nice and easy open fairways. On holes 10 and 18 the playground is somewhat in place if you hook or slice, but not a big deal. The first nine is short but requires some skill. The second nine was more enjoyable for me as it was longer and getting my walk in is half of the attraction for me. All together, walked about 2.5 miles. Playing by the lake made for good scenery and increased the enjoyment factor. Course was well marked. Good restroom facilities. Make a day of it, and go canoeing or bring a picnic along.
Cons: I agree with another review that the tee boxes were too short and clearly installed by someone who has never played disc golf before.
Other Thoughts: This is a good location to drag your non-disc golfer companion along, like grandma an out of shape relative. They could walk easily along the lake while you are golfing, or sit on the many benches and enjoy the scenery, or even found the chess game table and bring a set with them. Kids could kill an hour or two hear, and parents can read a book and be cozy with a picnic basket and some beverages. Or older siblings can go with Mom to play golf while toddlers and Dad swing on swings at playground.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I keep coming back

5+    11/10/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: smythransom
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A good variety of holes throughout the 18 holes. The front is good for beginners (shorter throws), while the back allows you to open up.
Cons: The pars on the back 9 are inflated and they are not that difficult, just straight, open fairway shots.
Other Thoughts: The overal mix of diffrent holes is nice. I have played 30+ courses in Ohio, New York, and PA and I keep coming back here thats got to mean something.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, technical, if not raining...

5+    10/8/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical front 9, wide-open back 9 except for Hole # 14. Scenic (sans the interstate), rolling hills and a great family atmosphere.
Cons: As the others before me, Tee Pads!!! This would be a great time of year for the upper crusty folks of Hudson to put out for some respectable pads. Muddy run ups on rainy days.
Other Thoughts: The pads, and their lack of usability greatly affects the play if it isn't completely dry and void of mud. To me, this creates some cushion for where the disc will travel. The front 9 is the most crucial of where it will fly, based on where you tee off. Hole #4 is easily a birdie, especially if you tee-off 15'+ from behind the tee.
Good overall course, but it would be considered 'excellent' if the tee pads served any purpose, other than frustration.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/23/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Behace
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well laid course. The front nine consists of mostly shorter hole that required more skill shots than power. The back nine is wide open and requires more power than skill. The course has signs on every hole that give you a pretty good idea of where you are going. The course is always maintained very well.
Cons: While the course does have concrete tees they are very short and cant really be thrown off of. Some holes play over each other, so you have to wait sometimes. Some holes also play very closely to a playground, which means sometimes there can be kids playing where you want to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that can be challenging.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.